Yosemite South / Coarsegold KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 800-562-7606

Info: 559-683-7855

Email

34094 Highway 41

Coarsegold, CA 93614

Get Directions

RV Sites, Tent Sites

Check-in: 2:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Accommodations

Check-in: 3:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Camper Rating 4 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Aug 04, 2015
Friendly staff. We tent camped,arrived late at night - site assigned us was in with the RVs.. we would have preferred being in the tent areas. too much trouble to move after the fact. next time will request a specific tent site. Enjoyed our stay. Handy for Yosemite.
Aug 03, 2015
Nice, clean areas. Lovely, friendly and informative staff. Clean showers. Cool pool. Overall a very good experience my family (wife and a 3 year old) experienced. Looking forward for a new adventure at Coarsegold again.
Aug 03, 2015
Aug 02, 2015
Our campsite was supposed to have electricity but it didn't work. Our reservation was made in plenty of time to have been located in a tent-site that was much more private and not supposed to have electricity. Given a choice (which we should have been given) if electricity was not going to be available privacy would have been better. Many amenities were in disrepair. VERY NOISY!!
Aug 02, 2015
The camp host were great!
Aug 01, 2015
It was very loud at night and no staff were around to enforce quiet hours. Our campsite was within view of the highway and we had headlights in our tent as people came in during the night.
Aug 01, 2015
This KOA was one of the worst I have ever stayed in. It is in need of a serious face lift. Given it's location it has the potential to be one of the best in the KOA network. Sites are poorly laid out and need to be graded and updated - signage is poor at best. Facility is not up to what I would expect from a KOA - needs to be looked at - All facilities at this KOA were in very poor condition -

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

I am sorry to hear about your stay, We are now under new Ownership and Management. You can be assured that all your concerns are being addressed as we take the helm at the property. Please look for many improvements in the coming months. I can assure you, we intend a comp
Jul 29, 2015
It was a pretty nice campground. The frustrating part was that we were told we would have a way to cook our food (either firepit or charcoal grill) when we got to our campsite we had neither, which was frustrating because we had bought food to eat for the couple days we were there according to the plan that we would have a charcoal grill.
Jul 29, 2015
The site was easy and fine with decent bathrooms and pool area. My main problem was that I chose this site because of the Wifi. It said that my site would have it even though it didn't. I was lucky the first night and another camper had it and let me use theirs because I had finals for school that had to be done. I really had to beg to get any real help about it in the office, like pulling teet
Jul 29, 2015
entrance to campground very tight for turning, roads inside needed repair
Jul 29, 2015
This KOA is to spread out. It was hot and the pool is so far. Camp office closes too early as well. The cabin floor was broken and dangerous. When asked about it I was told the camp was sold and new owners would fix the problems. More trees and greenery needed. Maybe a pool on the other side of camp as well. Tv with no remote. Just didn't feel comfortable or welcome.
Jul 29, 2015
Good people good location good prices will be staying here again
Jul 29, 2015
Jul 29, 2015
I'm sorry to rate this KOA so low, but I wasn't able to use anything but the space. I was told that the bathrooms/showers were too far to walk to, but I could drive - not so good for 2 am emergencies. The 30 amp service didn't run the AC,but intermittently, the WIFI, which I was assured would work, didnt. The road to the site was so rutted that I was afraid to take my rv down it...
Jul 28, 2015
We used this campground as a stopover for one night. To shorten the distance to Yosemite Valley.Kampground and service ok. Swimmingpool was a little bit far away for the kids on top of a steep hill.
Jul 28, 2015
A nice KOA, but no matter where you are going, you will have a LONG drive. Coarsegold is a cute little town! The KOA facilities are very clean and well cared for.
Jul 28, 2015
Jul 27, 2015
Office closed as early as 7:30 pm, pool was a good walking distance from campsite, no change machine for laundry.
Jul 27, 2015
We had a great time. It is to bad that things are so dry.
Jul 27, 2015
Jul 26, 2015
We were less than impressed. "22 miles to yosemite" seems like no big deal but it's about 45 minutes to the park because of the windy roads. No outdoor movies, like they advertise. We literally had about a million ants at our site overnight. We've never seen anything like that before. Very dry conditions. Water spigot only gave off very warm water. Pool was decent. NOT like other KOAs.
Jul 25, 2015
Office closes way too early/ need to enforce or provide clear signage relating to laundry etiquette. ( must stay with your laundry so it can be quickly moved along when a whole campground is waiting for machines).
Jul 24, 2015
The campground is okay and the pool is fine but the "deluxe" cabins are way overpriced. Our main complaints are the worn out pull out sofa and the uncomfortably warm bedroom. The AC just did not cover that so we all had a bad night sleep. Agnes
Jul 24, 2015
sites are not level,no spa etc. etc.game room dirt no a/c in game room pool needs to be cleaned the only reason we stayed because grandkids wanted to stay the tent site they had no water should have at least water elect. would also be nice for the tent sites also ants are a problem need to address this trash cans full and are not emptied till late in the day.
Jul 24, 2015
Beautiful spot, however the staff was not very friendly or accomdating.
Jul 23, 2015
We hate to see Bill go, but we understand. Thanks for everything. Hope to see you soon. We enjoy every time we visit the campground and especially the swimming pool! Best wishes....... Glenn & Lynn Rogers
Jul 23, 2015
nice staff, clean facilities, good location, WiFi could be a little stronger- we enjoyed the stay very much.
Jul 21, 2015
Great Time be back in a month
Jul 21, 2015
Jul 20, 2015
When we got there, the room was locked and they had told us it was open and the key was on the table. Sofa bed was not made. We had to make it ourselves. Cabin was pretty small. Bed was uncomfortable.
Jul 20, 2015
The campground is clean and quiet. They helped with all of our accommodations as we had a larger group. The only downside was that the spa was closed due to people misusing it. But other than that we love coming here.
Jul 20, 2015
We (my son's who are 14 and 6) were placed next to the noisy highway And 3 different huge groups of foreign travelers. We didn't get any sleep for the 2 nights we were there. We were the furthest site from the pool and far from the restrooms. Won't stay at this one again.
Jul 20, 2015
We loved the place but the staff made a mistake of giving us the wrong number of cabin. We had to spend 30 minutes or more before we finally discovered the mistake.
Jul 20, 2015
First campground I was assigned to was not level at all and not good for a truck camper. I was reassigned a new spot that was perfect. I also lost a Micro SD Card for my GPS. The maintenance man found it, and the Girls at the front desk got it back to me. VERY happy about that!
Jul 20, 2015
It appears to have been let go for a long time. In desperate need of maintenance! Wi-fi did NOT work at all, so why say you offer it? The sights have no gravel, or concrete, just a pile of dead grass. No shade, the entrance and exit are NOT big rig friendly. They either need to make big changes, or close as this is a bad reflection on KOA's. You are just sitting in a field??
Jul 20, 2015
The campground has nice scenery along with its surrounding area.
Jul 19, 2015
Nice facilities. However our camp site was right next to Highway 41, so a lot of noise from the traffic. We were also close to the office, which was a congregating site for teens/young adults (because of outlet for electronic devices) who made a lot of noise. Nearly a 90 minute drive to Yosemite Valley.
Jul 18, 2015
This KOA needs some updating, and that doesn't just mean more paint in the restroom.
Jul 18, 2015
The access to the pool was not convenient but then it was spread out over a large area.
Jul 18, 2015
This place needs some TLC asap! Not what I would have expected for a KOA place. If I would have paid less than $30 for a parking space for our van, it would have been ok. But $40 something not cool.
Jul 17, 2015
I would not recommend this koa to anyone. We had a tent site reserved with 3 kids and we're placed on the opposite side of the camp ground from the swimming pool. The staff was not friendly when we checked in. We left a day early cause it was such a bad experience and didn't receive a refund so i really hope that they take our $30 and do something to make the koa better.
Jul 16, 2015
Friendly and helpful staff. The campground was laid out very oddly and you couldn't walk to the laundry room or the pool. Access to Yosemite NP was good.
Jul 15, 2015
We loved the nice people clean restrooms clean pool it was over all attend it was awesome there even with the heat
Jul 15, 2015
Too noisy, also sloped lot for tent camping makes for an uncomfortable experience. no-ne should have the dumpster right in their campsite.
Jul 15, 2015
Nice place, needs a little work, while we were there we found out the park is recently under new mgt and have several plans to improve the park. Would like ro go back to see what changes were made.
Jul 14, 2015
The campground was poorly laid-out and rather difficult to navigate with a large RV.
Jul 14, 2015
Friendly people. Very dry campsite, but nice place.
Jul 14, 2015
Jul 13, 2015
Jul 13, 2015
Only spent 1 night , but good safe and secure and clean CG 90 minutes from Yosemite Valley. Perfect stopover giving us an extra day in Yosemite, not driving up from LA at 4 am.
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals