Waterloo / Lost Island Waterpark KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 800-562-2483

Info: 319-233-3485

Email

4550 Hess Rd

Waterloo, IA 50701

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Cabin Reviews

Nov 29, 2016
The cabin had a definite musty smell. No coffee maker available.
Nov 22, 2016
The cabins are very nice for a weekend get-a-way. I like the fact that linens are provided, unlike most KOA's I have stayed at. It's less I have to pack and try to fit into my small car. Great place to stay!
Nov 05, 2016
We loved the 'tiny house' cabin we stayed in that sleeps four. Can't wait to stay in the others that sleep six and eight! The lake, beach, playground and store were all wonderful. We look forward to staying here in the summer and enjoying the lake more and Lost Island Water Park.
Nov 03, 2016
Was Triple charged the deposit. None of the staff apologized or even gave me a reason why. They were rude and unprofessional. None of the staff wore uniforms. They were more interested in having a good time behind the counter than helping me. When one of their friends walk through the front door they yelled hey no losers allowed. The cabin itself had a giant stain on the bed.
Oct 25, 2016
We met there for a family weekend. The cabin was great. I like the fact that the linens were provided. Most KOA's do not provide linens in the cabins. It was one less thing I had to pack. The only thing wrong with the stay was that they were out of firewood. Very peaceful. Great view from the cabin deck.
Oct 25, 2016
The cabin was very comfortable and clean. Location was awesome to nearby Restrauant's. Only wish dogs under 25lbs, crate train would be allowed. Of course a re-fundable pet deposit would be okay.
Oct 25, 2016
We had an incredible time! Our family was able to use the paddle boats and play ground, play sand volleyball and enjoyed our time there. My friends were able to view the cabins and are reserving theirs for UNI graduation in May. We will definitely be returning next Family Weekend and plan to extend our stay an extra day/night just so that we can enjoy the facilities a little longer.
Oct 22, 2016
Oct 06, 2016
This is the nicest KOA I have ever stayed at! Karl and staff are extremely helpful and friendly!
Oct 04, 2016
cabin and grounds were clean and nice. overall had a good time. wish the wifi was better. the lake has a ton of moss making fishing difficult. I dont think they need to charge 5$ for a small bundle of wood for paying guests. seems like gouging to me. kids had fun, we might go back.
Oct 03, 2016
VERY poor 'beds'. It says it has bunk beds and 2 twins in loft, but all 4 of those are JUST mattresses, no box springs so not really 'beds' VERY uncomfortable!!! Get real beds for real people!
Oct 03, 2016
Loved it and will definitely be back again and again!
Sep 27, 2016
Nice cabins, friendly people, would like to stay again!! Clean!
Sep 27, 2016
Sep 19, 2016
what a beautiful sept. weekend,we stayed in a deluxe cabin every thing was nice and clean,Karl and staff do a great job, thanks again for a wonderful weekend.
Sep 19, 2016
very accomodating and very pretty scenery overlooking lake area from cabin will definitely utilize this facility repeatedly
Sep 13, 2016
Our weekend experience was wonderful. We just loved our awesome cabin! We will come back for sure.
Sep 13, 2016
Great accommodations, great view, friendly staff, I'll be back
Sep 13, 2016
My daughter and I had an absolute blast during our stay, would recommend to any one!! Just a few complaints, the pillows in the cabin are terrible, wifi could use range extenders, and I suggest not selling day old donuts that are rock hard...
Sep 10, 2016
We had a great time! Campground was amazing, cabin was awesome. Couple things that would have made this a 5 start stay...1. the little swimming area water was disgusting. There was a lot of muck floating in the water that could have been removed. 2. There was apparently events the weekend we stayed and we never heard about then until last minute or they were over. Overall good time! Thanks
Sep 08, 2016
Overall great place very clean we had a blast and will be back next year. only improvement would be to better stock the store and ice bags
Sep 08, 2016
Very disappointed that the waterpark was closed for the Labor Day weekend. We planned are vacation around the waterpark--should have been notified of this prior to cancellation deadline.
Aug 27, 2016
Aug 24, 2016
Had a bumping the beginning but staff was great about everything and the rest of stay was great!!! Grandkids want to go back next year. Have already told lots of coworkers,family and friends about it. Will bring rake next year to put them to work cleaning out Moss at the edges.make earn their way.
Aug 23, 2016
This has become a yearly stay for our family. This year we rented 3 4-person cabins and a 6-person cabin. We were disappointed that the 6-person cabin didn't have a stove top as advertised online, and the only 4-person cabin that had dishes was the handicap accessible one. Next year we will make sure to book specific cabins with the stovetop, dishes, etc. Other than that it was great!
Aug 23, 2016
Only thing I would recommend is to let people know to bring their own charcoal and fire wood is at cost.
Aug 17, 2016
Had a very good time
Aug 15, 2016
Very Nice campground, we will be back next year. Thanks
Aug 15, 2016
Aug 15, 2016
Wonderful time! Cabin was clean! Staff very kind. We will be back!! So much to do there, swimming, fishing, boating, playground for the kids. Great dog park, you name it they have it. We had a wonderful campfire at the end of the night, nothing beats being with your family & friends at a great place.
Aug 14, 2016
Nearly everything was perfect. I felt for the price that we paid that we should not be expected to sweep, do dishes, gather and dispose of the garbage. I think if you want people to do all of that, you should lower your price. The cabin was clean and well maintained. The office staff were friendly. The pond was extremely icky and needed an aerator or something.I didn't even want the kids in it
Aug 12, 2016
Love this place! We come back once or twice a year!
Aug 11, 2016
Aug 11, 2016
The cabins were extremely clean and had just what we needed for a fun stay. Only thing I would recommend is that they have someone try to keep up on the moss/seaweed in the swim area. Otherwise a wonderful place!
Aug 11, 2016
This was our fourth annual stay at KOA Lost Island. The grounds have improvements each year, the staff is always friendly. There is a newly posted policy about "Right to eject", a welcome statement of authority as we have experienced unwanted rowdy, noisy groups who drank late into the night and disrespected the facility and other campers. This stay was families with lots of kids - wonderful!
Aug 09, 2016
It was clean, relaxing and a very unique experience. Everyone enjoyed it!
Aug 06, 2016
Was caught off guard about the deposit, not once was that mentioned to me. We had an awesome cabin, staff was helpful.
Aug 06, 2016
Most excellent place to stay! Clean cabin, well furnished and comfortable. Check in was a breeze and such friendly staff.
Aug 06, 2016
Wonderful property, friendly and accommodating staff. Clean cabin. Wi-Fi was disappointing as would lose signal frequently.
Aug 05, 2016
My entire family thoroughly enjoyed our stay, they loved the cabin with full size frig, AC and fans, grills and fire pits, deck, and feeding the wildlife that waddled its way up to our cabin. The waterpark and all activities were very fun, we had a blast!
Aug 04, 2016
Aug 04, 2016
Very quiet and well kept. Close to water park. Friendly personnel.
Aug 03, 2016
Have never stayed at a KOA before, but I plan to again in the future. Great experience.
Aug 02, 2016
Stay was great! Swimming beach was a little too green and mossy for my liking but it didn't bother my kids. Fire pit by cabin 9 may be too close to air conditioner intake. Made master bedroom smell like a campfire inside for a while. No huge complaints. We would definitely stay here again.
Jul 30, 2016
Jul 30, 2016
We had a great time. Our only complaint was the poor mossy conditions of the lake in the swimming area our last two days. Outside of that the staff was wonderful. We would prefer to stay here over any hotel. My 6 year old said these were the best 4 days of his life.
Jul 30, 2016
We love camping there with our grandkids. The pond/swimming area could use a little maintenance for moss. But the staff was extremely accommodating in helping make our stay great. We'll definitely camp there again!
Jul 30, 2016
Jul 26, 2016
Our cabin was clean and comfortable, and much more spacious than we thought it would be. The campground is very well laid out and the staff is warm and friendly, and couldn't be more helpful. We had a great $5 pancake breakfast on Sunday morning that can't be beat! We can't say enough about this place and will definitely stay again! Hoping to have future Jeys family reunions there again too.
Jul 24, 2016
The campground is clean & they are improving each year we have stayed
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy