Asheville West KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 800-562-9015

Reserve: 800-562-9015

Info: 828-665-7015

Info: 828-665-7015

Email This Campground

309 Wiggins Road

Candler, NC 28715

Get Directions

All Sites

Check-in: 2:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

May 23, 2018
Enjoyed the stay, our first time at a campground. Couldn’t figure out how to hook up tv but we did fine.
May 23, 2018
May 23, 2018
Campsite as level as possible on a hillside. Helpful staff. Clean restrooms.
May 22, 2018
Our campsite was really muddy could of used some gravel but the restrooms showers and the rest of the campground was really clean
May 22, 2018
Great stop over. Would stay again..very friendly staff...nice sights..
May 22, 2018
very clean park with well laid out sites the staff was extremely nice and helpful even loaning us a cable to make out tv connection Mr Louie great greeter and made my wife's day. thank you.
May 22, 2018
Nice site, level, friendly staff.
May 21, 2018
We were very satisfied with our stay. The campground is in an ideal location for us. We have friends in the area so it was convenient for us to spend time with them. It is also convenient to other places we like to visit in the area. We walked a couple of the trails and used the laundry. Everything was very clean and the staff was friendly. We look forward to returning.
May 21, 2018
The staff was so friendly and helpful, the entire campground was so clean and beautiful. I will definitely be back!
May 21, 2018
We had a great weekend there at KOA in West Asheville the hiking trails were fun there was a dog walk area for our dogs and a dog park area for them to run and play off leash. The staff there was very friendly and the showers and restrooms were very clean we will definitely go back for another camping trip.
May 20, 2018
This KOA has potential and so good points; however, it needs some work on the RV sites. Parking pads for RV’s are very uneven, desperately need some gravel on them, and the roadway through the RV area is terrible. It rained while we were here, and there were puddles (deep puddles) and lots of mud. The laundry and bath facilities are nice, and the area with the small cabins and cook area is ni
May 19, 2018
The staff were friendly and helpful The campsite and amenities were very clean Great place to stay���
May 19, 2018
Clean camp. Nice place to stay. Some sites are a bit small but overall I liked it.
May 19, 2018
Wonderful!
May 19, 2018
This facility was recently renovated. They made many improvements. The new dog park is nice. Many of the lots are shaded. The WiFi signal was strong, and we could work via VPN without any problems. We especially liked the 1-mile walking trail. The shaded trail has walking bridges and elves’ homes were a cute touch to the tail. We did not smell paper mill as mentioned by other reviews.
May 18, 2018
Good campgrounds but the spot was very sloped. Needed 3…1/2 inches under Left tires to get somewhat level. Recommend packed gravel or crushed rock on camp spots. Paved roads would be a wonderful. However I understand the cost of doing these things.
May 18, 2018
Front desk very helpful and friendly
May 18, 2018
Nice place but may is not a good month: bugs, rain and tree sap all over our things. And don't forget the traffic noise.
May 17, 2018
1st site was on built up only as wide as our trailer tires so we wohld have had to step out down a hill. 2nd site was flatter bit flooded due to leaking faucet of camper nextdoor. All sites are on top of each other with no privacy or camping feel. Just a dusty parking lot. Noisy on I-40, but with AC on we didn't hear it or the truck stop. Clean bathrooms. We won't stay here again.
May 16, 2018
May 16, 2018
Smell from paper factory was pretty strong. I wish there were full facilities...laundry in upper campsite area. It is a long walk/climb to do laundry. Quiet friendly place.
May 16, 2018
The electric on my pole showed reverse polarity and I called the desk to ask them to send someone to check it out. The checkin lady told me I shouldn't be using a surge protector! Really??? Very bad advice!! And there was construction and highway noise all night. In addition, the pulp mill odors, old picnic table and close sites mean I won't be stopping here again.
May 16, 2018
We were able to checkin after hours. Camp assistant helped us to our spot next to bathhouse. Some interstate sounds but location was easy off and on. We didn’t use any activities but some were available. Nice and clean.
