Yosemite South / Coarsegold KOA

34094 Highway 41

Coarsegold, CA 93614

Reserve: 800-562-7606

Info: 559-683-7855

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Jun 13, 2013
Women's restroom was out of paper towels and shower faucets hard to pull out. Otherwise great stay.
Jun 12, 2013
First stay for Tent camping in a KOA campground. Very happy and cheerful staff at checkin. Loved our stay. Great place to go to Yosemite for several days.
Jun 11, 2013
The lack of lawn is ok given the climate, but some surface covering (decomposed granite, drought tolerant vegetation etc.)is needed over the bare ground around the sites. Cable TV was awful and wifi was complicated and free for only an hour (inconsistent with the advertising). The crew was polite. Water, power and sewer worked (although we could smell the sewer at times). We won't be returning.
Jun 11, 2013
We have been traveling for 7 months and have stayed in all types of places so we have a decent benchmark to work off of. The entire property was covered with ant colonies. We couldn't leave our dog outside and it took us a few days before we finally killed all the ants which got into our trailer. There were Prarie dog holes and dogs running around the grounds as this makes me worry about flees
Jun 11, 2013
This campground is poorly maintained. All the grass is dead. Camping is mainly on dirt. Hot and dusty.
Jun 10, 2013
Full pull-thrus weren't long enough. We had to back out. Showers were inoperative or I couldn't figure out how to work. Need signs?
Jun 10, 2013
The hosts were amazing, the grounds and restrooms and employees were wonderful. We had some very loud neighbors I wish would have been told to quiet down but the hosts were too far away to hear them. Overall we will be back, we'd like to make it an annual thing at this facility. Thank you
Jun 10, 2013
It is a wonderful park and we can't wait to come back! Loved it!
Jun 09, 2013
Quiet and serene. My grandson loved the pool and nature walk.
Jun 09, 2013
only one hour of wifi for free!!! dirt parking lot.
Jun 07, 2013
The facility is showing its age in the bathrooms. Though it seemed to be kept surfaced cleaned deeper cleaning is needed. Also, I would only recommend this camp to people with children. If you want a place to get good rest after 10pm this is not the place with all the noise.
Jun 06, 2013
Jun 06, 2013
We found it difficult to find our spot...some KOA's have some one to follow to their site...Also was disappointed that internet did't reach our spot...also ice cream we bought at the store...was old...and melted and refrozen...ick...Did have a nice laundry room...and staff that gave good directions to next KOA...I did like the site we were in was big and private...:)
Jun 06, 2013
Jun 04, 2013
Sites were not level or anywhere near level. Had to move once due to site being so unlevel. Second site was almost as bad. Need to be graded. Besides that the park was good. Very nice and friendly staff. Clean.
Jun 04, 2013
Jun 03, 2013
Nice place to stay.
Jun 03, 2013
Even though we were only spending 1 night, we enjoyed our time while there. I will recommend this place to my family.
Jun 03, 2013
May 31, 2013
Best campground we stayed at on our 10 day RV vacation. Most campgrounds were cement parking lots. This KOA reminded us of being back east.
May 31, 2013
No slabs, no grass, just gravel, no stock in the store,. Only subsists due to location and lack of competition.
May 30, 2013
Owner unfriendly. Reservations were messed up. Staff not willing to make it right. I was told if I didn't like it I could leave...
May 30, 2013
My wife and I felt that we were overcharged for our site which did not have free WiFi nor did it include cable.The site,I agree was the only oneavailable at time of reserving,it also was crawling with fire ants which we had to avoid to hook up,all this at 53.00 $/night.Even though it was a very unigue park even being overcharged we enjoyed our stay.
May 30, 2013
I think the website is misleading. Somehow it made us believed it's bigger that it actually was! The cabin is extremely small for 5 ppl!! However, the person who checked us in and answered the phone was very helpful!
May 29, 2013
May 29, 2013
May 28, 2013
nice,clean and well maintained campground. staff is very courteous. we will return.
May 28, 2013
It is the 4th year we camp here on Memorial weekend & was very disappointed! The staff were unfriendly & unhelpful, we are used to KOA employees greeting you 'it's a great day at KOA' ect. None of the water features were working. Nothing on the playroom/hall was working. If it wasn't for the location then I'm not so sure if we will camp here again :-(
May 28, 2013
The staff made every effort to make our stay enjoyable and it was great to see smiles on all their faces. This is a memorable place to relax and enjoy the mountain scenery.
May 28, 2013
stayed three nights in a travel trailer and had a great time staff was friendly and helpful and our site was perfect for our rig and vehicle with plenty of room. we are already planning another trip to this campground later in the year. overall no complaints
May 28, 2013
We stayed here for a couple of nights before heading into Yosemite. Most of the sites are easy in and out, however, we were given a very difficult site to pull into and get out of - we tow a 30' 5th wheel and we were parked in what may be the overflow area - no clearly defined site that I could see; but we did have hook ups. Campground looks better than it did a few years ago-making improvements
May 28, 2013
May 28, 2013
Love the amenities for my grand kids. Everyone is friendly and helpful. One of my adult children came up for dinner with us and just spent a few hours .it was nice that they were not charged. Thank you!
May 28, 2013
It was enjoyable due to the nice weather. In the past, we enjoyed the many activities, including for kids, Saturday poolside BBQ for a reasonable price, local bands, meals from the kitchen, and such. The pool and spa were always clear and clean, and there were more working lights around the park plus many green, grassy areas. Steady improvements to the park would make it nicer.
May 28, 2013
Waasher/Dryer down for weekend, Internet was a joke and unusable.
May 28, 2013
Too expensive compared to other campgrounds in the area. Only one hour of free wifi per day.
May 28, 2013
This was the worst among KOAs in my experience
May 27, 2013
The facility is not maintained very well, would not be able to recommend it to others.
May 27, 2013
Quick overnight stay, but everything went well, place was clean and well maintained, so I would return while in the area.
May 26, 2013
The wireless was TERRIBLE!!!! Unfortunately this is all too common with KOA Campgrounds. It was out completely for most of the first day. Then did not work well at all after that.
May 25, 2013
Great owners and service. CG still needs work to meet KOA standards I am used to. Grounds are really rough with damage from ground squirrels. A few items would be immediate. Lack of Hooks in showers was a real annoyance. Best CG available outside South entrance.
May 25, 2013
I stayed here for 1 night on way to Yosemite National Park. Arrived late evening with host busy helping guests. Very quiet and relaxed grounds with hosts very helpful and friendly. He even gave me a Koa Card discount even though I didn't have one that I thought had been complimentary via Roadbear. Nice fire to roast marshmallows!
May 25, 2013
Had a pleasant stay! The staff were very helpful!
May 24, 2013
We stayed here because of the proximity to Yosemite Park which worked out well for us. A bit of a drive into the park but worth not staying in the hustle and bustle of the park. KOA staff EXTREMELY helpful in helping us find a quiet spot in the campground. Great laundry facilities as well.
May 24, 2013
This was a wonderful place to stay each night after exploring Yosemite. The manager/owner was very helpful in choosing a good site for us and helping us plan our time in Yosemite.
May 21, 2013
May 20, 2013
May 18, 2013
May 18, 2013
Management and staff were very helpful. The owner was great with the kids and very willing make time available for them to use climbing wall. Would come again to this campsite
May 16, 2013

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.