Yosemite South / Coarsegold KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 800-562-7606

Info: 559-683-7855

Email

34094 Highway 41

Coarsegold, CA 93614

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Jul 20, 2015
We loved the place but the staff made a mistake of giving us the wrong number of cabin. We had to spend 30 minutes or more before we finally discovered the mistake.
Jul 20, 2015
First campground I was assigned to was not level at all and not good for a truck camper. I was reassigned a new spot that was perfect. I also lost a Micro SD Card for my GPS. The maintenance man found it, and the Girls at the front desk got it back to me. VERY happy about that!
Jul 20, 2015
It appears to have been let go for a long time. In desperate need of maintenance! Wi-fi did NOT work at all, so why say you offer it? The sights have no gravel, or concrete, just a pile of dead grass. No shade, the entrance and exit are NOT big rig friendly. They either need to make big changes, or close as this is a bad reflection on KOA's. You are just sitting in a field??
Jul 20, 2015
The campground has nice scenery along with its surrounding area.
Jul 19, 2015
Nice facilities. However our camp site was right next to Highway 41, so a lot of noise from the traffic. We were also close to the office, which was a congregating site for teens/young adults (because of outlet for electronic devices) who made a lot of noise. Nearly a 90 minute drive to Yosemite Valley.
Jul 18, 2015
This KOA needs some updating, and that doesn't just mean more paint in the restroom.
Jul 18, 2015
The access to the pool was not convenient but then it was spread out over a large area.
Jul 18, 2015
This place needs some TLC asap! Not what I would have expected for a KOA place. If I would have paid less than $30 for a parking space for our van, it would have been ok. But $40 something not cool.
Jul 17, 2015
I would not recommend this koa to anyone. We had a tent site reserved with 3 kids and we're placed on the opposite side of the camp ground from the swimming pool. The staff was not friendly when we checked in. We left a day early cause it was such a bad experience and didn't receive a refund so i really hope that they take our $30 and do something to make the koa better.
Jul 16, 2015
Friendly and helpful staff. The campground was laid out very oddly and you couldn't walk to the laundry room or the pool. Access to Yosemite NP was good.
Jul 15, 2015
We loved the nice people clean restrooms clean pool it was over all attend it was awesome there even with the heat
Jul 15, 2015
Too noisy, also sloped lot for tent camping makes for an uncomfortable experience. no-ne should have the dumpster right in their campsite.
Jul 15, 2015
Nice place, needs a little work, while we were there we found out the park is recently under new mgt and have several plans to improve the park. Would like ro go back to see what changes were made.
Jul 14, 2015
The campground was poorly laid-out and rather difficult to navigate with a large RV.
Jul 14, 2015
Friendly people. Very dry campsite, but nice place.
Jul 14, 2015
Jul 13, 2015
Jul 13, 2015
Only spent 1 night , but good safe and secure and clean CG 90 minutes from Yosemite Valley. Perfect stopover giving us an extra day in Yosemite, not driving up from LA at 4 am.
Jul 13, 2015
Our family stay was great. The property was well maintained especially the restrooms and the showers were very clean.
Jul 13, 2015
Great time no movie on Saturday night and the store closes at 7 where you can rent play items kind of not much to do for the kids but a great stay otherwise, clean well kept friendly staff.
Jul 13, 2015
Friendly people. Very clean, well lit bathrooms. I did not like the garbage dump on property behind tent site A3, nor the tire tracks that ran from A3 to the other property. Next time I will tent at a different section.
Jul 13, 2015
It was an excellent area and the staff was very friendly.
Jul 12, 2015
dirty bathrooms, the pool was 1/2 mile away. Not close to anything exciting. A no go in my book.
Jul 11, 2015
Our site was very good after the wonderful lady changed our site to one with more shade. ++ The restrooms at the lower portion were in need of upgrade. The showers (male) needed hooks to hangup cloths. Overall a good stay. Thank you very much!
Jul 08, 2015
The 2-people cabin was wonderful and cozy. Had a great time "Glamping"!!
Jul 07, 2015
Jul 06, 2015
Not much for the kids to do other than swim and place looks little run down..No jump house as advertised. Pool small and dishes in our cabin were dirty and beds like hard rocks.
