Benbow KOA Reviews
Jul 19, 2018
When we checked into our cabin, it wasn’t clean, the ceiling fans were covered with dust and the floor was filthy. The staff did come and clean it for us, but it should have been done before our arrival. Don’t think we will be back or recommend this place.
Jul 18, 2018
Overall good. But the upstairs carpet should ave been vacuumed, the dishwasher hadn’t been emptied, and the coffee maker had old grounds. Ordinarily not a big deal, but for $220, I expect not to have to deal with that. Also the swimming pool was very murky and of questionable water quality. Lots of dirt in the bottom of the hot tub.
Jul 18, 2018
I felt the porches on the cabins were not cleaned off and the bbq was very dirty. I felt since last year it had shown quite a bit of wear. Other than that we had a good time.
Jul 17, 2018
Staff is friendly but understaffed due to the cleanliness of camp. Garbage cans were all over full, cabins were nice but need deep cleaning, under beds, corners and need more kitchen supplies dishes, brooms, cleaning supplies. My site was full of cigarette butts as well as dirty grill area. Patio could use a power washing. Pool area dirty, standing water from spray park. A lot of longterm cabins.
Jul 17, 2018
Jul 16, 2018
We stayed in a cabin by the river. Not worth the price! The AC didn’t work and the dishwasher didn’t work. The floors were filthy and the porches needed maintenance. The river is beautiful.
Jul 16, 2018
One of the worst lodging experiences of my life!"Deluxe" cabin advertised online and in photos as one thing-was a total bait and switch.Cabin was tiny.Queen room barely had enough room to walk in.Bunk bed room was too small to store my 9 y/o child's suitcase & bottom bunk was right next to electrical controls-unsafe!Had to buy bug spray to kills ants in front room/kitchen.Love seat sleeper=chair.
Jul 14, 2018
Always a pleasure. Great staff. Clean facility.
Jul 12, 2018
Cabin was nice! The pool amazing! Wish there was more kid games in the club house. Also the cabin had no toilet paper but we asked. Staff was awesome! Look forward to our next stay!
Jul 12, 2018
This was the worst KOA experience we’ve had. The cabin floor was filthy. It was well stocked though. Underneath the bed there is what looks like a year’s worth of dust bunnies and even some garbage. The blinds, windowsills, stovetop, utensils and other items were also filthy. They cut our water at 10am but notified us via taping a note to the door at 9. We left without taking showers.
Jul 11, 2018
The staff is very nice and the facilities are clean, but we were very disappointed by the deluxe cabin. The description provided online is deceptive in saying it’s a studio deluxe cabin. There is no reference to it being a cabin connected to three other cabins and the size is literally like a closet.
Jul 09, 2018
Enjoyed stay but WiFi didn’t work, cabin was showing wear and could have been cleaner. Also, no heating system and noises vent in bathroom.
Jul 06, 2018
The cabin was dirty, looked as though the floor hadn’t ever been mopped. There were ants. A drawer front was broken off and simply left on the counter when we arrived. There was a leak from under the kitchen sink, that instead of being fixed had a bucket placed under it.
Jul 05, 2018
Jul 02, 2018
Cabin was great, service was excellent. Unfortunate that the pool was closed the whole day we were there, other than that we enjoyed our stay.
Jul 02, 2018
Nice place, friendly staff and hosts, clean facility, nice well equipped cabin on the small tributary to he Eel River. Lots of families and kids enjoying the nice grounds and all of the amenities. We recommended the Benbow KOA to other members of the western classic Mini Cooper ommunity when they pass through the area in the future.
Jun 27, 2018
Cabin was dirty, not cleaned under the couch (old trash and bottle caps). There were dirty dishes in the oven. Central A/C did not work. We were told someone would come take a look and they never did. Cabin smelled like someone had previously smoked inside. Curtain rods were falling off.
Jun 27, 2018
We stayed in a Cabin for a 3 day/2 night stay. The Cabin was very clean (except for the floor, it could have been swept better), there was so much for the kids to do. Actually every one in our group from 9 year olds to teenagers, early 20's up to 40's were very pleased with the campground, the cabins and the amenities.
Jun 26, 2018
It was not a pleasant stay. We arrived at 2pm and was told the cabin check in time was 4pm. At 4pm, we came to ask the front desk, Erin. She told us that our room will be ready in 10 mins. 10 mins later, we came to ask again. She said the key has not returned and she sent the manager, John, to go get the key. After, other staff told us we need to wait other 15 mins. We finally got the room at 4:40
Jun 26, 2018
My stay at the KOA was the best! However I will say that my cabin was not as clean as the previous day and it was a little frustrating. Seems like everywhere I turn there was somebody else's mess from before. So whoever cleaned it didn't really look very thoroughly. I will definitely come again and I'm sure that everything will be cleaner. The staff is the best.
Jun 25, 2018
the bath tub didn't work, there were minimal kitchen supplies, no trash can bags in the kitchen, no drain board for the dish drying rack. other than that it was great.
