Yosemite South / Coarsegold KOA

34094 Highway 41

Coarsegold, CA 93614

Reserve: 800-562-7606

Info: 559-683-7855

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
3.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

RV Reviews

Jun 28, 2013
Jun 28, 2013
It's a great location if you want to make a day trip into Yosemite. We had a small tent trailer and we had a back in spot, so we weren't crammed next to other campers like the bigger RV's. Highway noise here is an issue, since it's right next to it. There was no spa like the sign advertised. The showers/bathrooms aren't cleaned daily, in fact only once while we were there, so that is an issue.
Jun 27, 2013
Jun 27, 2013
Robinet de la chambre de bain manquant, le robinet d'eau de notre site coulait, porte de douche qui ne barre pas. Bref, manque d'entretient! Aussi, il y avait énormément de rongeurs.
Jun 25, 2013
Great stay for the second time this year. We'll be taking another 3 or 4 day stay later this year. Keep up the good work and improvements.Met some wonderful folks, thanks again , J.P. Reedy.
Jun 25, 2013
Jun 24, 2013
cable could have been better, though not real high on the comfort list it still is nice to watch at the end of the day
Jun 24, 2013
I had booked a pull through online, but when we got there i was told they moved us to a back-in site. No clue why moved and the new site was not level at all. To get into the spot we had to menuver over weird lumps in the road, the truck and trailer got articulated so much it smashed in the corner of our trailer. Gopher holes everywhere, dog could have broken leg. Many other issues. Not happy!
Jun 23, 2013
Owner was very helpful, but they seemed to have some guest issues with kids ruining the fun for everyone. The spa did not work, very dusty and dirty, showers not working, Wifi was slow and limited, amenities all were not working or up to KOA standards.
Jun 23, 2013
wonderful stay and surroundings
Jun 23, 2013
Should not be rated as a koa! Cable was terrible if any . Wifi was limited to one hour running. Pool was at least a quarter mile up hill.
Jun 22, 2013
So far from Yosemite. It was very hot in early June. Also, the "deluxe" sites were very disappointing. They needed a lot of attention and updating. The decks were rickety. Bathrooms were far away. We were supposed to stay 3 nights and left after one.
Jun 22, 2013
The staff was friendly but the maintenance of the park is not very well. Most street lighting is broken, buildings need repair and paint. Wires laying across the street. Advertised duck pond dry and full of weeds.
Jun 22, 2013
The management team was Great. The location was also very good. We had a wonderful time, however, the photos and advertisement online does not match what we saw at the kampground. The facility upkeep is not very good. Weeds everywhere, lights broken and not repaired. The online photos make you think the amenities are there and they are not. If this Kampgound got some TLC is wound be nice.
Jun 21, 2013
There were some concerns. The pool was dirty and kids were swimming without adult supervision. The spa is closed. The kitchen is closed, but used to prepare and sell meals. The campgrounds are overrun with ground squirrels. It appears there is room for improvement in the Kampground.
Jun 17, 2013
The people were very nice and friendly. Services were very good. some of the facilities could use a little facelift.
Jun 17, 2013
Jun 17, 2013
Jun 17, 2013
Nice clean park. Sites could be a little more level.
Jun 17, 2013
Jun 17, 2013
Lovely park. 1. We think the hosts should escort visitors to their camp site. I was kind of difficult to pull into. 2. Not handicap friendly. They never told us that it is an uphill walk to any of the facilities. 3. The limited WiFi access was a problem also.....Very clean park.
Jun 17, 2013
Everything Perfect !!
Jun 15, 2013
Very quiet, as we like it. Clean with lots to do. Friendly helpful staff. Will come again.
Jun 15, 2013
Dusty, stark and not too friendly of a place. The campground has very sharp turns making it difficult to drive an RV around while towing. And Really do you need speed bumps that are so high that they rock the RV even when going 2 miles an hour?
Jun 15, 2013
Spaces too close. Advertised level sites, but they were not. All campers around us had to hike up one side of the trailer.
Jun 14, 2013
