Yosemite South / Coarsegold KOA

34094 Highway 41

Coarsegold, CA 93614

Reserve: 800-562-7606

Info: 559-683-7855

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4

Tent Reviews

Jun 23, 2015
Jun 22, 2015
Tent sites were way too small. Water trickling from broken faucets making it hard to set up in a dry spot. Ironic since California is in drought to be wasting water like that. No recycling either. Women's bathroom showers barely worked. with the size of the campground, we were surprised that there was only one facility for showers anyway. My kids liked the pool and the evening movie though.
Jun 20, 2015
Silly us. We had no idea how hot it would be since we thought we would be higher. However, we enjoyed our stay. The swimming pool is a delight and I was especially happy about the women's showering area. Great to be able to sit in there while dressing after a shower. We were one of the few people in a tent and at night the sight of the stars out the stop of the tent was fantastic.
Jun 16, 2015
Our space,H47, wasn't very level. Our daughter stayed in J4. It seemed as though everybody walked through their site to get back and forth between the RV sites and the bathroom. Also, one of the shower curtains was slimy. On a side note, your small sign asking us to make a wide turn as we exit has the word 'please' mis-spelled.
Jun 15, 2015
The place was awesome! Clean bathrooms and sites. The cabin was great, that air conditioner was a well used bonus. I would suggest that people make sure they bring LOTS of water from home.
Jun 10, 2015
Office assistance was good. Grounds were litter free. Bathroom was clean, shower were almost as good as your own personal shower 😃
Jun 10, 2015
Very nice. Great pool and common facilities. The site was shady and comfortable, although the web site promised a secluded site and we were on the main road next to the office. Still highly recommended.
Jun 01, 2015
Jun 01, 2015
Showers and restrooms were clean. Horseshoe area, and rec room need minor repair and upkeep that shouldn't have been neglected. Clubhouse was clean but board games and TV's need some attention.
May 30, 2015
Arrived late and was able to get a campsite off the late arrivals board. Everything was good except the only vending machine in the campground was broken. With the store closed I had to run back out for a drink before going to sleep.
May 28, 2015
Overall really good with decent facilities. Does need some serious cleaning regarding the restrooms/showers, they were disgusting and looked like it's been like that for a while.
May 26, 2015
Staff not friendly. Bathrooms need to be clean more frequently.
May 19, 2015
NOTHING TO COMMENT ON
May 18, 2015
We were the only tent campers there. We didn't spend a lot of time at the campground as we were visiting Yosemite, but aside from the coyotes making a lot of noise at night, it was fine.
May 11, 2015
Most staff really friendly. Beautiful campground. Family friendly. My family went tent camping. Great sites. Good club house. Great weekend getaway.
May 11, 2015
Easy and fun. Friendly staff and only about 1 hour out of Yosemite proper. Highly recommended for families looking for simple camping; not recommended for very practiced campers or people looking for a kid-free vacation.
May 11, 2015
This camp is clean and everything is not on top of everything else.The staff was very helpful for Yosemite tips and everything else we asked for. Thanks!
May 07, 2015
Apr 16, 2015
....professional yet welcoming, seasoned yet all one could need or ask for available...timing offered us privacy, peace and wonderful natural surroundings....thank you Bill for watching over us...the world is CRAZY and here we found a true respite. b
Apr 05, 2015
Great area with clean facilities, staff was friendly and they were super helpful!!!
Apr 05, 2015
Great camping experience. I booked online and blindly picked a spot. When I arrived the host let me know he moved me to a quiet spot since the one I had chosen was next to a large group.
Apr 02, 2015
Most expensive KOA I've been to.
Mar 23, 2015
Staff was extremely nice and helpful. Campsite was quiet. Restrooms are close by. I was surprised by the rec room!
Mar 20, 2015
We have been to KOA sites across the country, while the majority of the staff are friendly the folks at Yosemite south are the best. We stay here every time we go to Yosemite and Devils postpile. The showers have ample hot water the sites are spacious and the atmosphere is pleasant. The folks that run the place are very friendly and go out of their way to make your stay enjoyable. See you in April
Mar 13, 2015
This was thee best camping experience of my life, on this planet. :) Bill, Campground Owner, Host and his staff, showed genuine interest regarding the comfort of their campers. It was bittersweet when it came time for me to leave because I will miss them until the next time. "Thank you for the peace and the joy." KOA is AOK. :) Best Regards, Corinne ☆ ♡ ☆
Mar 13, 2015
Very clean and well kept. We arrived after hours and our registration was not left in the after-hours spot, which is why I gave it a 4 instead of a 5. Restrooms and showers were clean. Store was not open during posted hours.
Nov 18, 2014
Oct 23, 2014
We stayed 2 nights at a tent site with our van. Helpful staff. Two diff. rates were charged for each day - Excuse: weekend is higher rate, (it was a Thursday...). Lovely site good facilities. Upgrades are needed soon, however, to keep current level.
Sep 25, 2014
Great clean campground and management was fantastic!!! There was ten of us on motorcyles and they really took care of us!
Sep 06, 2014
Sep 02, 2014
Everyone was super helpful pet friendly
Sep 01, 2014
Great location to get to Yosemite Nat'l Park. Bathrooms were not clean at all and there was a sink that was out of order. Friendly and helpful staff.
Sep 01, 2014
The campsite is very close to the road and is noisy. There were three tents with indian people and they didn't stop to laught and talk until 12.00a.m
Aug 25, 2014
Aug 22, 2014
the tent area is near the road, far from ablution block which had facilities out of order and the wifi was not working in this area
Aug 19, 2014
Nice, Clean & Simple. Loved the place.
Aug 18, 2014
The first night was great. However the second night my family got no sleep at all the camp sight next to our had a bunch of very loud drunk people we called to complain several times only to have nothing done. Finally at 5 am did they quiet down. I would never reccomend this place. The emergency number never got answered. The second night was the worst time I have ever had camping in my life.
Aug 18, 2014
My family and i really enjoyed our stay,staff was extremely nice, loved it!
Aug 18, 2014
Amazing staff great campground
Aug 18, 2014
Aug 17, 2014
Great stay. Nice facilities. Quite. Staff very helpful with restaurants, tours etc.
Aug 16, 2014
Aug 13, 2014
Very friendly people. Very quiet. Very dusty because of the dry summer.
Aug 12, 2014
Campsite was big and clean. Staff was friendly. Bathrooms were pretty clean. The toilets flushed a little slowly and not always fully. But the location to a couple national parks can't be beat.
Aug 12, 2014
Aug 11, 2014
This was an excellent camping experience for us. Our hosts offered us a very good corner site, and we stayed there for two nights. It was about a forty-five minute drive to Yosemite, but in this case, this was a good thing because Yosemite gets very crowded. It was good to be able to leave and stay at Coarsegold.
Aug 09, 2014
Dirty restrooms Swimming pool closed not dust but earlier
Aug 06, 2014
Standard, ordinary campground. Nothing special. Only two showers in the men's shower room, shower rods just resting on top of walls. Not particularly clean, but it is a public shower.
Aug 06, 2014
The staff was very friendly. However the amenities are limited and the bathrooms weren't very well-maintained. Easy access to Yosemite though.
Aug 05, 2014
nice tent site, showers and bathrooms clean, the only drawback was the pool seemed to be over chlorinated. Not that far from South Entrance of Yosemite
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.