Boone KOA Reviews

Campground Reviews

Oct 21, 2019
Pros: staff was very friendly and helpful, store has adequate essentials. bath houses were clean and nice. Cons: Sites are narrow and on a hill side gravel roads and very little room to park a tow vehicle. had to move tow vehicles twice to let or the campers out due to narrow space. this is no a good place for motorcycles roots in the roads.
Oct 21, 2019
Excellent amenities for a tent campsite. Easy to find and convenient to town. All staff I encountered was very friendly. I wish campsite A6 had a sheltered area like the rest of the tent sites on our row. The dog run is VERY sloped. Nice to have but the top part is under utilized.
Oct 21, 2019
Super clean facilities, very friendly staff and accommodating to our groups needs. Will for sure stay again!
Oct 21, 2019
Oct 21, 2019
It was excellent!!! We will definitely stay again!!!
Oct 21, 2019
Oct 21, 2019
Sure wish they would get cable tv and better internet reception
Oct 21, 2019
Clean bathrooms. Easy check in and check out Lots of activities planned. Great for families
Oct 21, 2019
Unique
I paid to stay in a park model. We (my wife, my 2 year old and i) got to the camper at 9pm. The carpet was stained. It appeared the silde out was leaking and the floor appeared to have mold stains on it. The heater did not work the tmep outside was 32* and the inside tepm got to 38*. Worst place ive ever stayed. The staff was friendly via phone. But no one to complain to after 9pm.
Oct 20, 2019
We enjoyed the beer on tap and the pizza for dinner in the lounge. It was a pleasant surprise. The staff was very helpful during our stay.
Oct 20, 2019
very clean bathhouse and office and keep the grounds clean , after wind storm the people were out cleaning the park first thing in the morning , and a very friendly and helpful employees
Oct 20, 2019
Very hot but very nice. We stayed there so we could drive along the Blue Ridge Parkway.
Oct 19, 2019
Our stay at Boone KOA was very good. The staff was pleasant and helpful. The site/kampground was well shaded, quite and level.
Oct 19, 2019
staff were very helpful
Oct 19, 2019
Enjoyed my stay. It was close to where my cousins lived where I spent most of my time. The only concern I have is the pull through was not long enough for my small camping trailer and car. The weather turned very windy with wind gusts the last night I was there and I had to hook up the trailer to my car for more stability. Other then that the campground was very clean.
Oct 18, 2019
Folks were so nice and accommodating during our stay. We changed our dates twice and then when we checked in we changed our site. They were so nice and made sure we were happy. Campground is clean with beautiful views but many of the sites are a little cramped.
Oct 18, 2019
We had a great time staying at Boone KOA. It was our first experience staying in a Kamping Kabin, and it was perfect for us. The campground and facilities were clean and all staff members were helpful and friendly.
Oct 18, 2019
Oct 18, 2019
Only stayed 1 night. It was very windy during the night, park crew was out early cleaning up - great to see. Staff very friendly and accommodating.
Oct 16, 2019
Staff friendly, very quiet, clean bathtooms... sites very close together and a bit uneven...overall..a pleasant stay
Oct 16, 2019
We love the Boone KOA, wish it was closer to Beech Mountain. We come to the area to ride the down hill mountain bike parks. Campground is always clean & the staff is nice. It is beautiful! Only downside is it can be a little tricky to getting your RV in and out. Most of the sites are built into the side of the mountain making them a bit uneven & the roads a bit steep. Other than that its prefect!
Oct 16, 2019
Always a great stay when we come! Staff are great and the decorations look fantastic!
Oct 16, 2019
Very clean campground and extremely helpful staff. We will definitely be back.
Oct 16, 2019
There was no cable tv. Roads were very steep and narrow for maneuvering RV’s. The individual sites were not level so bring something to level your camper. Not very many amenities. The staff however were very nice and helpful
Oct 16, 2019
very nice campground,we had a great site,close to town but far away enough to being in the country. the only reason I didnt give it a 5 was because there was motorcross bike racing going on,on Saturday night which you could hear through the valley.I understand they only race on Saturday night. It was very easy to get in and out of the park most sites are drive through.
Oct 15, 2019
Oct 15, 2019
Oct 15, 2019
This campground is in a beautiful setting above Boone with great access to the city and the surrounding areas. My parents stayed here regularly in the 80's and 90's. The Harmon family has done a great job maintaining the campground. The road to the campground is not very wide and somewhat steep but we had no problem getting in with a 36ft m/h pulling a jeep. All of the facilities are very clean.
Oct 15, 2019
Love this camp ground, this was our 2nd visit and had another wonderful time at KOA Boone.
Oct 15, 2019
Enjoyed our time! Great place to unplug.
Oct 15, 2019
