Yosemite South / Coarsegold KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 800-562-7606

Info: 559-683-7855

Email

34094 Highway 41

Coarsegold, CA 93614

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Jul 07, 2016
This site was very disappointing, there was not enough activities at the site and they were not announced. Wifi was unavailable for most of our stay. Restrooms were very dirty, showers were nasty in the evening and the morning. Staff was not friendly.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

I am very sorry you did not notice the Waterslides and Gold Panning, Candlemaking, Gem Search and Leatherwork activities. The flyers were at the counter and at each bathhouse.
Jul 07, 2016
Didn't have anything for kids to do like most Koas I have stayed at have. Store closed to early for a busy weekend.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

I am very sorry you did not notice the Waterslides and Gold Panning, Candlemaking, Gem Search and Leatherwork activities. The store stays open until the guests stop coming in so we have everyone served. I hope you consider us again.
Jul 06, 2016
Very nice staff, accommodated our unusually large rig. The new owners are going to great lengths to improve their campground. Yes, there is construction going on, but it didn't interfere with our stay at all.
Jul 05, 2016
We definitely will not be coming back to Coarsegold KOA.It was really cramped and crowded.The host was not helpful.
Jul 05, 2016
Very nice eager to please staff. Nice location with many things to do both inside the campgrounds and surrounding area. But sites were very uneven and didn't have much space to set up chairs. And no shade!! Trees all dead and it was over 100 degrees all week. Good spot for spring/fall but never again in the summer.
Jul 05, 2016
The clubhouse was closed and their weren't many family activities available or open. More family activities should be provided onsite.
Jul 05, 2016
bathroom and shower needs more attention please.
Jul 04, 2016
Excellent service. I've camped this KOA 4 years now.
Jul 04, 2016
Kind of disappointed. Management not very efficient . Looking forward to our next visit next year.
Jul 04, 2016
Jul 04, 2016
This camper comment has been removed by KOA due to profanity.
Jul 03, 2016
Too much construction going on,bath house poor condition-one under remodeling. RV too big for site.
Jul 03, 2016
Only a one night stop over yet all facilities were excellent. One issue was the pool closed early with plenty of daylight remaining for the kids to enjoy.
Jul 02, 2016
Small sites. Unattractive landscape
Jul 02, 2016
We only stayed one night, but it was an easy check in process. A little disappointed the pool closed so early, would love to have it open until at least sun down. We arrived right as it was closing. In all the place was clean, and people were friendly. So close to the South gate for Yosemite Valley, would definitely stay again!
Jul 02, 2016
The pool was the best part of the camp! The campground was ok but the weather was so hot we didn't make use of anything except the pool.
Jul 02, 2016
Love the staff. Jessica went beyond to make sure we had great visit.
Jul 02, 2016
Koa spacieux. Douches et toilettes très propres. Camping très agréable. Assez silencieux. Bien situé

