Wytheville KOA

231 KOA Road

Wytheville, VA 24382

Reserve: 800-562-3380

Info: 276-228-2601

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Oct 05, 2013
Nice sites, clean restrooms. Staff was really great. I was having an oil leak problem and they found a mechanic nearby who diagnosed & repaired it for me - at a reasonable price.
Oct 05, 2013
My tent site was nice, clean and easy to find. I was struck by the very nice store and the fantastic indoor fun center. Kids and parents alike would enjoy this, especially during rainy days. The young lady at the registration desk was very helpful and pleasant. Also, the bathroom was modern and clean - the true mark of good management.
Oct 04, 2013
Disappointing!!! Pool was cold (?heated pool?), recreational facilities were not as described. Large tree limbs fell on our truck after a wind storm causing a lot of damage, and not even an offer of compensation in the way of waving our fee. Not impressed....will never be back.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We keep all our trees trimmed and remove any that have any signs of damage. Insisted on that site when they arrived. Damage was very minimal. We removed the branch and moved them to another site. They stayed the night and thanked us for the help in the morning. Refund offered and declined by guest.
Oct 03, 2013
Oct 03, 2013
Oct 01, 2013
My husband and I had stayed there before several times many years ago. He passed away three years ago so I decided to stay there again. I usually come to my daughters in PA and do it in two days staying in Staunton but I was tired so did it in three days. The only glitch was that I had not payed attention to the fact that 77 and 81 became one and the North and South confused me.
Oct 01, 2013
Staff was very pleasant and not many campers which was nice, however the sites are face to face with very little room between them. When you walk out your front door, you almost can walk directly into your neighbor's RV. Sites are gravel and not level, requiring lifting of one side. The activity center was closed the afternoon we arrived, but they did open for our kids the next morning.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We have started our site upgrade! New sites will be complete Fall of 2013
Sep 30, 2013
Great place to stay for our one night stay while passing thru - Thanks!
Sep 30, 2013
Sep 29, 2013
We stayed in one of the cabins and ended up at a hotel at 2:30 in the morning. We awoke to bugs on us and our bedding. We came back the next morning and they gave us a full refund and apologized to us and we did appreciate that. They were apparently bat bugs and they have had trouble with them before in that cabin. We ended up throwing our bedding in the trash.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We do apologize for the trouble you had during your stay. We are a certified wildlife habitat and do have issues from time to time with our wildlife friends. We have contacted an expert to relocate the bats and the cabin was treated for the pests.
Sep 28, 2013
Sep 26, 2013
We have stayed at this campground many times and it is a place to get away from home for us. My only complaint is the WiFi which I found very annoying. I often use my camping trips to accomplish work and some of this requires a reliable connection to the internet. This time, it was slow, would stop working and was not reliable enough for me to use. Other than that I have no complaints.
Sep 26, 2013
over night , everything as it should be.
Sep 26, 2013
Sep 23, 2013
it was just an overnight stop for us on the way to Myrtle Beach but the campground was clean the people were friendly and we had a good site and that's all we ask for. That's why we stay at KOAs when we're traveling like this, thank you and have a a great day
Sep 23, 2013
Sep 22, 2013
The accomodations were fine and the layout of the deluxe cabin was great. The carpets and area rugs were really dirty--I was cleaner getting in the shower than when I stepped out. The floors were really dirty--people hair balls, food, and dog bones were easily visible.
Sep 21, 2013
Spaces are too narrow. Your neighbor is on top of you.Hard to get to & site not level.
Sep 20, 2013
James, the owner goes the distance taking care of his customers. The campground is clean and neat and easy to navigate.
Sep 19, 2013
Just a safe place to stay overnight. Maybe stay longer next time.
Sep 19, 2013
We have already stayed a second time on our return trip home.
Sep 18, 2013
Park has a lot of potential and the new owner has some great plans to fix it up. Good management now, nice quiet place to stay and not far from the interstate. Can't wait to try it again after they make the upgrades to the roads and sites etc.
Sep 18, 2013
Sep 18, 2013
Very nice, very quiet, staff was very helpful and friendly.
Sep 17, 2013
Sep 17, 2013
Campground was very nice and we understand the owner is in the process of redoing the entire campground. So I am rating it 5 stars after the redo.
Sep 17, 2013
Sep 17, 2013
Very nice facility, very pleasant and friendly staff. Traveling so only stayed one night.
Sep 16, 2013
This KOA had some very nice amenities but the actual sites weren't all that great. They were fairly level but very narrow and close together. We felt like we were eating with our neighbors the tables were so close together. All the KOA employees here were very friendly and helpful. If the sites were about twice as large as they are now it would be 5 stars.
Sep 16, 2013
Sep 16, 2013
Just stayed one night but it was a nice and clean KOA and the young lady that check us in was very nice.
Sep 16, 2013
Literally taking one step from the stairs of our rv put us on the stairs of the rv next to us. Since you go in the spaces from opposite directions you have to share the space in between the rv's. Even having to pay the cancellation fee we cancelled our stay for the route back as we would not stay here again.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Work on the new sites has begun! Will be complete by Dec 2013
Sep 15, 2013
Camped here 3 times. Great place.
Sep 15, 2013
the campground was very accomadating to us as we arrived late in the evening. Everything at KOA was clean, well run and top-notch.
Sep 15, 2013
Friendly staff, clean bathhouses
Sep 15, 2013
Sites were on top of each other and shared common area. Not acceptable! Not well kept up and price charged was what we have paid for a 4 star campground. This campground has gone down the tubes!
Sep 15, 2013
It was a nice expeience except for the wifi not working after 9:00 pm.
Sep 14, 2013
WiFi was not working
Sep 13, 2013
The staff was very friendly . The campground was very clean and well maintained.
Sep 13, 2013
Sep 13, 2013
Sep 12, 2013
Sep 12, 2013
Sep 11, 2013
Well run and quiet, managers were very personable, my kind of folks.
Sep 11, 2013
Sep 10, 2013
best staff anywhere and tons of activities. we are already planning another stay.
Sep 10, 2013
terrific place to camp. Staff was exceptional.
Sep 10, 2013
Just spent the night. Clean and friendly. Would definitely stay again.
Sep 09, 2013
Great campgrounds and everything was ready when we arrived. This was our third stay at Wytheville
Sep 08, 2013

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.