Yosemite South / Coarsegold KOA

34094 Highway 41

Coarsegold, CA 93614

Reserve: 800-562-7606

Info: 559-683-7855

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
3.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Jul 27, 2013
need to check your bath house more offton when you have groups of young camper, bath house was run over and need some one to be on site to check it offton
Jul 26, 2013
Jul 25, 2013
Jul 25, 2013
Bathrooms were dirty and in need of an upgrade. The pool paint was chipping off and there was dirt floating in the pool. Other than that it was nice. Staff was courteous and grounds were as nice as they could be with the drought conditions.
Jul 24, 2013
The pool was very nice, but needs re-lined or something as it is flaking off and makes the pool very dirty.
Jul 24, 2013
Jul 23, 2013
Jul 23, 2013
Dust bowl, bad bathrooms,site almost impossible to get in.check in not friendly, if we had been able to go somewhere else we would have.
Jul 23, 2013
The facilities were clean and it felt and looked like a campground and not an RV park. The staff was friendly and helpful. We will definitely stay there again.
Jul 23, 2013
I was disappointed that I had to change the tent location the following morning, I arrived late and I did not see my assigneed number and I had to move all my stuff to the correct lot number. My suggestion would be to improve the late arrivals notification system to avoid people making these type of mistakes. Besides this, everything was excellent.
Jul 22, 2013
the campground was dirty and the bathrooms were disgusting. The soap and paper towels were not filled for are entire stay. The pool was extremely dirty and unsafe to swim in. The store was poorly stocked and the personal was incompetent. The campground should be closed. KOA should be ashamed to have their name associated with this campground
Jul 22, 2013
Rest room cleaning needs attention
Jul 22, 2013
This is a nice place and Bill, the owner, is a very hard working man. My only complaint is that the restrooms need a lot of work. It seems that Bill could use some help!
Jul 22, 2013
Jul 22, 2013
Very nice campsite, lot's of space. Not cramed in like many campgrounds. Nice pool and clubhouse. Disappointed the Spa is broken.
Jul 21, 2013
would definitly recommend new owner works night and day to make everyone happy negative reviews should be ignored I will be back
Jul 21, 2013
Jul 20, 2013
Restroom with one functioning and shower out of order. Tent cite that was actualy entrance before, so you may hardly put a nail in the ground. Tent cite not leveled at all, no any grass there. Internet actualy doesn't exist but you are offered to buy some ?! Should not be advertised as WiFi included place.
Jul 20, 2013
Jul 19, 2013
Jul 19, 2013
The campground was great if you were just going to stay for a night, but for almost a week I wish I had chose a different place. The pool was way up on top of a hill, there was no grass, just dirt. The bathroom's/showers were gross even though I saw a guy with cleaning items every day. Don't think we would stay here again. Needs some serious TLC.
Jul 19, 2013
Camping trop vétuste. Évacuation des eaux sales en hauteur. Wifi de tres mauvaise qualité et limité à une heure par jour. Pas disponible dans tout le site. Sanitaires plus que vétustes mais propres
Jul 19, 2013
I could not have been more pleased with the way we were treated. It was like we guests in Bill's home. Our truck broke down on the way to the camp and Bill went out of his way to help us.This one gets a AAA + from us . Thank You Bill for every thing you did. Lee,Carol,Marty
Jul 19, 2013
Not the best KOA for kids. There is a pool (that was fairly dirty), but beyond that there was nothing. The rockwall & recreation area needs an overhaul. Slightly disappointed after spending time in some really nice KOA's!
Jul 19, 2013
Friendly staff! Extremely dusty. Laundry and swim towels in trees, clotheslines and over tables. Barking dogs. Tent, camper, 2 cots, crying child @ 5:00 am, dog barking, fire ring and chairs in our site...? Little disappointing for a KOA.
Jul 19, 2013
We had a perfect place, personnel was so friendly. We were surprised that they just brought a BBQ to our site, and the next day we didnot even have to clean it. Super and a nice pool. Would love to stay again.
Jul 19, 2013
Rec room was very filthy...probably not vaccumed in months. Pool table broken. Pool was very cloudy and not clean lacked chlorine. General neglect
Jul 18, 2013
Liked the Lay-out , your in a desert setting, few unique trees, Rabbits, and at night the stars are so clear, We heard Coyotes too. Campground met all our needs. Only wished there were more Bathrooms spread out in the park. We are from Michigan , this was different, but in a good way!!
Jul 18, 2013
Jul 18, 2013
Tent site was very small, dirty, uneven, rocky,no shade, no water or electricity(as requested). Showers had dead bugs on floor, restrooms need upgrading. Not 20 minutes from Yosemite as noted on line, actually 1 hour drive to park entrance.
Jul 18, 2013
Free WiFi is not the same as WiFi with the first hour free per day. Not worth the trouble to get it -- went to McDonalds instead. Chose it because it was a KOA. Not enough reason to choose again.
Jul 18, 2013
Our family had a great time at Yosemite South this year. We have stayed at this KOA many times in the past 4years and always enjoy it.
Jul 18, 2013
The staff there were great. Loved to see Bill every morning in the bathrooms cleaning right along side his employees. Singing coyotes in the distance each night was pleasant.
Jul 18, 2013
Jul 18, 2013
This is the worst KOA we've ever stayed at. I can't believe it could be accredited as a KOA given their usual high standards. The rate was ridiculously high for what we got. No paving, uneven sites and lots of dust. Wifi for only one hour straight then you pay for it. Phone reception was weak. Glad to leave.
Jul 17, 2013
Poor cable reception on local channels and very poor WiFi connectabilty. We did have to leave a day early and were issued a refund. Thank you
Jul 17, 2013
Jul 17, 2013
Great experience! Our very first stay at a KOA campground. Yosemite South/Coarsegold was awesome. Friendly staff, early check-in, clean grounds, very clean restroom/shower, nice pool, and movie night. They even brought us a fire ring and bbq pit free of charge! Not only will we be back to this campground, we are already planning a trip to the Grand Canyon. Staying at KOA sites along the way!
Jul 16, 2013
Jul 16, 2013
Jul 16, 2013
Jul 16, 2013
VeDon't want to use bathroom or showers by space 42 or at the pool. Need alot more attention. Showers ok by dump stations but some in women's side couldn't adjust temps.
Jul 15, 2013
Jul 15, 2013
Kampground is located in the Sierra Nevada foothills. It was very hot (>100°F) during our stay. Therefore Kampground was not green but brown.
Jul 15, 2013
Jul 14, 2013
Jul 13, 2013
This is not up to typical KOA standards and I would not stay here again. The cabin was cramped and ant infested. We had to throw out all of our food. This was mentioned to the staff but nothing was done to right this. We requested that the cabin be sprayed. I doubt it was since there were ants everywhere when we got back. We usually stay at KOAs but we'll think twice next time.
Jul 13, 2013
We had a great time here! Friendly staff, clean facilities, and dog friendly. We will definitely be back to this KOA in the future!
Jul 13, 2013
Unfortunately we had a tent site right next to the highway, so the place was really noisy, even at night. The showers were not clean. Every day after 10 PM there was no light at restrooms and nobody told us in advance. Good thing about the campground is its place - it´s just on the way to Yosemite. The tent site was shady which was convenient.
Jul 12, 2013

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.