Yosemite South / Coarsegold KOA

34094 Highway 41

Coarsegold, CA 93614

Reserve: 800-562-7606

Info: 559-683-7855

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Jul 19, 2013
Rec room was very filthy...probably not vaccumed in months. Pool table broken. Pool was very cloudy and not clean lacked chlorine. General neglect
Jul 18, 2013
Liked the Lay-out , your in a desert setting, few unique trees, Rabbits, and at night the stars are so clear, We heard Coyotes too. Campground met all our needs. Only wished there were more Bathrooms spread out in the park. We are from Michigan , this was different, but in a good way!!
Jul 18, 2013
Jul 18, 2013
Tent site was very small, dirty, uneven, rocky,no shade, no water or electricity(as requested). Showers had dead bugs on floor, restrooms need upgrading. Not 20 minutes from Yosemite as noted on line, actually 1 hour drive to park entrance.
Jul 18, 2013
Free WiFi is not the same as WiFi with the first hour free per day. Not worth the trouble to get it -- went to McDonalds instead. Chose it because it was a KOA. Not enough reason to choose again.
Jul 18, 2013
Our family had a great time at Yosemite South this year. We have stayed at this KOA many times in the past 4years and always enjoy it.
Jul 18, 2013
The staff there were great. Loved to see Bill every morning in the bathrooms cleaning right along side his employees. Singing coyotes in the distance each night was pleasant.
Jul 18, 2013
Jul 18, 2013
This is the worst KOA we've ever stayed at. I can't believe it could be accredited as a KOA given their usual high standards. The rate was ridiculously high for what we got. No paving, uneven sites and lots of dust. Wifi for only one hour straight then you pay for it. Phone reception was weak. Glad to leave.
Jul 17, 2013
Poor cable reception on local channels and very poor WiFi connectabilty. We did have to leave a day early and were issued a refund. Thank you
Jul 17, 2013
Jul 17, 2013
Great experience! Our very first stay at a KOA campground. Yosemite South/Coarsegold was awesome. Friendly staff, early check-in, clean grounds, very clean restroom/shower, nice pool, and movie night. They even brought us a fire ring and bbq pit free of charge! Not only will we be back to this campground, we are already planning a trip to the Grand Canyon. Staying at KOA sites along the way!
Jul 16, 2013
Jul 16, 2013
Jul 16, 2013
Jul 16, 2013
VeDon't want to use bathroom or showers by space 42 or at the pool. Need alot more attention. Showers ok by dump stations but some in women's side couldn't adjust temps.
Jul 15, 2013
Jul 15, 2013
Kampground is located in the Sierra Nevada foothills. It was very hot (>100°F) during our stay. Therefore Kampground was not green but brown.
Jul 15, 2013
Jul 14, 2013
Jul 13, 2013
This is not up to typical KOA standards and I would not stay here again. The cabin was cramped and ant infested. We had to throw out all of our food. This was mentioned to the staff but nothing was done to right this. We requested that the cabin be sprayed. I doubt it was since there were ants everywhere when we got back. We usually stay at KOAs but we'll think twice next time.
Jul 13, 2013
We had a great time here! Friendly staff, clean facilities, and dog friendly. We will definitely be back to this KOA in the future!
Jul 13, 2013
Unfortunately we had a tent site right next to the highway, so the place was really noisy, even at night. The showers were not clean. Every day after 10 PM there was no light at restrooms and nobody told us in advance. Good thing about the campground is its place - it´s just on the way to Yosemite. The tent site was shady which was convenient.
Jul 12, 2013
Jul 12, 2013
This campground is good for travelers who decided to visit Yosemite National Park and could not plan for half year ahead. It is located 25 miles south of the Park and usually available when all other campgrounds are already booked. Campground host is super friendly and helpful. Showers and restrooms clean.
Jul 12, 2013
Wonderful service
Jul 12, 2013
Great place to stay. The pool is large and well maintained, the recreation room is large and has a pool table. The operators are very friendly and helpful.
Jul 11, 2013
The individual sites need to be leveled The rest rooms need maintenance such as showers and shower doors Staff very helpful. This could be a top notch KOA with a little work
Jul 11, 2013
Close to all things, nice and quite. Friendly store employees.
Jul 11, 2013
Jul 10, 2013
Jul 09, 2013
My vacation got ruined as soon as I stepped in this campground. The owner has no intention to keep give its guest a comfortable stay. With the kind of money that was being charged and the amenities/services I received I wish I would have stayed in Motel
Jul 09, 2013
Jul 09, 2013
Superb roomy campsites and big rig friendly. Next time I will try luxury sites and wish I knew they were available. Loved the small town of Coarsegold and the nearby casino. Beautiful rolling hills and nice walks throughout the campground. A great place and will definitely stay here again when visiting Yosemite. Very easy access to south entrance and Bass Lake.
Jul 08, 2013
Jul 08, 2013
Jul 08, 2013
Power went out the first day I was there. Nothing was offered for I or inconvenience.
Jul 08, 2013
The operators of this KOA were friendly and helpful. The Campground was average. Section "N" had full hook-ups but is basically a tightly packed dirt parking lot. The swimming pool was dirty and the power was out at the entire campground for approximately 12 hours. Crews worked all night with loud equipment which led to no sleep, so we ended our vacation and left on Friday instead on Sunday
Jul 08, 2013
The pool water was very murky and the bottom of the pool felt slimy. My daughter got an ear infection from swimming in the pool. The transformer blew out July 4th night. While this was not the managements fault - they did not do anything to inform anyone staying in the campground about repair status - and did not offer any type of compensation for being out of power during this time.
Jul 07, 2013
The man that owns the place and his brother very helpful and friendly. They are working hard to make it very nice. I would stay again and recommend. Since they advertise a spa I would recommend that they get a new one or not advertise one.
Jul 06, 2013
to hot for us ohioians. great people.
Jul 05, 2013
For being so close to Yosemite, the campground was really lacking some greenery (trees!). It could have been because I was in the 90s the day that we visited, but it was not very enjoyable with such little shade at RV space #6. The pool was he saving grace. I would recommend others stay in the park instead of staying 1.5 hrs outside of it. Thanks for the hospitality - the service was very good.
Jul 02, 2013
Great place, clean and comfortable cabins with lots of outdoor space and amenities
Jul 02, 2013
Overall the stay was not too bad. The shower curtains need to be cleaned or replaced. The KOA was not run down, but was not well kept either. The site that we were on was small but at least we had a place to stay. Overall, the campground needs a refresh.
Jul 01, 2013
Jun 30, 2013
The new owner was very friendly and helpful. You can tell he is working long hours to make this one of the best KOA's out there.
Jun 30, 2013
This KOA was very quiet, well off the interstate. Has an outdoor kitchen with half a dozen stoves for anyone's use. Nice bathrooms. We stayed at 6 different KOA's and this was my favorite.
Jun 30, 2013
needs wifi, people friendly!
Jun 30, 2013
Jun 29, 2013
everything great, thank you

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.