Barstow / Calico KOA Reviews

Campground Reviews

Sep 18, 2019
Lots of nice improvements being done at this KOA, attentive and helpful staff, but wish they had more funds to do more improvements. The washers and dryers need repairs. Too many are out of order. Other than that, this is a great overnight stop between Las Vegas and LA basin.
Sep 18, 2019
Sep 18, 2019
Sep 17, 2019
Sep 17, 2019
Overnight stop over, very clean, staff very helpful.
Sep 16, 2019
We have stayed at this park maybe 7-8 times. We like it and this stay was no exception. This is a very good place for us to stay as a resting stop when we are going farther. I gave a five star rating at this stay as they have improved the park a bit in the last six months since we have stayed here last.
Sep 16, 2019
Sep 16, 2019
Although we only stayed one night, we loved it and look forward to returning.
Sep 16, 2019
My husband and I were only there overnight both times on our way to Arizona and back. The campground itself is clean and has activities and facilities for families. My only negative was the pet bags dispenser in the dog area was empty both times. Luckily I had one in my pocket.
Sep 15, 2019
Great place for an overnight stop. Very well maintained, spacious sites, great store/office, great service. Would stay there again.
Sep 15, 2019
Thanks to Roberto for all of the help.
Sep 14, 2019
Clean & well maintained. Most sites have trees which is a plus out in the desert area.
Sep 14, 2019
Perfectly relaxing
Sep 14, 2019
its a shame the state and water use as the camp will soon be with dead brushes between the sites. other than all the dead growth the place is fine
Sep 12, 2019
Very nice KOA! The dog park was awesome! Stayed one night in one of their shaded pull-throughs. Didn't really check out the town of Yermo, CA where it is located. But very convenient to I-40.
Sep 11, 2019
We stayed at Barstow 2 times on our travels, both times the customer service at check in needs help. The girl was so unpleasant both times (yes, same girl). When we checked out, I walked in to mail some post cards and greeted by a different lady, whom was very pleasant The park itself is very well maintained, only one set of restrooms were open both times and it would have been nice to be told.
Sep 09, 2019
Great spot off the highway. We only stayed one night this time but the park is well kept and the staff very helpful. We again enjoyed dining at Peggy Sue’s Diner as it is very close by. This was our second time staying at this park and will be back next time we travel to Barstow.
Sep 09, 2019
Great place to spend the night, nice people
Sep 09, 2019
Very nice park. A well kept dog run. I wish the WIFI had larger coverage area.
Sep 08, 2019
Spotless bathrooms, complete well stocked store and overall nice place.
Sep 08, 2019
I have stayed at many KOA's this by far is the worst !!! We have stayed at Barstow KOA three to four times over the past two years and it gets uglier every time, I can only speak for the RV sites and the grounds, the cable for TV is just laying on the ground and is corroded, half the channels do not work !! The place just seems to lack the required maintenance, Never stay here again !
Sep 08, 2019
Near Death Valley. Bathrooms could be cleaner and the pool area is in need to renovation. Totally okay for one night.
Sep 08, 2019
Sep 07, 2019
Internet only in the club house. Laundry room had only one dryer that worked out of 8. There was only 2 washers that worked out of 8. Pool was nice and clean.
Sep 07, 2019
Okay for an overnight stay while traveling
Sep 06, 2019
Sep 06, 2019
Best campsite in our 3 week trip through the Southwest.
Sep 06, 2019
Sep 05, 2019
Sep 05, 2019
Very accomodating, friendly, clean, efficient and spacious!
Sep 04, 2019
Sep 04, 2019
This was an overnight stay for us. The o ly negative comment would be the wifi was lousy and as we are on the road for 6 weeks, that is our lifeline for bills and banking.
Sep 04, 2019
Sep 04, 2019
It was very hot the day we spent here on our way through. I was a bit disappointed by the dog park. It was sand/dirt and not shaded. I was not able to take my dog there. No Wifi. The spots were small so we had to drop the camper even though we were there for only one night.
Sep 04, 2019
Very run down and expensive. No wi-fi, really? For that price, a RIP off.
Sep 03, 2019
We like very much. but you need have the washer and dryer repaired
Sep 02, 2019
Perfect place to spend the holiday weekend! Staff is very friendly, lots of shaded sites and premises well taken care of. Definitely coming back soon!
Sep 01, 2019
Great place for an overnight. Clean. Internet only available in clubhouse.
Sep 01, 2019
Great place , awesome staff !
Aug 31, 2019
Large sites, easy access to I-40 and Hwy 66.
Aug 30, 2019
A Bit rundown
Aug 30, 2019
manager was much more interested in us camping where she wanted us instead of us camping where we wanted to be. campground was only 10 percent full but we had to fight with her to camp where we had a good desert view. poor attatude and customer service
Aug 28, 2019
Very nice stay. The best we experienced among all the KOA we went during our 2 weeks western tour :) Nice installations, enough space between each RV, nice pool, ...
Aug 27, 2019
We only stayed overnight. The office staff is very friendly and helpful. Our site was nice and had a beautiful view of the mountains.
Aug 26, 2019
Lacy and Anthony were so accommodating and welcoming. Great amenities. Toilets clean.
Aug 26, 2019
Would stay here again...great stay!
Aug 26, 2019
Best KOA
Aug 25, 2019
We were late arriving. After 8 hours on the road they were still there after closing to check us in. Campground was clean and was a nice place. We were passing through to our final destination.
Aug 25, 2019
We had a problem with our RV and a particular member of staff went out of his way to assist us.
Aug 23, 2019
Super clean restrooms (although the shower water was luke warm) and friendly staff. Not many shade spots and at 105 degrees F on our night A/C in order. Will revisit in a cooler time of year!!
Nov 23, 2019
Clean and quiet. Great Hosts!
- Mary Eaton on Google
Dec 04, 2019
We had to change our reservation because 58 was closed due to bad weather. They were very accommodating and the woman at the front desk was personable and friendly. Park has RV sites, tent sites, safari tents, and cabins along with a fully stocked convenience store, propane and plenty to entertain young and old (game room, archery, horseshoes, basketball court and seasonal pool). It seems very popular with off-roaders as the park was full of people and their Jeeps, dune buggies and dirt bikes to ride on adjacent trails. They and their gear were smeared out into the roads and they were hollering late into the night (well past quiet time). They rode their off road vehicles through the park but were not excessively loud during daylight hours. We had a space without sewer so had to use the communal dump which lacked the water pressure to rinse our tank—maintenance man was polite and apologized for the lack of pressure.
- MarilynB1313 on Trip Advisor

Oh My, There's Nothing Here!

That doesn't mean this area has to always be empty. When you start reviewing camping options, your history will display here to help compare sites and find the best stay. You will be able to share your stay information with friends or family and save it for a later time if you have a KOA.com Account.