Avila / Pismo Beach KOA Reviews

Campground Reviews

Sep 26, 2019
great time amazing new management staff! liked the new improvements too! nice to have a working bathroom at the pool. we'll be back
Sep 26, 2019
RV's checking in kept blocking the road, so to get back to our campsite we had to go the wrong way meeting exiting vehicles which was getting them irritated. Also, we couldn't use the spa because there were so many little children in it (definitely under 14 years old)! And another camp site kept burning construction wood! Otherwise a very nice location, and bathrooms nice and clean. Thank You!
Sep 26, 2019
it was a great stay, our backin camping spot was a little snug but worked out.
Sep 26, 2019
Nice clean quiet place
Sep 26, 2019
Sep 25, 2019
Like the new management team! Like new improvements and staff was very helpful. Good times
Sep 24, 2019
Spaces are very tight, with little to no privacy. Although the managers try hard to make the experience positive. If you are looking for a "camping" experience, look elsewhere. This would be a great base if traveling, or a pit stop
Sep 24, 2019
Generally speaking it’s a Nice KOA, however the traffic noise was a bit much, and we were packed in like sardines � Could barely park our truck at our site. At one point we were instructed to park outside the park, which wasn’t going to happen, not at 65.00 bucks a night! The pool and jacuzzi was nice. Friendly staff. Would probably consider staying there again, depends on what’s availabl
Sep 24, 2019
Great until there was a miscommunication about check out date & staff were pretty rude in informing us that they thought we were supposed to check out - we thought we were there 2 more days.
Sep 24, 2019
Sep 24, 2019
Very short, but sweet!
Sep 23, 2019
Super great staff especially the lady that took care of our group stay keep her she’s special
Sep 23, 2019
Loved it: loved being near beaches, SLO and hot tub/pool.
Sep 23, 2019
MUCH BETTER under the new management of Jim & Jodie! Huge difference from our experience last year. We stay here at least once/year, sometimes more. The entire area is much cleaner! I could feel the difference when I walked in the restroom, because it was cleaner. And EVERYONE is much more friendly than the previous staff! Very welcoming! THANK YOU for making the change!!
Sep 23, 2019
Sep 23, 2019
This is very much an RV park, not a campground. Spaces are packed in like a sardine can. But for a few perimeter sites, most sites have no trees or shade. No campfires and we had a real sense that by 7 pm people should be inside and quiet. The bushes that separate sites are mostly Bottlebrush and Oleander. Oleander is poisonous & bottlebrush attracts bees. We couldn't even eat outside with bees.
Sep 23, 2019
Pleasantly surprised! Usually we have such limited space when staying anywhere at the beach & this was not the case. Great amenities as well.
Sep 23, 2019
Staff was great
Sep 23, 2019
GREAT PLACE TO STAY,CLEAN AND FRIENDLY.GREAT LOCATION
Sep 23, 2019
The staff was helpful and the park was well maintained. It’s within walking distance to the Avila Valley Barn which has wonderful baked goods and produce. However, the 24-hour traffic noise from Highway 101 was a deal breaker for us. This campground is not for light sleepers. Even with ear plugs I could still hear the traffic noise throughout the night.
Sep 23, 2019
It was great
Sep 23, 2019
The clean RR and Showers to the really pleasant staff.
Sep 23, 2019
Sep 22, 2019
We always enjoy our stay at Avila/Pismo KOA. This well kept RV park has a nice playground and other amenities. Easy access to the Hwy and centrally located for day visits to many beautiful beaches and boardwalks. Easy check-in and helpful staff. Sites for most rig sizes; your neighbors are close. Gravel sites, no wood fires. We will be visiting again soon!
Sep 22, 2019
Sep 22, 2019
Unique
Always love my stay at Avila. I’ll will always be a Regular at Avila/Pismo.If possible? Please do something about early check in for Cabins.Around 12 is more acceptable.3pm is just too late.
Sep 22, 2019
Unique
Our stay was good, we enjoyed the close distance to the beach. Enjoyed the nightly movies and treats!!
Sep 22, 2019
Sep 22, 2019
We loved the campground . The staff is very friendly and helpfull. However, the space between the sites are very small. The swimmingpool is beautiful.
Sep 21, 2019
Sep 20, 2019
very busy 4th of July week. Could use a better way of checking travelers in, back log made for traffic jam out on busy street.
Sep 20, 2019
We go every year. This is a great site. During the day we rode our bikes to the beach, in the evening we sat outside and watched movies under the stars (Lilo and Stitch & the Wizard of Oz!). This place is great.
Sep 20, 2019
Great camp ground...so clean and the staff was so friendly
Sep 20, 2019
Staff is friendly and helpful. Close to bike trail and farm. Nice place to chill out.
Sep 19, 2019
Sep 19, 2019
Sep 18, 2019
We loved our stay Avila/Pismo Beach. VERY CLean and well kept. We Spent 4 nights.The only problem was the spaces were too tight. The staff was wonderful.We will be back...
Sep 18, 2019
Sep 16, 2019
This place was fantastic, cozy, clean. The staff was friendly and helpful.
Sep 16, 2019
No doubt the very best KOA we have stayed in and that's a lot of them. Beautiful facility with LOTS of extras. Movie and breakfast made the place even better.
Sep 16, 2019
Enjoyed our stay at Avila/Pismo KOA , staff very friendy , and helpful. Weather was perfect too.
Sep 16, 2019
Love it, just wish the sites were a little wider but sufficient enough. Very friendly staff, awesome pancake breakfast! We were there for the last one of the summer! Very clean facility!
Sep 16, 2019
The only complaint I have is the the bushes need to be trimmed. With the spaces already small, over grown bushes make them even smaller.
Sep 16, 2019
We had a great stay. Clean park, friendly staff.
Sep 16, 2019
Loved how they helped get backed in, some spots are harder to get in but this made it easy! Thanks
Sep 16, 2019
The staff is absolutely asome !!! So professional and friendly.. the cabin was great .. will definitely stay there again
Sep 16, 2019
Enjoy the location and park very much. Will return often . One suggestion is about the check out time of 11:00 am for everyone. Such congestion with people needing to hook up to vehicles . Why not have one side check out at 11:00 and the other side at 11:30. New checking in isn't until 1:00 and it's not as if the spaces need clean sheets and towels! Thunk about the mass exit congestion.
Sep 16, 2019
Loved it , came in late , reservation envelope at the entrance telling us what to do !! Nice and easy ��� Definitely will stay again our first time staying there !!!
Sep 14, 2019
There is some traffic noise, which was expected, and some of the sites were small, but overall rating a 5. Camp was super clean, staff very friendly. Close to everything from beaches to shopping. We stayed 5 days and will return if we are in the area.
Sep 13, 2019
Very clean campground and especially the restrooms.
Dec 26, 2019
We only stayed over night and it was good for us. We came in late and they had our packet ready. The shower/bathroom area was nice and clean as well. They also have a rec area that looked great.
- Michelle Agbigay on Google
Jan 07, 2020
It's close to the Bob Jones trail which is not to be missed! You can walk or ride a bike a few miles to the beach. Lovely pool and kids playground. There is a bit of freeway noise.
- Jennifer T on Google
Jan 02, 2020
(Translated by Google) Nice campsite (Original) Mooie camping
- Frank Van Leuken on Google

Oh My, There's Nothing Here!

That doesn't mean this area has to always be empty. When you start reviewing camping options, your history will display here to help compare sites and find the best stay. You will be able to share your stay information with friends or family and save it for a later time if you have a KOA.com Account.