Yosemite South / Coarsegold KOA

34094 Highway 41

Coarsegold, CA 93614

Reserve: 800-562-7606

Info: 559-683-7855

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5

Tent Reviews

Aug 23, 2015
Very nice staff!
Aug 19, 2015
Great place to camp
Aug 18, 2015
It was great! Easy to check in, even when I showed up in the middle of the night
Aug 17, 2015
Clean campsite. Would definitely visit. No hot water in one of the showers in the women's restrooms.
Aug 17, 2015
I spoke to about 4/5 members of staff, all fantastic thank you
Aug 14, 2015
Beautiful
Aug 13, 2015
Really enjoyed the game room with my 10 year old daughter.
Aug 13, 2015
We arrived after dark so had to "self check-in". Easy. The campground was clean and orderly. Next day staff was very friendly. I would stay there again.
Aug 12, 2015
Aug 11, 2015
Note: This campground is FAR from Yosemite! At least a 1.5 hour drive! The facilities were nice though: great pool, clean bathrooms and showers. The ground for tent camping is hard as a rock though (bring some sort of air mattress or thick mattress pad), and the campsite we were in (I3) had very little shade during the day.
Aug 11, 2015
Aug 10, 2015
Staffs are extremely nice and helpful. Pleasant stay
Aug 10, 2015
Much noise from the nearby highway .Traffic on the campsite after 1.00 am
Aug 09, 2015
Aug 04, 2015
Great location for our trip to Yosemite! clean bathrooms and great service.
Aug 04, 2015
Friendly staff. We tent camped,arrived late at night - site assigned us was in with the RVs.. we would have preferred being in the tent areas. too much trouble to move after the fact. next time will request a specific tent site. Enjoyed our stay. Handy for Yosemite.
Aug 03, 2015
Nice, clean areas. Lovely, friendly and informative staff. Clean showers. Cool pool. Overall a very good experience my family (wife and a 3 year old) experienced. Looking forward for a new adventure at Coarsegold again.
Aug 02, 2015
Our campsite was supposed to have electricity but it didn't work. Our reservation was made in plenty of time to have been located in a tent-site that was much more private and not supposed to have electricity. Given a choice (which we should have been given) if electricity was not going to be available privacy would have been better. Many amenities were in disrepair. VERY NOISY!!
Aug 01, 2015
It was very loud at night and no staff were around to enforce quiet hours. Our campsite was within view of the highway and we had headlights in our tent as people came in during the night.
Jul 29, 2015
It was a pretty nice campground. The frustrating part was that we were told we would have a way to cook our food (either firepit or charcoal grill) when we got to our campsite we had neither, which was frustrating because we had bought food to eat for the couple days we were there according to the plan that we would have a charcoal grill.
Jul 29, 2015
Good people good location good prices will be staying here again
Jul 26, 2015
We were less than impressed. "22 miles to yosemite" seems like no big deal but it's about 45 minutes to the park because of the windy roads. No outdoor movies, like they advertise. We literally had about a million ants at our site overnight. We've never seen anything like that before. Very dry conditions. Water spigot only gave off very warm water. Pool was decent. NOT like other KOAs.
Jul 24, 2015
sites are not level,no spa etc. etc.game room dirt no a/c in game room pool needs to be cleaned the only reason we stayed because grandkids wanted to stay the tent site they had no water should have at least water elect. would also be nice for the tent sites also ants are a problem need to address this trash cans full and are not emptied till late in the day.
Jul 24, 2015
Beautiful spot, however the staff was not very friendly or accomdating.
Jul 23, 2015
nice staff, clean facilities, good location, WiFi could be a little stronger- we enjoyed the stay very much.
Jul 20, 2015
The campground is clean and quiet. They helped with all of our accommodations as we had a larger group. The only downside was that the spa was closed due to people misusing it. But other than that we love coming here.
Jul 20, 2015
We (my son's who are 14 and 6) were placed next to the noisy highway And 3 different huge groups of foreign travelers. We didn't get any sleep for the 2 nights we were there. We were the furthest site from the pool and far from the restrooms. Won't stay at this one again.
Jul 20, 2015
First campground I was assigned to was not level at all and not good for a truck camper. I was reassigned a new spot that was perfect. I also lost a Micro SD Card for my GPS. The maintenance man found it, and the Girls at the front desk got it back to me. VERY happy about that!
Jul 19, 2015
Nice facilities. However our camp site was right next to Highway 41, so a lot of noise from the traffic. We were also close to the office, which was a congregating site for teens/young adults (because of outlet for electronic devices) who made a lot of noise. Nearly a 90 minute drive to Yosemite Valley.
Jul 17, 2015
I would not recommend this koa to anyone. We had a tent site reserved with 3 kids and we're placed on the opposite side of the camp ground from the swimming pool. The staff was not friendly when we checked in. We left a day early cause it was such a bad experience and didn't receive a refund so i really hope that they take our $30 and do something to make the koa better.
Jul 15, 2015
Too noisy, also sloped lot for tent camping makes for an uncomfortable experience. no-ne should have the dumpster right in their campsite.
Jul 13, 2015
Jul 13, 2015
Our family stay was great. The property was well maintained especially the restrooms and the showers were very clean.
Jul 13, 2015
Friendly people. Very clean, well lit bathrooms. I did not like the garbage dump on property behind tent site A3, nor the tire tracks that ran from A3 to the other property. Next time I will tent at a different section.
Jul 08, 2015
The 2-people cabin was wonderful and cozy. Had a great time "Glamping"!!
Jul 07, 2015
Jul 06, 2015
Well, I wanted to like this place, really. But the totally disinterested staff, the fire-ant infested tent site, and the dirty bathrooms really put a downer on our holiday weekend. I spent the entire time hanging out in my brother's RV because we could not put our tent in the huge fireant hill that I rented for $70 for two nights.I've stayed in some truly magical KOA campgrounds.this isn't one.
Jul 06, 2015
Jul 06, 2015
Great campground. Facilities were clean and our campsite was quiet. I wish we could have had campfires, but the drought has made it too dry for them.
Jul 05, 2015
Jul 04, 2015
Spent two nights here while visiting Yosemite, so we weren't hanging out at the camp much, but enjoyed the time we had. Note that google maps says this camp is 30 minutes from Yosemite valley. It's more like an hour and fifteen. But if you know how hard it is to get a site IN Yosemite, then this is still a good option.
Jul 03, 2015
Pool was very nice and cool when it was so hot when we stayed. Store did not have much to offer.
Jun 30, 2015
We only used our campsite G2 3 hours and were covered with thousands of ants. We had to leave and abandon our tent in the trash. I called the next day and just received a "why didn't you move?" And "sorry". We couldn't move the tent as it was infested. The ants bit and that site should not be used. I would have liked an offer of a refund as we had to leave and we lost our tent.
Jun 23, 2015
Jun 22, 2015
Tent sites were way too small. Water trickling from broken faucets making it hard to set up in a dry spot. Ironic since California is in drought to be wasting water like that. No recycling either. Women's bathroom showers barely worked. with the size of the campground, we were surprised that there was only one facility for showers anyway. My kids liked the pool and the evening movie though.
Jun 20, 2015
Silly us. We had no idea how hot it would be since we thought we would be higher. However, we enjoyed our stay. The swimming pool is a delight and I was especially happy about the women's showering area. Great to be able to sit in there while dressing after a shower. We were one of the few people in a tent and at night the sight of the stars out the stop of the tent was fantastic.
Jun 16, 2015
Our space,H47, wasn't very level. Our daughter stayed in J4. It seemed as though everybody walked through their site to get back and forth between the RV sites and the bathroom. Also, one of the shower curtains was slimy. On a side note, your small sign asking us to make a wide turn as we exit has the word 'please' mis-spelled.
Jun 15, 2015
The place was awesome! Clean bathrooms and sites. The cabin was great, that air conditioner was a well used bonus. I would suggest that people make sure they bring LOTS of water from home.
Jun 10, 2015
Office assistance was good. Grounds were litter free. Bathroom was clean, shower were almost as good as your own personal shower 😃
Jun 10, 2015
Very nice. Great pool and common facilities. The site was shady and comfortable, although the web site promised a secluded site and we were on the main road next to the office. Still highly recommended.
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.