Wytheville KOA

231 KOA Road

Wytheville, VA 24382

Reserve: 800-562-3380

Info: 276-228-2601

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Free Night May 10!

Book Now!

KOA Care Camps

Campground Reviews

Jul 02, 2013
Convenient location for exploring the area of VA, WV, and NC. However didn't like being right on top of neighbors. Also the main bathrooms are definitely in need of refurbishing: flooring was old, toilets are too close to walls, and shower stalls are very small. Additionally, the laundry room closes too early.
Jul 02, 2013
I love this place & we come every year to visit relatives in Wytheville. My only complaint this year was the bathrooms not being as clean as they used to be. THe staff was very friendly & helpful.
Jul 02, 2013
Jul 01, 2013
We stayed from Monday 6-24-13 until Saturday 6-29-13. We had the deluxe cabin and we loved it, we were very comfortable, and it had everything we needed. The owner is fantastic, very nice and extremely helpful. I stayed with my kids and dogs and we all had a great time. They have alot of ammenities to keep everyone happy,even the dogs. Will go back again, thank you James, family and staff.
Jul 01, 2013
the staff was wonderful but I was very disappointed with the size of the spaces now compared to my last stay. unfortunately we will probably not go again unless the size of the spaces change.my dad was beside us and was kept awake by the people behind him. he could have put his hand out his window and touched their camper.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

This review was intended for another campground.
Jul 01, 2013
We were in dire straights. New to RVing. 1st trip. RV overheated on Saturday afternoon and we just did make it to KOA. We did not know where to lgo.They seriously went above and beyond the call of duty to help us get repaired. Really took care of us. THANK YOU SO MUCH. God Bless You
Jun 30, 2013
Had a great time. Campground is beautiful. Only complaint was facing sites which after talking to the owners is being worked on and they offered to move us but we did not feel that was necessary. Also may be helpful to have a bulletin board w/local attractions-pamphlets were available but only found out about new river trail park which is beautiful after talking to some at a local vineyard.
Jun 30, 2013
Beautiful campground!
Jun 30, 2013
Wytheville was our 4th night in a KOA cabin and the best of all 4. It was quiet and clean and nicely furnished!
Jun 30, 2013
Jun 30, 2013
The owners wg Here friendly and helpful. Loved the separate. Dog areas for large and small. Just an overall nice place to stay. We will go back again soon.
Jun 30, 2013
i liked the quiet rural atomsphere
Jun 30, 2013
Jun 29, 2013
I wish they had a few more planned activities for campers that were there during the week but I heard they were just starting up so hopefully they will have more next time we come, thanks!!
Jun 29, 2013
Though we were only there one night, the friendly staff emphasized the family atmosphere of inclusiveness. The facility was very clean and kept nicely. It reminded me of the KOAs of my childhood 30 years ago. A beautiful park!
Jun 29, 2013
Our family spent the night here as a stop in the middle of our trip to Myrtle Beach. We never had time to enjoy all the amenities, but the staff was very friendly and accommodating.
Jun 29, 2013
Jun 29, 2013
Clean Staff was friendly the spots were very very close to get in and out of and you were at your neighbors back door when you came out of your camper. Motor coaches were even closer. Other than that we would stay there again.
Jun 28, 2013
The 50 amp pull thru sites were short, very narrow and not very level. With my slideouts, I was within 5 feet of my neightbor. However, the facilities were impressive and the grounds very well kept.
Jun 28, 2013
one complaint was that they put way in the back on an uneven site. If we had put our awning out it would have been right over a tree stump leaving little room to put chairs. We did not ask for a change in sites as we were only staying one night. camp workers were very helpful;. we needed propane and they came to site and picked up bottle and then returned it.
Jun 28, 2013
Jun 28, 2013
This park is vastly overpriced at $50 per night. The lady that checked me in was polite but did not offer a lower price or accept any of my discount cards. (I do not at this time have a valid KOA card). The only thing I saw that was exceptional about the park was the large slide in the pool. Our site was very narrow and was gravel and not level. Not worth the money. We stayed here one night.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We feel the value for the money spent is great. We do not charge extra for our amenities. The pool is free, the cable is free, the wi-fi is free & fishing is free. We also have a host of other activities for all to enjoy that are also free, which includes movie night with free popcorn.
Jun 27, 2013
Jun 27, 2013
The walkway from the cabin to the restroom had tree roots exposed. This made it difficult to walk to the restroom at night. There was also a lack of toilet tissue in the ladies restroom
Jun 27, 2013
Jun 27, 2013
Jun 26, 2013
Staff was very friendly. We did not have a BBQ pit to grill with and they found one for us to use.
Jun 26, 2013
Jun 25, 2013
The staff was very kind and curtious. The trash was picked up frequently. The campground is kept up very well.we had a very nice stay and i am abxicous to see all the comeing improvements that the owner James was telling me about.
Jun 25, 2013
Very Friendly and helpful staff. Pool and water slide is exceptional. Lots of chairs and lounges available. One suggestion is more umbrellas. Very convenient to I81/77. Loves the karaoke hour and the arcade. Site slots are very small. They are tight and it is difficult to allow space for slide out and awning. (But not all sites are this small, only the pull through sites.)
Jun 25, 2013
Jun 25, 2013
I had reserved my site in April for arrival in June, giving the length of my rig and that I had 3 slides. Upon arrival we were put into a site that was too short and too narrow, so much so, that I could not open my slides. I was moved to a site with a broken sewer so could not dump at my site. The cable tv connection had been stolen and had to be replaced. I was refunded $10 But will not return

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

The site that you reserved was indeed long enough and wide enough for your RV. We explained that you were crooked in the site. The new site you insisted on was in fact shorter and narrower. We are always happy to accommodate our guests.
Jun 24, 2013
Arrived at 8PM after door was locked and before reservations placed outside for late arrivals. Handed the map and no welcome. Found my own site. Not what I am used to at a KOA. Everything else OK
Jun 24, 2013
We had a wonderful time. The staff was nice and helpful. The pool with the slide was our favorite.
Jun 24, 2013
Jun 24, 2013
When we arrived we met the owner which was a plus he helped me with checking in and all week matt was great everyone was very nice bathroom facility was clean. pool was great the kids really enjoyed all the activities that they offer..Cant wait until our next trip.
Jun 24, 2013
First night ever camping in my new trailer. The staff was so helpful ensuring I got everything set up correctly. Great job!
Jun 24, 2013
The Pull thru sites are shockingly small and cramped but the back in sites are fantastic. The park and bathrooms are very clean. The staff was very helpful.
Jun 24, 2013
Jun 23, 2013
Nice and clean, pretty, and a friendly staff. Gravel on roads is wonderful especially when it rains...very little mud.
Jun 23, 2013
We stayed 1 night at the Wytheville KOA on our way to FL from Ohio. We've stayed here several times in the last five years and had a great experience. This time we had a horrible night. The people next to us, 6ft away were up past midnight, talking, carrying on, cooking, walking around and being loud. Their dog was out barking the whole time, it made it very difficult for my family to rest.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We have quiet hours here that are enforced. If we missed a problem there is an after hours # listed on the site map, at the store and on the campground info sheet. Had we been notified we would have enforced the quiet hours. We are sorry for the inconvenience
Jun 22, 2013
Everything was broken,batting cage,basketball hoop,putt putt,we paid one hundred ans fifty dollars and we could not even get a towel.
Jun 22, 2013
The site was not clean there were holes covered with bad pieces of wood where if you walked out in the dark you could brake your legs there was not room to park your car.the grass had not been cut and there was poison ivy behind our camper.If you would like pictures I will send them to you.
Jun 22, 2013
Jun 21, 2013
This was the first and the best KOA we visited in the entire 2 weeks we were traveling. Thank you for your hospitality
Jun 20, 2013
Jun 20, 2013
Jun 19, 2013
except for the monsoon rains, everything was great.
Jun 19, 2013
Very Nice location and site
Jun 19, 2013

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.