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Koa spacious. Showers and toilets very clean. Camping very pleasant. Fairly quiet. Well located From KOA: Thank you!! :)
Jul 01, 2016
We had a great stay while at the KOA Yosemite South. Its close to the south entrance of the Yosemite National Park and Bass Lake. They are renovating the campgrounds right now and it looks like the new deluxe cabins will be bigger and nicer than the current ones. The staff was great and friendly.
Jul 01, 2016
This was a perfect place to stop for a few days. It IS quite a drive up into Yosemite, but a beautiful drive. And the kampground is great! Amazing pool and full hook ups. Something not found inside Yosemite. We were traveling with a 3 & 6 year old and they had a blast. Only negative, and definitely NOT their fault, was the heat! 105+! But the pool made it better. Everyone was super friendly!
Jul 01, 2016
The area we were in needs LOTS of upgrading. Was not a satisfactory place to camp. Too far from facilities. Mens restroom needs locks on doors.
Jul 01, 2016
We rented a cabin which was clean and very small but the air conditioner was so loud we couldn't sleep. Also, the pool closed too early at 8:00.
Jun 30, 2016
Great facilities and staff. I realize it was out of KOA's control, but it was very dry and dusty.
Jun 29, 2016
New showers were great. Peaceful at night. Wifi works fine during non peak hours. Didn't experience any of the issues other complained about. 23 miles from S entrance to Yosemite was convenient to me as I need electricity to recharge camera equipment
Jun 29, 2016
What a wonderful group of people working there. Amazing at the hospitality they showed us. Love these guys.
Jun 29, 2016
I used to be a regular guest here but the new management seem more interested in a quick profit. Sold me full hookups while I asked for partial partial, turned out there were plenty available. Tried to sell me a $30 grill since my spot did not come with one. Free wifi did not give internet access. Price/quality is out of balance. Won't be coming back I'm afraid.
Jun 28, 2016
Jun 28, 2016
This park needs a major redo of the RV sites. The layout is haphazard and sites are very uneven. We were escorted to our site but most people had to find their own way and they are not easy to locate.
Jun 28, 2016
There is a lot of upgrading going on right now. Currently it is not at the standard of KOA as we have experienced but we were told there are new owners doing their best to upgrade it. I don't know if it will re,and a KOA property. I'm sad for the new owners that they have to do so much.
Jun 28, 2016
Very enjoyable stay! New owners redoing campground! Pool is awesome!! Some sites not real level but lots of private sites ! Very accommodating staff!
Jun 27, 2016
Shaded good size spots.
Jun 27, 2016
We had a great time. Wonderful site, great view, Good customer service, very nice pool. It is clear they are growing, adding a bunch of new cabins, updating sites, and more. Thank you for helping round out an awesome vacation.
Jun 27, 2016
The air was out on our camper so we stayed in a cabin. The cabin was new and had everything we needed. We had a great time
Jun 27, 2016
Terrible site hard to get in & out. Could not access wifi. Extra charge for early check and weekend. Really!!!
Jun 27, 2016
The description said "shady and tree covered", our site had a dead oak and a bush while every other site had an actual shade tree. There was a large road washout right in front of the turn to our site that would bottom out some cars as they drove by which was extremely peaceful! I think our site was a hasty addition since every other site looked nice. The bathrooms were clean though.
Jun 27, 2016
Awesome campsite, very spacious and clean facility. The staff is very friendly.
Jun 27, 2016
We were a little disappointed we did have a place to build a campfire...my son was looking forward to doing smores
Jun 26, 2016
Facilities were good. Strong 50 amp. Good water pressure and many cable TV channels. WiFi signal eas to access, but would not connect to Internet. RV sites could use some work. Need leveling and easier access in and out. Nice, but cold pool! Not easy to enter or exit from park due to steep incline and turn to get to registration office. I saw that work is being done to upgrade facilities.
Jun 26, 2016
Jun 26, 2016
The staff was friendly and helpful. The cable TV did not work. The property is still being developed. Great location
Jun 26, 2016
Staff was nice and we had privacy at this place however the pool was broken and we couldn't use that (similar to Williams KOA in Grand Canyon).
Jun 25, 2016
I was disappointed there was not a soap dispenser on the laundry room nor did the office have any soap when I was there.
Jun 25, 2016
All the employees were very nice. The camp is suffering from the CA drought and no green grass can be seen. Our deluxe cabin, brand new, was appointed with RV type water heater and fridge. One shower left no hot water and the ice cream went from firm to sludge in an hour. Space is minimal because a platform bed was used instead of a sleeper sofa. A thru-the-wall AC had a 1/8 bug inviting gap.
Jun 25, 2016
The trailer sites were too difficult to enter and they were not leveled.
Jun 24, 2016
Friendly staff. Well stocked store.
Jun 24, 2016
Jun 24, 2016
Not a typical KOA! Dirty,dusty, and in need of work.
Jun 23, 2016
Very nice place to stay for the weekend!
Jun 23, 2016
Everything was great about our stay. The cabin was very nice. Location was great, close to Yosemite. Kids loved the play area. Only request is to have better customer service. Our cabin didn't have a lighter. Went to the office at 7.30am and the guy at the desk told me to go check in the kitchen drawer or come back after 8am. I had to return at 8 to get a lighter to start the stove.
Jun 23, 2016
The camp grounds is nice and the staff is amazing. However we were in a site that had no shade full sun it was supper hot from sun up till sundown. We ended up leaving 3 days early it was so bad.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We're sorry you didn't see the site described as a sunny site when you chose it while making your online reservation. We are happy to find a shady site for you.
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals