Campground Reviews

Apr 20, 2024
We will return in the future. It was a very nice overnight stop while passing through on Interstate 64--easy off and easy back on to the interstate. The folks in the store were very accommodating and helpful. The campground was clean and well maintained. We were in a big rig towing and they had everything that we desired for an overnight stay. mw
Apr 19, 2024
Ssdi friendly and so accommodating. Melissa in the office is wonderful.
Apr 18, 2024
Spent 2 nights in cabin 1. I had an incredible time. The owner, Bob was in town and shared some upcoming improvements!!!
Apr 17, 2024
Apr 15, 2024
Apr 15, 2024
Apr 14, 2024
Stay was great except we had issues with our 50 amp service. Only had 1/2 power. Had to switch to 30 amp plug so that we had all working outlets and TVs. Hope service is fixed as the prior camper also had issue at that site and was moved. Site 17
Apr 14, 2024
Apr 14, 2024
Staff were friendly and very helpful! Campground was clean and quiet and the cozy cabin (#4) was SO CUTE! Loved the deer tapestry in the bedroom, and the raccoons canoeing in the living room!
Apr 14, 2024
Check-In took 25 minutes. I had pre-registered so it should have been a here is your lot number, map, and out the door, but a person who had pets for the cabin which should have not have been, and made a reservation via VRBO had many questions, and the person working had no answers, I had put in a 7 hour drive so I was just wanting to get to my site, eat, and go to bed. That won't happen again
Apr 08, 2024
Very nice staff. The campground is quiet, clean and close to Huntington and Ashland. We enjoyed our stay very much.
Apr 08, 2024
Campsites are clean and well laid out. Facilities and sites were well maintained. Staff is friendly, and surrounding area offers some nice opportunities to explore.
Apr 07, 2024
Easy access to I 64. Clean accommodations and staff was helpful.
Apr 07, 2024
Apr 04, 2024
It was okay. We stopped pn our way to Virginia. There were many sites open, so it was very quiet. The bathrooms were clean and well kept. We came after norma; check in and our sites were mark on a map and attached to the door to the office. The only issue was the cable tv was extremely poor in quality. we were trying to get an update on the sever weather situation for the night and our travel,
Apr 03, 2024
Clean park Friendly staff Nice amenities
Apr 02, 2024
The only thing I could find to improve on would be more items in the store.
Apr 01, 2024
Mar 31, 2024
Nice campground, good quiet area. Clean bathrooms. And a nice dog park. They had a Easter egg hunt for the kids while we were there, thought that was nice.
Mar 27, 2024
Enjoyed the 2 nights there. Patti and Melissa very nice!
Mar 26, 2024
Mar 23, 2024
Arrived around 6pm and our reservation sheet was on the office door. We have been here before so we knew exactly where to go. Quiet all evening and restrooms with showers were warm in the morning. Thank you for a great stay!

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thanks for your review. We look forward to having you again!
Mar 09, 2024
Very rude. Dishonest people. Wont be back.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Sorry to hear that you didn't have a nice stay. We have had some turnover of personnel at reception in the past month. Although most guests really appreciate our friendly staff!
Mar 09, 2024
We have never stayed at a KOA that was so muddy, the showers were nasty and not lit at night. My husband and I decided to use the handicap shower as he needs rails to hold onto. WOW! I am so thankful I brought our Lysol and scrubbing bubbles bathroom cleaner or we would not have stepped foot in it. There is a desperate need to upgrade sites, more gravel or concrete and lighting.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Kentucky can have a rainy day, but then when the sun comes out it dries quickly. I am surprised that you found the showers not clean. We take pride in our house keeping crew, who clean the showers daily early in the morning. If there is an issue let reception know and we take care of it.
Mar 05, 2024
Positives- we got a call for check in instructions & immediate assistance when our small heater wasn’t working, quiet & peaceful. Negatives-paper marked kk instead of k for cabin, parking spots very close to each cabin & our was facing the next door parking lot so “front porch” would have been weird. We had a lot of lady bugs, stink bugs, dust, and cobwebs. Gutted sheet on bed had stains/la
Feb 24, 2024
Feb 19, 2024
Wonderful staff make the visit most enjoyable!

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for your compliments. We will let our staff know your comments. Appreciate it!
Feb 06, 2024
Feb 03, 2024
The Ashland KOA was great. We were handled efficiently w/ a wonderful site that completely met our needs!

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thanks for your review. We are proud of our staff and they are great at checking in guests and campers and servicing their needs.
Feb 02, 2024
Management and staff are very helpful and friendly. You can't ask for better people who take pride in what they do. Thank you all.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for your nice review. We pride ourselves in being friendly & hope to see you again soon.
Feb 01, 2024
Feb 01, 2024
Feb 01, 2024
Short stay, since we didn't get there until dark/after closing, but the site was very nice and we'll come back another time when we have more time to enjoy it!

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thanks for your review. We look forward to seeing you again!
Jan 05, 2024
The campground was clean and convenient. Easy off and onto I-64. Staff was very friendly. We will stop there again.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thanks for your nice review. We are close enough to I-64, a few minutes away, but still very quiet.
Jan 04, 2024
The location is perfect - 20 minutes to HTS airport. Close to Ashland/Huntington restaurants, shopping. I stayed in Cabin 1. Best part was the constant and regular HVAC from the new mini split (and the full bath in the cabin). Fire ring and parking at the cabin made it convenient to just bring an overnight bag and get away to nature. With some polish this rustic experience could be glamping.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We are glad you enjoyed the new mini split. These will be going into all our cabins any day now. These are in addition to the regular heaters and HVAC units our cabins have had. Quieter and more efficient and more powerful!
Dec 10, 2023
We had an excellent stay, friendly staff and roomy sites…my only complaint is that there’s literally nothing very close by, but that is a minor issue.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thanks for your review. Although we are about 10 miles from the nearest towns, there are quite a number of things to do within 15 to 30 minutes from the campground such as caving, boating, amusement parks, restaurants, golfing. Ask reception or check out our site.
Dec 02, 2023
This is by far the lowest standard of a KOA Holiday. This should definitely be classified as a KOA Journey. The loss of water was the icing on the cake for our stay. The small bundle of wood for I think $8 was ridiculous. I appreciate the stay but we rolled out as soon as we could.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

I was absent for a few months, the fire wood had been incorrectly priced which has been fixed since. Water issues are always fixed right away. We are on city water and there was an issue once this year with the city which they fixed quickly.
Nov 29, 2023
Nov 29, 2023
Every employee I had interaction with was very helpful and super nice. we rented three cabins, the facilities were clean. Unfortunately of the 4 burners in the two kitchens only one worked no oven but we made due. There is no central heat only room size ceramic type not sure how well that does in the colder months. Closest area with food choices is about 9 miles. Overall nice stay. Thank You

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thanks for your review. Sorry to hear there were issues with the burners. We made sure they work fine now. We are adding mini-splits this year, but guests have always found the current heaters to work fine in colder months. There are great restaurants within 15 min drive.
Nov 27, 2023
We stayed the week of Thanksgiving and was very happy with the location, services, and cleanliness of the campground!

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We are happy you enjoyed your stay!
Nov 26, 2023
The roads need to be smoothed. Laundry machines need to be fixed/replaced and some added. Some camper slots need to be leveled out so the camper levels easier and the sewage drains correctly.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

I am sorry to hear that the sewage didn't drain correctly. Normally it works fine. The sites do have a slight slope so that when it rains the water drains off. We do have 13 laundry machines. Recently 2 or 3 have been down and it can take a week or so to get a service technician.
Nov 26, 2023
Outstanding customer service from all the staff members.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Yes, we are proud of our friendly and accommodating staff. We appreciate your nice review.
Nov 24, 2023
Nov 21, 2023
Paid for patio site. Site was very unlevel and gas grill had not been cleaned in a very long time. On the plus side, the staff was very kind and professional.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We keep our sites at a tiny slope so rain water runs off during a rainy time. We will review our sites newly and level any sites that may need it.
Nov 19, 2023
Always friendly staff and super clean facilities!
Nov 15, 2023
Quiet night off the highway.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We are a few minutes off the highway, but you can't really hear it which is nice!
Nov 13, 2023
The host William was simply amazing. Friendly, kind and so very helpful. He anticipated all of my needs before I asked. Its reasons like the site (rented an RV) and hosts like William are why I keep coming back to KOA campgrounds versus all others.
Nov 12, 2023
We always enjoy our stay here.
Nov 12, 2023
It was very good and safely camping

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thanks for your nice review!
Nov 10, 2023
My second time staying here. Both times stayed in a cabin. This time there was hair in the sink and shower. Otherwise a good stay. Suggestion, provide microwave safe dishes. The metal dishes are on point with the rustic cabin theme but are not microwaveable. Unless you bring your own, use of the microwave is limited.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Sorry about the hair in the sink and shower. Sometimes things get missed. We are following up on the microwave safe dishes and some paper plates as well.
Apr 17, 2024
We stop here once or twice a year on our way east or west from Maryland. The campground is always consistent. It does get a bit muddy when it rains but the sites are long enough for our motorhome and towed vehicle. The grounds are well kept.
- Joyce Bender on Google
Apr 10, 2024
Affordable and good well maintained park.
- Brien Cranford on Google
Mar 23, 2024
Very nice KOA and Melissa at the front desk was so nice and helpful. We would highly recommend this campground. We are an older couple but the playground and pool area looked great for families. They have a dog run for pets and the fire pits were cleaned out for you to use.
- 984tessie2 on Trip Advisor