Barstow / Calico KOA Reviews

Campground Reviews

Jul 31, 2019
Jul 31, 2019
We enjoy the stay every time ! Keep up the good work
Jul 31, 2019
We have been travelling from one KOA to the other and this was not the great one. There was a pool but we couldn’t use it as a lady in a reception told us she was the only one around.It made no sense to me as there was never anyone at the pool supervising. The shop was poorly supplied. There were shelves with the same products widely spread as there was so much space to cover. Please improve.
Jul 31, 2019
It was a lovely site you would have. 5 star except the showers and toilets were not very nice The showers were dirty. Ladies with long hairs everywhere and apparently the men’s were not that nice either
Jul 30, 2019
It was okay.
Jul 30, 2019
100 degrees out pool not open till 3pm ants and other bugs in pool. Wi-fi doesn’t exist, ice machine down none available. Sites not cleaned rocks all over patio,pavers and border broken rebar sticking up. Landscape around our site mostly dead. Stated she was short handed.
Jul 29, 2019
Jul 28, 2019
Easy drive thru, no problems with hook ups, cable tv. Cleab restrooms. Really great and helpful staff. Lacey at registration was very friendly and helpful, pointing out places of interest that we might like to see.
Jul 28, 2019
Jul 28, 2019
Staff were very helpful and knowledgeable. Pool needs some cleaning and upkeep, but it was refreshing in 103 degree weather!
Jul 28, 2019
5 of 10 washers and 7 of 9 dryers were out of order. Employees of the KOA were using washers and dryers and then leaving their clothes in after the cycles were completed. It took twice as long to do laundry.
Jul 28, 2019
Need more explanation where showers are thru the restroom. Outside doors locked confusing how to get in. One shower in mens did not work.
Jul 27, 2019
Dirty, old, and unfriendly
Jul 27, 2019
Everything was good
Jul 27, 2019
We only stayed one night; but have stayed here before. Very hot while there and the pool was very crowded. Sure wish they would put more shade in the pet area. No grass and the ground gets extremely hot for pets.
Jul 26, 2019
Read the description in the 2019 KOA Directory......not even close!!! The shuttle to Calico Ghost Town was not running due to employee shortage, the trees, bushes, etc. needed water and grooming...We paid an extra $4.50 for shade on our site and finally got shade at 8:30 pm...the entire site was so run down. Park rules state you can not ride your ATV thru the park so how do you get to the trails
Jul 26, 2019
Jul 24, 2019
Good Campground in the middle of nowhere
Jul 23, 2019
Very level gravel pull through make set up a snap. Wifi that works in the club house was a plus and each site is shielded by shrubs on each side. If you have to stay in the desert this is the a great option.
Jul 23, 2019
I had one night only - and it was okay - primary chosen because of the location - half the way from Las Vegas to San Diego. I would likely not be staying more than one night either - the place is to isolated, and to bare for my taste. ;-)
Jul 22, 2019
Jul 22, 2019
Jul 22, 2019
Jul 22, 2019
Jul 21, 2019
Easy access. Desert dry yet very well maintained. No pool to use though we thought it was part of the package. Would stay again.
Jul 21, 2019
Friendly staff, Shaded full hookups, and pool made for a nice visit.
Jul 21, 2019
They were all very helpful. Anthony was extremely helpful and very friendly. Very nice park.
Jul 20, 2019
Jul 20, 2019
Jul 20, 2019
This KOA is continually improving. The grounds are more neat, the hookups very functional (upgraded within the last couple of years, ) and the power is finally close to adequate during hot weather. Dog park is great and boxes placed around the RV park with supplies are very nice too.
Jul 18, 2019
Facilities need some revamping, dirty and old looking. Swimming pool has extensive cracking in the foundation and sides. All the patio furniture is broken. Staff was okay as far as friendly, not the greatest. Wouldn’t stay there for longer than a night to pass through
Jul 17, 2019
Friendly and clean. Easy in and out.
Jul 16, 2019
Very, very nice and spacious campground. Showers are of the highest quality. If I would come back to the US I would defenitely stay there Alain.
Jul 16, 2019
Jul 15, 2019
We were going to be late and they were up and ready for us. Thanks.
Jul 15, 2019
Great camp site. Pool seemed a little smudgy and water not clear. Gave me a feeling of not getting my ears wet, worrying for ear infection. Might just be me. But it’s all about perception. For the rest fine place!
Jul 14, 2019
We were at the end of a 20 day trip from California to Texas and back. We were in a 27’ class c motor home. The spot was level, the hook ups were in good working order. The store was well stocked and convenient. The store was clean and refreshing. The park was a bit busy with rigs coming and going, but the other campers were quiet and respectful. Great overnight stay, we’ll use this park again
Jul 14, 2019
Very hot place with almost no shadow and noisy too. The pool helped to cool us a little.
Jul 13, 2019
Everything was great with the KOA, no complaints. Of course it was 109 degrees, but that's not your fault! Thanks for the fun.
Jul 12, 2019
Jul 12, 2019
Only stayed 1 night. It was conveniently located in our travel path. Some lighting is needed in dog park and there was a used tampon applicator on the ground in our campsite. ���
Jul 12, 2019
Jul 12, 2019
Nice tent sites with privacy fencing around them available. Lots of picnic tables with roofs over them for sun protection too. The showers were not good. I’m sure built a long time ago but the stalls were very small. No place to put your soap or shampoo except the floor of shower. Racks or something would be easy to install. If there was a bench in them you couldn’t get by it hardly.
Jul 10, 2019
GREAT
Jul 10, 2019
We were told we could not have a site further back in the campground because they were full. But by late night there were many empty spaces and also first thing in the morning. Washroom: The tap handle was off one sink and the soap container hanging off the wall in another. The woman at the desk was all alone and could do nothing about it.
Jul 09, 2019
Great place to stay for a night, especially if the wind is blowing hard in the area. It is a bit pricey compared to other rv parks, but all KOA's seem to be priced a little higher.
Jul 08, 2019
Jul 08, 2019
My daughter and I were traveling across country and needed a place for the night. Everything was very clean. The staff was friendly. One drawback was that there were a number of semi-truck cabs that seemed to be stopping for the night. This seemed more of a stopover site than a family-type campground. It was summertime, so it might be different another time of year.
Jul 08, 2019
It was a good, clean stop over. We just stayed 1 night over the 4th of july weekend. The bathrooms were clean and well maintained, but were extremely busy with lines out the door for showers and toilets.
Jul 08, 2019
Bathrooms were a little small
Sep 06, 2019
today we arrived in Barstow Koa. a very welcoming welcome and a great place. even popular and clean. I will certainly recommend this campsite to Dutch people traveling in CA. very professional set up!
- Rob Karremans on Google
Sep 06, 2019
Great place nice spot. Lots of shade, nice staff.
- Dee Pellandini on Google
Sep 03, 2019
First stop in our RV on our road trip on route 66. Good KOA, very clean, lovely staff
- Kris Jones on Google

Oh My, There's Nothing Here!

That doesn't mean this area has to always be empty. When you start reviewing camping options, your history will display here to help compare sites and find the best stay. You will be able to share your stay information with friends or family and save it for a later time if you have a KOA.com Account.