Waterloo / Lost Island Waterpark KOA

4550 Hess Rd

Waterloo, IA 50701

Reserve: 800-562-2483

Info: 319-233-3485

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Free Night May 10!

Book Now!

KOA Care Camps

RV Reviews

Jun 23, 2013
New facility. Will be much better after some break-in time. My site, the sewer connection was not convienent for a standard hose. Roads were dry and very dusty on arrival and very muddy after rain. Time will make it better.
Jun 20, 2013
This KOA, when finished, will be among the best, no doubt At this time it was still under construction and unbelievably dusty and then it rained, ... mud everywhere. They opened too soon. The store and staff were very nice and well above average.
Jun 20, 2013
Jun 19, 2013
We had a great time at the camp ground. The weekend we went it was opening weekend so they had a great fire works display. The only issue we had is that it wasn't fully completed yet so the grass was only half grown in, so when it rained it was a muddy mess. Also for the cost per night to stay there I feel all the extras you can do should be at no extra charge. Other then that the staff was great.
Jun 19, 2013
The staff is friendly, helpful, knowledgeable and just great. We took shelter in the store during a tornado warning and they were super even during that tense time. Spaces are super well arranged. Clean park. When in central Iowa we will always stay there!
Jun 19, 2013
I had a wonderful time at Bamboo Ridge. The staff were enthusiastic and very accomodating.
Jun 19, 2013
Grand opening weekend. Fireworks were awesome and the kids loved the beach. Recommend and will be back.
Jun 19, 2013
newly open ...grounds are VERY rough to really be a GREAT park u need to have Concrete or black top roads and/or pads
Jun 19, 2013
We enjoyed the nice new facility. Watched activities on pond. The location near shopping center makes it nice.
Jun 18, 2013
Campsites were not level, beach was not finished. Most of the ammenities advertised were not available. Staff at KOA was not able to answer questions about Lost Island. Constant truck and construction equipment traffic. Perhaps they should wait until the campground is complete to open.
Jun 18, 2013
Nice "starter" camPground in its infancy. Will be nice when some trees mature. Cute cabins. Roads need to be paved. (will be dusty when weather dries out). Friendly staff. I have already sung your praises to fellow employees!
Jun 18, 2013
Finish up construction, fix the rain run offs in some of the campsites and get some more grass growing and this will be a beautiful campground. The beach was our favorite part!
Jun 18, 2013
Will be much nicer when the grass gets established.
Jun 17, 2013
Great campground for opening year...grass/trees will fill in more over time leading to 5 stars in the future. Waterpark is excellent... many things done right/better than the Dells.
Jun 17, 2013
Jun 16, 2013
This is a large site with some potential. The staff are very friendly and helpful. But we were not made aware when making the reservation that this was still a site under construction. There was construction going on from dawn to dusk, which raised a lot of dust. So, we were unable to enjoy the outdoor space and had to stay in with our windows closed to avoid the raised dust.
Jun 16, 2013
Me and group of guys stayed here for one month couldn't have had a nicer bunch of folks working there had a great time staying would highly recommend this place
Jun 15, 2013
Jun 13, 2013
Jun 13, 2013
Staying here is like being in a construction zone! The only reason that anyone would pay this much for these sites is because there are virtually no RV parks except for city parks in this part of Iowa. Dusty! Very badly manicured sites. Insufficient laundry facilities. Really pleasant, helpful staff was only good part!! Not up to KOA standards!!!!
Jun 13, 2013
Internet was the slowest of any KOA's that we stayed at this trip, it is a new place, showers just ok, can not adj hot water in shower all that way. RV Parking spot unlevel. Everything was clean it was new no one to guide you to parking spot and the lot was very confusing.
Jun 09, 2013
Jun 08, 2013
Even though its not finished yet, we had a wonderful stay!
Jun 08, 2013
Unfortunately, there had been several days of rain, and the campground is new. The sites were very wet and muddy...not the fault of the campground, but they will need some more gravel. Other than that, I think they have a bright future ahead of them.
Jun 06, 2013
Jun 05, 2013
