Benson KOA Reviews

RV Reviews

Oct 20, 2019
We really appreciated the friendliness of both Donna and Katie. Loved how quiet it was. We know the new owners are working hard to fix issues with water/plumbing and electrical. I suspect things will be in order when next we visit. Thanks for a great week.
Oct 20, 2019
Cable TV doesn't work, wi-fi doesn't work, water was shut off both days and we were not notified. Putting signs on the bathrooms doesn't work if you use your trailer. I understand they are working on improvements, but the camp hosts could let people know ahead of time. We checked with other guests, their cable and internet didn't work either. A lot of money for a dirt path to park on.
Oct 20, 2019
This park advertises the availability of both cable TV and WiFi. With regard to cable, there was no connection point anywhere near my site. I observed that other guests were running lengthy cables to neighboring sites just to reach a nipple. WiFi? Nope. Other than for one very brief window of time (that I used to find another park), there was no Internet access from my site, either.
Oct 20, 2019
We drove in and drove out. 95 percent of our travel is KOA however benson was an exception. Not large motorhome friendly. The road to the park was terrible. The park Was under reconstruction. Told we may lose water or electricity at any time. Narrow roads in the park. Hope they get it back to KOA standards. They did provide a full refund
Oct 18, 2019
Potential for a great campground, but needs a lot of work. Was put in a site with sewer on wrong side. Moved to one where all services were on the correct side. Laundry room doesn't smell like laundry, smells like something old and dead. Wifi sucks.
Oct 18, 2019
The hosts were very nice and accommodating. The park is not for a large RV. We have a 35 foot 5th wheel, and it was difficult to maneuver the corners to get to our site and to leave in the morning. We had a long site, so we didn’t have to unhook our ATV trailer. The up side, the site was shaded, the bathrooms were clean.
Oct 17, 2019
Wonderful people helping us get into a site that fit us. Patient and kind. Quiet and peaceful place to stay.
Oct 13, 2019
Katie even phoned me to tell me I left a cheap bucket behind. She is also one of the most memorable personalities of my entire trip. I enjoyed the pool and clean bathrooms. Thanks.
Oct 11, 2019
Very nice people, and facilities have lots of potential. Some safety issues with open holes and missing pavers as renovations are in progress. No doubt it will be much better when current managers complete planned projects.
Oct 08, 2019
Oct 07, 2019
Benson was under construction and no one changed the signs to direct us to the road we found that would have kept us out of the fresh asphalt. Bathrooms were not ADA.
Oct 06, 2019
The campground is under repair. We were charged more because we did not have reservations even though there was nobody else in that part of the campground. We almost always stay at KOA but the price for this campground was very high for the condition it is in. If anything, we should have gotten a discounted rate. Not happy campers...
Sep 13, 2019
Sep 13, 2019
The site is being upgraded. But is a great place to stop. Wonderful staff.
Aug 26, 2019
The park is being “renovated”. The owners tried to place us in an area inundated with weeds and overgrown trees. They guided us to one place where you could not see the ground/hook-ups for the weeds and we could not extend the slides for the trees. We asked to be moved so they guided us to a space. Overgrown trees, stuck us and they had to cut several branches to free us to avoid damage CLOSE
Aug 21, 2019
Aug 15, 2019
Aug 06, 2019
Jul 31, 2019
Benson was the perfect stop while we were on our way west toward Phoenix it was a short drive to Tombstone AZ where we visited for lunch. It’s in the desert but had everything we needed including a swimming pool!
Jul 28, 2019
WiFi and the cable didn’t work! No staff to assist after 6 pm.
Jul 22, 2019
We were delayed with truck problems and didn't get to the camp on time. They very graciously changed our dates for all of us. They are doing improvements and it will become much nicer thanks
Jul 21, 2019
Awesome stay. Katie and her husband are awesome! Highly rated place and people! Thanks
Jul 19, 2019
Really enjoyed the quiet . The lady at reg was very friendly and helpful.
Jul 17, 2019
Camp was clean but old. Didn’t get to meet the staff but they seemed nice over the phone. Just stayed overnight and it was just me and I think two other people. So really couldn’t give it a fair rating. But it was nice being close to Tombstone and Kartchner Caverns. Would probably stay here again while passing through.
