Asheville West KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 800-562-9015

Reserve: 800-562-9015

Info: 828-665-7015

Info: 828-665-7015

Email

309 Wiggins Road

Candler, NC 28715

Get Directions

All Sites

Check-in: 2:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Camper Rating 4 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

May 14, 2017
Beautiful park, friendly helpful staff.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We sure did enjoy your visit with us and hope to see you again the next time you pass through the area! We would love to see your smiling faces again! Safe journey and happy kamping! :)
May 13, 2017
Great site friendly staff

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for staying with us!! We enjoyed having you here and getting to know you a bit! We would love to visit more with you should you find your way back to the area! Happy travels!
May 13, 2017
Love this place! First time at a KOA and we are going to come back very soon

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for choosing us as your first KOA experience! We enjoyed having you visit with us and hope that this is a start of a whole new world of adventures with KOAs for you. :) Happy Kamping!
May 13, 2017
Office closed when we pulled in. Saw no staff til next am. Our site extremely loud traffic noise. Sites not very neat and clean. Ok for quick overnight. Would not go back.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We thank you for your visit with us and we are sorry that we missed you since you arrived after hours. We always let our guests know that we can be reached if needed. We are so sorry you were not satisfied. We wish that you had contacted us and let us fix your problems while you were here...
May 12, 2017
Best layout. Peaceful and beautiful.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you so very much for the thumbs up and for choosing to stay with us! We enjoyed getting to visit with you and hope to see you again soon! safe and happy journey!
May 11, 2017
Tent site, everything was good.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for choosing to stay with us! We enjoyed having you visit with us. We hope you got to do all the things you wanted to do while in the area. If you did not get to, our doors are open and we would love to see you all again! Happy Kamping!
May 10, 2017
The kampground was nicely wooded and the staff very friendly. The sites were very nice. The only problem was the close proximity to the interstate, especially loud from the mountain background and trucks using engine brakes. We stayed a week, and will come back when we need a quick stop through. Long term I'd rather get a bit further from the loud traffic.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We enjoyed having you stay with us! Glad you got to do and see what you wanted to while here. We are very sorry that the highway bothered you though, the one problem we can't do anything about. We are located here for the convenience of our guests. We do hope to see you again!
May 10, 2017
Love the improvements.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you so much for noticing and giving us a thumbs up! We enjoyed your visit with us and look forward to seeing you all again in the future! Happy Kamping!
May 10, 2017
Great stop for an overnight; handy to the interstate. Very friendly and helpful staff.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for staying with us! We enjoyed your visit, even though it was a short one. Hope to see you all again in the future! Safe journey and happy kamping! :)
May 09, 2017
The staff was very friendly and helpful during our stay. The cabin was very neat and well maintained. When we had an issue with the heat in our cabin, they sent someone right out to fix and it even provided space heaters since we had a small child in our cabin. I would definitely stay here again and would recommend them to anyone

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

It sure was a pleasure to have you all stay with us! And thank you for being understanding as we got the heater all fixed for you. We hope you enjoyed your stay as much as we did and that you all get to come back and spend more time in the area soon! Thanks again for staying with us!
May 09, 2017
The staff was very pleasant and inviting. The shower house and bathrooms were great and clean. Being able to wash dishes outside the bathhouse was awesome. However, this KOA was more geared to campers and RVS, not tents. Both our family and the family next to us had problems with the tent site.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We are so very glad you chose us to stay with us for your visit to the area! We are sorry you had issues with your site. Please, keep in mind that we are have upgrades coming in the future, so stay tuned! I hope that you will give us another try. We would love to see your smiling faces again. :)
May 09, 2017
Very friendly staff. The site was in excellent condition (patio site) and very level. Campground was very quiet (I-40 noise, but that was expected and not bad inside the camper).

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for the thumbs up and for choosing to stay with us! We truly enjoyed your visit and hope to see you again in the future! It is always nice to visit with our gusts and see their smiling faces! :)
May 09, 2017
Campsite B14 is horrible to tent camp in when it is raining, and it was raining the whole time we were there. The place to put up the tent is lower than the rest of the sirt

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We thank you for choosing us to stay with on your weekend here in the area. We are so sorry it rained. we know that kinda stinks when you are camping. Please, stay tuned, because we do have some upgrades planned for the future for these sites. We are sorry you had an issue with yours...
May 08, 2017
The owners of this KOA care about their customers. Very helpful with local questions, printed tickets for us, helped us find RV parts. Bathrooms were spotless.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We truly enjoyed visiting with you and hope that we get to see you all again in the future! We just love to meet new people and hear what they are up to and all about their travels! Best wishes and safe travels! :)
May 08, 2017
May 08, 2017
This would be more of a stop over koa the best that we could tell. It would be nice for late arrival to have escort by golf cart to camp site's .this is always helpful to us. We weren't the only ones to drive around several times not very many lights. But we love KOA camping

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We thank you for visiting with us! We are very sorry that you didn't have an escort after hours. During our main season, we do have extra help to do that for our guests, right now we are working with a smaller staff. Hopefully we will get to help you out in the future! Happy Kamping! :)
May 08, 2017
We came to Asheville for the Mother Earth News Fair and were so glad to have a cozy Kamping Kabin to come home to after a cold day in the rain. Friendly folks and super clean! Thanks for a great weekend. We're planning to be back next year!

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We loved getting to chat with you while you were here. Thank you for sharing some of the interesting things you learned at the fair! We will do our best to order up better weather next year for you all! :) Have a wonderful summer and we will see you next time!
May 08, 2017
Ran out of hot water. Nice to have all the needed info in an envelope...we arrived after closing. Nice to have heaters in the shower area

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for staying with us this last visit! You happened to get a very cold and wet weekend that was for sure. I'm sorry that you ran out of hot water, that is very unusual, but not surprising since it was so cold and we were a very full park. We will have to look into another water tank. :)
May 07, 2017
Nice people and campground. Our site was near the office area and it was quite. Would not like being on the back row as 1-40 noise would be bad. Would recommend they put up noise barriers for interstate noise.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We thank you for coming to stay with us! We did enjoy visiting with you. We are sorry that you were bothered by the highway noise. Unfortunately, we have looked into barriers and were told by engineers that it would not fix the problem due to our mountain terrain. We did try and will continue!
May 06, 2017
Loud road noise

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We would like to thank you for staying with us! And as always, welcome you back. We are sorry you were bothered by the highway noise. We are located where we are for the convenience of guests for easy on and off access and close to area attractions. This is a feature that many KOAs are known for.
May 04, 2017
We stopped here for an overnight stay on the way to our final destination. The campground was adequate and the hosts very friendly. The interstate noise was very loud, but it was very convenient to the highway.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

As always, we thank you for your over night stay with us! :) Wish we could have had more time to visit, but hope that we will get to see you again in the future! We are very sorry, however, you were bothered by the highway noise...that is part of the convenience of being close to everything.
May 03, 2017
May 02, 2017
Stayed one night in camping cabin. Perfect solution to camping experience with beds. Heather was so helpful and kind. Will be staying there again when visiting Asheville.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We loved having you stay with us! Looking forward to the next visit so we can chat some more and we can share with you more of the fantastic area of Asheville and the Blue Ridge mountains! :) Until next time... Happy Kamping!
May 02, 2017
Great place and friendly people.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for choosing our campground for your stay in this beautiful area of WNC! We enjoy your stay and loved getting to visit with you! We hope that if you are ever in the Asheville area again, that you come say "Hi!" We would enjoy seeing you all again! Happy Kamping!
May 02, 2017
Friendly staff; close, extra nice rest rooms. The store had ice cream. Very close to Ashville and Blue Ridge Parkway.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We are so very happy that you got to visit with us! We are happy that you were able to see the sites and experience the area while you were here! AND...thank you, very much, for the thumbs up on our newly renovated bathrooms! :) Hope to see you all the next time you pass through! Safe journey!
May 01, 2017
The deluxe cabin was a perfect respite at the end of a long days hike. Every pot or pan you could need and a comfy queen bed.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you so very much for staying with us while you took in some of the beautiful hikes this area has to offer! We hope you got to see and do all that you wanted, but if not, our doors are always open! So if you are back in the area, we would love to see you again. :) Happy Kamping!
Apr 30, 2017
We had a great relaxing time. Everyone was very nice.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for staying with us! We are glad you got to enjoy your maiden voyage with us! Hope to see you more this camping season. Enjoy your new camper! :)
Apr 28, 2017
Apr 28, 2017
Apr 28, 2017
The staff at KoA Asheville were very polite and professional. The grounds and facilities were well kept and very clean. Thank you!

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for choosing to stay with us! We always love to visit with our guests and we appreciate the thumbs up! Can't wait to chat again when next you get to pass through the area! :) Happy Kamping!
Apr 27, 2017
Been here a couple times. Folks running the place are always friendly and helpful.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

It was so very good, as always, to see you all again! We enjoyed having you stay with us again. We loved getting to chat with you all! Thank you for the thumbs up. :) Can't wait to visit with you next time you pass through!
Apr 27, 2017
A decent overnight stop. Looks like they were working to improve the overall campground. Just didn't care for the layout.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We thank you for choosing us as your overnight stay! We really do care about our guests and the campground. We do our very best to constantly work on improvements as you witnessed. We are sorry you didn't like the lay out of the campground. Unfortunately, there is a limit to exactly all we can fix.
Apr 26, 2017
The campground needs a little tlc. We stayed for 3 night. It rained all three nights causing the site to be very muddy and the roads developed ruts. The owners did grade them but they need gravel. Not much going on this early in the season so we found it a little dull. The highway noise was not pleasant. Unfortunately that is out of the owners control.i have stayed at a lot better koa.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We are happy you chose to stay with us! So sorry that it rained though, not much we can do about that. If you remember at check in, we did tell you we put down over 800 tons of road bond on our road this past year. We do care about our campground and our guests. It is a constant work in progress.
Apr 25, 2017
Everything went ok. Walking trail is very nice, kids enjoyed the playground. Place was decently clean, staff was nice and helpful.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We enjoyed your stay with us too! We are glad you got to take advantage of our hiking trails. We love to walk them too! Looking forward to visiting with you again real soon! :)
Apr 24, 2017
Bath houses were awesome. Very friendly staff. I will return!