May 15, 2018
Great campground! Terrific customer service and super clean restrooms and showers. And don't forget to stop into the store for their freshly roasted and ground coffee! We'll be back again - located very conveniently to Asheville and the Biltmore Estate.
May 15, 2018
We had a great time and enjoyed the new dog park
May 15, 2018
Very clean friendly and secure. If you are a light sleeper the noise from the interstate might be bothersome. For us it was an enjoyable visit
May 14, 2018
Very noisy, but the staff were very friendly and helpful. Cable not so much.
May 14, 2018
Grounds and cabins were clean and well kept. The staff were welcoming and friendly. Location is absolutely beautiful. The only issue we had was with the hot water. It ran out around 7:15am on Sunday, and when we checked out at 10:00am, there was still no hot water.
May 14, 2018
The staff was super friendly and the bathrooms and showers were excellent. Both very clean and the showers were hot and water pressure was perfect! We will be back the next time we are in the area!
May 14, 2018
Hands down one of the nicest KOAs I’ve been to. We will be back.
May 14, 2018
Last minute booking and thank goodness Asheville West KOA had an opening. Loved that majority (if not all) sites are pull thru. Camp store and pool were really close. Staff was friendly and whole campground was clean! The major road just across the woods was a little noisy but wouldn't prevent us from coming back. We went to Biltmore on our trip and it only took us 20-30 min drive. Coming Back!
May 14, 2018
The campgrounds are very pretty and well maintained. Clean, spacious showers and bathhouse. However, the whole area smelled of raw sewage throughout our stay. The staff was not friendly or helpful either.
May 14, 2018
We had a very comfortable camping spot, and were able to set up our tent quickly/easily despite arriving a little bit early. A very nice female associate with blond hair helped us find good hikes in the area and answered every question we had.
May 11, 2018
Very noisy next to the interstate even earplugs didn't help. Requested my next day be next to the showers farthest away from the interstate. We will see how that does.
May 11, 2018
Nice staff, working on campsite improvements. My site was pretty small, without any grass or shade and the picnic table and fire pit were not very inviting. Other sites looked more inviting. Updated showers and clean well equipped laundry. Good camp store.
May 11, 2018
May 10, 2018
I loved the Deluxe Cabin I had for 2 nights here. It had a quiet location at the end of a row. It was roomy, had a nice bed and bedroom and beautiful shiny floors, just refinished. I appreciate that the staff is continuing lots of great work to improve the cabins, the campsites and the common areas. And thank you, Staff, for mailing me my red flannel pj's I left behind! (I did send postage :)...)
May 10, 2018
Road noise is unbearable, site we had had almost no stone or gravel, all turned to mud when it rained. Staff was very friendly though.
May 10, 2018
Everything was great every one was really helpful. All the improvements they have done and are working on are really good. We were there for 19 days and will be back every time we are in Asheville area! Thank you for making our time there so safe fun and a lot more stress free!!
May 10, 2018
May 10, 2018
Nice park, nice people. The owners seem to be working hard to improve the park. Need to pave the roads and sites to get 5 stars.
May 10, 2018
Great staff. Clean, well maintained.
May 10, 2018
too close to noisy highway
May 09, 2018
The staff was very accommodating when we had mechanical difficulties.
May 08, 2018
A very nice campground. Super nice people. Owners were very nice. Only complaint I have is the Barney Fife security guard. He needs knocked down a couple notches.
May 08, 2018
It was great. But the road noise was hi
May 08, 2018
Cleanest campground we have ever seen!! From the moment we pulled in we could see that the owners and staff have worked very hard to make an outstanding KOA! Thank you!
May 08, 2018
Fantastic. Our favorite KOA!!!!! We stay at many.
May 08, 2018
Friendly check in and level sites, we had a great stay.
May 07, 2018
Roads are rough and uneven. Ruts here and there, road resurfacing badly needed. Otherwise, good for one nite stay, just traveling through. Proprietors friendly.
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals