Asheville West KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 800-562-9015

Reserve: 800-562-9015

Info: 828-665-7015

Info: 828-665-7015

Email

309 Wiggins Road

Candler, NC 28715

Get Directions

All Sites

Check-in: 2:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Camper Rating 4 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Jun 25, 2017
The campground is well looked after. The playground needs updating for older children , mine are teenagers. They laughed at the playground and the pond. As for me we had B4 site and as soon as you come out the camper there was about a 3-4 grade change. Mostly level complete sights would be great and personally would love that every other site be removed. to close for privacy.
Jun 25, 2017
The campground and facilities were clean, the staff was very friendly and there was quite a bit of shade to block the hot sun. Only issues we saw were that the grass was not cut, the pull-thru sites were barely long enough for a 35 ft travel trailer (with parking our truck sideways) and the road noise from I40 was quite loud- it would probably bother people who were looking for a quieter stay.
Jun 25, 2017
We really enjoyed our stay at the KOA. The only downfall was the tremendous number of funnel web spiders. My family is pretty spider friendly but my kids were scared to play on the playground or sit on the benches.
Jun 25, 2017
It's a place to stay. They have pool and not anything else for kids. Out site was not level front to back. They gave us a pull thru site but it was not long enough to fit our unit without unhitching.
Jun 25, 2017
No problem with campground, just needed ear plugs due to highway noise
Jun 25, 2017
Good showers. No picnic table.
Jun 24, 2017
I stay here every year on my way to South Carolina nice people and clean grounds
Jun 24, 2017
Very nice place, clean, friendly and easy accsess
Jun 24, 2017
Jun 24, 2017
Good facilities and nice staff. However, a lot of backpackers moving through each night, which made us wish there was a family friendly area.
Jun 24, 2017
Nice Folks. Nice campgrounds. Way too much poison ivy.
Jun 24, 2017
Cleanliness was unprecedented. Only drawback was not having wood available for fire after hours. Perhaps an honor system should be established
Jun 24, 2017
Very clean and friendly
Jun 23, 2017
Nice and clean very friendly.
Jun 22, 2017
Friendly staff, campground was clean, nice trees, hiking trails, conveniently located. Only downside was the road noise.
Jun 22, 2017
Stayed one night on way from Greenville NC to Owensboro Kentucky. Nice shade. Good trails. Bathroom extremely clean. Well kept.
Jun 22, 2017
My Grandkids very fist camping trip was awesome thanks to our amazing campsite under the canopy of trees, and wonderful amenities. My daughter didnt like camping as a child but she too had a wonderful time. Thankyou so much. Melissa Marion SC
Jun 22, 2017
This was a random stay for us at this Asheville West KOA campsite. The staff there were friendly and accommodating! The shower houses and pool we clean. If you forgot something... they had it in their little store/office. We will stay here again if we are every in the area.
Jun 22, 2017
Quiet area, clean restrooms, and confidently located. Hosts pleasant and helpful.
Jun 21, 2017
Excellent! One of the nicest parks we have been in. Staff very helpful and nice. Will be back.
Jun 21, 2017
Friendly staff & clean shower facilities. Sites are small & thus feel tight.
Jun 20, 2017
Great visit
Jun 20, 2017
Had a great time. Nice quiet campground. Really enjoyed the hiking trail.
Jun 20, 2017
Good location near Asheville and breweries as well as hiking trails. The campers near us were quiet; just have to get used to the road noise from I-40. Nice people working there.
Jun 20, 2017
Spaces are small & VERY close together. Bathroom hot, stuffy & too small for amount of people there. Very loud highway noise throughout. Wifi didn't work. The office people are nice, I think they're trying to make it better, but it still needs work. Playground & pool were ok. Our site was tiny & everyone walked through it to get to the bathroom.
Jun 19, 2017
Jun 19, 2017
Convenient to Ashville17, Waynesville, groceries, etc. Nice people runnnig it. Wide level pads. Hope they control some of the traffic noise from I40 eventually.
Jun 19, 2017
Husband, dog, and I stayed for 3 nights in a sleeper cabin. Fantastic staff, great location to Ashville and surrounding nature, property and ammeneties well maintained, plus many extras (trails, propane grill, herb garden, pool, campfire pits with swings, and outdoor kitchen). Thanks for a great visit!
Jun 18, 2017
Very friendly staff. Very clean and adequate sites. I stayed over night with a 38' 5th wheel. Didn't use pool but it looked very inviting. This is the 2nd time that I have stayed here.
Jun 18, 2017
Jun 17, 2017
Clean, welcoming, comfortable,friendly, walking paths, dog friendly.
Jun 17, 2017
Our stay was pretty good. We only were truly unhappy about a few things. One being the sewage dumb post for the rvs was entirely too close to our site. It was only a few steps away. It smelt terrible! Especially in the morning when people used it. Other was how close everyone is to each other. The sound of the interstate kinda bummed me out but there's not anything you can do about that.
Jun 16, 2017
Just one night. Served our need
Jun 15, 2017
Jun 15, 2017
Our particular site wasn't comfortable because of a feeling of "falling" downhill off the only place our chairs could be set up. HoWEVER. . . Problem is site specific- this KOA was very pleasant!
Jun 15, 2017
good
Jun 15, 2017
Only there overnight, easy in and out. Highway noise could be a problem to some people on sites adjacent to I-40 but didn't bother us.
Jun 14, 2017
Office and bathrooms were very clean. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Sites are all dirt and gravel. Picnic tables and fire pits are on very slanted hills between sites. My main issue was with the overwhelming traffic noise, as the campground is just off the highway. The noise never stops, it's loud 24/7. If you can sleep through that, then you will probably not mind it.
Jun 13, 2017
Nice campground. Friendly staff. Clean. I will definitely return
Jun 13, 2017
Loved the amenities and everyone there was so helpful! There was even someone to guide me to my campsite late at night! Loved my stay!
Jun 13, 2017
The only negative would be the interstate noise since some sites are close to it.
Jun 13, 2017
We can really see improvements made at this KOA since we last stayed a couple years ago.
Jun 12, 2017
Jun 12, 2017
It was very nice and rustic. Restrooms and showers were very clean. My only "complaint" is the packed us in tight instead of filling every other campsite.
Jun 12, 2017
A nice, clean campground with large, pull-thru sites for motor coaches. Would stay there again except for the road noise from the interstate I-40. We are light sleepers and even with all coach windows closed and the air conditioning running could still hear the trucks at night. Otherwise, we would stay there again when in the Asheville area.
Jun 12, 2017
The tent lots are too close together..the space for tent is on uneven ground..could be a little cheaper..
Jun 12, 2017
The host/director was very friendly and thorough in her welcome and information. The restrooms were exceptionally nice and clean. The sites were very conveniently located for people touring the city. We really enjoyed our stay, even though it was just one night.
Jun 12, 2017
This was my first time staying at a KOA, and the facility and staff more than exceeded my expectations! Each plot had its own fire pit, picnic table, parking space, and a cozy little nook in the woods to put up a tent. In addition, the bathrooms and showers were the cleanest I have ever seen at a campsite. I will definitely come back!
Jun 11, 2017
Jun 11, 2017
Heather was very very helpful. She made sure I had what I needed and again extremely Pleasant very helpful. I will be back.
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy