Waterloo / Lost Island Waterpark KOA

4550 Hess Rd

Waterloo, IA 50701

Reserve: 800-562-2483

Info: 319-233-3485

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Free Night May 10!

Book Now!

KOA Care Camps

RV Reviews

Aug 20, 2013
Aug 20, 2013
I especially liked having the gas station on site.
Aug 19, 2013
The only bad thing is the position of the sewer dump pipe on the site. It should be closer to the other utilities. My sewer hose could not reach it.
Aug 19, 2013
Aug 19, 2013
So very impressed! We had our family reunion there last weekend and we were so pleased. You've created a campground that has everything! Nicely done!
Aug 19, 2013
What a nice place. You deserve a President Award. You did a great job
Aug 18, 2013
Being a very new park, the grounds were very sparse as far as grass, trees, flowers etc. the staff was great and very accommodating. The shuttle to the waterpark was very good and a saving grace. This park will be great in about 5 years.
Aug 18, 2013
Aug 18, 2013
New Park just needs more time to mature Trees and grass. Had good time on the Beach and fishing with my son.
Aug 18, 2013
Very nice and new. Friendly and helpful.
Aug 18, 2013
As always, the entire staff went above and beyond to make our stay perfect. So much care goes into the grounds, facilities and comfort of all Kampers.
Aug 17, 2013
It was a very nice site. Just need more signs on how to get to the KOA. Also didn't find any recycle containers.
Aug 15, 2013
Aug 14, 2013
Not sure if we will be back this way, bit if we are we will stay here again! Large campsites, great swimming lake and beach for the kids. Fun Waterpark down the road. We had a great time!
Aug 14, 2013
Staff was very friendly and helpful, however, the park is so new, not any grass to walk our dog. Mostly mud, with some weeds. It rained hard, so it was very messy.
Aug 12, 2013
Aug 12, 2013
Kids loved the beach and playground. Very clean and staff was friendly. Just thought it was a little expensive at $45 a night.
Aug 10, 2013
Aug 10, 2013
Nice, cute place. Clean and very attractive. One thing you need is some dog poop bag stations, especially around the lake.
Aug 10, 2013
Aug 10, 2013
This campground was almost deserted when we stayed; did not like the feeling. This is a new park and still has a ways to go to feel like a KOA. It is very large, not well lit at night and in the open. The store was not well stocked...more like a convenience store than a camp store. Staying in a cabin would be a much better choice; close to the large lake and beach.
Aug 08, 2013
Great time. Kids LOved the place. We'll be back
Aug 05, 2013
New, Clean, Great Staff. Large sites.Voltage very good. Odd sewer placement on sites many will need sewer hose extension to reach pipe. fuel and lpg on site. This location is one of the best koa camps in the country. Bath houses are the best we have seen all summer. The staff is great. Access is not the best from interstate 218 if you have a large fifth wheel but is workable.
Aug 05, 2013
Again - an awesome time - Mr. Ben S. knew us when we walked in the door - great time at Irishfest in downtown Waterloo. Oh, by the way Ben, we did go to the Isle for a short time and I won a little $$$$ - we will be back!!!
Aug 05, 2013
Great store with good selection. Decent sites. Clean bathrooms. Nice amenities. A bit on the "open" side... wish the sites were a bit more private.
Aug 04, 2013
We enjoyed our stay at the Waterloo KOA. The park is brand new and is still in development. With that in mind, there is not much shade yet as the trees are still young. The playground, shelter house, and other accommodations were nice and well planned out. The staff was very friendly and approachable. Part of our group stayed in the 4 person cabins which were very nice. We used our camper.
Aug 04, 2013
Aug 01, 2013
When you have shade it will be super. We also liked the fact my family members could visit us and enjoy the visit with no extra charges. If this remains the same, we will be back many more times
Aug 01, 2013
This campground has great potential. We understand this is it's first year open, so we will cut it some slack for this. The camp spaces are spacious. The bathrooms are very clean. We loved how close it was to town, the waterpark,and the casino. The only bad part was the construction machinery that started at 7-7:30 am each morning. We'll be back after it is construction is complete.
Jul 31, 2013
Jul 31, 2013
Jul 30, 2013
Nice campground.
Jul 30, 2013
Jul 30, 2013
Great people. Great Facilities. Always clean and well maintained. Love it there
Jul 29, 2013
Very pretty park. Younger staff have yet to learn that campers are their bread and butter, not seeing how fast they can drive around in ATVs. While pulling into spot (being lead by one staff) another kid crossed right in front because he wanted to talk with his friend. Got the ATV stuck between sewage cap and elec. box. Would return.
Jul 29, 2013
This KOA is still a work in progress. The new grass and trees will need a year or two to take hold and get thick. Sites are well spaced and level and utilities are solid. WIFI worked well until mid-evening, when it just stopped. The owner has invested heavily in this park and it shows. This is a nice park that will soon be great.
Jul 29, 2013
Peaceful, clean, Family oriented, great beach, awsome bathrooms.
Jul 28, 2013
Very friendly and accommodating! Employees go above and beyond to make your stay enjoyable. We will return in the future. Cabins are nice but i would have liked it if they had a stove top and oven. Roxanne
Jul 26, 2013
WOW! HUGE sites, plenty of room between sites in this giant campground. Only problem as others have mentioned is there is no shade whatsoever. Wish I could have stayed longer, we will be back to this KOA for a much longer stay!
Jul 25, 2013
Lack of good grass resulted in a very dirty campsite. Dirt/gravel roads resulted in a "sandstorm" when the wind came up. Washouts among the campsite resulted in holes that could result in a twisted ankle. Sewer hook up was positioned too far back of the site making it unreachable with a standard sewer hose. Kids would not use the beach because fish were biting them.
Jul 24, 2013
Will definitely be 5 stars once the campground has developed! Only downside was that the trees have not matured yet. all the staff were fun, friendly and helpful!
Jul 23, 2013
Very friendly and helpful staff. Enjoyed our stay, the sites were level and clean.
Jul 23, 2013
great campground with lots to do for kids. would love to see some benches by the playground for parents to use. the beach was great for younger children. We had a great time!
Jul 23, 2013
Great new park. Will stay here again if in the area.
Jul 22, 2013
Jul 22, 2013
Jul 22, 2013
This is a new campground & in the coming years it may turn out to be awesome. However, at this time our stay was less than stellar. The entire location is extremely dusty and dirty, with very little lush grassy areas. The camp store is a LONG way from most sites & even though we wanted to go shop there, we were not about to make the long hike there. Also, they do not escort you to your site.
Jul 22, 2013
We stayed in numerous KOA's over the last 10-12 days and Waterloo's was BY FAR the BEST one - so many things right there for us - loved having fuel available!! And the help was so wonderful - Ben S was so pleasant - give him a slap on the back for being so accommodating!!!! We will be back for sure!!!
Jul 22, 2013
Will be a really nice place to stay when the trees grow, or there are more shade options. Very hot in Iowa in the summer. Seems to be a little high priced. Everyone was very nice and extremely helpful.
Jul 20, 2013

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.