Badlands / White River KOA

Open April 28 - September 30

Reserve: 800-562-3897

Info: 605-433-5337

Email

20720 SD Highway 44

Interior, SD 57750

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

May 15, 2017
May 13, 2017
A peaceful oasis, clean restrooms, and very friendly staff. This is off the main highway, but worth the 4 mile drive!
May 12, 2017
Great Place
May 12, 2017
TV was a challenge
May 11, 2017
great to see a lot of updating and renewal in the CG. Staff was very friendly..
May 10, 2017
traveled the badlands ,lots to see and do people at koi were great
May 09, 2017
We loved the campgrounds! Clean, a variety of options, and entertainment. The staff was friendly, too!
May 08, 2017
Great Host's. Always willing to help in any way
May 08, 2017
Friendly people. Clean shower's and restrooms. Nice campsite.
May 07, 2017
This is a good location for exploring the Badlands. Bathrooms were clean, but campsites needed attention. Our picnic table was covered with bird and tree droppings. Grass area looked like it had not been raked this season. We have stayed at many KOAs and have gotten used to the golf cart noise and dust, but it was ridiculous here. It was nearly constant.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We are a nesting grounds for several species of birds. We are sorry they visited your site after we had cleaned it. Shoulder season is the time of getting winter off of the sites, and we apologize yours was not yet spiffed for spring.
May 04, 2017
Hosts are incredibly friendly and helpful. The place is extremely clean and well organized. I LOVE the Badlands and this KOA makes it highly accessible and it's a GREAT place to stay. This was my 3rd visit and I'll keep coming back!
May 04, 2017
Hosts were great! Can't beat this location. Even slightly off season, was beautiful scenery and a quiet setting.
Apr 29, 2017
Great staff, nice site!
Apr 25, 2017
Bob And Karen are wonderful host. They make everyone feel welcome and are making white river the best koa ever.
Apr 25, 2017
Very accommodating even though it was still out of season. Great place for motorcyclists to get up and ride the Badlands the next morning.
Nov 21, 2016
Lovely area and great cabins. Get the accommodations of bathroom in the cabin along with microwave, fridge, and coffee maker. Excellent prices. A truly wonderfully comfortable stay.
Oct 30, 2016
Great stay!
Oct 22, 2016
We missed having a chair in the cabin. We couldn't get a decent radio station either. The bathrooms were just average and better lighting in the cabin would be nice. There were too many flies outside at the table and the water was quite soft when washing your hair. The whole area we found to be quite expensive.
Oct 19, 2016
Great owners
Oct 16, 2016
Nicest koa ever Bob and Karen are fantastic host
Oct 15, 2016
Bathrooms nasty and not cleaned

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We are so sorry you were disappointed. Perhaps you were not aware that the campground was officially closed during your stay, and the facilities are not maintained as often as when the campground is open. Please come see us during our regular season: May 1 to Sept 30. Thanks.
Oct 13, 2016
Oct 13, 2016
We had a great time. There were two RVs in our party, they parked us together and insured we were happy for the evening. Next day they gave us tips of the area sites to see. They were glad we selected their camp to stay at, wished us well on our future travels when we departed. Thank you Bob and Karen.
Oct 11, 2016
Oct 10, 2016
Beautiful park with lots of trees. All services worked well. Very convenient to Badlands NP.
Oct 10, 2016
This is the best KOA's I've ever been too. What makes it the best, might be it's location. But even still, sites are big and clean. Lots of room for tent camping. It serves, I think, all three meals under a very nice covered picnic area. Never ate there, but I'm sure it's good and fun for a family.
Oct 10, 2016
Oct 10, 2016
Wonderful place, wonderful owners, and great service. Absolutely adding this place as our place to stay the next time we visit the Badlands!
Oct 09, 2016
The owners are very nice
Oct 08, 2016
Upon arrival we were greeted warmly by the owners, Karen & Bob Brown. We felt welcomed immediately. Hot coffee available in the well equipped store. Bob led the way to our excellent RV site. What a beautiful location. Quiet, pretty and very clean. Good showers, toilets, laundry and barbeque areas. Lovely landscaping, shaded areas and lots of room. Loved this Koa. Would definately return. Thanks.
Oct 08, 2016
Very friendly staff. Clean facility.
Oct 07, 2016
We arrived during a storm and were led to our site, by very helpful personnel. Great dog run!!
Oct 06, 2016
Oct 06, 2016
It was ended of season, so not much going on, but you could see that there were more things to do in the summer, like a pool and jacuzzi. There's a sad little mini golf course, but young kids wouldn't know the difference. Older kids would find it "lame". Owner Bob is a character and really nice guy.
Oct 06, 2016
This KOA was great! Our Kabin was secluded and located in an unexpectedly shaded and private location in the middle of the desert close to the White River. The owners/caretakers couldn't be nicer and offered to upgrade our Kabin at a fraction of the regular cost. We took a short walk with our dog to the White River and it was SO beautiful! Then we drove thru the Badlands... MIND BLO
Oct 06, 2016
Great place to stay - quiet, friendly. Well worth the money and a little drive off the freeway.
Oct 05, 2016
Oct 05, 2016
Oct 05, 2016
Oct 04, 2016
Beautiful campground and great staff. Really quiet.
Oct 04, 2016
Nice, clean campground. Friendly staff. Nearby highway is busier than you would think given this campground is in the middle of nowhere.
Oct 03, 2016
We were only there for 2 nights and it was close to the end of the season, so we did not have the opportunity to enjoy all of the amenities but the campground was centrally located in the Badlands.
Oct 03, 2016
Great people, easy access, very friendly.
Oct 03, 2016
The owners were great. Love this campground, it has been my favorite for years.
Oct 03, 2016
What a delightful surprise to find this beautiful park in the small town of Interior, SD! Clean facilities, spacious RV pads with nice shade trees.
Oct 03, 2016
Great stay, great hosts I would recommend planning a stay here again
Oct 02, 2016
Very friendly staff.
Oct 01, 2016
Nice sheltered location in riparian cottonwoods
Oct 01, 2016
Sep 30, 2016
This is our 5th year in a row. Last year they added the upgraded deluxe cabins and they are awesome. End of September is the best because of fewer people and cooler temperatures, however, next year we are thinking of going over the 4th of July weekend.
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Trip Advisor Award