Benbow KOA Reviews

Campground Reviews

Jul 05, 2018
Jul 05, 2018
It was just a one night stay so we didn't get a good chance to explore the 'kampground'...
Jul 05, 2018
We asked for a tent site with electric-we were given an RV site that had 210 electric that we could not use. There was a very small patch of grass on which to put our tent. The place was packed and noisy-to be fair, it was July 3-but it seems as though every square inch was filled. No one respected the "quiet time"
Jul 04, 2018
Jul 03, 2018
Bad electrical connection. I will send a detailed letter explaining the problem
Jul 03, 2018
Jul 03, 2018
Jul 03, 2018
Not all of the sites are 50 amp. Site 81 on the map is supposedly 50 amp Bit only 30 amp. Also, the map shows a dog park in addition to the dog walk area. There is NO dog park. The trees also need to be trimmed back for the larger rigs so that they do not get scratched. When you spend 100’s of thousands of dollars on a rig you don’t want to get it scratched.
Jul 03, 2018
First 4 nights were ok, Wi-Fi was good. Next 2 nights we had to move to a site at the very back of the resort, no Wi-Fi and or neighbors partied until after midnight. Golf course was in terrible shape, something to do with the well? Many small and easy to repair items went unrepaired. Leaky faucetsknAll these ammenities were built into the rate that we paid! Otherwise the resort has great potentia
Jul 03, 2018
Jul 03, 2018
A very kids friendly place. Many things to do and a small river near by which was shallow enough to feel secure with our young kids. The sites are close to each other, but still you have some grass area. Huge place - we stayed in site 410!! Which was quite far from the main building and the pool
Jul 03, 2018
It was very hot. The trees helped with providing some shade. They need more and bigger trees which, of course, will come in time. The place was very nice.
Jul 02, 2018
Lack of rule enforcement. Noise until 2:30am. No night manager or hosts. Contact number on brochure is for the hotel and not KOA. Road blocked by cars and had to find owners to get rig through. Requested maintenance for water problem and they never showed up. Couldnt rest so left early. Over priced
Jul 02, 2018
Cabin was great, service was excellent. Unfortunate that the pool was closed the whole day we were there, other than that we enjoyed our stay.
Jul 02, 2018
Nice place, friendly staff and hosts, clean facility, nice well equipped cabin on the small tributary to he Eel River. Lots of families and kids enjoying the nice grounds and all of the amenities. We recommended the Benbow KOA to other members of the western classic Mini Cooper ommunity when they pass through the area in the future.
Jul 02, 2018
Our stay at Benboa KOA was good. Service was good and the staff was very nice. My only concern was about a hard, consistent, hot water stream leaking in the women's shower. I spoke to several personnel who said they were working on fixing it. We are a drought suffering state, we need every drop we can save, please take a more serious look at saving water. I will definitely stay here again!
Jul 02, 2018
Unique
Jul 02, 2018
Very nice stay. Clean bathrooms and environment. Pool was refreshing. We will be back.
Jul 02, 2018
Unique
Nice stay, clean rooms . Friendly staff and beautiful scenery
Jul 02, 2018
Just not very well kept compared to other KOA’s.
Jul 02, 2018
Jul 02, 2018
We had a great time; the amenities were nice and the kids loved the pool and splash pad. We will definitely come back again. The only items of concern were the bathrooms and showers; they didn't receive enough attention by staff and several facilities were out of paper and needed additional cleaning. It would also be great if there was a common dish washing area.
Jul 01, 2018
Nice, beautiful grounds. Quiet and green...
Jul 01, 2018
Jul 01, 2018
Very nice location. Best bathrooms on our stay of 8 days in different koas. Very clean park. We enjoyed the grass and trees next to the concrete pad and cute red picnic table!!
Jul 01, 2018
Jul 01, 2018
Excellent
Jul 01, 2018
Staff was friendly and kind even though it was a high traffic weekend being 4th of July! We love staying here - safe, clean and lots of fun activities!
Jul 01, 2018
Nice, clean and a great place for kids. RV spaces small and "packed in". No shade or ambiance. Probably a "destination" and not just an overnight stay. Only real negative was the price!
Jun 30, 2018
Jun 30, 2018
Loved our stay, very clean all around. The staff was extra helpful and friendly. The only minor issue was grassy areas needed to be watered more, golf course was a bit brown. But over all GREAT STAY, cant wait to return.
Jun 30, 2018
Jun 30, 2018
Great
Jun 30, 2018
Jun 30, 2018
Unique
Always an amazing stay. It was great to see several locals from the Fortuna area having fun. Benbow KOA makes the perfect getaway with just a short drive.
Jun 29, 2018
The rates were too high I asked him to fix the long chair which was broken and the golf course is in the portable Shake I could come in there for 20 years it was extremely disappointed
Jun 29, 2018
Nice location, a little narrow for some of the sites. Cindy (front desk reception) and Eddy were the BEST! They both showed a true interest in our stay and making sure that things were right ---we had two "glitches" and they took care of them.
Jun 28, 2018
Golf course was brown, pool was closed and no activities.
Jun 28, 2018
Campground is a nice facility. It offers features which we do not use - pool, sports court, golf...... however, it is nicely located to allow an Avenue of the Giants tour and we find staying here to be pleasant. Parking pads need to be resurfaced, driveways need repair/resurface, grass needs grooming and several of the sites lack the shade that would make the stay more appealing. Nice staff.
Jun 27, 2018
Cabin was dirty, not cleaned under the couch (old trash and bottle caps). There were dirty dishes in the oven. Central A/C did not work. We were told someone would come take a look and they never did. Cabin smelled like someone had previously smoked inside. Curtain rods were falling off.
Jun 27, 2018
Pool wasn’t open for 4 days during our 7 day stay. Dryers not working properly (cost 12.00 to dry 3 loads), told office & was basically told oh well. They said they would put sign on dryers & 24hrs later still no sign. Asked to get bikes & they had none! (All KOA ‘s have bike rentals). Space was really nice but probably won’t go back.
Jun 27, 2018
We stayed in a Cabin for a 3 day/2 night stay. The Cabin was very clean (except for the floor, it could have been swept better), there was so much for the kids to do. Actually every one in our group from 9 year olds to teenagers, early 20's up to 40's were very pleased with the campground, the cabins and the amenities.
Jun 26, 2018
It was not a pleasant stay. We arrived at 2pm and was told the cabin check in time was 4pm. At 4pm, we came to ask the front desk, Erin. She told us that our room will be ready in 10 mins. 10 mins later, we came to ask again. She said the key has not returned and she sent the manager, John, to go get the key. After, other staff told us we need to wait other 15 mins. We finally got the room at 4:40
Jun 26, 2018
Issues with the pool. Unable to use. Weather was hot so that was disappointing
Jun 26, 2018
My stay at the KOA was the best! However I will say that my cabin was not as clean as the previous day and it was a little frustrating. Seems like everywhere I turn there was somebody else's mess from before. So whoever cleaned it didn't really look very thoroughly. I will definitely come again and I'm sure that everything will be cleaner. The staff is the best.
Jun 25, 2018
the bath tub didn't work, there were minimal kitchen supplies, no trash can bags in the kitchen, no drain board for the dish drying rack. other than that it was great.
Jun 25, 2018
We only stayed 1 night passing through. We will plan a return trip for sure staying longer. It's a great place for kids and the staff was terrific. Make sure to have dinner or brunch at the Benbow Inn.
Jun 25, 2018
Golf course not watered and very dry. Think it Could be a main attraction. Things could be cleaner. There seems to be a lot of employees. Stay was OK.
Jun 25, 2018
Beautiful quiet park with great hosts
Jun 25, 2018
Jun 20, 2019
As local golfers, we have been anxiously anticipating the reopening of the 8 hole golf course here at this lovely KOA. It’s open for golfing now and I had the chance to play 8 holes yesterday. It looks great, feels great and is green, green, green! If you are here to camp or live locally check the beauty which abounds.
- seeksocean on Trip Advisor
Jun 09, 2019
- GEORGE Hagler on Google
Jun 08, 2019
Right between Crazy Horse and Mount Rushmore.
- Michael Dietz on Google