Jun 25, 2018
room was not clean all towels were in the shower floor dirty and wet, locks didn't work couldn't lock doors even at night, wouldn't even open from the inside, rooms to small very uncomfortable mattress
Jun 25, 2018
Don't rent the 75$ couples cabins. Tiny and not very nice. Was upgraded to a cabin with bathroom and kitchen. That was nice. SPIDERS.
Jun 25, 2018
Everything was fabulous except for the Manager John Elliot. There was a confusion or lack of communication regarding the rental of the golf carts. They charged my son and refused a refund when they determined he was not playing golf, took the keys from him out of the cart and made them walk back to the office. These teenagers were not misbehaving or abusing the cart but were treated as if.
Jun 23, 2018
After a rough start it was very relaxing. Kudos to the office staff! Ernesto, you are the greatest! It was fun to see and meet other campers.
Jun 15, 2018
Jun 14, 2018
Gorgeous couples cabin by the creek.
Jun 12, 2018
The park is in a great location and is well maintained. It’s a short walk to the Benbow Inn on a pedestrian foot path. The pool and water park look nice and we plan to bring the kids back for a family stay in the future. My only complaint is that the cabin we stayed in was dirty. The floor was covered in dirt and debris as though it hadn’t been swept or mopped in a long time.
Jun 10, 2018
The deluxe Kabin was such a nice style, but could use a bit of help. For instance there was no toilet paper roll holder and the bathroom wasn’t that clean. Dirt built up in the corners. There was also garbage around the grounds that could easily have been picked up by maintenance. It’s the little things that make paying so much for a small Kabin worthwhile.
Jun 05, 2018
Jun 02, 2018
The facility was great but the customer service at check in was awful. The young girls at the front desk were rude and even forgot to give us our key to our cabin and we had to figure out where it was and then go back to the front desk and get a key and when we asked for it she kinda threw it on the counter and said “here you go”. I’d recommend getting someone friendly.
May 29, 2018
our cabin smelled like weed the staff said they have been having problems with drug trafficking out of the cabins in the campground. They moved us to a way smaller cabin. Our family is 5 people and the cabin they moved us to was 3 max. Out the window of the other cabin had People living in their trailer. They were cutting wood with a electric saw and building in their van. Multiple people in camp
May 29, 2018
Very friendly staff. I think what i say next has more to do with understaffing and location.... our cabin was filthy. The beds were clean thankfully. The floor hadnt been mopped, the carpets hadnt been vacuumed. dirty towel and some kind of cardboard behind the couch. There was a joint in the window. Food left on the bbq. Various trash in loft. cigbutts &empty tiny alcohol botls outside deck
May 27, 2018
Very nice people and good facilities.
May 23, 2018
Great, the pool and the facilities are amazing. The nature in Benbow is great too.
May 16, 2018
It was good. Passing through wish i could stay longer
May 15, 2018
The power was out when I got there. (Not their fault). It came back on luckily at about 9:30 pm our first night. There was a empty soda can and lots of dust under the bed and some marijuana left on the end table behind the clock. Staff was friendly.
May 09, 2018
Beautiful setting and decent accommodations. Cabin floors were not very clean. Cutting boards (washable) would be nice. So would decent can openers and wine bottle openers.
May 09, 2018
Anything was super clean! The staff was very friendly! It was a great experience for my young kids.
May 09, 2018
I very much enjoyed my stay at Benbow KOA. The staff were helpful, and our cabin was very clean and attractive, not to mention its being close to the river, which was a nice plus. I would definitely recommend Benbow KOA to others who are looking for a place to stay at a reasonable price.
May 08, 2018
Always a nice stay at Benbow! The upgrades from last year look great!
May 08, 2018
Cabin and park were clean. The table was a bit large for the space, but overall it worked. The staff was friendly. We had a cabin on Eel River, would have liked a path to get to the river. We wondered down the hill through tall grass and came out with a tick. Those guys are creepy. :(
May 08, 2018
The facilities were satisfactory, but the cabins were in desperate need of a deep cleaning. Mounds of dust balls under the beds, debris between sofa cushions, I cleaned dishes, stained sheets, etc. The location is convieient and the facilities were generally in good order.
May 07, 2018
It was clean , but the Deluxe cabin for two was a lot , lot smaller than I expected but for the price it was OK .
May 06, 2018
We had a wonderful stay.
Apr 06, 2018
A very nice place, and cabin 47 was great. We were blessed the entire time. All of the staff that we encountered were very helpful, and friendly.
Apr 04, 2018
Had a great time
Mar 31, 2018
Oct 25, 2019
Excellent place
- Jorge Luna on Google
Oct 08, 2019
One of my favorites! Great splash park for the kids nice pool well maintained.
- Me Too on Google
Oct 28, 2019
Power to the wheel town was out, nice place to retreat to
- Jacob Beaumont on Google

Oh My, There's Nothing Here!

That doesn't mean this area has to always be empty. When you start reviewing camping options, your history will display here to help compare sites and find the best stay. You will be able to share your stay information with friends or family and save it for a later time if you have a KOA.com Account.