Waterloo / Lost Island Waterpark KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 800-562-2483

Info: 319-233-3485

Email

4550 Hess Rd

Waterloo, IA 50701

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

RV Reviews

Jul 08, 2017
Need more shade on the beach. Water was green with yuck stuff and goose poop on the island. Kids wanted to play in water, but did not felt comfortable with Thant. Need more shade at camp sites. That will improve as trees grow, but could definitely use more. Will be back yet this year, but looking for a different site for next year. Thanks.
Jul 08, 2017
Jul 07, 2017
Great campground. Clean and well done. Fireworks were amazing in the rain!
Jul 06, 2017
The staff is great and KOA couldn't find a better Manager, Karl does an awesome job! The resort is always clean, the grass mowed, etc. The staff is always friendly and ready to help.
Jul 06, 2017
Great campground and great stay.
Jul 06, 2017
Jul 06, 2017
Very clean facility, good location.
Jul 06, 2017
The camping spot next to us had 2 tents, 4 vehicles, 2 dogs, & way more than 8 people. They were rude. They put their tents, etc. on our spot. They shot fireworks off. They event shot off a bottle rocket towards us that went into the tailpipe of our vehicle. We asked to move to another open spot. We were not allowed to move(even though there were multiple spots available.) Very disappointing.
Jul 06, 2017
Very nice KOA but the showers need help. Push a button every 10 seconds and warm water.
Jul 06, 2017
Jul 05, 2017
It was great. The park was clean, the store was convenient. The state were ALL very friendly! We are already planning on next year to come back
Jul 05, 2017
very good
Jul 05, 2017
We reserved a site for a 41 foot 5th wheel with a note that we also have an 8 foot deck. When we arrived they first couldn't find our reservation and after a long period of time assigned us a site which when we tried 2 pull in discovered it was a 30 ft site. After 1 1/2 hours finally got a place to set up. Too much more 2 fit in a survey. Had to fight to finally get some credit for rewards points.
Jul 05, 2017
Great campground except swimming pond was full of algae, even with blue coloring and 1 office staff member was rude. Septic was uphill.
Jul 05, 2017
Loved it! Clean and well kept. Fun family activities!
Jul 05, 2017
Great clean campground! Full grounds but very quiet during a holiday weekend. Fun activities for the kids (loved the slip-n-slide). Owner/staff did a great job patrolling and silencing any fireworks since not allowed on the property! Will be back!
Jul 05, 2017
very nice place
Jul 05, 2017
Everything was great.
Jul 05, 2017
Nice clean campground. Friendly staff. Lots of activities and amenities. Across the road from Lost Island Water Park.
Jul 05, 2017
The campground was great! I did encounter a woman who answered the phone when I called to ask a question about a late arrival and she was very rude. The rest of the staff were great!
Jul 04, 2017
We had a great time! This campground was super clean and the staff was very nice and laid back. We are planning to come back next year!
Jul 04, 2017
Great stay, all the staff were very nice, had extra activities planned for the kids each day, good fishing, clean beach, thanks we will be back for sure!
Jul 02, 2017
Very accommodating. Friendly and helpful staff. A lot for my kids to do. We will be back for sure.
Jul 02, 2017
We were only there overnight. The check-in was friendly and courteous. The sight was more than sufficient. My only complaint is that there needs to be another KOA between Waterloo and the Minnesota border Interstate 35.
Jul 01, 2017
Very nicely done. Great space between vehicles, informed and happy staff and the amenities are wonderful.
Jul 01, 2017
we are new to the camping world. But it was great. Lots of space and easily accessible.We will come back. Thank you..
Jul 01, 2017
Clean and nice. It's has a resort kind of feel with a nice beach. No trees and not at all a campy feel. We had a wicked storm our night there and rewarded with two full double rainbows. The people were very friendly and campers quiet. Over all nice.
Jun 30, 2017
Men's bathroom was not cleaned the two days we were there. Other than that very nice campground.
Jun 30, 2017
Very well kept and nice amenities...the office staff was great! Excellent place to have people come visit.
Jun 29, 2017
We stayed for a week and during the week day we had to listen to grinding all afternoon which got very annoying. The so called beach was so full of algae that the kids didn't swim at all in it nor did the adults. If that is the case for a swimming area I would advise to get a swimming pool. The campground was not what we hoped for.
Jun 27, 2017
Fine but site 62 needs some work on sewer hookup.I had 3 hoses when parked at the patio spot and could not reach dump
Jun 27, 2017
Jun 27, 2017
Stay was great, nice facility and store. Was great having its own gas (diesel) station. Beautiful lake. Would have liked to be closer to dog park but was not a real issue as we just chose to walk perimeter of lake, really enjoyed.
Jun 27, 2017
Nice store, clean bathrooms, good time
Jun 27, 2017
It was my understanding that KOA had crafts and different events available for kids. There was nothing offered for kids the weekend of our stay. While the kids did enjoy rhe playground we could have spent less at another campground that had a playground.
Jun 27, 2017
I really like this campground, but the cost is prohibitive for me to stay there again.
Jun 26, 2017
Loved campsite 46 best views. Only complaint is long walk to water park with small kids, Shuttle service only on weekends. You should get a few golf carts to rent out. Will be back forsure.
Jun 26, 2017
Very nice and unique campground. Liked the tropical theme. Staff was pleasant and helpful. Campsite was spacious and nice. Store well stocked. Restrooms were clean. I would come again.
Jun 25, 2017
This was our second stop on our first trip. It was an amazing campground with so much to do! Our kids will remember this for the rest of their lives
Jun 25, 2017
Very friendly staff. Nice facilities, clean laundry rooms and beautiful surroundings. Our only concern was the amount of trash piled around the dumpster and recycle bin. Other than that it was a great place and we look forward to staying with you again.
Jun 24, 2017
Overall is was good. The water smelled horrible and finally someone came and fixed it after we complained twice and offered to move. We wanted to rent the banana bikes but were told there wasn't enough staff. Great location for the waterpark
Jun 24, 2017
Thank you for allowing us to reserve a specific spot. We had several kids staying with us and it was great being located next to the playground and shower house!
Jun 21, 2017
Jun 21, 2017
We were coming back from a week of vacation in Wisconsin and decided to swing through Waterloo to see my dad. I had never been to the KOA campground before but it will not be the last time. I was impressed with the assistance we received checking in and the campground itself was amazing. We will be sure to camp here again.
Jun 20, 2017
Jun 20, 2017
The only thing missing was a swimming pool. We loved the fact that each spot was generous in size. It was nice to have the grass space.
Jun 20, 2017
I thought the campground was pretty nice. There was a lot of bugs and moss in the lake. Also some of the workers weren't the nicest. Overall it was alright. Not sure if I'll go again since I just didn't feel welcome during activities.
Jun 20, 2017
Campgrounds very nice as was the staff
Jun 20, 2017
Great place to go and visit. There were plenty of things for the kids to do with activities and swmimming/beach area that everyone had fun. Clean bathrooms and sites were good sizes. Only thing that was missing was big trees. All trees were small and didn't have much shade. Overall a good place to visit.
Jun 20, 2017
We found no road signs to lead us to this KOA.Also beautiful large KOA however you should have someone escort you to your site.
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals