Waterloo / Lost Island Waterpark KOA

4550 Hess Rd

Waterloo, IA 50701

Reserve: 800-562-2483

Info: 319-233-3485

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

RV Reviews

Aug 07, 2014
We only stopped for a few hours passing through to Ohio. The grounds were a little sparse but the lake looked inviting.
Aug 06, 2014
Large, level sites with bench and fire pit. Fuel station on premises with fair prices. Verizon voice and data excellent. Visual is nice and large. Should not advertise free wifi, as it is useless. Two dog parks that need grass (weed) cutting. Basically not useable for small dogs. Grass (weeds) need lots of work just to be able to walk on it. Very clumpy.
Aug 06, 2014
It is a Beautiful setting
Aug 06, 2014
The deluxe sites were great, the beach could be cleaned up a bit, a lot of goose droppings. Would get a 5 star if they had a pool and a shuttle to the water park.
Aug 05, 2014
Wish we could have stayed more than the one night on our itinerary. All the staff were friendly, professional and helpful. Store was well-stocked and had a great variety, but get there early for the best selection of donuts! We loved the on-site gas station - very convenient. Doggie park was large, fenced, and divided for different sized dogs. Will definitely return when back in the area.
Aug 05, 2014
We travel with our 2 med sized dogs and 3 kids. thanks for the dog park & allowing dogs to remain in our camper while we explored the local area. High 5 to you for a real handicap bathroom with a drop down shower head. one small complaint a path to the bathroom would be great ground very uneven with the new grass, but we already have plans to stay again. We give a big thumbs up. :)
Aug 05, 2014
My only complaint is the lack of internet access.
Aug 05, 2014
Really enjoyed our stay here. Clean campground and very friendly staff. We will be back and enjoy the campground again. We did have a good laugh at all the goose poop you had to dodge when walking by the lake, but no big deal!Beach was nice,also and being able to bring a floatie is something we will do next time because we didn't know you could have them in the beach. All-in-all nice stay.
Aug 04, 2014
We enjoyed our stay, The bathrooms/showers were extremely clean & the staff was very friendly & helpful. My only concern was the grounds - so very uneven. We really had to watch where we were stepping so as to not twist an ankle. The park could use a little work on that. The dog park is nice but had to stop running our dog due to the uneven hurtful ground.
Aug 04, 2014
Aug 04, 2014
nice set up great staff
Aug 03, 2014
Aug 03, 2014
The staff at the campground were helpful and friendly. I appreciated the shop and the gas station on site. We all enjoyed kayaking and using the paddle boats. The beach was ruined by goose poop. It wasn't possible to swim or play on the beach.
Aug 02, 2014
Nice park. Lot of room between soaces
Jul 30, 2014
Great staff. Working to keep place like new. Some lots have sewer connections that are hard to reach if your in the middle of the lot. They are too far away. over 15ft. most people do not carry that much hose. water an electric is fine. Voltage is good. Water is good. Easy access. Should ban ATV use in park. Staff if great, helpfull, and polite. Overall a very nice park.
Jul 30, 2014
Jul 29, 2014
Great newer campground with full hookups, clean facilities and lots of things to do for the kids and grandkids.
Jul 29, 2014
This is a pretty new KOA, I think as the grounds develop, it will be much better. The grass is not easy to walk over, as it is lumpy. Watch out, you could twist an ankle, fall. The lake is really nice with the path around it, but watch out for the goose droppings covering most of the path. The staff are very friendly. Just needs to be better developed. Especially the grass.
Jul 29, 2014
Very nice campground, some spots appear to be a bit difficult to sit around a fire since they are at a slant, but there were plenty flat site to choose from too! Was able to take our kayaks on the lake for a little float. Wasn't able to enjoy the beach since we went to the waterpark all day Saturday. A little more costly than the local state/county parks, but will still come back.
Jul 29, 2014
Jul 29, 2014
Love the place, going back again this weekend.
Jul 29, 2014
Personnel tres accueillant,douche tres propre.Beau terrain,tres propre
Jul 26, 2014
Jul 26, 2014
The site is convenient to relatives but have some flaws especially the sewer connections which are too high and sometimes uphill. This makes for drainage problems.
Jul 25, 2014
Very nice new park. Great wi-fi, better than most parks we have been in.
Jul 24, 2014
Loved this campground!
Jul 24, 2014
Jul 23, 2014
Great place! I stayed right after they opened and the rain had killed all but a bit of the foliage. Now its all green and a plus are the sealcoat streets and pads. I will stay again.
Jul 23, 2014
What an amazing little treasure! We had a blast! This place has everything!! Already planning to come back!!
Jul 23, 2014
Campsites were clean:) Beach was nice but had quite abit of goose droppings. Bathroom/showers were not kept clean during our stay and the 30 sec stream on the showers was inconvenient. Kids enjoyed the nice play set:)
Jul 23, 2014
Loved it!
Jul 22, 2014
Great place and good people, but was very disappointed in the free wifi.
Jul 22, 2014
Great location. Many sites not level. "Beach" and swimming area has been ruined by the goose droppings.
Jul 22, 2014
They're off to a great start! I'd like to see the place in 10 yrs! Our dog lovedthe wide open spaces and bark park.
Jul 22, 2014
Jul 22, 2014
Loved it and our kids loved it!
Jul 22, 2014
Good Pizza from the store
Jul 22, 2014
Jul 21, 2014
We loved our stay at the Waterloo KOA! The staff was out of this world from the time we were discussing our needs over the phone when booking our trip 6 months ago all the way through to the checkout at the end of our fun filled weekend! We plan to make this a yearly event!
Jul 21, 2014
Jul 21, 2014
Our stay was short only two nights. The waterpark had record attendance for the year and the longest wait in line was only fifteen minutes. We as a group
Jul 21, 2014
Loud neighbors till after 1AM!
Jul 21, 2014
I only live a short distance away but I can't wait to spend the weekend there again... hassle free weekend!!
Jul 20, 2014
Jul 19, 2014
Campground was very clean and facilities were very nice. I think it would be a little more convenient if check out time could be pushed forward to 1 or 2 pm vs noon, so you don't feel so rushed in the morning
Jul 18, 2014
Clean, lots to do, close to waterpark. Will be even better once trees mature. Love the pull-thru sites...so convenient!
Jul 17, 2014
Jul 17, 2014
Jul 16, 2014
VERY FRIENDLY PEOPLE THERE.VERY CLEAN AND WELL KEPT. WILL GO BACK AGAIN.
Jul 16, 2014
Clean campground very close to fun water park. Trees are very young which provide zero shade. It was also fairly windy. It would be nice to see more kids activities that KOAs are known for. We liked the swimming beach.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.