As soon as they get trees and road improvement will be better. Know it had been raining alot. Better signs and map. But friendly staff and clean facilities!
Jun 04, 2013
patios are not where door opens unless you have a long sewer hook up hose. For a new campground that was not finished yet it was nice Rained the entire time and had trenches because grass was not established enough and we were at the bottom turned into a mud pit. Lake was not finished but think it will be nice. Convenient location by shopping, food and casino
Jun 03, 2013
Jun 02, 2013
This Campground was a great idea, seems real nice. My dog and I walked the entire campground and I was really impressed by the beach theme behind this park, the cottages, the beach area, etc. The only problem was the mud. I realized it has rained a lot but we stayed at other campgrounds across the Midwest the same week. Parts were muddy but at least we could walk in the grass and not get muddy
May 29, 2013
Our stay would of been good but it rained the whole weekend and all the water ran through our campsite so we left on sunday instead of staying till mon.
May 28, 2013
New KOA. Never saw the staff driving around the area to see how things were going. No were to deposit dog poop in the pet area. The main drive way was full of pot holes and no attempt was made to put any gravel in them. Yes it was rainy but I felt that they were not interestee in the campers only staying in their wasrm office. They have a long way to go before this will be an enjoyable camp ground
May 28, 2013
May 28, 2013
Really not ready for operation as a typical KOA. In a couple of years it will be a great resort. Too expensive for overnight campers
May 28, 2013
May 27, 2013
MUD. How can you not have a paved path to the showers and bathrooms??? Sure it rained, but, the place was opened too soon and there was construction happening before 8AM. What a mess. I can't believe that we were charged full price for something that was half done. BAD JOB OUT OF YOU.
May 26, 2013
the park needs to be far closer to completion to serve vistors, If it wasnt for the construction co help our outcome would have been far worst we were buried in mud they quickly had a buldozer pull us out we almost took out a tree but only had minor scratchs Harry Dowling
May 25, 2013
Not the same KOA hospitality we are used to and a big mud pit. Take plently of sewage hose with you and it runs up hill so be preapred to help your tanks drain. The staff was not interested in providing us escort to our site, nor did they seem to know which sites would acommodate our size rig. We had to figure it out. Not worth the premuim we paid to stay there
May 23, 2013
I was grateful that this KOA was open, at the end of a long day driving. It looks like it will be a great KOA when done. Friendly staff and construction personnel. Even tho not really ready for guests it was a welcome oasis.
May 21, 2013
They are adding many lovely cabins and improving the man-made lake and facilities so there is lots of construction right now, but the owners were wonderful at coming around to prepare everyone during the storms and tornado warning.
May 19, 2013
I always ask if the KOA I'm at was the 1st one I ever stayed at, would I try another. Not based on this one. As a new KOA why would you build stall showers? No one asks for that. No paper towels? No walkways to bathrms? Poorly aimed, single shot showers w/short shower curtains made for water everywhere in the dressing area. Construction? a longer complaint.
May 15, 2013
What hoot to find the perfect stay, just when and where we needed it!
May 12, 2013
campground in terrible condition. Mud all over my RV. Pls refund my money.
May 08, 2013
New campground, needs to be finished, will be really nice when done.
May 06, 2013
May 04, 2013
Still a ways from being up to full speed.
May 01, 2013
This campground is NOT ready to be open for business: No open restroom or shower room, the entire lace is one big dirt/mud bog. It may be a great campground in the future, but not yet.
Apr 30, 2013
Nice, friendly staff at check-in. Only had nine positions available, but will be opening more after May 1st. Very nice facilities with frisbee golf (my kids loved that!). Once they fill the lake, I think it will be even more enjoyable! Overall very nice - will be back again!
Apr 20, 2013
The hosts were so friendly and helpful. It was a great place to stay on our way south and on our way north again.
Apr 07, 2013
Can't wait to see the completion of the new park. Appreciate the year round facility
Apr 03, 2013
Outstanding guest service.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.