Benbow KOA Reviews

Campground Reviews

Jul 23, 2018
Jul 22, 2018
Park has dead grass all over, workers were not very friendly and the golf course is not something that a golfer would want to play. Very BAD condition.
Jul 22, 2018
We had a great time. The KOA was very accomodating when we needed to extend our stay. We had very nice site #59. The bathrooms were very clean and the POOL was perfection.
Jul 22, 2018
Disappointed overall. Staff in registration office was rude. Customer service was bad! Golf course is in major disrepair without water. That aside, nothing else is maintained on it. Staff says nothing about it to guests before the pay and play. Faucet at our site leaked heavily for the six days we were there. Reported it and told staff was not worried about it as long as we had water to RV!
Jul 22, 2018
Love it
Jul 22, 2018
This was our first stay at a KOA cabin and it exceeded our expectations. Cute, clean, bright little studio cabin with bunk beds for the kids. We loved that it was right on the river and such a short drive to Humboldt Redwoods State Park.
Jul 22, 2018
Sites a not suited for a big rig. The length is fine but the street and access roads require too tight of a turn. The connections are at the back of the site instead of near the middle, even with an extension my sewer hose barely fit. Cost is too high for the quality of the park.
Jul 22, 2018
We chose this campsite because of the golf which we were unable to use. The course was not watered and very dead. Although we were giving a discount to golf we did not. We felt they should not have charged to play on a course this bad. Their store was also out of ice and where we were told the possibly tomorrow they would have some. At 97° they were not very prepared.
Jul 22, 2018
We have stayed at the RV park at Benbow for years. It has slowing gone down hill. Our site was not clean and the sewer hook ups had not been checked. Toilet paper was on the ground around the sewer hook up. When I first called for a site, the initial gal I spoke with was poor on PR and not helpful.
Jul 22, 2018
Jul 21, 2018
Jul 21, 2018
Air conditioning in cabin was great. Staff very friendly. Daughter loved the pool but it gave her a rash on arms and legs so she couldn't swim anymore. Pool table was fun for the kids. Nice families there. Would stay again but skip pool.
Jul 21, 2018
Jul 21, 2018
Loved the whole place. There was a mixup on my reservation. Other than that enjoyed my stay.
Jul 21, 2018
Jul 20, 2018
Nice campground, stayed in a premium site (#78) but I was disappointed that the patio furniture was in need of cleaning and there was a wet soggy area within the grass area at the site. Stayed here a few times and will go back again.
Jul 20, 2018
Lovely campsite with great facilities.
Jul 20, 2018
Jul 20, 2018
Staff was great and helpful. We had a mechanical problem with our rv and staff offered assistance and good info. We were not a fan of the bugs there but next time we know to close our top vents.
Jul 20, 2018
Great place, clean, quiet, super friendly staff. We will return to see the redwoods and river.
Jul 20, 2018
Jul 19, 2018
Ben Bow needs to do some serious gate keeping, if you are going to use wrist bands then check everyone at the door for one and stop letting local residents access the pool! A huge concern is how fast people drive through the campgrounds, there are not any posted speed limit signs.
Jul 19, 2018
This is my 10th year staying here and I plan on coming every year. Very relaxing place to be
Jul 19, 2018
When we checked into our cabin, it wasn’t clean, the ceiling fans were covered with dust and the floor was filthy. The staff did come and clean it for us, but it should have been done before our arrival. Don’t think we will be back or recommend this place.
Jul 19, 2018
Jul 19, 2018
It was just ok. My son was disappointed on the very limited hours of the splash pad. Over 100 degrees outside and they only have the splash pad going for a few hours of the day. Friendly staff though.
Jul 19, 2018
Five-star camping experience. Pool, splash zone, movies, KOA train rides, all hook-ups. My daughter and I had a really great time. Also... all of our camping neighbors were extremely friendly. It really made the experience!
Jul 19, 2018
excellent spot, nice pool. Wifi slow