Jul 06, 2015
Well, I wanted to like this place, really. But the totally disinterested staff, the fire-ant infested tent site, and the dirty bathrooms really put a downer on our holiday weekend. I spent the entire time hanging out in my brother's RV because we could not put our tent in the huge fireant hill that I rented for $70 for two nights.I've stayed in some truly magical KOA campgrounds.this isn't one.
Jul 06, 2015
The bathrooms were a little dirty but had a lot of kids that weekend. The staff told us about a great place to eat and were very helpful thanks
Jul 06, 2015
Jul 06, 2015
Great campground. Facilities were clean and our campsite was quiet. I wish we could have had campfires, but the drought has made it too dry for them.
Jul 06, 2015
Jul 06, 2015
Jul 05, 2015
If you don't upgrade your wi fi service, you should turn it off; it is so bad, to advertise it is fraudulent.
Jul 05, 2015
Jul 05, 2015
Site was very expensive, table unusa le and no sewer. Very disapointed
Jul 04, 2015
Very difficult to find this campground from the road. Entrance is steep and curving with large speed bump at bottom. Cable was almost unusable and never fixed. Large speed bumps made getting in and out difficult.
Jul 04, 2015
Clean comfortable cabin. Very nice and responsive staff. Great pool area. Cabin needs AC in the back room.
Jul 04, 2015
The staff was extremely friendly & helpful. Our brakes on our motorhome went out as we arrived. We were told of a near by brake shop that was very accommodating. We would definitely recommend South Yosemite KOA
Jul 04, 2015
Spent two nights here while visiting Yosemite, so we weren't hanging out at the camp much, but enjoyed the time we had. Note that google maps says this camp is 30 minutes from Yosemite valley. It's more like an hour and fifteen. But if you know how hard it is to get a site IN Yosemite, then this is still a good option.
Jul 03, 2015
Pool was very nice and cool when it was so hot when we stayed. Store did not have much to offer.
Jun 30, 2015
Nice clean campground. Generous sites. Pool was a blessing, wished it would remain open to at least 10pm. Needs signage on the highway drove past and needed to turn-a-round. Not fun when towing.
Jun 30, 2015
The staff were very friendly and helpful. Our site was a little narrow for our slide out and awning, but since there wasn't anyone next to us, that was ok. We wish there would have been a fenced dog run.
Jun 30, 2015
The campground needs some TLC. Convenient location for Yosemite but not the best KOA we've ever stayed in. Sites are odd and not all the roads are paved. I will say the California drought has affected many places. Needs paint here and there and general housekeeping.
Jun 30, 2015
WE always have a great time at this KOA, we have been here many times in the past and its always relaxing, this past weekend was hotter then normal but that's life. I hope the new owners keep the family and small camp feeling. That's the thing that keeps us coming back time after time. Bill and Pam we wish you two and you lovely daughter all the best. From Chris and Vivian Hecker
Jun 30, 2015
We only used our campsite G2 3 hours and were covered with thousands of ants. We had to leave and abandon our tent in the trash. I called the next day and just received a "why didn't you move?" And "sorry". We couldn't move the tent as it was infested. The ants bit and that site should not be used. I would have liked an offer of a refund as we had to leave and we lost our tent.
Jun 27, 2015
One of the great things about this k.o.a. is its location to Yosemite. The drive from Coarsegold to the south gate wasn't that long. There were some issues with things in the cabin but (hide a bed that felt old an lumpy, pocket door to bathroom hard to close) it was comfortable for the few days we were there. We loved the pool even though it was a bit of a hike to get to.
Jun 27, 2015
Husband has MS and we asked for close to a restroom because he does not ambulate well and sometimes needs a wheelchair. We got a spot real close to the bathrooms but you had to go up a steep hill with a gulley going thru it. When you finally got up the hill most of the showers were out of order.: (
Jun 27, 2015
My truck broke down at entrance. They went out of their way,got me a new space to accommodate tow truck,my truck,& 5th wheel(70' long)!All the staff was friendly & helpful.. THANKS
Jun 26, 2015
campground was nice, staff was helpful.There was only 1 shower working in the womens restrooms the entire 3 days we were there
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals