Benbow KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 800-562-7518

Info: 707-923-2777

Email

7000 Benbow Dr

Garberville, CA 95542

Get Directions

Accommodations

Check-in: 4:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

RV Sites, Tent Sites

Check-in: 1:00 pm, Check-out: 12:00 pm

Camper Rating 4 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Oct 18, 2017
Spacious campground along a fork of the Eel River with its own golf course. Friendly office staff. A previous winter stay in the front part of the campground found sites had poor drainage - inconvenient if you needed to step out at night as I did to walk a dog. 2016-7 was a very, very wet winter. For those who don't cook dinner, nearby evening restaurant options are very limited.
Oct 18, 2017
Oct 17, 2017
We had a wonderful time again. The staff was very friendly and the outdoor facility is very clean. Our room wasnât as tidy this year, but thereâs a chance they may have been understaffed with all of the wildfires going on in Northern CA.
Oct 17, 2017
Only issue was trees could have been trimmed back a bit more. My rv isnât that large (29â) but got scrape marks on one side from tree branches while I was exiting the site.
Oct 17, 2017
Oct 17, 2017
have rented here multiple times, deceptive advertising about bunk beds(they DO NOT fit adults but are advertised as adult beds), they have an unfair and maybe illegal policy, guests can smoke cigarettes but not cannabis, medical or otherwise. They state that tobacco smoke can't be smelled by other guests and cannabis can. Tobacco kills second-hand, no mention of my rights to not be exposed.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Under Prop 64, adults 21 and older are not permitted to smoke marijuana within 1,000 feet of a location where children are present  unless they do so in a private residence. (California Secretary of State) This is why we have that policy, this is a Family Campground.
Oct 16, 2017
Another reviewer recommended bringing extra golf balls! Well, bring even moreð. This is a wonderful KOA. Great staff, nice amenities, perfect location to access all Humboldt County has to offer. The golf course is tight. Donât let the first two holes lull you into complacency. ðï¸
Oct 15, 2017
Oct 14, 2017
Too short for a 43 foot rv, no way to keep the towd on. Noisy from the highway at site 65. And the water system is contaminated with sewage - our filters prevented contamination of our water system, so we ran on our on-board water and replaced the filters. The water is the killer -
Oct 12, 2017
The place needs some maintenance done. Everything looks a little run down.
Oct 12, 2017
Oct 11, 2017
Loved the cabin and how clean it was and the furniture in the premium site was really comfortable. The tea a scones were a great touch as well.
Oct 11, 2017
Awesome campground with lots to do nearby including a 9 hole golf course!
Oct 11, 2017
Very brief as we were heading home...you were our last night.....Lace & Greg were more than helpful to me in my time of need...Thanks again..
Oct 10, 2017
Great location, amenities could use to be cleaned and updated. Fire pits are only in the premium sites.
Oct 10, 2017
After sticking us in a terrible, non-shaded site located at the peak traffic intersection for the campground, we had the worst sewer connection ever. Took both of us not to cause an unsanitary "problem." Archaic and barely functional. First time I've posted a less-than-four star review in two years and a dozen+ KOA stays. Won't return or recommend.
Oct 10, 2017
Oct 10, 2017
Nice location, historic Inn was interesting, however the sites are among the worst I have ever seen! Antique power pods, the sewer was at the very back of site, in order to make room for slideouts we had to pull up so far the sewer line would not reach even with 3 put together it would not reach. Cable needed missing connector (which they sent over) but very snowy at best.
Oct 10, 2017
Benbow is nice resort style campgrounds. Had a nice stay at KOA Benbow!
Oct 07, 2017
the landscaping and general maintenance is lacking. The park during the 70's and eighties was pristine and inviting and showed an owners care and value to maintain. Iam sorry it seems when KOA purchases a private park the emphasis is on ROI and less on care and maintenance. I knew the previous owners and how meticulous the campsites and golf course was
Oct 07, 2017
Oct 06, 2017
Cabin was excellent
Oct 06, 2017
My wife and I have used Benbow as an end destination many times over the last 20 + years, we love the park BUT, unfortunatly we are now senior citizens on a limited income, and as everywhere else prices just keep going up. To charge $25.00 for golf and then $25.00 for the cart for just 9 holes is just gauging I feel. Needless to say I would be hard pressed to go back again.
Oct 05, 2017
Oct 05, 2017
Septic hook-up was terrible. It was much higher than the outlet to the trailer and had no cover.....just a piece of rubbber hosing.
Oct 05, 2017
Oct 03, 2017
Very kind and thoughtful staff. All facilities clean and well taken care of. Really enjoyed the swimming pool and hot tub!
Oct 03, 2017
The KOA was exceptionally clean. The spaces were large and comfortable. The staff was friendly and helpful. Two things could be improved, the first is handicap access. The showers and bathrooms didn't have ADA standards and the price per night was expensive. My husband likes to golf and the course was good.
Oct 02, 2017
Just overnight! Did laundry and took a swim! Liked Pinball machine! Wished dog enclosure was completed. Probably will return!
Oct 01, 2017
The campground was clean, and we loved being able to walk to the benbow inn for dinner. However, our one night stay in a premium lot was less than peaceful because they were pouring asphalt right next to our site, and we couldn't hear or talk over the noise that went on until evening. We feel we should have a refund especially after paying for a premium lot Please pass this on to the manager.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We are very sorry you were inconvenienced by the paving in the back of the campground. You must have forgotten that we refunded your night shortly after you called. We also let your husband know about the refund when he came in to check out.
Sep 30, 2017
Sep 29, 2017
Nice proximity to the redwoods, generally a clean campground. We had a "premium" site which was level and all services worked great. The "grassy area" was dead grass and not irrigated (it appeared to be alive at some point). The trash can by our site and near the dog run was full and not emptied for the three days we were there, although the staff either walked by it or drove by it multiple times
Sep 28, 2017
We had a great time, nice campground. The employees at the campground were very friendly and nice, and helpful
Sep 28, 2017
We stayed in the 2 bedroom cabin # 37. It was wonderful but we missed the porches. If we get back to the area, we will definitely stay at your KOA! Nice folks! Great service! Thanks!
Sep 27, 2017
Campgrounds and facilities are nice, wifi is very sketchy
Sep 26, 2017
Great place to stay, everyone was so friendly. WiFi in the back of the park is week to nonexistent. Other than that Benbow is a wonderful and great RV park to stay.
Sep 26, 2017
Sep 25, 2017
we enjoyed the campground but the furniture in the cabin we were in was very worn.
Sep 24, 2017
Awesome in every way, but "limited" Wifi is actually non-existent Wifi as it does NOT work. It's 2017 folks, you can do better!
Sep 24, 2017
One of the best KOAs I have ever stayed at. The staff was incredibly nice and helpful. The other two parties that we camped with we all really enjoyed the patio furniture at our site .
Sep 24, 2017
this was a very clean and well kept koa. THE BEST ON THE COAST.
Sep 24, 2017
Sep 24, 2017
Sep 24, 2017
Sep 24, 2017
Sep 23, 2017
The site we were originally assigned to had no shade at all. When we called the office to see about changing they were very accommodating and nice about making the change. Very nice park that we would stay at again.
Sep 23, 2017
The ladies in the office went above and beyond to help us. They were so informative, professional and gave excellent customer service.
Sep 22, 2017
Sep 21, 2017
Nice place to stay, easy in and out, clean facilities, spacious sites, great staff, special shout out to Brian for lending me his personal battery charger over night.
Sep 20, 2017
Just one night on our way to Wine Country
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy