Waterloo / Lost Island Waterpark KOA

4550 Hess Rd

Waterloo, IA 50701

Reserve: 800-562-2483

Info: 319-233-3485

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

RV Reviews

Aug 14, 2013
Staff was very friendly and helpful, however, the park is so new, not any grass to walk our dog. Mostly mud, with some weeds. It rained hard, so it was very messy.
Aug 12, 2013
Aug 12, 2013
Kids loved the beach and playground. Very clean and staff was friendly. Just thought it was a little expensive at $45 a night.
Aug 10, 2013
Aug 10, 2013
Nice, cute place. Clean and very attractive. One thing you need is some dog poop bag stations, especially around the lake.
Aug 10, 2013
Aug 10, 2013
This campground was almost deserted when we stayed; did not like the feeling. This is a new park and still has a ways to go to feel like a KOA. It is very large, not well lit at night and in the open. The store was not well stocked...more like a convenience store than a camp store. Staying in a cabin would be a much better choice; close to the large lake and beach.
Aug 08, 2013
Great time. Kids LOved the place. We'll be back
Aug 05, 2013
New, Clean, Great Staff. Large sites.Voltage very good. Odd sewer placement on sites many will need sewer hose extension to reach pipe. fuel and lpg on site. This location is one of the best koa camps in the country. Bath houses are the best we have seen all summer. The staff is great. Access is not the best from interstate 218 if you have a large fifth wheel but is workable.
Aug 05, 2013
Again - an awesome time - Mr. Ben S. knew us when we walked in the door - great time at Irishfest in downtown Waterloo. Oh, by the way Ben, we did go to the Isle for a short time and I won a little $$$$ - we will be back!!!
Aug 05, 2013
Great store with good selection. Decent sites. Clean bathrooms. Nice amenities. A bit on the "open" side... wish the sites were a bit more private.
Aug 04, 2013
We enjoyed our stay at the Waterloo KOA. The park is brand new and is still in development. With that in mind, there is not much shade yet as the trees are still young. The playground, shelter house, and other accommodations were nice and well planned out. The staff was very friendly and approachable. Part of our group stayed in the 4 person cabins which were very nice. We used our camper.
Aug 04, 2013
Aug 01, 2013
When you have shade it will be super. We also liked the fact my family members could visit us and enjoy the visit with no extra charges. If this remains the same, we will be back many more times
Aug 01, 2013
This campground has great potential. We understand this is it's first year open, so we will cut it some slack for this. The camp spaces are spacious. The bathrooms are very clean. We loved how close it was to town, the waterpark,and the casino. The only bad part was the construction machinery that started at 7-7:30 am each morning. We'll be back after it is construction is complete.
Jul 31, 2013
Jul 31, 2013
Jul 30, 2013
Nice campground.
Jul 30, 2013
Jul 30, 2013
Great people. Great Facilities. Always clean and well maintained. Love it there
Jul 29, 2013
Very pretty park. Younger staff have yet to learn that campers are their bread and butter, not seeing how fast they can drive around in ATVs. While pulling into spot (being lead by one staff) another kid crossed right in front because he wanted to talk with his friend. Got the ATV stuck between sewage cap and elec. box. Would return.
Jul 29, 2013
This KOA is still a work in progress. The new grass and trees will need a year or two to take hold and get thick. Sites are well spaced and level and utilities are solid. WIFI worked well until mid-evening, when it just stopped. The owner has invested heavily in this park and it shows. This is a nice park that will soon be great.
Jul 29, 2013
Peaceful, clean, Family oriented, great beach, awsome bathrooms.
Jul 28, 2013
Very friendly and accommodating! Employees go above and beyond to make your stay enjoyable. We will return in the future. Cabins are nice but i would have liked it if they had a stove top and oven. Roxanne
Jul 26, 2013
WOW! HUGE sites, plenty of room between sites in this giant campground. Only problem as others have mentioned is there is no shade whatsoever. Wish I could have stayed longer, we will be back to this KOA for a much longer stay!
Jul 25, 2013
Lack of good grass resulted in a very dirty campsite. Dirt/gravel roads resulted in a "sandstorm" when the wind came up. Washouts among the campsite resulted in holes that could result in a twisted ankle. Sewer hook up was positioned too far back of the site making it unreachable with a standard sewer hose. Kids would not use the beach because fish were biting them.
Jul 24, 2013
Will definitely be 5 stars once the campground has developed! Only downside was that the trees have not matured yet. all the staff were fun, friendly and helpful!
Jul 23, 2013
Very friendly and helpful staff. Enjoyed our stay, the sites were level and clean.
Jul 23, 2013
great campground with lots to do for kids. would love to see some benches by the playground for parents to use. the beach was great for younger children. We had a great time!
Jul 23, 2013
Great new park. Will stay here again if in the area.
Jul 22, 2013
Jul 22, 2013
Jul 22, 2013
This is a new campground & in the coming years it may turn out to be awesome. However, at this time our stay was less than stellar. The entire location is extremely dusty and dirty, with very little lush grassy areas. The camp store is a LONG way from most sites & even though we wanted to go shop there, we were not about to make the long hike there. Also, they do not escort you to your site.
Jul 22, 2013
We stayed in numerous KOA's over the last 10-12 days and Waterloo's was BY FAR the BEST one - so many things right there for us - loved having fuel available!! And the help was so wonderful - Ben S was so pleasant - give him a slap on the back for being so accommodating!!!! We will be back for sure!!!
Jul 22, 2013
Will be a really nice place to stay when the trees grow, or there are more shade options. Very hot in Iowa in the summer. Seems to be a little high priced. Everyone was very nice and extremely helpful.
Jul 20, 2013
Jul 19, 2013
Everything was very nice and clean; however we are rating it lower because the shower facilities had no ventilation and was very hot (no air conditioning) so that you were hot & sweaty after your shower. :-(
Jul 19, 2013
This new KOA is impressive! I can't give it 5 stars due to lack of shade. In 20 years when the trees mature and offer shade, this place will be beautiful! Lots of amenities. Wish the bathhouse was air conditioned and the automatic temp in the showers almost gave me scalp burn...way too hot! The kids loved the beach and playground equipment!
Jul 17, 2013
Site was easy in and out but because it was next to main entrance road it had a lot of traffic in and out at all hours.
Jul 17, 2013
New but a lot of potential. Workers very friendly and polite. Loved the beach and trail around the lake. Very young trees so little shade. Big hill covers most of the campground so biking for kids was interesting. One mediocre playground, another should be installed on top of the hill. Confusing layout with one-way and two-way roads. Some sites a little cramped.
Jul 16, 2013
Our kids LOVE this KOA! We want to meet our friends here next year and the year after to watch this new KOA grow.
Jul 16, 2013
It was wonderful. Very clean and friendly staff. Will definitely stay there again.
Jul 15, 2013
I know this is a brand new KOA, but once the grass is fully established, and with the great staff you have, this could possibly be the best Kamp in the system. Thanks for a great weekend. The Carlsons
Jul 15, 2013
Nice Place
Jul 15, 2013
We don't live near Iowa so we probably won't have a reason to return. We thought the campgrounds were clean and the store well equipped. Our biggest complaint is that there is not enough shade, but I understand this is a new KOA and future landscaping will probably be done. Also, more nearby direction signs would help. Thanks.
Jul 15, 2013
Really enjoyed our stay... Even though we had rain in the afternoon of our arrival we enjoyed our stay at this new KOA. Great trail around the lake, and the $4 breakfast served by the staff was an unexpected treat. Issues due to being brand new were minor. We will be back.
Jul 13, 2013
The people at the campground were very helpful and very nice. There were problems with the site. The water pressure was very high. It was a pull-thru but the sewer was located way at the back of the space. I needed 3 sections of hose, plus it was hard to get a decent fall. Several of the sites had the utilities is strange locations.
Jul 13, 2013
Waterloo KOA overall was very good, we enjoyed the lake, beach, and trail. The sand volleyball and frisbee golf are very cool, our kids liked the free wi-fi. The campsite and restroom facilities were very clean. It is a beautiful and relaxing area. Our only complaint is that it is pricey, we can camp at state parks for $16.00 night. Would have stayed another night or two, if rates were lower.
Jul 10, 2013
sites to close together in some areas. We were placed at the very back of the campgrounds when there were lots of open site closer to the front of the grounds
Jul 10, 2013
Nice, new campground. The staff was fantastic! No trees yet and the ground is really bumpy with crevices from groundwater runoff but we really enjoyed our stay there.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.