Jul 19, 2018
I enjoyed it!
Jul 18, 2018
Overall good. But the upstairs carpet should ave been vacuumed, the dishwasher hadn’t been emptied, and the coffee maker had old grounds. Ordinarily not a big deal, but for $220, I expect not to have to deal with that. Also the swimming pool was very murky and of questionable water quality. Lots of dirt in the bottom of the hot tub.
Jul 18, 2018
I felt the porches on the cabins were not cleaned off and the bbq was very dirty. I felt since last year it had shown quite a bit of wear. Other than that we had a good time.
Jul 18, 2018
They stay was great and the food close by at the Benbow Inn was excellent. Missed the green grass of the golf course but understand why. Only wished the WiFi had worked.
Jul 18, 2018
Unique
Jul 18, 2018
Always clean and neat. They are higher priced than most, but we only use them as a one-night stop over on our way to or from a trip to the North.
Jul 17, 2018
Staff is friendly but understaffed due to the cleanliness of camp. Garbage cans were all over full, cabins were nice but need deep cleaning, under beds, corners and need more kitchen supplies dishes, brooms, cleaning supplies. My site was full of cigarette butts as well as dirty grill area. Patio could use a power washing. Pool area dirty, standing water from spray park. A lot of longterm cabins.
Jul 17, 2018
Jul 17, 2018
Location is great especially nice stay for families. A bit pricey.
Jul 17, 2018
Jul 17, 2018
Just ok nothing exciting
Jul 16, 2018
Very nice park for our RD group. The facilities were clean, nice pool too. It would be nice however if there was some designated adult swim time at the pool but it still was enjoyable. Nice clubhouse too. And a fairly short drive to avenue of the redwoods. Love the redwoods! The one negative was the poorly maintained good course......awful. We decided not to play it was so neglected.
Jul 16, 2018
Overcrowded, wifi and cable weren't good and there are no trees. Great staff though.
Jul 16, 2018
We stayed in a cabin by the river. Not worth the price! The AC didn’t work and the dishwasher didn’t work. The floors were filthy and the porches needed maintenance. The river is beautiful.
Jul 16, 2018
Nice people, great golfing. Too many dogs, too many flies.
Jul 16, 2018
One of the worst lodging experiences of my life!"Deluxe" cabin advertised online and in photos as one thing-was a total bait and switch.Cabin was tiny.Queen room barely had enough room to walk in.Bunk bed room was too small to store my 9 y/o child's suitcase & bottom bunk was right next to electrical controls-unsafe!Had to buy bug spray to kills ants in front room/kitchen.Love seat sleeper=chair.
Jul 15, 2018
Unruly and disrespectful guests need staff guidance.
Jul 15, 2018
The restrooms were relatively clean and overall the park is OK. But on our last night there two individuals in a Porsche SUV checked-in to one of the small studio cabins at the very rear of the campground and within an hour they had 6-8 "visitors" exchanging money for small bags of "something" and then everyone was gone. Don't know if the management knows of this activity but we will not be back
Jul 15, 2018
The space we were in was way at the back and seemed uncared for. The grass was all dead, and the cabins were pretty trashy.
Jul 15, 2018
Jul 14, 2018
Agreed to go there because of the golf. The course was in horrible condition. Problem with their well. I will play on a dirt field if I have to. Will go back if they get some grass on the greens.
Jul 14, 2018
Always a pleasure. Great staff. Clean facility.
Dec 08, 2019
We stayed in a cabin and it was great. The full kitchen meant that I could cook for the family instead of all restaurant food. Well supplied and clean. Enjoyed the area and the Avenue of the Giants nearby.
- Regi69 on Trip Advisor
Nov 29, 2019
Sweet campground. Grab a round of golf and get some rest.
- Chris Nolan on Google
Nov 26, 2019
Clean comfortable cabins
- Eric Sieracki on Google

Oh My, There's Nothing Here!

That doesn't mean this area has to always be empty. When you start reviewing camping options, your history will display here to help compare sites and find the best stay. You will be able to share your stay information with friends or family and save it for a later time if you have a KOA.com Account.