Benbow KOA Reviews

Campground Reviews

Aug 08, 2018
Aug 08, 2018
The staff was great. the pool and facilities were OK. we asked for 50 amp power, but was only able to run at 30 amp because of problems with electricity at the park. the golf course (lost water system) was totally out of play. greens were dirt, fairways were dirt and brown grass. the freeway noise was slightly bothersome. sites had grass & were level. Baths were clean.
Aug 08, 2018
Very nice location. Well maintained. Zero complaints.
Aug 08, 2018
Brought our 18 month old for her first camping experience. Joined 2 other groups with young kids and had a great time. Campground is clean, quiet, and has many amenities perfect for kids. Bummer the splash pad was broken though, but sounded like it was going to be getting fixed. My husband had a good time golfing too!

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

it's nice to hear that you introduced your daughter to camping at the Benbow KOA. The Splash Park is up and running.
Aug 07, 2018
The campground was clean and quiet. We just stayed one night, so we didn't get to spend much time, but if we are in the area again we would definitely stay again.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for your nice comments; we look forward to seeing you again.
Aug 07, 2018
Stayed one night. Camped in the tent section with an RV. Felt like the forgotten section of the campground. The drive through sites were well maintained with grass and fire pits. The back section has dead grass and squeezed between cabins. Lots of flies all around the area. Bathrooms were clean and the staff super nice. Pool needed cleaning as it was heavily used. Full of hair and bugs.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

I'm sorry the pool did not meet your expectations. I passed your comments along to maintenance to insure that it does not happen again.
Aug 06, 2018
Aug 06, 2018
The cabin had, obviously, not been well cleaned for an extended period of time. The floors were all extremely dirty. I had to get staff members to acquire a coffee pot for us, after our arrival. The well was not working, so the campground and golf course were very Brown and unattractive. I can get more for my money at a good Motel.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

I regret that your stay did not meet your expectations. I hope you will give us another chance to make things right.
Aug 06, 2018
Very clean and people where very friendly.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again.
Aug 05, 2018
Aug 05, 2018
Aug 05, 2018
We have been staying at this KOA for about 10 yrs as it is a halfway point on our trip to Oregon! We have recommended it to many folks over the years. We were extremely disappointed at our recent visit as they have let the grass die in many of the RV sites as well as trash in our deluxe site, the entire golf course is bone dry and dead. Also some huge trees dying due to lack of water.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

The pump that supplies all of our irrigation water died and the repair was far more difficult and challenging than I can explain here. With the summer heat, the lack of water caused almost immediate damage. We have corrected the major problems and hope to have the well back on line by the end of the month. Please come back and see the difference.
Aug 04, 2018
We were there with our granddaughter for a three night stay. She loved the activities and we loved the grassy shady site.
Aug 04, 2018
Nice setting. The bathrooms need to be upgraded, though. There should be both hot and cold running water in the sinks and working soap dispensers. In the women's bathroom we used, only one dispenser worked to service four sinks.
Aug 04, 2018
The sites need to be level and some of your turn aren’t wide enough given how cars have to park.
Aug 04, 2018
Nice camp ground
Aug 04, 2018
Aug 03, 2018
Unique
booked a night for 2 in 2 person room. Should have booked a 4-6 guest cabin for us instead... Live & Learn!! We will be back!
Aug 03, 2018
At the back of the park the restrooms in the woman's side had major plumbing problems..
Aug 03, 2018
Aug 03, 2018
Aug 02, 2018
Park is nice well maintained. Fellow campers let their dogs bark constantly for hours at a time, some people did not clean up after their dog and there was a group , with kids that let the kids run and scream around our part of the park until 10:30 pm. You cannot be responsible for guest conduct but that is why my rating is lower. Connie Kelley
Aug 02, 2018
I was there only one night and the staff was awesome. I was in a shady spot and was close to showers and restrooms. I will be back on August 14th. See you then�
Aug 02, 2018
Aug 02, 2018
Everything was good.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Hope you will return soon and often!
Aug 02, 2018
Location is beautiful & kid areas (park & pool) are clean & good shape. Our cabin however was not fully stocked. There was a major ant problem. They were in the kitchen, floor, & closet. The cabin hadn't been swept & the counters & edges of sinks & faucets haven't been properly scrubbed in a long time. Finally, I couldn't tell if the sheets had actually been cleaned because we found hair on them