Campsite is a peaceful mountain setting with great playground for the kids, goats and donkeys and cows to watch, clean restrooms, a rec room for rainy days and an easy to use laundry room. We really enjoyed our time at KOA in Boone. The staff was so friendly and helpful! We will be back!
Oct 15, 2019
We got to the campground about 2:30 on Wednesday and was greeted by the friendly staff in Boone. Our camp lot was well marked and all hook-ups were well placed. I went fishing the next day using a guide service in Boone. The guide service was with Due South Outfitters and had a great time. The staff suggested some hiking trails for Friday and they were great. Great campground and staff. Thanks
Oct 15, 2019
Lovely park, could have used cable t.v. like the other KOA's have for the same price
Oct 14, 2019
I grew up camping at the Boone KOA every summer and recently brought my family for Fall Break. It is somehow exactly as I remembered it from 20+ years ago. The playground is well-maintained, bath house is clean, the staff are friendly and the location is perfect for getting away from the crowds and traffic in town. We will definitely be back!
Oct 14, 2019
WE ENJOYED THE FRIENDLY STAFF AND THE GOATS AND DONKEYS. THIS PLACE IS SO BEAUTIFUL, CLEAN WE WILL DEFINITELY BE BACK AND TELL OTHERS ABOUT THE CAMP GROUND.���
Oct 14, 2019
Had a GREAT time will be back for sure
Oct 14, 2019
We loved the location and the campground was very nice. Bathhouse was always clean and the donkeys and goats were the best!! Only complaint ( and we’re really not complaining) is the RV sites are very small. We did not have space for all of the gear we usually put out. We will definitely be staying here again!!
Oct 14, 2019
Quaint, Quiet park with a beautiful setting with sites nestled in the trees with a beautiful view of the Mountains....exceptional place to stay !!!
Oct 14, 2019
My daughter and I loved the campground. She got to venture off and play with the other kids. We stayed for two nights and visited the ghost train (highly recommend). Only complaint is the price of the wood ($6 a bundle). Will definitely stay again!
Oct 14, 2019
Unique
STAYED IN CABIN WITH BATHROOM, LIGHT OVER SINK INOP NO CURTAIN ON DOOR ANYBODY COMES UP CAN SEE RIGHT IN, NO HEAT ANYWHERE, MOST OF THE CABINS THAT I HAVE STAYED IN HAVE A TV BUT NOT HERE
Oct 14, 2019
Oct 14, 2019
The campground was very nice, and the operators were very friendly and helpful. My only negative comment was that the quiet hours should be 10pm to 8am vs 7am. Our site adjacent to the playground was a bit rough when there were youngsters running, playing, and SCREAMING just a few feet away from our camper at first light. We actually thought someone had been hurt. No injury just screams.
Oct 14, 2019
Friendly staff clean. Goats and donkeys to entertain Playground for the kids. Laundry prices are reasonable 1.50 to wash. Dryer 25 cents for 10 minutes. Much better than other koas that cost 5.00 to wash and dry one load
Oct 13, 2019
Very friendly staff - enjoyed the welcome package/maps. Cabins were nice but didn’t like having a tent site right up against the cabin
Oct 13, 2019
This was our first visit here & we felt the sites were very small & claustrophobic. We had to squeeze our tiny mini cooper beside our rig and we worried it would be hit by passers by. Perhaps another site would have more adequate for our sized coach but we did not pursue a move. Even though cable wasn't available, we had expected to get at least a few local channels via antenna. We got nothing!
Oct 13, 2019
This was our first visit here & we felt the sites were very small & claustrophobic. We had to squeeze our tiny mini cooper beside our rig and we worried it would be hit by passers by. Perhaps another site would have more adequate for our sized coach but we did not pursue a move. Even though cable wasn't available, we had expected to get at least a few local channels via antenna. We got nothing!
Oct 13, 2019
Nice staff and features. Just tent areas was extremely packed and on top of each other
Oct 12, 2019
Unique
The campground was very clean and quiet. The staff was friendly. We loved the views of surrounding mountains, deer and small pond.
Oct 12, 2019
Positives - Friendly and helpful staff. Quiet. Negatives - Entrance road to campground a little challenging. Camping sites too close to each other. Manuvering a truck and fifth wheel within campground is challenging. Sewer hookup at some sites too high, cannot connect without having a sharp bend in hose where it enters the hookup.
Oct 12, 2019
Nice & quiet. Very clean. Sites are a little small. Site was unlevel that can easily fixed with a little time & a tractor with blade. This was our second visit
Nov 28, 2019
Beautiful. The staff were super friendly, welcoming and helpful.
- Rebecca Fox Stoddard on Google
Oct 27, 2019
Enjoyed our stay. Leaves were the fall colors. We will definitely be back. Very nice campground and good staff. A good get away for peace and quiet.
- Keith Sinquefield on Google
Oct 20, 2019
Great place to camp
- Terry Scott on Google

Oh My, There's Nothing Here!

That doesn't mean this area has to always be empty. When you start reviewing camping options, your history will display here to help compare sites and find the best stay. You will be able to share your stay information with friends or family and save it for a later time if you have a KOA.com Account.