Barstow / Calico KOA Reviews

Campground Reviews

Nov 13, 2019
We stay here often. They are OHV friendly, quiet clean campground.
Nov 12, 2019
Convenient location and friendly staff.
Nov 12, 2019
Very clean, quiet.
Nov 12, 2019
Very good place to stay. Everything was clean and nice.
Nov 12, 2019
Only stayed one night just passing through, this was more like a journey then a holiday. A little expensive for what is there.
Nov 12, 2019
Nov 12, 2019
Nov 11, 2019
Nov 10, 2019
Got in after dark. Staff very pleasant. Nice clean campsite. Small store stock with food items & wine selection. Good tasting free coffee in the a.m.7
Nov 09, 2019
I had a site with water and electric which cost about $50. A bit high compared to other KOA locations. But, I love KOA’s and gave it a whirl. Found that most of the laundry machines/driers were out of order so could not find one to do laundry. Also noticed the Grounds were unkempt and not up to typical KOA standards. Outside dish washing stations were filthy. I could have stayed in Hotel for $60
Nov 08, 2019
This is the worst KOA I have ever stayed at, and does not deserve to be in the KOA family of facilities.
Nov 07, 2019
It was ok for overnight. Only about half of the washer and dryer s were working.
Nov 06, 2019
It was a very nice stay staff was very friendly and the park was very clean. Would stay there again very nice and easy to get just of the highway.
Nov 06, 2019
Nov 06, 2019
check in was easy . everything worked. restrooms clean. will be back
Nov 06, 2019
Staff was very helpful with the property is run down a bit. They advertise Wi-Fi but it doesn’t work and at check-in the clerk even stated that it was very poor. Pricing is fair
Nov 05, 2019
Nov 05, 2019
Just a quick overnight. Easy access but that also means lots of freeway noise
Nov 05, 2019
Very nice. We loved the HUGE Dog Park/run area. The dogs LOVED it. :)
Nov 05, 2019
Check in lady was very happy & helpful. A recurring issue we have with booking online is that the email confirmation shows our discount, but at check in, a balance of the discount is due. This doesn’t happen every time. When it does we don’t get points for booking online.before I realized what was happening I once actually paid the discount amount & couldn't get a refund.
Nov 04, 2019
Nov 04, 2019
Nov 04, 2019
My stay was great. My only issue is that I never got my confirmation or my receipt emailed to me. This is a great spot for camping over night and spending the day at Calico Ghost Town with a stop at Peggy Sues on the way out. Our second time coming here. We want to bring the nephews back with us next time.
Nov 03, 2019
Sewer pipe had no screw on cover. Just a rock Smell was bad
Nov 03, 2019
GREA!!! - Clean, quite. Staff members were very friendly and helpful to us because we were not familiar with the area.
Nov 03, 2019
Friendly staff, big sites. Half of the sites have large mature trees, what you want in the summer in Barstow! Only issue was the cable connection, needed a non-standard connector which we did not have. Not a big deal, got plenty of air channels.
Nov 02, 2019
Rustic in a good way. Friendly staff. Clean restrooms.
Nov 02, 2019
Nice place Wi-Fi poor
Nov 01, 2019
Over used and in need of maintenance would sum it up. During this most recent trip we traveled through Utah, Nevada, Oregon, and northern California and I would say that this KOA was by far the least desirable spot we stopped...But wait it was also the most expensive! Talk about gouging the consumer, this KOA had a dump station area with a dangerous hole in the ground covered over with plywood!
Nov 01, 2019
Stayed here 2 separate nights, one week apart. 1st stay was excellent: immaculate bathrooms, nice site on eastern side w/ good shade & separation from neighbors. The 2nd stay was less ideal, hence 4 star rating. Bathrooms were still immaculate, but I was on western side w/ no shade & no screening from a semi-permanent resident. Staff very friendly, helpful, and efficient. I will stay here again.
Nov 01, 2019
Site is clean reasonably well maintained. Staff is friendly and helpful. It is an older site and is a bit rustic looking. We did not use showers or laundry, so no input there.
Oct 31, 2019
Oct 31, 2019
The only good thing about it is the location. There was no cable at my site, and due to the tall trees around the campground, my satalitte could not pick up the signal, therefore I missed the Monday Night Football game. So I paid 45 for the use of a space, and a couple of dollars of electicity. Thanks a million!
Oct 30, 2019
Well kept KOA campground. Staff person we dealt with was friendly and helpful.
Oct 30, 2019
Good Journey KOA to use traveling on the I-15
Oct 30, 2019
One night only but far enough from the freeway to be nice and quiet. Clean washrooms and a nice little store.
Oct 29, 2019
My family of 5 was comfortable sleeping in the Safari tent bunkbeds, but the tent is getting old and really needs a lot of TLC between other things in it. There was no free ride to Calico Ghost town like it said in the website. Next time we will try the cabins, they look nice. Overall it was a nice experience.
Oct 29, 2019
My kids love the game room and that it's free to use w/ the reservation. Plus wifi near the store. We also like the campgrounds proximity to Calico Ghodt Town. The added haunted hay ride & house were well done. Reasonably priced too.
Oct 29, 2019
Great place to have a nice relaxing weekend
Oct 29, 2019
The stay was ok. We didn't have a fire pit and wasn't able to get the internet at our site. You have to go to the club house to get it. They need to upgrade their system.
Oct 29, 2019
The front desk person was extremely helpful and welcoming. The escort staff was patient and friendly.
Oct 29, 2019
Had a short one night stay. Very windy and dusty, but all utilities worked well with no issues. TV antenna picked up multiple channels. Campground was clean. The campsite did have some wooden framing surrounding the brick patio at our site, which needed repair or replacement. We would stay there again.
Oct 28, 2019
My Family and I really enjoyed our stay the amenities are great my kids loved the activities and I love that its pet friendly as well.
Oct 28, 2019
Went for halloween event. KOA is much cleaner than calico (less dust), a lot of activities for the kids to do, haunted houses, hayrides, swimming. Game room, basketball. Our 10 year old son had a blast. Place is much quieter than calico due to less off road vehicles. Enjoyed our stay and already booked for next year.
Oct 28, 2019
We use Calico as a rest stop on our way to certain destinations as well as many of our return trips. The staff is friendly and helpful. The grounds and spaces are neat and offer easy in and out access. The restrooms are nice and clean. We also like to walk around in the desert.
Oct 28, 2019
We made a reservation in advance and they were no able to put my RV group together
Oct 28, 2019
Amazing experience. See you next year!
Oct 28, 2019
Oct 27, 2019
Oct 27, 2019
Enjoyable stay. Good facilities and all very clean. Parking spots are sufficiently wide and can accommodate larger units. We will fray there again when we are in the area.
Nov 10, 2019
Service could be friendlier. Nice park w clean restrooms.
- Jeff Edwards on Google

Oh My, There's Nothing Here!

That doesn't mean this area has to always be empty. When you start reviewing camping options, your history will display here to help compare sites and find the best stay. You will be able to share your stay information with friends or family and save it for a later time if you have a KOA.com Account.