Jul 16, 2019
Our overall impression is that we won’t likely return. We don’t live far away and was looking someplace close with a pool for the kids. The pool was closed early due to storms one day, but remained closed after the storms and before dusk. Also, we didn’t even realize there were spots available in shaded areas behind the office. As few campers as there were we should’ve at least been offere
Jul 15, 2019
It was a quick stay to test out our equipment - and it was AWESOME!! Katie and Larry were very welcoming and very helpful with all of the questions we came with - if you are driving thru southern Arizona and need a place to set up camp - this is a great place to do it!! We will be back!!
Jul 14, 2019
The new General Managers are working to renovate and update. We look forward to visiting again to see their progress. Thank you for your hospitality!
Jul 13, 2019
Jul 10, 2019
The road into the campground is absolutely horrible. I had to drive at 1mph to avoid the RV from being thrown side to side. The campground itself was clean, but in need of some updating.
Jul 09, 2019
Jul 05, 2019
Friendly and helpful management. The sites were very level and roomy. It was close to town and restaurants, but felt like we were out in the country for that quiet, starry sky experience.
Jul 02, 2019
a great place to stay, and in the process of even getting better. Great satellite reception.
Jun 27, 2019
Horrid road leading into the campground, which was virtually empty, with only 4 other units all night. However, we were placed in a spot that was too small for our trailer, 28 feet, despite our reservations clearly stating the size and slideouts. We had to enter the wrong way to get to the hook ups which were placed at the opposite end of every other vacant spot in our row. Won't return ever.
Jun 24, 2019
This KOA is very 'rustic'. They just re-did the pool and are working on other upgrades. The bathrooms/showers definitely need work. But the staff were very friendly, and we had a very nice time.
Jun 23, 2019
Very nice and helpful staff. They're in the process of updating the facilities, a understandable slow process given their location. This location had everything we wanted for an enjoyable stay.
Jun 22, 2019
Really friendly staff, looks like they have big upgrades planned!! Ideal location!!
Jun 17, 2019
The facility was nice and clean. The managers very friendly and helpful. My husband and I will stay there again.
Jun 10, 2019
We liked it. The new owners are still working to fix it up so I'm not going to knock them. Very nice people that are willing to help in any way they can. People talk about the entrance to the park being bumpy but we just drove slow and it was fine. The road to the park is owned by several land owners and the park owner is trying to work with them to get it repaved. Just give them some time.
Jun 09, 2019
Jun 08, 2019
I know the campground is under new management, but the campground needed a lot of restoration. We pay top dollar to stay at a KOA and it was not acceptable. The pool was not functioning correctly, we couldn't hook-up our sewer because it was all broken-up, the picnic table was very weathered and full of spider webs and the spots were full of weeds. It was not worth the $52.00!!!
Jun 08, 2019
Very nice customer service in the office . Campgrounds were poor, ants everywhere. Pool was sad . For how much I paid a night .
Jun 01, 2019
Price to high $46. Tv cable would not work.
May 31, 2019
We enjoyed our stay there and can tell it's going to be awesome when they finish all the repairs.
May 29, 2019
Pas d’eau chaude dans les douches Internet très faible même proche de l’office Les tables de pique-nique brisées Terrain mal entretenu Ne correspond pas au standard des campings KOA à laquelle je m’attends
May 23, 2019
The KOA was very unkempt, lots of weads. It was very difficult to enter and leave with a big rig. I am amazed that KIA corporate would allow this park to use KIA name. Will never stay there again.
May 19, 2019
Perfectly quiet and satisfying. I will be back.
May 17, 2019
Friendly staff, clean bathrooms and showers.
May 17, 2019
Not the nicest KOA we’ve been too but there was nothing wrong with it either! Just a little more remote and rustic than some. Hosts were very nice and accommodating! No complaints at all.
May 17, 2019
Very bumpy road to get to the campground. Very dusty. Check in was very easy, nice staff.
May 17, 2019
The grounds were clean and well kept. They are working on even more improvements. Friendly staff.
Aug 14, 2020
Staff was great! Katie got us set up with our membership and got things squared away for us. Going through some renovations right now but highly recommend you stop if passing that way.
- Gary Copsey on Google
Jul 05, 2020
Awesome! Even though the pool was closed there was still a golf course.
- Raze Gamer on Google
Jul 03, 2020
Good place to fill your propane .
- julia winker on Google