Avila / Pismo Beach KOA Reviews

Campground Reviews

Aug 06, 2019
Unique
Great, friendly staff. We had a great time and will be back. Campground clean and well maintained. The only suggestion I would have, is to repaint the directions/signage on the pavement.
Aug 06, 2019
Aug 06, 2019
Great campground! Unfortunately we had site 40 that is like living in a fishbowl. We recommend a privacy fence between the bathrooms and campsite.
Aug 06, 2019
Everyone was very nice and helpful. This was our first time and we really enjoyed it! Thank you for the blueberry pancakes! �
Aug 05, 2019
This is one if the best KOA I've stayed at. The campground was very well maintained & the staff were very friendly. I will be returning to the camp ground this October & will be recommending Avila /Pismo beach KOA to my family and friends.
Aug 05, 2019
We had a wonderful time at the campsite. The staff was friendly and the grounds were very clean. Bathrooms/showers are in excellent shape. A lot of families enjoying the campsite. The pool area is clean and very inviting. The only thing I would change would be a small section of the path along the movie area were the plants are overgrown and covering the path other than that- excellent!
Aug 05, 2019
Great campground! Hardest part was my husband parking the 38' camper. :-)
Aug 05, 2019
Aug 05, 2019
Ok for overnight staying although very expensive for that purpose. Major downside: Big advertisment with free Wifi but it does work only at the registration.
Aug 05, 2019
We had heard some horror stories about employees being rude, and being kind of harsh on kids. But we had the best experience!! We loved it and will definitely be coming back!! Sights are a bit tight, but thank goodness my husband can back up our rig like a pro :) And I think considering the set up its wonderful and necessary that you have an employee escort and help you back in!!
Aug 05, 2019
Needed a quick stop over at the last minute, and was able to grab a spot here. I appreciated being able to book one night, many places have an annoying 2 night minimum. Easy on and off the freeway, people were friendly and helpful. The spots are very very small, and the WiFi was terrible. Those two factors were downers since I was counting on some connectivity, but decent place overall.
Aug 05, 2019
If you’re looking for a family friendly place, this is it. It’s not about real camping here, it’s glamorous camping. Too many rules and it was like a mini resort, no thank you.
Aug 04, 2019
Very well-kept rv park and friendly staff.
Aug 04, 2019
We stayed for 14 nights and were always greeted by friendly and nice staff. We enjoyed the new addition of miniature golf and the family room too! Our favorite place to camp at in Avila Beach.
Aug 04, 2019
We were 15 minutes early and were told to wait outside the facility. The lady at check in didn't check to see if our site was ready or anything. So we circled around and parked for 10 minutes to check in. The lot has a very steep slope and we heard two trailers scrape on the way in. Other than that the park is nice.
Aug 04, 2019
Nice place to stay 1-2 days !
Aug 04, 2019
GREAT TIME!!!!!!
Aug 03, 2019
The spaces were a little close together. And it would be nice if kids under 14 could use the hot tub. Location is great, with the bob jones trail so close. We will come again
Aug 03, 2019
Always love it!
Aug 03, 2019
We go there every year for the last 4 years because the place is very nice, good location, clean facilities, very family and dog friendly .But this will be our last year because our reservation was messed up. No one from the management made an effort to help us, despite they had another bungalows open. Sorry , not going there again.
Aug 03, 2019
Great stop!!! Lots of amenities and friendly staff!
Aug 03, 2019
We rented one of two large cabins. Staff was friendly and stay was nice, but the cabins need to be dusted and the bed in C1 needs to be replaced/upgraded. Paying $250/night should equate to a good nights sleep. Great location and overall good stay
Aug 03, 2019
Nice small Campground. We loved the outdoor movie for the children. Friendly hosts at the desk. Onfortunately the pool wasn’t available the next day until 3 PM because of repairs. The most important reason to choose KOA was the swimming pool!
Aug 02, 2019
Aug 02, 2019
The space I was given (24) was very cramped and didn't have enough room for my truck F250 and my Tracer Breeze 24DBS and was forced to have my tail end of my truck in the road a little bit. The rec room's pool table, and foos ball table are in need of repair. I'm not sure that I would stay there again, if I were I would request a larger space.
Aug 02, 2019
Aug 01, 2019
We went for a family beach vacation as one last chance to have fun together before school starts. The KOA was close to Avila Beach and Avila Barn. Lots of amenities like the store, game room, pool, nightly movies, bike trail. It was perfect.
