Yosemite South / Coarsegold KOA

34094 Highway 41

Coarsegold, CA 93614

Reserve: 800-562-7606

Info: 559-683-7855

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Jul 04, 2015
Very difficult to find this campground from the road. Entrance is steep and curving with large speed bump at bottom. Cable was almost unusable and never fixed. Large speed bumps made getting in and out difficult.
Jul 04, 2015
Clean comfortable cabin. Very nice and responsive staff. Great pool area. Cabin needs AC in the back room.
Jul 04, 2015
The staff was extremely friendly & helpful. Our brakes on our motorhome went out as we arrived. We were told of a near by brake shop that was very accommodating. We would definitely recommend South Yosemite KOA
Jul 04, 2015
Spent two nights here while visiting Yosemite, so we weren't hanging out at the camp much, but enjoyed the time we had. Note that google maps says this camp is 30 minutes from Yosemite valley. It's more like an hour and fifteen. But if you know how hard it is to get a site IN Yosemite, then this is still a good option.
Jul 03, 2015
Pool was very nice and cool when it was so hot when we stayed. Store did not have much to offer.
Jun 30, 2015
Nice clean campground. Generous sites. Pool was a blessing, wished it would remain open to at least 10pm. Needs signage on the highway drove past and needed to turn-a-round. Not fun when towing.
Jun 30, 2015
The staff were very friendly and helpful. Our site was a little narrow for our slide out and awning, but since there wasn't anyone next to us, that was ok. We wish there would have been a fenced dog run.
Jun 30, 2015
The campground needs some TLC. Convenient location for Yosemite but not the best KOA we've ever stayed in. Sites are odd and not all the roads are paved. I will say the California drought has affected many places. Needs paint here and there and general housekeeping.
Jun 30, 2015
WE always have a great time at this KOA, we have been here many times in the past and its always relaxing, this past weekend was hotter then normal but that's life. I hope the new owners keep the family and small camp feeling. That's the thing that keeps us coming back time after time. Bill and Pam we wish you two and you lovely daughter all the best. From Chris and Vivian Hecker
Jun 30, 2015
We only used our campsite G2 3 hours and were covered with thousands of ants. We had to leave and abandon our tent in the trash. I called the next day and just received a "why didn't you move?" And "sorry". We couldn't move the tent as it was infested. The ants bit and that site should not be used. I would have liked an offer of a refund as we had to leave and we lost our tent.
Jun 27, 2015
One of the great things about this k.o.a. is its location to Yosemite. The drive from Coarsegold to the south gate wasn't that long. There were some issues with things in the cabin but (hide a bed that felt old an lumpy, pocket door to bathroom hard to close) it was comfortable for the few days we were there. We loved the pool even though it was a bit of a hike to get to.
Jun 27, 2015
Husband has MS and we asked for close to a restroom because he does not ambulate well and sometimes needs a wheelchair. We got a spot real close to the bathrooms but you had to go up a steep hill with a gulley going thru it. When you finally got up the hill most of the showers were out of order.: (
Jun 27, 2015
My truck broke down at entrance. They went out of their way,got me a new space to accommodate tow truck,my truck,& 5th wheel(70' long)!All the staff was friendly & helpful.. THANKS
Jun 26, 2015
campground was nice, staff was helpful.There was only 1 shower working in the womens restrooms the entire 3 days we were there
Jun 26, 2015
Super friendly and very helpful staff. Only complaint is only 1 hour of free wifi. My daughters complaint is no swings. Over all nice n clean.
Jun 25, 2015
Have stayed here 3 times now. Beautiful scenery, friendly staff, great location, good owners. Must stay here if in the area.
Jun 25, 2015
Jun 23, 2015
Jun 23, 2015
Jun 23, 2015
Great location. Welcoming environment.
Jun 22, 2015
Site was clean and the staff was friendly Brought back memories of our.younger years
Jun 22, 2015
Tent sites were way too small. Water trickling from broken faucets making it hard to set up in a dry spot. Ironic since California is in drought to be wasting water like that. No recycling either. Women's bathroom showers barely worked. with the size of the campground, we were surprised that there was only one facility for showers anyway. My kids liked the pool and the evening movie though.
Jun 22, 2015
Pleasant, peaceful. Kids enjoyed themselves
Jun 22, 2015
Easy to find right off Hwy 41. The pool proved to be a god send on such a hot weekend and with a water-loving toddler. Only one minor thing was no shower facility at the pool clubhouse.
Jun 21, 2015
Jun 20, 2015
Silly us. We had no idea how hot it would be since we thought we would be higher. However, we enjoyed our stay. The swimming pool is a delight and I was especially happy about the women's showering area. Great to be able to sit in there while dressing after a shower. We were one of the few people in a tent and at night the sight of the stars out the stop of the tent was fantastic.
Jun 20, 2015
We had a great time. The park was very nice and the staff was also. I just pray for the drought to end so it's not so dry it makes it s little tuff for the campsite being do dry. Thank God for the nice refreshing pool. Happy camping
Jun 20, 2015
Understanding the drought in CA, The campsite is a dust bowl. The driveways around the camp sites are in serious need of repair. Deep ruts that need to be filled.
Jun 18, 2015
We had a great time.
Jun 18, 2015
Very friendly and helpful staff My husband and kids enjoyed the pool.
Jun 16, 2015
Our space,H47, wasn't very level. Our daughter stayed in J4. It seemed as though everybody walked through their site to get back and forth between the RV sites and the bathroom. Also, one of the shower curtains was slimy. On a side note, your small sign asking us to make a wide turn as we exit has the word 'please' mis-spelled.
Jun 16, 2015
They didn't seem to have the staff for everything.The staff was not very friendly. One set of bathrooms by the clubhouse was closed at night.
Jun 16, 2015
Not very helpful at front desk. Pop machines didn't work. Not all showers work. Laundry a bit high.
Jun 16, 2015
the entire camp grounds were very clean. The people were so sweet and helpful!! Made us feel right at home! Wonderful say. Thank you!!!
Jun 16, 2015
Of 10 previous KOA campgrounds this wads the only not giving Apollo discount. For playing pool the asked to give your creditcard first. Not very "customer care" behaviour.
Jun 15, 2015
The hosts were very helpful and friendly. The camp was clean. It was a bit worn out...especially the premium sites. They could use some updating (decking replaced & painted) lights working....and newer furniture, especially for the price they are charging. Maybe a store that actually had general camping products and supplies in it? Movie was advertised but never materialized.
Jun 15, 2015
The place was awesome! Clean bathrooms and sites. The cabin was great, that air conditioner was a well used bonus. I would suggest that people make sure they bring LOTS of water from home.
Jun 15, 2015
A very clean and scenic place to stay, and the staff were very nice!
Jun 14, 2015
The TV didn't work so we had to call someone to hook up the cable. Would have been nice to have shades in the sitting room there were only old sheets hanging.
Jun 13, 2015
Expensive for as run down as the facilities appeared. The cable was awful. It may have been a great place once, but it needs some attention today. Probably stay elsewhere if we are in the area again.
Jun 12, 2015
Pleasent
Jun 11, 2015
Nice stay, but could use some updating of facilities, restrooms, showers.
Jun 10, 2015
Office assistance was good. Grounds were litter free. Bathroom was clean, shower were almost as good as your own personal shower 😃
Jun 10, 2015
We had such a nice spot for our travel trailer. We had a nice time except it was so very hot. Had to cut our stay short, because of my 90 year old mom back home. Hope to go another time when it is much Cooler. Greg & Marie Goodson
Jun 10, 2015
Very nice. Great pool and common facilities. The site was shady and comfortable, although the web site promised a secluded site and we were on the main road next to the office. Still highly recommended.
Jun 10, 2015
The tv reception was very poor, just wanted to see the news. Other than that, there were no complaints, we liked this Kampground & will use it again.
Jun 08, 2015
We only live 45 minutes away, but we booked the campground just so we could use the pool for the weekend. The kids loved it and everyone had a great time. We're probably going to book a few more spontaneous pool weekends throughout the rest of the hot California summer too!
Jun 07, 2015
Very quiet park, Cable was poor. Advertises Spa But Did Not Have one. Great Base for Yosemite & Seqouia National Park adventures.
Jun 07, 2015
Jun 05, 2015
Great location for exploring Yosemite or the Bass Lakes region. The campground was clean and best of all quiet. The entire staff was friendly and helpful. This is the second time we have stayed at this campground.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.