Avila / Pismo Beach KOA Reviews

Campground Reviews

Aug 15, 2019
Place ws fine but we had a spot nearbay the Highway. So iT was very noicy!
Aug 15, 2019
Very polite and helpful staff. Great stay.
Aug 14, 2019
This was our 2nd stay so we knew to request a spot that backs up to the playground. The day we came there were no avail spots but the next day a spot opened up & we asked to move & they wouldn’t let us. We were confused bc they said we couldn’t make reservations but we spoke to one of the RVers backed up to the playground & he said he requested his spot & the vacant spot stayed vacant for 2 da
Aug 14, 2019
Aug 13, 2019
Wifi never worked. When you could get on at all, it kicked you off before you could use it. The equipment and service really needs updating or they shouldn’t claim to have wifi service.
Aug 13, 2019
We loved our stay!
Aug 13, 2019
Aug 13, 2019
Loved it. Already wanting to come back.
Aug 13, 2019
It was a great stay! Jim was very helpful! The bathrooms were stellar - clean, large, good ventilation. The pool was colder than i would have liked. It was odd the jacuzzi is only for 14 and older. The sites were pretty close together. But we will go again.
Aug 13, 2019
Always a good time. My only request would be to clean up the cobwebs a little better.
Aug 13, 2019
We really enjoyed our stay at KOA, they are very friendly, responsive and are on site until late hours which is very helpful.
Aug 12, 2019
My son, daughter-in-law, and 3 grandkids had a great time staying here for the week. Lots of activities and lots of kids to hang out with.
Aug 12, 2019
Unusable wifi
Aug 12, 2019
We were greeted with a very warm welcome, told about all the things to know, and then escorted to our space. The facility was nice and the bathrooms were large and kept up well. First time at a KOA and will definitely be returning again!
Aug 12, 2019
We are very happy with the park. Spots are really tight, but everyone has been pleasant. I just wish we were closer to the beach or shopping.
Aug 12, 2019
Loved the outdoor movies with our grandson.
Aug 12, 2019
Personel was very friendly, nice pool, nice spa en very clean bathroom. Nice hike to the beach about 4 km without traffic, was a bike/foothpath. Nice beach. Close to highway so you can hear the traffic, but that is in all KOA-campings.
Aug 12, 2019
Aug 12, 2019
Clean well run friendly staff wish we could have camp fires
Aug 11, 2019
We only stayed 1 night, because we were on the way back to Los Angeles. Camping and restrooms looked nice. Pool was a bit small. We would have liked to make a campfire, but that wasn’t aloud.
Aug 11, 2019
Very nice place! Always improving. Staff helpful.
Aug 11, 2019
Staff were very helpful and friendly and willing to answer any questions we had. The park was clean, pool was wonderful and we loved the dog park area and play area. Hook ups were easy and all worked well. The only complaint we had was the noise of the freeway which was likely worse due to being at the back of the park, close to the freeway. Spaces were spacious and had great picnic tables.
Aug 11, 2019
Our first overnight stay ever at any campground. Loved it! We'll stay longer next time.
Aug 10, 2019
The sites are so close together it is impossible to spread out some chairs and enjoy an evening of making s’mores (gas fire). The recreation room is great for the kids but could use some tlc. We asked for a late checkout (2 hours) since our site was vacant the next night. We had a fishing trip the day of our checkout and would be a bit late. Our request was denied and we had to pay $75.00.
Aug 10, 2019
Unique
The cabin was very nice and clean. The employees were very friendly.
Aug 10, 2019
Very courteous and informative, area clean and neat, always friendly and a wave when drive by site... will return
Aug 09, 2019
My well behaved kids were not allowed into the hot tub. Apparently it is a 14 and up age rule here. I wish we would’ve known about this rule before we booked our family vacation here. We probably won’t stay here again if that is enforced. The regular pool is too cold in this climate for children.
Aug 09, 2019
Beautiful place staff very friendly and helpful. Only criticism and its really nothing sites are a little tight making it slightly difficult pulling in and out.
Aug 09, 2019
Unique
We had no issues. The cabin was cute... I expected it to be more camping like, but it was more hotel like. Staff was nice. Everything was clean.
Aug 09, 2019
New management is great. Bathrooms smell good cleaner grounds. Everything seems to flow better since last we stayed here bout a year ago Thank you!
Aug 09, 2019
Facility was nice, well cared for with good amenities. The site we stayed in was a pull-through, however the "thru" was such an incredibly sharp right turn with little clearance so we almost didn't get out. Complex is right on the highway, lots of road noise all day and night.
