Yosemite South / Coarsegold KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 800-562-7606

Info: 559-683-7855


34094 Highway 41

Coarsegold, CA 93614

Get Directions

RV Sites, Tent Sites

Check-in: 2:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am


Check-in: 3:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Camper Rating 4 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Tent Reviews

Nov 09, 2015
The only downside is, it's next to the road and can hear the vehicles drive by but that doesn't stop me from coming back. This specific KOA is so accommodating. I enjoyed my stay and also my cousin who never camp before said she wants to go camping now due to a great, first experience she had. Will definitely recommend this site to friends and family.
Oct 29, 2015
Very enjoyable stay. Staff went out of their way to help with our needs. They were very friendly. We booked an extra night and took a day off from traveling. We highly recommend this campground.
Oct 19, 2015
Very helpful friendly staff.
Oct 05, 2015
Super friendly people, well maintained spaces, and very clean restrooms. The only downside was I got the site closest to Hwy 41 and all the associated road noise. You could also hear some outdoor event at the Casino on Saturday night. But the KOA itself was great.
Sep 28, 2015
The people were nice. There are no fire rings, the pool and club house are nice but about 1/4 a mile from where the main campers are even farther for 1/2 the sightes. Few tent sights have any shade. Store was very small and offered little. We DO NOT recomend this KOA.
Sep 24, 2015
Traffic noise an issue. Great staff. Good Wifi. Convenient power and water hookup for tenters.
Sep 20, 2015
The bathroom really needed cleaning. On a busy holiday weekend, it's expected multiple clean-up on a daily basis and all toilets working. The pool was nice for us and the kids though water was icy cold. The rec room needs tlc and new equipment. We were at a campsite next to the highway so it was loud at night. Location of KOA was great to Yosemite Southgate. We will most likely not come back.
Sep 11, 2015
Really good. Super friendly staff. Random horse ate our food and some of the visitors were super load at 3 am
Sep 08, 2015
This was our first KOA stay. Pros: we liked our shady site and the pool and game room were very nice. Cons: the restrooms and showers were very dirty and were never cleaned during our 2 night stay. In one restroom, 2 out of 4 toilets were not working. Also KOA staff did not enforce quiet hours and we had to endure other campers partying loudly near our site until after midnight both nights.
Sep 08, 2015
We really enjoyed the friendly and helpful staff.
Sep 08, 2015
Sep 07, 2015
The bathrooms were dirty and poorly maintained.
Sep 01, 2015
Hey It was very good, a great time Thank you
Aug 23, 2015
Very nice staff!
Aug 19, 2015
Great place to camp
Aug 18, 2015
It was great! Easy to check in, even when I showed up in the middle of the night
Aug 17, 2015
Clean campsite. Would definitely visit. No hot water in one of the showers in the women's restrooms.
Aug 17, 2015
I spoke to about 4/5 members of staff, all fantastic thank you
Aug 14, 2015
Aug 13, 2015
Really enjoyed the game room with my 10 year old daughter.
Aug 13, 2015
We arrived after dark so had to "self check-in". Easy. The campground was clean and orderly. Next day staff was very friendly. I would stay there again.
Aug 12, 2015
Aug 11, 2015
Note: This campground is FAR from Yosemite! At least a 1.5 hour drive! The facilities were nice though: great pool, clean bathrooms and showers. The ground for tent camping is hard as a rock though (bring some sort of air mattress or thick mattress pad), and the campsite we were in (I3) had very little shade during the day.
Aug 11, 2015
Aug 10, 2015
Staffs are extremely nice and helpful. Pleasant stay
Aug 10, 2015
Much noise from the nearby highway .Traffic on the campsite after 1.00 am
Aug 09, 2015
Aug 04, 2015
Great location for our trip to Yosemite! clean bathrooms and great service.
Aug 04, 2015
Friendly staff. We tent camped,arrived late at night - site assigned us was in with the RVs.. we would have preferred being in the tent areas. too much trouble to move after the fact. next time will request a specific tent site. Enjoyed our stay. Handy for Yosemite.
Aug 03, 2015
Nice, clean areas. Lovely, friendly and informative staff. Clean showers. Cool pool. Overall a very good experience my family (wife and a 3 year old) experienced. Looking forward for a new adventure at Coarsegold again.
Aug 02, 2015
