West Palm Beach / Lion Country Safari KOA

2000 Lion Country Safari Road

Loxahatchee, FL 33470-3976

Reserve: 800-562-9115

Info: 561-793-9797

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Tent Reviews

Mar 15, 2014
I loved being close to the safari and hearing the animals. The tent site we had was very clean and had some great privacy. The staff working the welcome center seemed off and annoyed when I went to speak with them. It may have been due to my young age but that really threw off my stay. But other then that it was a great KoA.
Mar 11, 2014
Had a great stay. Really nice place great amenities.
Mar 10, 2014
Tent sites too small, gave a crowded feeling with others so close. 10 pm "quiet time" is too early, especially for a Saturday.
Mar 09, 2014
We camped in a tent and directly across the road from the tent area was the "community room". Each morning at 8 a.m. there is an exercise class. At night there was music for one function or another until 9 or 10 at night. The staff was very friendly and helpful.
Mar 09, 2014
The campsite was big enough for a 10 man te nt, 2 vehicles and an additional table and chairs for a comfy, outdoor camping experience. We love the fact that we are able to hear rhe roat of the lions throughout the night and waking to the calming sounds of the hooting owls. We will surely be back!
Mar 06, 2014
Had an awesome time. Did not even make it out of the camp grounds and my kids asked me to make another reservation.
Feb 24, 2014
Feb 18, 2014
We had such a time we booked another weekend in a couple of weeks. My only complaint is there were a few sites playing loud music and security did not ask them to turn it down.
Feb 17, 2014
Great only suggestion is remove the racoons, they are a nuisance.
Jan 23, 2014
Jan 20, 2014
Third time staying there. At first we thought there was a problem with how much they charged us, but after it was explained to us, we left happy. You can't find a better place to pitch a tent. The best part, with the rates, you also can take advantage of the safari next door. You can hear the lions roar at night! how cool is that?
Jan 14, 2014
Jan 13, 2014
Most important to me....clean facilities and friendly staff! Great stay!
Jan 07, 2014
Had a great time camping here and hearing the lions. Great activities offered by the grounds and great facilities. Only downer is that the free coffee was not available in the cold of the afternoon...may be KOA policy that it is only for mornings, but we were cold and staff was uninterested in making more. Otherwise, everything was FANTASTIC...will bring my own coffee pot next time.
Dec 17, 2013
Very nice & so clean. Wish we would have had more time there. Loved hearing the lions roar from our tent!
Dec 17, 2013
Dec 14, 2013
Great site and you could hear the lions roar right from your tent. I only wish you could do wood fires.
Dec 09, 2013
The site and the surrounding area had litter that my scouts spent plenty of time cleaning up. Bathrooms were not cleaned throughout the weekend as they should have been. Had an issue with rowdy neighbors (drunks loud and obnoxious until 3am and the security guard didnt assist us at all) Not worth the money.
Dec 03, 2013
Thanksgiving dinner was delicious Recommendations would be not allowing vehicles in tent camping area. Allowed only to load and unload Raccoon proof garbage containers at each site would be a good upgrade. Facilities were clean an orderly. My family including 3 children had a great time. Staff was so nice. A big change from other places.
Dec 03, 2013
Had an amazing time as usual at Lion Country Safari.
Dec 03, 2013
Wonderful time! Amazing to hear the lions roar. Camp hosts were excellent. Movies at night for the kids. Will definitely return.
Nov 19, 2013
Theme & cleanliness enjoyable. Unsupervised noisy boyscouts one side & rock music day & night on the other. Red ants biting me even though they came & sprayed which meant asthma attack. Had to come home to get some peace & quite & rest ! :-( camping should be relaxing ! Quite time should be expanded !
Nov 18, 2013
coming back very soon
Nov 18, 2013
The bathrooms were clean and the hot showers were appreciatied but the tent sites are extremely small and right on top of each other separated by only rail ties on the ground. Tent sites have no privacy and you feel like everyone is ear shot. Not having a real fire pit was disappointing as well....not ideal cooking smores over a coleman stove.
Nov 18, 2013
Pleasant stay. Staff was very helpful. Really enjoyed the safari. KOA grounds very clean with lots of amenities (pool, play area, games). Only downside was our tent site had no privacy and we were woken up at 6:30am by a boy scout on a motorized scooter. Will visit again, but next time we'll request a site further away from the pavilion.
Nov 18, 2013
Nov 13, 2013
Very comfortable and nice amenities. Enjoyed our camping experience!
Nov 13, 2013
Campground was clean bathroom facilities were very clean pool was unavailable needed repairs and 10 pm quiet time was not enforced there was a ton of kids allowed to run wild and make noise till after 1 am on sat night
Nov 11, 2013
This was the first time Cub Scout Pack 817 'primitive' camped at a KOA. We could not have had a better experience. The facilities were perfect for our group requirements, and the staff did a fantastic job! Thank You!!
Nov 05, 2013
The camp ground was excellent. Staff was helpful, friendly and courteous. The campsite itself was beautiful. You could hear the Lions bellowing from the neighboring Lion Country Safari. All the facilities were clean and in good working order. Could not have asked for a better camp. Would highly recommend this site especially for group campers.
Nov 01, 2013
As usual, another great Halloween weekend! This makes 8 years in a row for us.
Oct 29, 2013
There were several girls up front that were very nice during our stay. However when it came time to pay my bill that particular person was very cold, no eye contact no personality. I would never bring this up but, I had the SAME feeling last year after my stay. Cannot say it was the same person, but I remember walking away last year with this very same feeling.
Oct 29, 2013
Halloween weekend Trick or Treating was scheduled during the daylight from 5 to 6pm. I would move it back to the evening and have the costume contest before the Trick or Treating like you used to do. It's just not that much fun for the kids to go out Trick or Treating during the day. Also costume contest was a bit unorganized this year. The dance/DJ was a great addition. Breakfast was good.
Oct 21, 2013
Very nice and clean, the front desk clerks were very nice and helful, the gentleman that did the cleaning and the bathroom was very polite and nice I fell like I new everybody. Very frienly.
Oct 20, 2013
Every member of the staff was fabulous and friendly. The facilities were clean and well maintained. The only issue we had was that there was way to many security lights and they shine right into tents and disturbed sleep. I understand this is a catch 22, but maybe they could be a few less. Overall, a fabulous experience and will return.
Sep 30, 2013
Sep 30, 2013
We loved our stay. The place is beautiful and the staff very helpful. My grandson had a great time playing in the pool and playground . We will tell our friends about the Wonderful time we had at your Establishment, and can't wait to Visit again. Thank you .
Sep 23, 2013
Sep 16, 2013
My family and I had a wonderful time, great camp site thank you
Sep 09, 2013
Great place. Only negative is the hours of the office. Open at 9 and closes at 5 everyday but Saturday until 6. You do hear the lions at night.
Sep 03, 2013
We had a terrific time. The campground was great. Thank you so much for everything. We will be back again very soon.
Sep 03, 2013
Jul 29, 2013
We had a really nice time here. The pool was great the staff friendly and helpful. We camped in a tent and the park was quiet and clean. We will go back again.
Jul 26, 2013
Jul 22, 2013
2nd time back... Would come back in a heartbeat
Jul 14, 2013
Jul 08, 2013
Jul 02, 2013
Jul 01, 2013
We had a wonderfull time. Campinground very nice The kids enjoyed the basket ball ground , the play ground and the pool area, the whole entire facilities were clean . Water and electricity very convinient close to the tent We could not ask for a better place to stay with our family Thank you very much!!!
Jun 23, 2013
I brought my Girl Scouts troop and called multiple times to verity amenities and such. Right before the trip I called to verify my balance, but when I arrived I was told the balance was much higher than I had been quoted. It ended up being an expensive camping trip. The water at the site and the adjacent sites was yellow. Had to go over to the main building to get water. Bathrooms were clean.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.