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for coming to stay with us! We totally enjoyed visiting with you. :) We are also glad to hear that you enjoyed our bath houses. It is always nice to hear positive. Looking forward to seeing you again soon! Happy and safe travels!
Apr 23, 2017
Easy and friendly check in,level site, good stay. Convenient to attractions in Smokey Mt area.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for the thumbs up! We are always happy to see our guests and visit with everyone! We enjoyed your stay. Don't forget there are plenty more things to see in the area! See you next time!
Apr 23, 2017
It's was okay.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We thank you for staying with us on your family outing! We enjoyed visiting with you. Remember that we strive to make each stay a GREAT one. We are constantly working on improvements. So if something was not right, we ask that you tell us immediately so that if it is within our power, we can fix it
Apr 22, 2017
Apr 22, 2017
Great location, great staff too!

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We loved getting to visit with you while you were here with us! Thank you for stopping by! :) Safe and wonderful travels to you. We hope to see you again real soon!
Apr 21, 2017
We had such a relaxing trip!!! Really excited for the dog park to come! Will be back to stay soon!

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you so very much for the thumbs up! We enjoyed having you stay with us and are looking forward to seeing you again soon! Hopefully we will be able to get that dog park done before you get here. :) Happy Kamping!
Apr 21, 2017
This was possibly worst Campground we have stayed in,bags of trash laying on sure when we arrived still there when we left the next day at 11:00,picnic table was unusable due to the fact the only room to set it was on a hill,road was washed out campsite was very muddy and almost couldn't unhook our 5th wheel because of angle from site to road was a drop-off,site too small for rig
Apr 20, 2017
The site wasn't very level and they stated on their blurb that they had wifi on the site we booked when we got there they said that you had to go to the office for wifi. Poor as we chose this campground because of the wifi

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We are very sorry that you had trouble with our Wi-Fi. We did also let you know when registering, that we are working on repairs to our wi-fi due to a direct lightning hit. We are doing our best to upgrade as well as repair our wi-fi to make it available to all our guests. It is an ongoing process.
Apr 19, 2017
The staff is very friendly. The back in sites are level but narrow, could be an ankle bender when you step out your door. Having cable was great, WiFi never connected. Toilet and showers were well kept. Branches need to be trimmed along roadways and in sites.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We thank you for staying with us! We would like to let you know that we do have plans to renovate and enlarge the sites you were in. Hopefully in the future, they will be done for another visit. We are always trying to improve on the park and it,like most things, is an ongoing process.
Apr 18, 2017
Very helpful and accommodating staff. The bathrooms and showers were in great condition.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for choosing to stay with as and thank you for the thumbs up! We hope you had a great stay with your extended family and hope to see you again in the future! :)
Apr 18, 2017
The staff at KOA were very friendly and accommodating to us. I thought I had booked a stay with sewer, but It was my mistake & they still offered a site with sewer hook ups. Very friendly & helpful.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We loved having you stay with us and can't wait to spend more time with you in the future! As always, we wish you Happy Kamping!
Apr 18, 2017
GREAT PEOPLE, GREAT CAMPERS,JUST A GREAT PLACE

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for the GREAT CHEER! Happy Kampers are our aim! We look forward to seeing you all again for another GREAT VISIT! Safe and wonderful travels!
Apr 17, 2017
in the mountains,which is a good thing.clean facilities,suggested grab bars for the showers.go back in a heartbeat.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We loved your stay with us! Wish it could have been longer. Hope we get to see you the next time you pass through! Happy Kamping!
Apr 17, 2017
Great Campsite and Fantastic Staff! Incredibly accommodating. Only flaw is the truck stop below the property and occasional road noise.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and enjoy all the surrounding area has to offer! We would love to have you back! So sorry for the truck stop. Unfortunately, they, just like us are located off the highway for easy access. Sure do wish we could move the campground further away from it all.
Apr 17, 2017
Sites were level for camper setup. They were not very level for the picnic tables or activities on the site. Traffic noise was really really loud. The office folks were cordial but strictly business. Nature trails were good. Campground was just ok. Nothing horrible but nothing terrific.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We thank you for your stay with us and enjoyed visiting with you! As always,the campground is a work in progress and we do have plans for new picnic tables and leveling areas. It is our aim to make our campers happy! You matter! We are sorry we could not do anything about the highway noise for you.
Apr 15, 2017
We were only there for one night and with many spots open they gave us the one closest to the freeway so I only slept 4 hours that night. I understand they can't move the freeway but those closest spots should only be given out if the park is full.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We thank you so very much for staying with us! We are very sorry you were bothered by the highway noise. Unfortunately with the large length of your rig and not wanting to unhook, the site that you were placed was the only one we could fit you in, otherwise we would have put you in another site.
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy