Benbow KOA Reviews

Campground Reviews

Jul 01, 2018
Very nice location. Best bathrooms on our stay of 8 days in different koas. Very clean park. We enjoyed the grass and trees next to the concrete pad and cute red picnic table!!
Jul 01, 2018
Jul 01, 2018
Excellent
Jul 01, 2018
Staff was friendly and kind even though it was a high traffic weekend being 4th of July! We love staying here - safe, clean and lots of fun activities!
Jul 01, 2018
Nice, clean and a great place for kids. RV spaces small and "packed in". No shade or ambiance. Probably a "destination" and not just an overnight stay. Only real negative was the price!
Jun 30, 2018
Jun 30, 2018
Loved our stay, very clean all around. The staff was extra helpful and friendly. The only minor issue was grassy areas needed to be watered more, golf course was a bit brown. But over all GREAT STAY, cant wait to return.
Jun 30, 2018
Jun 30, 2018
Great
Jun 30, 2018
Jun 30, 2018
Unique
Always an amazing stay. It was great to see several locals from the Fortuna area having fun. Benbow KOA makes the perfect getaway with just a short drive.
Jun 29, 2018
The rates were too high I asked him to fix the long chair which was broken and the golf course is in the portable Shake I could come in there for 20 years it was extremely disappointed
Jun 29, 2018
Nice location, a little narrow for some of the sites. Cindy (front desk reception) and Eddy were the BEST! They both showed a true interest in our stay and making sure that things were right ---we had two "glitches" and they took care of them.
Jun 28, 2018
Golf course was brown, pool was closed and no activities.
Jun 28, 2018
Campground is a nice facility. It offers features which we do not use - pool, sports court, golf...... however, it is nicely located to allow an Avenue of the Giants tour and we find staying here to be pleasant. Parking pads need to be resurfaced, driveways need repair/resurface, grass needs grooming and several of the sites lack the shade that would make the stay more appealing. Nice staff.
Jun 27, 2018
Cabin was dirty, not cleaned under the couch (old trash and bottle caps). There were dirty dishes in the oven. Central A/C did not work. We were told someone would come take a look and they never did. Cabin smelled like someone had previously smoked inside. Curtain rods were falling off.
Jun 27, 2018
Pool wasn’t open for 4 days during our 7 day stay. Dryers not working properly (cost 12.00 to dry 3 loads), told office & was basically told oh well. They said they would put sign on dryers & 24hrs later still no sign. Asked to get bikes & they had none! (All KOA ‘s have bike rentals). Space was really nice but probably won’t go back.
Jun 27, 2018
We stayed in a Cabin for a 3 day/2 night stay. The Cabin was very clean (except for the floor, it could have been swept better), there was so much for the kids to do. Actually every one in our group from 9 year olds to teenagers, early 20's up to 40's were very pleased with the campground, the cabins and the amenities.
Jun 26, 2018
It was not a pleasant stay. We arrived at 2pm and was told the cabin check in time was 4pm. At 4pm, we came to ask the front desk, Erin. She told us that our room will be ready in 10 mins. 10 mins later, we came to ask again. She said the key has not returned and she sent the manager, John, to go get the key. After, other staff told us we need to wait other 15 mins. We finally got the room at 4:40
Jun 26, 2018
Issues with the pool. Unable to use. Weather was hot so that was disappointing
Jun 26, 2018
My stay at the KOA was the best! However I will say that my cabin was not as clean as the previous day and it was a little frustrating. Seems like everywhere I turn there was somebody else's mess from before. So whoever cleaned it didn't really look very thoroughly. I will definitely come again and I'm sure that everything will be cleaner. The staff is the best.
Jun 25, 2018
the bath tub didn't work, there were minimal kitchen supplies, no trash can bags in the kitchen, no drain board for the dish drying rack. other than that it was great.
Jun 25, 2018
We only stayed 1 night passing through. We will plan a return trip for sure staying longer. It's a great place for kids and the staff was terrific. Make sure to have dinner or brunch at the Benbow Inn.
Jun 25, 2018
Golf course not watered and very dry. Think it Could be a main attraction. Things could be cleaner. There seems to be a lot of employees. Stay was OK.
Jun 25, 2018
Beautiful quiet park with great hosts
Jun 25, 2018
Jun 25, 2018
Unique
Door lock broken,1 exterior and 2 interior lights dead, sink stopper broken, bed extremely uncomfortable plus had to give my neighbor one of my clean bath towels because theirs were all dirty. Won't see us again.
Jun 25, 2018
room was not clean all towels were in the shower floor dirty and wet, locks didn't work couldn't lock doors even at night, wouldn't even open from the inside, rooms to small very uncomfortable mattress
Jun 25, 2018
Jun 25, 2018
Don't rent the 75$ couples cabins. Tiny and not very nice. Was upgraded to a cabin with bathroom and kitchen. That was nice. SPIDERS.
Jun 25, 2018
We always enjoy staying at Benbow. The staff is very friendly and always greet you with a positive greeting. I’d especially like to say thank you to Carrie for the personal service she provided me with from making my reservation to following up with me through my check in.
Jun 25, 2018
Everything was fabulous except for the Manager John Elliot. There was a confusion or lack of communication regarding the rental of the golf carts. They charged my son and refused a refund when they determined he was not playing golf, took the keys from him out of the cart and made them walk back to the office. These teenagers were not misbehaving or abusing the cart but were treated as if.
Jun 25, 2018
Unique
Jun 24, 2018
Unique
Stayed in a small cabin for two. Wish they had a broom and a shelf above toilet and maybe a book case shelf for you two put some of your personal stuff on. We had a lot of 6 to 12 in weeds in front of our cabin. We still loved it all the employees were great. Thanks.
Jun 24, 2018
One of the most expensive KOA's on our trip. Speed bumps and gutters made getting parked difficult. Position of the hook-ups made it impossible to use the sewer connection with to tow vehicle hooked up. Dogs running free in campground & staff did nothing about it. When we walked our dog outside by the picnic table, he picked up burrs in his fur. WiFi signal was the worse we encountered.
Jun 23, 2018
After a rough start it was very relaxing. Kudos to the office staff! Ernesto, you are the greatest! It was fun to see and meet other campers.
Jun 23, 2018
Jun 23, 2018
Unique
Jun 22, 2018
Enjoyed it greatly
Jun 22, 2018
Close to the Avenue of the Giants. Wi-Fi in the back up sites in the back of the park are totally non functional. The RV spots there are amongst some very heavily used KOA Kabins. Not my favorite KOA on this rad trip.
Jun 21, 2018
Staff friendly. Campsite well maintained. Pool area in good condition Golf course in terrible condition. Greens have not been maintained. WiFi basically non-existent. Kids activities (ie barrel train) only on weekends (last year mid week also).
Jun 21, 2018
Really enjoyed our stay. Same problem with people not cleaning up after dogs. We were in a 31 ft motor home
Jun 21, 2018
Jun 20, 2018
Staff are very friendly and helpful. Great camp sites. We will definitely visit again and for a long period of time. Thank you Benbow KOA...you rock��
Jun 20, 2018
Super clean, nice facilities, friendly staff. Do not stay in space 56, it’s the lowest point in park and floods with the regular irrigation at. Nite. Muddy during the day. Employee told us yes they can’t change the angles of irrigation. Nice shady spots, very popular KOA. Had lunch at Benbow Inn, very good and lovely terrace overlooking gardens.
Jun 20, 2018
Always a great time here, my only complaint would be loud staff that lives in site. All three times we have stayed there, that has been our ONLY complaint....
Jun 19, 2018
Nice camping and great people we will be back
Jun 19, 2018
The staff here is super friendly and helpful! It’s a very clean, beautiful resort located in a great spot along the redwood highway! There is a large pool and a fun water play area for kids, as well as a great little playground. I hear the golf course is nice. Splurge on the deluxe spot. They are worth it if you plan on relaxing at your site! Can’t wait to go back!
Jun 19, 2018
Unique
Was told that a " computer glitch " reserved me for a specific cabin and was notified by their office that the rate that was oven was not for that particular cabin. Went with the flow and he cabin that I was assinged was not supplied with toilet paper and the blanket looked like it had not been washed in years due to the stains. Very unhappy!
Jun 19, 2018
We enjoyed our stay at Benbow KOA. Pool and Hot Tub were nice but I think kids 10 and under should not be allowed in the Hot Tub. Restrooms were clean and pull through sites make it easy for a 1 night stay. Walking distance to Benbow Lodge which has wonderful food.
Dec 08, 2019
We stayed in a cabin and it was great. The full kitchen meant that I could cook for the family instead of all restaurant food. Well supplied and clean. Enjoyed the area and the Avenue of the Giants nearby.
- Regi69 on Trip Advisor
Nov 29, 2019
Sweet campground. Grab a round of golf and get some rest.
- Chris Nolan on Google
Nov 26, 2019
Clean comfortable cabins
- Eric Sieracki on Google

Oh My, There's Nothing Here!

That doesn't mean this area has to always be empty. When you start reviewing camping options, your history will display here to help compare sites and find the best stay. You will be able to share your stay information with friends or family and save it for a later time if you have a KOA.com Account.