Nice place, clean, super pool, bathrooms are in serious need of a redo!
Jun 11, 2013
The lack of lawn is ok given the climate, but some surface covering (decomposed granite, drought tolerant vegetation etc.)is needed over the bare ground around the sites. Cable TV was awful and wifi was complicated and free for only an hour (inconsistent with the advertising). The crew was polite. Water, power and sewer worked (although we could smell the sewer at times). We won't be returning.
Jun 11, 2013
We have been traveling for 7 months and have stayed in all types of places so we have a decent benchmark to work off of. The entire property was covered with ant colonies. We couldn't leave our dog outside and it took us a few days before we finally killed all the ants which got into our trailer. There were Prarie dog holes and dogs running around the grounds as this makes me worry about flees
Jun 11, 2013
This campground is poorly maintained. All the grass is dead. Camping is mainly on dirt. Hot and dusty.
Jun 10, 2013
Full pull-thrus weren't long enough. We had to back out. Showers were inoperative or I couldn't figure out how to work. Need signs?
Jun 10, 2013
It is a wonderful park and we can't wait to come back! Loved it!
Jun 09, 2013
Quiet and serene. My grandson loved the pool and nature walk.
Jun 09, 2013
only one hour of wifi for free!!! dirt parking lot.
Jun 06, 2013
Jun 06, 2013
We found it difficult to find our spot...some KOA's have some one to follow to their site...Also was disappointed that internet did't reach our spot...also ice cream we bought at the store...was old...and melted and refrozen...ick...Did have a nice laundry room...and staff that gave good directions to next KOA...I did like the site we were in was big and private...:)
Jun 06, 2013
Jun 04, 2013
Sites were not level or anywhere near level. Had to move once due to site being so unlevel. Second site was almost as bad. Need to be graded. Besides that the park was good. Very nice and friendly staff. Clean.
Jun 04, 2013
Jun 03, 2013
Nice place to stay.
Jun 03, 2013
Even though we were only spending 1 night, we enjoyed our time while there. I will recommend this place to my family.
May 31, 2013
Best campground we stayed at on our 10 day RV vacation. Most campgrounds were cement parking lots. This KOA reminded us of being back east.
May 31, 2013
No slabs, no grass, just gravel, no stock in the store,. Only subsists due to location and lack of competition.
May 30, 2013
Owner unfriendly. Reservations were messed up. Staff not willing to make it right. I was told if I didn't like it I could leave...
May 30, 2013
My wife and I felt that we were overcharged for our site which did not have free WiFi nor did it include cable.The site,I agree was the only oneavailable at time of reserving,it also was crawling with fire ants which we had to avoid to hook up,all this at 53.00 $/night.Even though it was a very unigue park even being overcharged we enjoyed our stay.
May 29, 2013
May 28, 2013
nice,clean and well maintained campground. staff is very courteous. we will return.
May 28, 2013
It is the 4th year we camp here on Memorial weekend & was very disappointed! The staff were unfriendly & unhelpful, we are used to KOA employees greeting you 'it's a great day at KOA' ect. None of the water features were working. Nothing on the playroom/hall was working. If it wasn't for the location then I'm not so sure if we will camp here again :-(
May 28, 2013
The staff made every effort to make our stay enjoyable and it was great to see smiles on all their faces. This is a memorable place to relax and enjoy the mountain scenery.
May 28, 2013
stayed three nights in a travel trailer and had a great time staff was friendly and helpful and our site was perfect for our rig and vehicle with plenty of room. we are already planning another trip to this campground later in the year. overall no complaints
May 28, 2013
We stayed here for a couple of nights before heading into Yosemite. Most of the sites are easy in and out, however, we were given a very difficult site to pull into and get out of - we tow a 30' 5th wheel and we were parked in what may be the overflow area - no clearly defined site that I could see; but we did have hook ups. Campground looks better than it did a few years ago-making improvements

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.