West Palm Beach / Lion Country Safari KOA

2000 Lion Country Safari Road

Loxahatchee, FL 33470-3976

Reserve: 800-562-9115

Info: 561-793-9797

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Tent Reviews

Mar 31, 2014
Mar 30, 2014
Staff were very friendly and helpful. Nice warm pool!
Mar 29, 2014
our stay with are 2 grandchildren was so enjoyable that there was nothing negative about our stay,Bonnie was able to give us tent sight #7 which my opinion is your best sight,we had the extra room for relaxing on our chairs and all of our extra camping eguipment,your staff is really helpful and pleasant to communicate with.thanks to all of them for making our camping experiment so enjoyable.
Mar 29, 2014
Everyone was so nice and helpful. They made our first time camping a great experience and we can't wait to do it again.
Mar 28, 2014
We had a wonderful time and we will be back! This was the perfect get away for 4yr old and parents, park friendly, safari and splash park fun, pool heated, restaurants close by! Thoroughly loved it.
Mar 28, 2014
they had a sign on the camp ground store they were open till 6pm then the y changed to 5 pm in the middle of the day, so we ran over there to use the microwave and they rushed to close it. Couldn't stay the second night due to rain. Too bad it didn't have a hot tub like most KOAs
Mar 26, 2014
Mar 25, 2014
Mar 25, 2014
Mar 21, 2014
All the facilities expected at a KOA. It was nice to have a separate tenting area but sites are pretty close together with nil privacy. Clean amenities and friendly, helpful staff.
Mar 19, 2014
The moon wss beautiful , the air smell ed clean with a hint of charcoal ;has the sounds of the "jungle" echo in the background. Thx
Mar 17, 2014
Your campgrounds are very well arranged and kid friendly, we really enjoyed watching the families camping together and feeling free to let them play. The office staff was super courteous and friendly.
Mar 15, 2014
More than I actually expected. Excellent place and clean!
Mar 15, 2014
I loved being close to the safari and hearing the animals. The tent site we had was very clean and had some great privacy. The staff working the welcome center seemed off and annoyed when I went to speak with them. It may have been due to my young age but that really threw off my stay. But other then that it was a great KoA.
Mar 11, 2014
Had a great stay. Really nice place great amenities.
Mar 10, 2014
Tent sites too small, gave a crowded feeling with others so close. 10 pm "quiet time" is too early, especially for a Saturday.
Mar 09, 2014
We camped in a tent and directly across the road from the tent area was the "community room". Each morning at 8 a.m. there is an exercise class. At night there was music for one function or another until 9 or 10 at night. The staff was very friendly and helpful.
Mar 09, 2014
The campsite was big enough for a 10 man te nt, 2 vehicles and an additional table and chairs for a comfy, outdoor camping experience. We love the fact that we are able to hear rhe roat of the lions throughout the night and waking to the calming sounds of the hooting owls. We will surely be back!
Mar 06, 2014
Had an awesome time. Did not even make it out of the camp grounds and my kids asked me to make another reservation.
Feb 24, 2014
Feb 18, 2014
We had such a time we booked another weekend in a couple of weeks. My only complaint is there were a few sites playing loud music and security did not ask them to turn it down.
Feb 17, 2014
Great only suggestion is remove the racoons, they are a nuisance.
Jan 23, 2014
Jan 20, 2014
Third time staying there. At first we thought there was a problem with how much they charged us, but after it was explained to us, we left happy. You can't find a better place to pitch a tent. The best part, with the rates, you also can take advantage of the safari next door. You can hear the lions roar at night! how cool is that?
Jan 14, 2014
Jan 13, 2014
Most important to me....clean facilities and friendly staff! Great stay!
Jan 07, 2014
Had a great time camping here and hearing the lions. Great activities offered by the grounds and great facilities. Only downer is that the free coffee was not available in the cold of the afternoon...may be KOA policy that it is only for mornings, but we were cold and staff was uninterested in making more. Otherwise, everything was FANTASTIC...will bring my own coffee pot next time.
Dec 17, 2013
Very nice & so clean. Wish we would have had more time there. Loved hearing the lions roar from our tent!
Dec 17, 2013
Dec 14, 2013
Great site and you could hear the lions roar right from your tent. I only wish you could do wood fires.
Dec 09, 2013
The site and the surrounding area had litter that my scouts spent plenty of time cleaning up. Bathrooms were not cleaned throughout the weekend as they should have been. Had an issue with rowdy neighbors (drunks loud and obnoxious until 3am and the security guard didnt assist us at all) Not worth the money.
Dec 03, 2013
Thanksgiving dinner was delicious Recommendations would be not allowing vehicles in tent camping area. Allowed only to load and unload Raccoon proof garbage containers at each site would be a good upgrade. Facilities were clean an orderly. My family including 3 children had a great time. Staff was so nice. A big change from other places.
Dec 03, 2013
Had an amazing time as usual at Lion Country Safari.
Dec 03, 2013
Wonderful time! Amazing to hear the lions roar. Camp hosts were excellent. Movies at night for the kids. Will definitely return.
Nov 19, 2013
Theme & cleanliness enjoyable. Unsupervised noisy boyscouts one side & rock music day & night on the other. Red ants biting me even though they came & sprayed which meant asthma attack. Had to come home to get some peace & quite & rest ! :-( camping should be relaxing ! Quite time should be expanded !
Nov 18, 2013
coming back very soon
Nov 18, 2013
The bathrooms were clean and the hot showers were appreciatied but the tent sites are extremely small and right on top of each other separated by only rail ties on the ground. Tent sites have no privacy and you feel like everyone is ear shot. Not having a real fire pit was disappointing as well....not ideal cooking smores over a coleman stove.
Nov 18, 2013
Pleasant stay. Staff was very helpful. Really enjoyed the safari. KOA grounds very clean with lots of amenities (pool, play area, games). Only downside was our tent site had no privacy and we were woken up at 6:30am by a boy scout on a motorized scooter. Will visit again, but next time we'll request a site further away from the pavilion.
Nov 18, 2013
Nov 13, 2013
Very comfortable and nice amenities. Enjoyed our camping experience!
Nov 13, 2013
Campground was clean bathroom facilities were very clean pool was unavailable needed repairs and 10 pm quiet time was not enforced there was a ton of kids allowed to run wild and make noise till after 1 am on sat night
Nov 11, 2013
This was the first time Cub Scout Pack 817 'primitive' camped at a KOA. We could not have had a better experience. The facilities were perfect for our group requirements, and the staff did a fantastic job! Thank You!!
Nov 05, 2013
The camp ground was excellent. Staff was helpful, friendly and courteous. The campsite itself was beautiful. You could hear the Lions bellowing from the neighboring Lion Country Safari. All the facilities were clean and in good working order. Could not have asked for a better camp. Would highly recommend this site especially for group campers.
Nov 01, 2013
As usual, another great Halloween weekend! This makes 8 years in a row for us.
Oct 29, 2013
There were several girls up front that were very nice during our stay. However when it came time to pay my bill that particular person was very cold, no eye contact no personality. I would never bring this up but, I had the SAME feeling last year after my stay. Cannot say it was the same person, but I remember walking away last year with this very same feeling.
Oct 29, 2013
Halloween weekend Trick or Treating was scheduled during the daylight from 5 to 6pm. I would move it back to the evening and have the costume contest before the Trick or Treating like you used to do. It's just not that much fun for the kids to go out Trick or Treating during the day. Also costume contest was a bit unorganized this year. The dance/DJ was a great addition. Breakfast was good.
Oct 21, 2013
Very nice and clean, the front desk clerks were very nice and helful, the gentleman that did the cleaning and the bathroom was very polite and nice I fell like I new everybody. Very frienly.
Oct 20, 2013
Every member of the staff was fabulous and friendly. The facilities were clean and well maintained. The only issue we had was that there was way to many security lights and they shine right into tents and disturbed sleep. I understand this is a catch 22, but maybe they could be a few less. Overall, a fabulous experience and will return.
Sep 30, 2013
Sep 30, 2013
We loved our stay. The place is beautiful and the staff very helpful. My grandson had a great time playing in the pool and playground . We will tell our friends about the Wonderful time we had at your Establishment, and can't wait to Visit again. Thank you .

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.