Barstow / Calico KOA Reviews

Campground Reviews

Jun 20, 2019
As for our stay at the Barstow KOA. We had no WiFi, the cable was terrible, the pool is in disrepair and the water in the pool was very cloudy. The playground was unsafe for children to play on, and lastly the personnel working in the office were not helpful at all in reference the surrounding area attractions.
Jun 20, 2019
We stopped here on our way from California to Vegas. It is close to the highway. It is good to stop over, the outlets of Barstow are close. The staff was very nice.
Jun 20, 2019
Bathrooms were out of order. Couldn’t turn on the light on in the shower. 2nd shower had no curtain everything got wet water actually ran out the door.
Jun 20, 2019
Very very noisy, little shade. Buildings in disrepair. Check in person was marginally conversational. Man who accompany us to our site was nice as was the man cleaning the bathrooms etc. Showers in bathrooms were not secured, did not feel safe showering. Bathrooms were to be locked after 9pm with key pad but they were left open. Acceptable for 1 night stay in a pinch.
Jun 20, 2019
This is a very pretty campground. Each site had plenty of room and privacy using the natural landscape and bushes gives you your own place to call your own durning your stay. Pet pen is huge. Big rig friendly plenty of space. There’s a night shift when you come in late to help you find your spot. She was awesome. We only stay the 1 night passing through but I’d stay again if we were in the are
Jun 20, 2019
Lady at the reception not to friendly/a bit broed. A number of washingmachines and dryers did not work. And campground very close to a very busy highway (day and night), so very nosy. Good for 1 night but that’s it.
Jun 20, 2019
Staff not very friendly. Secondary shower unclean. Had used razor, shampoo bottles, bars of soap, cigarette butts. Dog run sand with no shelter; too hot for pads of dogs paws. Grounds were very nice.
Jun 20, 2019
Very nice - enjoyed the pool - only down thing was no picnic table at our site.. We did not ask for one though. We would stay there again.
Jun 19, 2019
Just s guick overnight stay when heading west. Everything clean and neat, staff pleasant and great. Couple things that could help, although it is called Barstow, it is a few miles out, so very remote, a way to go to eat, Peggy Sues 50 diner good, a ways to walk. Most overnighters do not want to unhitch.
Jun 19, 2019
Always nice staff. Easy drive through sites. Close to Vegas.
Jun 19, 2019
Pool dirty, no shuttle to ghost town like web says. Bounce pad not working. Bathroom was hot. Won’t stay there again and will tell all my friends on Facebook and Twitter also.
Jun 18, 2019
BATHROOMS NEED UPDATING. NO PLACE TO CHANGE. LOTS OF FLIES
Jun 18, 2019
Jun 18, 2019
Folks are great, this is the second time we have stayed there. I would highly recommend staying there if you are in the area.
Jun 18, 2019
I was shocked that this park is part of the KOA family. It was unkempt, I plan to call and discuss it later today.
Jun 18, 2019
Not enough working toilets, sign of remodeling looks old. Terrible WiFi. Garmin can’t locate KOA. Grumpy night clerk!
Jun 17, 2019
Sewer hookups are gross, stuff shoots back out when you dump.
Jun 17, 2019
We booked 4 days in the middle of June 2019 when we were having very mild spring weather. Little did we know that the desert would be throwing its wrath at us in the form of 104º temps and high winds. There there were the flies. Every time you open the door, five flies bolted in. "Man the fly swatter!" DISGUSTING!! The never could get all four of us near each other. SNAFU reigns in KOA.
Jun 17, 2019
Jun 17, 2019
Nice and clean. It is obvious that the workers take pride in their job and the camp ground. Disappointed that the times were not listed on the website for the jumping pillow. My kiddos were very sad that it was only open 2 hours a day.
Jun 17, 2019
We are used to cleaner bathrooms and swimming pools at KOAs. Also lots of things were broken or out of order. Least nice KOA we have stayed at. We did enjoy the game room and our shaded tent site.
Jun 17, 2019
We have stayed at several KOAs in the past but the Barstow/Calico was horrible. Will writing on this survey change anything to ensure this KOA make improvements? 1) Not the most friendly front desk staff 2) We requested 50 amp but our side only had 30. We were given another site to find only it also had 30. On the third move we got 50. But we lost a cable connection and sewer. Cloudy pool..
Jun 17, 2019
Having broken down I was left with no choice but to book a 2nd night in Barstow Koa. When I was able to get my RV going again an hour later I was refused any kind of refund. Basically I was robbed of $60. Had I failed to show up or for any other reason, not used the booking I would understand. Very bad customer service and not at all happy considering I stayed in six other KOA sites and now this!
Jun 16, 2019
could use more shade
Jun 16, 2019
Nice and quiet place to camp
Jun 16, 2019
Poor playground, no WiFi on Camp working, not really friendly, too close to highway
Jun 16, 2019
Thank you, we have stayed in the past and we will be back in the future.
Jun 15, 2019
Jun 15, 2019
This was a great place to stay overnight or for a few days. Was so thankful for the shade trees and a nice play area for dogs.
Jun 15, 2019
Hot and windy....good place to spend a night.
Jun 14, 2019
Barstow is a hot, dusty place. This KOA was an Oasis. The staff was the best ever. We stayed on purpose but broke down just before we arrived. They help us out and we had to stayed an extra night. Thanks fore everything.
Jun 14, 2019
No wi-fi in our trailer�. Office staff was friendly. Pool looked cloudy and did not want to go in—even when it was 108 degrees!
Jun 14, 2019
WiFi was not working. Staff were not as helpful as I expect from a KOA. Hookups were really far forward for my trailer so I had to un-hitch and park my truck behind my trailer.
Jun 13, 2019
A GREAT PLACE TO STAY
Jun 12, 2019
Overnight stay. Roomy sites. Easy check-in. Quiet campground. Close to interstate but still not as noisy as some we have encountered. Not much in the area but was perfect for a one-nighter.
Jun 12, 2019
Great spot under the trees, great customer service, thank you
Jun 11, 2019
Very helpful, curtis friendly. The pool a little dirty from Bush leaves. Put every thing else was great
Jun 10, 2019
Jun 10, 2019
Next time we travel through this area we will find another spot to spend the night.
Jun 10, 2019
Nice pull through campsite. Friendly check-in desk. We were traveling with an 8 and 10 year old. The playground was a tether ball, a seesaw, and a swing. That’s all that was useable. The pool was dirty, grandkids swam anyway, but they noticed it. Pool was in a state of disrepair. Wi-fi available only at the pool. Didnt use the restrooms or the showers. We thought the facility would be nicer
Jun 10, 2019
Love the trail through the lava flow.
Jun 10, 2019
Jun 09, 2019
Just pulling through on our way further East. Easy on/ off the free way. Plenty of fuel and trailer accessible nearby. Staff was friendly and campground was clean.
Jun 09, 2019
Great for overnight stays. Flat even pull thrus poor WiFi
Jun 09, 2019
Great campground with plenty of shade trees.
Jun 08, 2019
Water and electric good. Had to use boards to level. Long pull through site. Near interstate but not that noisy. Easy in and out. Gas prices in area high
Jun 08, 2019
Just an overnight stay. This park is always quiet at night. Staff is friendly.
Jun 08, 2019
Nice spot, shade & secluded, a lot of traffic noise
Jun 08, 2019
Jun 08, 2019
Sep 06, 2019
today we arrived in Barstow Koa. a very welcoming welcome and a great place. even popular and clean. I will certainly recommend this campsite to Dutch people traveling in CA. very professional set up!
- Rob Karremans on Google
Sep 06, 2019
Great place nice spot. Lots of shade, nice staff.
- Dee Pellandini on Google
Sep 03, 2019
First stop in our RV on our road trip on route 66. Good KOA, very clean, lovely staff
- Kris Jones on Google

Oh My, There's Nothing Here!

That doesn't mean this area has to always be empty. When you start reviewing camping options, your history will display here to help compare sites and find the best stay. You will be able to share your stay information with friends or family and save it for a later time if you have a KOA.com Account.