Our campsite was supposed to have electricity but it didn't work. Our reservation was made in plenty of time to have been located in a tent-site that was much more private and not supposed to have electricity. Given a choice (which we should have been given) if electricity was not going to be available privacy would have been better. Many amenities were in disrepair. VERY NOISY!!
Aug 01, 2015
It was very loud at night and no staff were around to enforce quiet hours. Our campsite was within view of the highway and we had headlights in our tent as people came in during the night.
Jul 29, 2015
It was a pretty nice campground. The frustrating part was that we were told we would have a way to cook our food (either firepit or charcoal grill) when we got to our campsite we had neither, which was frustrating because we had bought food to eat for the couple days we were there according to the plan that we would have a charcoal grill.
Jul 29, 2015
Good people good location good prices will be staying here again
Jul 26, 2015
We were less than impressed. "22 miles to yosemite" seems like no big deal but it's about 45 minutes to the park because of the windy roads. No outdoor movies, like they advertise. We literally had about a million ants at our site overnight. We've never seen anything like that before. Very dry conditions. Water spigot only gave off very warm water. Pool was decent. NOT like other KOAs.
Jul 24, 2015
sites are not level,no spa etc. etc.game room dirt no a/c in game room pool needs to be cleaned the only reason we stayed because grandkids wanted to stay the tent site they had no water should have at least water elect. would also be nice for the tent sites also ants are a problem need to address this trash cans full and are not emptied till late in the day.
Jul 24, 2015
Beautiful spot, however the staff was not very friendly or accomdating.
Jul 23, 2015
nice staff, clean facilities, good location, WiFi could be a little stronger- we enjoyed the stay very much.
Jul 20, 2015
The campground is clean and quiet. They helped with all of our accommodations as we had a larger group. The only downside was that the spa was closed due to people misusing it. But other than that we love coming here.
Jul 20, 2015
We (my son's who are 14 and 6) were placed next to the noisy highway And 3 different huge groups of foreign travelers. We didn't get any sleep for the 2 nights we were there. We were the furthest site from the pool and far from the restrooms. Won't stay at this one again.
Jul 20, 2015
First campground I was assigned to was not level at all and not good for a truck camper. I was reassigned a new spot that was perfect. I also lost a Micro SD Card for my GPS. The maintenance man found it, and the Girls at the front desk got it back to me. VERY happy about that!
Jul 19, 2015
Nice facilities. However our camp site was right next to Highway 41, so a lot of noise from the traffic. We were also close to the office, which was a congregating site for teens/young adults (because of outlet for electronic devices) who made a lot of noise. Nearly a 90 minute drive to Yosemite Valley.
Jul 17, 2015
I would not recommend this koa to anyone. We had a tent site reserved with 3 kids and we're placed on the opposite side of the camp ground from the swimming pool. The staff was not friendly when we checked in. We left a day early cause it was such a bad experience and didn't receive a refund so i really hope that they take our $30 and do something to make the koa better.
Jul 15, 2015
Too noisy, also sloped lot for tent camping makes for an uncomfortable experience. no-ne should have the dumpster right in their campsite.
Jul 13, 2015
Jul 13, 2015
Our family stay was great. The property was well maintained especially the restrooms and the showers were very clean.
Jul 13, 2015
Friendly people. Very clean, well lit bathrooms. I did not like the garbage dump on property behind tent site A3, nor the tire tracks that ran from A3 to the other property. Next time I will tent at a different section.
Jul 08, 2015
The 2-people cabin was wonderful and cozy. Had a great time "Glamping"!!
Jul 07, 2015
Jul 06, 2015
Well, I wanted to like this place, really. But the totally disinterested staff, the fire-ant infested tent site, and the dirty bathrooms really put a downer on our holiday weekend. I spent the entire time hanging out in my brother's RV because we could not put our tent in the huge fireant hill that I rented for $70 for two nights.I've stayed in some truly magical KOA campgrounds.this isn't one.

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.

Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals