Wytheville KOA

231 KOA Road

Wytheville, VA 24382

Reserve: 800-562-3380

Info: 276-228-2601

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Free Night May 10!

Book Now!

KOA Care Camps

RV Reviews

Jul 09, 2013
Too expensive 44$ for one night on a grassy field not level with hookups almost out of reach of a normal size class C. No courtesy escort to site. KOA standards are too lax.
Jul 09, 2013
My wife had a accident at this campground. THe help and concern by the owners and staff was fantastic. James and Matt helped my wife with first aid and summoned the rescue squad. Fortunately it was not serious but their attentiveness was gratefully appreciated and I would like to recommend them for special recognition by corporate. I cannot recommend the staff of this campground enough.
Jul 08, 2013
Owners and staff were great. Only real problem were narrow sites and old sewer plumbing. James told me this was going to be addressed in the fall. Some folks speeding around campgrounds as well
Jul 08, 2013
This was the cleanest campground that we have ever stayed int. The people who work there are so nice. I would recommend this campground to all my friends.
Jul 08, 2013
The staff is very friendly and accomodating and the amentities are very nice. The only complaint is the samll pull through sites that face each other...we were not comfortable opening our door with neighbors so close. They need more full hookup sites for longer campers and a little larger sites. We will certainly go back though.
Jul 08, 2013
Jul 08, 2013
Jul 08, 2013
Jul 08, 2013
Some sites not very level and short for people who do not want or have to disconnect. Other than that the Kampground was acceptable
Jul 08, 2013
Sites are way too close together...pull through sites are a joke. We still had to back out, down a hill, to get our camper out. Pool was so small...my backyard pool is nicer. Unless its an emergency, I will not stay here again.
Jul 08, 2013
Check in was very quick and staff very helpful.
Jul 07, 2013
This is the worst KOA I've been in so far. I went from state to state, started in Florid all the way to Boston from one KOA to the next and this one was the worst! Campers were all crammed up on top of each other, no privacy, nor space. It was noisy and you can hear the music from the people across from us. The whole place was just crappy looking...
Jul 07, 2013
Entire campground needs updating.
Jul 05, 2013
Sites are very uneven and too close together. Hook ups seemed aged and in need of repair.
Jul 05, 2013
Jul 04, 2013
Staff friendly, amenities acceptable
Jul 04, 2013
We had a wonderful week at the Wytheville KOA. The NEW OWNERS have done so much already to improve the campground and they still have more plans to implement. The grounds were well maintained and the staff was friendly, helpful and professional. We will definitely return.
Jul 04, 2013
A great KOA! Clean, neat, family-friendly. I wish I could have stayed longer.
Jul 04, 2013
Well off the beaten path, this beautiful campground was just what we were looking for. However, the lot we were on was very hard to level a 26 ft Class A home on. Still, it was very clean, the staff was great, and it had a great dog play area for our 2 BIG dogs to unwind in! Highly recommended!
Jul 04, 2013
Jul 03, 2013
The campground was easy to find, well maintained and convenient for our travels. The staff was very polite and helpful,
Jul 03, 2013
Jul 03, 2013
Very nice campground with a very friendly and helpful staff!
Jul 03, 2013
I came in late and they had me all set up with detail directions to the campsite. Campsite was great, level and easy to pull into. Will stay there again!! This KOA campground is one of the best we have stayed at. Easy registration over the phone and vey friendly!
Jul 02, 2013
Really nice facility. We had a back in spot & loved it. Lots more space than the pull thrus!! We were treated with fabulous service. We would definitely recommend. Love that we could refill our propane too! Semper Fi.
Jul 02, 2013
Convenient location for exploring the area of VA, WV, and NC. However didn't like being right on top of neighbors. Also the main bathrooms are definitely in need of refurbishing: flooring was old, toilets are too close to walls, and shower stalls are very small. Additionally, the laundry room closes too early.
Jul 02, 2013
I love this place & we come every year to visit relatives in Wytheville. My only complaint this year was the bathrooms not being as clean as they used to be. THe staff was very friendly & helpful.
Jul 02, 2013
Jul 01, 2013
the staff was wonderful but I was very disappointed with the size of the spaces now compared to my last stay. unfortunately we will probably not go again unless the size of the spaces change.my dad was beside us and was kept awake by the people behind him. he could have put his hand out his window and touched their camper.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

This review was intended for another campground.
Jul 01, 2013
We were in dire straights. New to RVing. 1st trip. RV overheated on Saturday afternoon and we just did make it to KOA. We did not know where to lgo.They seriously went above and beyond the call of duty to help us get repaired. Really took care of us. THANK YOU SO MUCH. God Bless You
Jun 30, 2013
Had a great time. Campground is beautiful. Only complaint was facing sites which after talking to the owners is being worked on and they offered to move us but we did not feel that was necessary. Also may be helpful to have a bulletin board w/local attractions-pamphlets were available but only found out about new river trail park which is beautiful after talking to some at a local vineyard.
Jun 30, 2013
Beautiful campground!
Jun 30, 2013
Jun 30, 2013
The owners wg Here friendly and helpful. Loved the separate. Dog areas for large and small. Just an overall nice place to stay. We will go back again soon.
Jun 30, 2013
i liked the quiet rural atomsphere
Jun 30, 2013
Jun 29, 2013
Though we were only there one night, the friendly staff emphasized the family atmosphere of inclusiveness. The facility was very clean and kept nicely. It reminded me of the KOAs of my childhood 30 years ago. A beautiful park!
Jun 29, 2013
Clean Staff was friendly the spots were very very close to get in and out of and you were at your neighbors back door when you came out of your camper. Motor coaches were even closer. Other than that we would stay there again.
Jun 28, 2013
The 50 amp pull thru sites were short, very narrow and not very level. With my slideouts, I was within 5 feet of my neightbor. However, the facilities were impressive and the grounds very well kept.
Jun 28, 2013
one complaint was that they put way in the back on an uneven site. If we had put our awning out it would have been right over a tree stump leaving little room to put chairs. We did not ask for a change in sites as we were only staying one night. camp workers were very helpful;. we needed propane and they came to site and picked up bottle and then returned it.
Jun 28, 2013
This park is vastly overpriced at $50 per night. The lady that checked me in was polite but did not offer a lower price or accept any of my discount cards. (I do not at this time have a valid KOA card). The only thing I saw that was exceptional about the park was the large slide in the pool. Our site was very narrow and was gravel and not level. Not worth the money. We stayed here one night.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We feel the value for the money spent is great. We do not charge extra for our amenities. The pool is free, the cable is free, the wi-fi is free & fishing is free. We also have a host of other activities for all to enjoy that are also free, which includes movie night with free popcorn.
Jun 27, 2013
Jun 27, 2013
Jun 27, 2013
Jun 26, 2013
Staff was very friendly. We did not have a BBQ pit to grill with and they found one for us to use.
Jun 26, 2013
Jun 25, 2013
The staff was very kind and curtious. The trash was picked up frequently. The campground is kept up very well.we had a very nice stay and i am abxicous to see all the comeing improvements that the owner James was telling me about.
Jun 25, 2013
Very Friendly and helpful staff. Pool and water slide is exceptional. Lots of chairs and lounges available. One suggestion is more umbrellas. Very convenient to I81/77. Loves the karaoke hour and the arcade. Site slots are very small. They are tight and it is difficult to allow space for slide out and awning. (But not all sites are this small, only the pull through sites.)
Jun 25, 2013
Jun 25, 2013
I had reserved my site in April for arrival in June, giving the length of my rig and that I had 3 slides. Upon arrival we were put into a site that was too short and too narrow, so much so, that I could not open my slides. I was moved to a site with a broken sewer so could not dump at my site. The cable tv connection had been stolen and had to be replaced. I was refunded $10 But will not return

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

The site that you reserved was indeed long enough and wide enough for your RV. We explained that you were crooked in the site. The new site you insisted on was in fact shorter and narrower. We are always happy to accommodate our guests.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.