Aug 01, 2019
Jul 31, 2019
When trying check in, we were an hour earlier, the lady running the desk was short and unfriendly telling me nope we needed to wait. She didn't even check to see if our spot might be available. When we return it was someone different and she was very nice. Their rules for the park were a bit more strict than most. We still had a good time and the campground was very clean.
Jul 31, 2019
Jul 31, 2019
This is a beautiful campground with wonderful amenities. We hated to leave.
Jul 30, 2019
Unique
Everything is good besides 1. the WiFi is phone line speed 2.The kid room doesn’t have enough ventilation and the top of bunk bed has no barrier so my boys took down the mattresses and slept on the living room.
Jul 30, 2019
Jul 29, 2019
We love this campground. This is the second year we have stayed at this KOA. Very friendly staff and they provide a clean safe place for our family to enjoy our vacation. The only issue I personally have is the lack of good internet.
Jul 29, 2019
Jul 29, 2019
I thought the sites were way too close to each other. Also,the bed in S3 was very uncomfortable. The campground was very clean considering how crowded it was and the pool was very nice. The cabins are decorated nicely.
Jul 29, 2019
We had 3 families that came together and we loved the campground and amenities. The only exception was the WiFi is terrible
Jul 29, 2019
Great campground... I pulled my camper in and the host helped me back into my spot they have propane pool hot tub dog areas hot showers perfect place to camp !
Jul 29, 2019
Lots of amenities and activities. Sites are very small. Noise from freeway is loud. I do not understand the 1pm on the dot check in. It was 12:40 and we were told to wait in the dirt lot, where we bottomed out and got stuck in our motor home. Showers are convenient but need attention for hair etc. during the evening hours in between showers as some guests do not clean up after themselves.
Jul 29, 2019
They really were able to accommodate me to extend my stay!!! Great place!
Jul 29, 2019
Great place to stay. Grounds and restrooms are clean and well maintained. My kids loved the Saturday night movie and snack bar.
Jul 29, 2019
Resort is older but incredibly clean and chock full of fun stuff to do! We will definitely use this place as our local/staycation park. I’ve already booked another weekend in September!
Jul 29, 2019
Jul 28, 2019
We just adore this campground. We appreciate the effort in the improvements over this past year. The addition of the personal fire pits, cafe lights etc was a nice touch. We stay in the model homes and we will mention that attention needs to be given to these now. The deck on C1 is at a dangerous level, in need of repair. upgrades are needed: beds, blinds etc. it’s just time. But we’ll be b
Jul 28, 2019
Vlakbij de snelweg. Ideaal als tussenstop richting San Francisco. Wel een beetje krappe plekken, maar voor het overige prima verzorgde campground met mooi zwembad.
Jul 28, 2019
Unique
Jul 28, 2019
My husband and I stayed here in June for 2 nights and had a great time. We have a Eurovan Weekender with a poptop. We liked it so much, we came back with our kids in July. When we arrived, an employee, "Chris," told us that we were "just a van" without hookups, and that we couldn't stay! This is the SAME employee that helped us last time! After much lecturing, they let us stay. Never again.
Jul 28, 2019
Smallest site we have had anywhere. Site was also very close to the freeway. Staff was friendly but very inflexible with an early check in or a late check out. We were able to ride bikes on the Bob Jones trail in to Avila. If not for that this place would get zero stars.
Jul 28, 2019
staff was really nice and knowledgeable about the surrounding area. great location with plenty of fun things to do. campground was clean and quiet.
Jul 28, 2019
Loved dog park. Everything very clean.all employees very friendly. Site 37 very small tight.noticed all sites too small too many pickups parked in front of trailers making it hard to walk safely.
Dec 26, 2019
We only stayed over night and it was good for us. We came in late and they had our packet ready. The shower/bathroom area was nice and clean as well. They also have a rec area that looked great.
- Michelle Agbigay on Google
Jan 07, 2020
It's close to the Bob Jones trail which is not to be missed! You can walk or ride a bike a few miles to the beach. Lovely pool and kids playground. There is a bit of freeway noise.
- Jennifer T on Google
Jan 02, 2020
(Translated by Google) Nice campsite (Original) Mooie camping
- Frank Van Leuken on Google

Oh My, There's Nothing Here!

That doesn't mean this area has to always be empty. When you start reviewing camping options, your history will display here to help compare sites and find the best stay. You will be able to share your stay information with friends or family and save it for a later time if you have a KOA.com Account.