Aug 09, 2019
Aug 08, 2019
Staff was awesome! Helpful friendly and accommodating. Sites were clean bathrooms were clean and there was a lot to do for the kids playground, movie night, adults as well... we played shuffleboard use hung out by the outdoor fire pit, jacuzzi and Pool were clean and kept up and a great little gift shop, better prices than in town!
Aug 08, 2019
Aug 08, 2019
The sites are so close together there isn’t enough room to put out your chairs to enjoy the setting. The recreation room was great for the kids. We asked for a late checkout (2 hours ) but had to pay for an extra night. I found this to be unreasonable since the park had numerous vacancies ( including our site). For this reason I will be reluctant to recommend this park.
Aug 08, 2019
We stayed in a cabin by the pool. It was very clean and nicely decorated. Very limited storage areas or places to put luggage or clothing. Could have hooks in several places to hang clothing, and one by the sink for a towel. We couldn’t get our stove to work but we decided we didn’t need it so we never asked for assistance. Overall, the campground is very well kept and has nice options for kid
Aug 07, 2019
We LOVE staying in Avila. Location is great, staff is friendly and accommodating, and the grounds are nice.
Aug 07, 2019
Just an overnight stay. The staff was amazing.
Aug 07, 2019
The office staff was very unfriendly and unhelpful. We had asked for our sites to be close together when we booked. They couldn't have been farther apart. We arrived a few minutes early and we told to go wait in the dirt at the side of road. I would not stay there again.
Aug 07, 2019
Great campground with lots to do packed into a small space. Some sites are really narrow.
Aug 07, 2019
Very clean facilities great location except for freeway noise but not much you can do about that. Cleanest pool and spa ever.
Aug 06, 2019
We enjoy the facilities, but the staff are sticklers. It seems they aren't too willing to go the extra mile to make sure you have a good time. We tried to get extra nights for a friend and they said there was nothing that could be done, yet there were empty spots the whole time. It seems like some of the staff feel they are doing you a favor by letting you stay at the koa.
Aug 06, 2019
Very clean park in a great location. Restroom/showers, while clean, needed to be updated. Very clean and modern laundry room. Staff was very friendly and helpful. As with many RV parks designed before today's larger RV's with slides, the sites are really small and close together. Don't miss the Farmer's Market at nearby Avila on Friday afternoon or the Bob Jones bike trail.
Aug 06, 2019
Unique
Great, friendly staff. We had a great time and will be back. Campground clean and well maintained. The only suggestion I would have, is to repaint the directions/signage on the pavement.
Aug 06, 2019
Aug 06, 2019
Great campground! Unfortunately we had site 40 that is like living in a fishbowl. We recommend a privacy fence between the bathrooms and campsite.
Aug 06, 2019
Everyone was very nice and helpful. This was our first time and we really enjoyed it! Thank you for the blueberry pancakes! �
Aug 05, 2019
This is one if the best KOA I've stayed at. The campground was very well maintained & the staff were very friendly. I will be returning to the camp ground this October & will be recommending Avila /Pismo beach KOA to my family and friends.
Aug 05, 2019
We had a wonderful time at the campsite. The staff was friendly and the grounds were very clean. Bathrooms/showers are in excellent shape. A lot of families enjoying the campsite. The pool area is clean and very inviting. The only thing I would change would be a small section of the path along the movie area were the plants are overgrown and covering the path other than that- excellent!
Aug 05, 2019
Great campground! Hardest part was my husband parking the 38' camper. :-)
Dec 26, 2019
We only stayed over night and it was good for us. We came in late and they had our packet ready. The shower/bathroom area was nice and clean as well. They also have a rec area that looked great.
- Michelle Agbigay on Google
Jan 07, 2020
It's close to the Bob Jones trail which is not to be missed! You can walk or ride a bike a few miles to the beach. Lovely pool and kids playground. There is a bit of freeway noise.
- Jennifer T on Google
Jan 02, 2020
(Translated by Google) Nice campsite (Original) Mooie camping
- Frank Van Leuken on Google

Oh My, There's Nothing Here!

That doesn't mean this area has to always be empty. When you start reviewing camping options, your history will display here to help compare sites and find the best stay. You will be able to share your stay information with friends or family and save it for a later time if you have a KOA.com Account.