Badlands / White River KOA

Open April 28 - September 30

Reserve: 800-562-3897

Reserve: 800-562-3897

Info: 605-433-5337

Info: 605-433-5337

Email

20720 SD Highway 44

Interior, SD 57750

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Tent Reviews

Jul 20, 2017
The location was good. Nice stay in the teepee. It was very neat to stay in one. The kids enjoyed the pool. The bathrooms felt as if they needed some attention.
Jul 20, 2017
We enjoyed our stay, but were taken aback by the aggressive nature in which the owner attacked our requests to charge our electric car. We offered to pay for a short top-up charge, so that we could comfortably make it to Grand Rapids. In the end we spent two hours in the heat of the day charging at the local non-KOA campground in Interior. Unnecessary ignorance!!
Jul 20, 2017
Awesome campground! The couple who run it are terrific!
Jul 18, 2017
we had a very good time and no problems
Jul 17, 2017
We've stayed at this campground around the same time of year for the past 12 years with a group of students from Indianapolis. We always appreciate this oasis in the Badlands. Great facilities; love the updated pool and restroom/shower facilities, and appreciate the shade.
Jul 16, 2017
Jul 16, 2017
Nice place to camp. Friendly people and surrounding by beautiful landscape
Jul 16, 2017
Everything was wonderful!
Jul 15, 2017
Jul 15, 2017
It was decent, the men's bathroom was far from clean. The staff was nice / helpful.
Jul 14, 2017
This KOA is great! The only place with real shade in the badlands. The owners are lovely and the staff work hard to make your stay great! The only thing I'd say could be better is the Fire grates need maintenance in the tent sites. But, that's pretty minor considering how great the place is!
Jul 13, 2017
Nice, family-friendly campground!
Jul 12, 2017
Jul 12, 2017
The staff was on top of the 5 MPH speed limit. Clean sites. Dry wood. Bottomless coffee. Pleasant and efficient staff.
Jul 11, 2017
Very nice campground. Will definitely go back. Relaxing and quiet.
Jul 11, 2017
Explored campgrounds in the Badlands online before booking. We made a great choice. Nestled between a creek and the White River the shady campground was much cooler than others we saw once we arrived in the area. The staff was friendly and helpful. The place was neat and clean. We would stay here again - absolutely.
Jul 10, 2017
The facility and the staff are great but the guests are very noisy making it hard to rest due to the constant noise
Jul 10, 2017
Very friendly staff and a nice, laid back campground. Great for families.
Jul 10, 2017
Staff, facilities, and the scenery were all 10/10. Loved staying at the Badlands KOA
Jul 10, 2017
Second time here, love the grounds and the hosts are special people.
Jul 10, 2017
Campground was nice. Food/meals were highly overpriced for what you get. Skip the "breakfast burrito" its tiny. The wood we bought didn't do much but smoke and was hard to cook with. Showers, were muggy and pointless they should have better ventilation or A/C. The pool was nice and staff very defensive when confronted with a problem, instead of helping. Store, $4 for a loaf of bread.
Jul 09, 2017
Nice, quiet campground, although the wifi didn't reach our tent site. We had to go closer to the office to get reception.
Jul 09, 2017
We chose this campground so we could have a campfire and be close to the Badlands, and it was great! Restrooms were in good shape. We stayed in a deluxe tent site which had its pros (lots of storage, sink, place to keep things dry) and cons (not much privacy, too close to neighbors, not much of a 'camping' feel). We'd definitely stay at this KOA again if we're camping in the Badlands.
Jul 09, 2017
Jul 09, 2017
Had fun here and the lightning thunder storm you provided for free was AWESOME. Loved the active present of the Koa staff during the storm and just general buzzing around making sure nobody needed anything
Jul 08, 2017
Nice option having breakfast and dinner cooked for you. Bathrooms were very clean, well maintained.
Jul 08, 2017
The deluxe tent sites were dirty in the sink area, flies everywhere. A weekly wash down would do wonders. Also bathrooms could use some thorough cleaning.
Jul 07, 2017
Stayed in the teepee. Great experience - something different !
Jul 07, 2017
This is the best KOA I have ever visited. The campgrounds are well maintained. The staff was super friendly. The food they served was delicious and a good value. Could not recommend this place enough. Well done
Jul 07, 2017
Thanks!
Jul 07, 2017
It was a great stop over spot while visiting the Badlands. It was clean and well kept. It was super hot when we stayed so bonus points for having a pool! My only complaint would be the firepit is too deep to start a fire and the firewood at the store was horrible! Otherwise all else was great!
Jul 07, 2017
Sweet little campground in super convenient location to the sites. Surprisingly decent food a cute little pool too. Friendly staff.
Jul 07, 2017
Nice and clean, trouble with late arriving early leaving noisy guests but otherwise a good place to stay.
Jul 07, 2017
Nice clean campground with accommodating staff. We only go KOA now!
Jul 07, 2017
Jul 07, 2017
I had a wonderful time staying at the Badlands KOA! The amenities were convenient and well-maintained, the campground was clean and comfortable, and the atmosphere was fun and convivial. It really made my stay in the Badlands that much better.
Jul 07, 2017
Bathrooms and showers were dirty both times used.. morning and evening.
Jul 06, 2017
Jul 06, 2017
We love it here! Family friendly. Dog friendly. Great food and cook! It is clean and every year we see improvements! The pool is wonderful! Thank you!
Jul 06, 2017
Disappointing. One shower stall and one toilet stall were down... in a campground that is already too large for available facilities. Dated and worn out. Time for a facelift.
Jul 05, 2017
Not as clean as others we've stayed in- bathrooms were too far away from tent site, and too many maintenance issues.
Jul 05, 2017
Awesome place!
Jul 05, 2017
A great stay, great owners, very accommodating for telescopers!
Jul 05, 2017
The fire pit was a bit disappointing, it wasn't a true fire pit. It was more like some sort of half grill and it made it difficult to keep a fire going. In comparison to the other KOAs we have stayed at it was a small site. The breakfast though was by far the best we have had at a KOA and we enjoyed our stay.
Jul 05, 2017
Attentive staffing, perfect locations, very clean.
Jul 04, 2017
Great Hosts! Tent sites and Cabins spaced nicely, I stayed in both. Very Nice Stay! Thanks!
Jul 03, 2017
Jul 03, 2017
Wonderful place. Bob and his staff are real professionals. Great food shack, good coffee all the time, and friendly conversation!
Jul 02, 2017
Jul 02, 2017
Second time to stay here while traveling across the country and would happily do so again!
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Trip Advisor Award