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

I apologize that the cabin did not meet your expectations and hope that you will give another chance.
Jul 31, 2018
Brief, only stayed 1 night it was hot & full so really didn't get to check it all out.
Jul 31, 2018
We visited Benbow, CA for a pleasure trip, and had a wonderful stay. The entire Staff was great, and the facilities/amenities were very nice. It's a lovely area!
Jul 31, 2018
No effective WiFi. Insufficient signal to even get a ping off their server. The young employees seem effective at their trained tasks, but are unable to think on their feet or outside-the-box to solve problems. Sprinklers at night. Mud and standing water in site in the morning. Does KOA mean Kennel-club of America. The people with their menagerie of Kanines is getting out of control
Jul 31, 2018
Worst KOA I’ve Stayed at and the golf course was terrible
Jul 31, 2018
many flies and other flying insects in the cabin
Jul 31, 2018
The north end of the campground needs some attention and water. The golf course is unplayable due to no water anywhere on the greens or fairways. Other wise it is ok for a short stay.
Jul 31, 2018
Useless internet poor cell service Nice sites good laundry good store Friendly staff
Jul 31, 2018
Golf course is a mess. Staff is unknowledgable. Septic backs up. Worst I've seen it we have been going for years. Last two times we have been the pool has been closed at least one of the days.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

The irrigation well broke and has been very difficult to repair. It should be back on line by mid-August and the course will gradually return to normal. I regret the inconvenience.
Jul 31, 2018
Had a difficult spot to back in.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Sorry to hear that backing-in was a challenge. Once you were parked, I hope that you enjoyed your stay.
Jul 31, 2018
Nice place in a pretty location. This KOA stand up for my standards as ones I’ve stayed in the past.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

thank you for your comments. I'm that you enjoyed your stay and hope you return.
Jul 30, 2018
Good stay and easy access to Avenue of Giants.
Jul 30, 2018
So clean and fun!! The best campground we have ever visited!
Jul 30, 2018
EEl river was amazing! Kept us cool on very hot day
Jul 30, 2018
This is the perfect place to stay when traveling highway 101. The only drawback is that there's no Wifi.
Jul 30, 2018
The golf course is soooooo dry. There is no rough anymore and the entire course is hard as a rock. They charged us less than normal because it was in such bad shape but we golfed all last summer and it was no where near the conditions that exist now. Ruined my Benbow adventure.
Jul 30, 2018
Laundry room was great and staff very kind. Nice campground for a one night stay.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for your comments. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay.
Jul 29, 2018
Jul 29, 2018
A nice place to stay in a beautiful area. The only thing that could have been improved is enforcement of the rules in the pool area. Too many kids diving into the pool to make it fun for adults.
Jul 29, 2018
With one exception, this was a great place to stay. We arrived to stay at a tent site namely, site T-1. Upon site review we discovered that this is not really a tent site, or certainly should not be. Here’s why. a- it is a piece of lawn next to the road where there is no place to park vehicle, b- there is no table, c- there is no fire pit, d- it isn’t flat, and d- it is in middle of a dog run
Jul 29, 2018
Worst wi fi ever! Negates everything else that was good
Jul 29, 2018
Jul 29, 2018
Unique
Jul 29, 2018
Excellent access to freeway, nice pool and splash pad. Good location next to a creek and short walk from historic inn. Was a little surprised at how sparse the store was stocked. While the kabin had all the amenities you would expect, we were a little disappointed at how dirty it was when we checked in: dirty dishes in dishwasher, leftover food from previous occupants, and stained furniture.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for your positive comments. I regret that the cabin was not cleaned to your satisfaction. I have passed your comments to housekeeping to insure that it does not happen again.
Jul 29, 2018
We felt the cabin could have been a little cleaner. There were a few cobwebs and thick dust. There were a small amount of ants invading our cabin, but not super bad. Having a few extra garbage liners would be nice, and a WiFi repeater at the far end of campground would be good. Kid has medical condition and medical device connects device to mom/dads phones via wifi link.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

I regret that your cabin was not properly cleaned. I have forwarded your comments to housekeeping. WiFi reception in the Benbow valley is poor overall and we are looking at alternatives to increase coverage at the park.
Jun 26, 2019
We had a very nice stay. The employees were very nice and they were always happy to help. The park is very nicely kept. It was nice quiet evenings.
- Cindy Saltel on Google
Jun 20, 2019
As local golfers, we have been anxiously anticipating the reopening of the 8 hole golf course here at this lovely KOA. It’s open for golfing now and I had the chance to play 8 holes yesterday. It looks great, feels great and is green, green, green! If you are here to camp or live locally check the beauty which abounds.
- seeksocean on Trip Advisor
Jun 08, 2019
Right between Crazy Horse and Mount Rushmore.
- Michael Dietz on Google