Waterloo / Lost Island Waterpark KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 800-562-2483

Info: 319-233-3485


4550 Hess Rd

Waterloo, IA 50701

Get Directions

RV Sites, Tent Sites

Check-in: 12:00 pm, Check-out: 12:00 pm


Check-in: 3:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Cabin Reviews

Oct 07, 2015
very nice facility, friendly staff, great local
Oct 01, 2015
The campground, facilities, and staff were all just fantastic. The cabin was cramped but a good value for all the people in it. Definitely would go to this specific campground again in a second.
Sep 28, 2015
worth it! GREAT WEEKEND!! will definitely be back!
Sep 21, 2015
Lovely and peaceful semi-rural setting. Large spacious sites. Pleasant staff and very helpful.
Sep 21, 2015
Sep 21, 2015
Sep 18, 2015
We were hoping it we would be able to swim but it was cold so having other activities like the battle boats and water bikes, the volleyball court, and bikes made it a fun time any way. Also had a hot dog roast! The walking trail is nice.
Sep 09, 2015
Great weekend. Lots of fun things for the family, and friendly staff.
Sep 08, 2015
Good service from employees. Nice cabins and great location!
Sep 08, 2015
Everything was great about this park EXCEPT the condition of the beach/water. We stayed here 2 years ago and it was much cleaner!!! The beach was really gross and we were disappointed
Sep 08, 2015
First time staying at a KOA and we loved it. Our cabin was right on the beach area so it made it easy for the kids. Our cabin slept 4 but it was spacious. We will be staying again
Aug 31, 2015
Adorable and comfortable cabin. One thing I do recommend is that they keep more shower toiletries in the bathroom. We had a six person cabin full of six girls and all there was was one tiny thing of each when online it said it would provide those. It should have a few sets in the cabinet or something. Otherwise our stay was lovely and we very much enjoyed it. Thank you!
Aug 31, 2015
11 am check out seems to be a bit early. Nightly prices could be cheaper.
Aug 26, 2015
A great experience. We're from California and here four a family visit. Next year we will be here for at least a week. The kids had a fantastic time.
Aug 24, 2015
Nice campground and fun!
Aug 24, 2015
The kids had a blast swimming, playing volleyball, peddle boat, and then smores around the fire. The cabin was very comfortable with air and very clean restroom and kitchen. Made for a great birthday weekend for my teen. We plan to do it again!! Any calls we made for assistance from the office, were answered immediately.
Aug 24, 2015
Aug 22, 2015
Check in was easy & they provided a map of the campground so we found our cabin quickly. The scenery was pretty as our cabin faced the water & beach area. My only negative comments would be slow wifi (I was working part of my stay and had troubles viewing emails) & the cable didn't offer very many channels. Other than those minor things we enjoyed our stay and will be back.
Aug 20, 2015
Aug 20, 2015
This was the most beautiful KOA we have ever stayed at! We stayed in the big cabin and had plenty of room for the 6 of us. My kids loved the game room, the playground, and the pizza! The convenience store has everything and it's nice having a gas station at the KOA! We will be back with family! Can't wait to spend time on the beach, the paddleboats, the trails, and trying the water park next door!
Aug 20, 2015
It was great.
Aug 19, 2015
Everything was great except for the rat poison my 1 year old found underneath the cabin bunk bed. Luckily my wife saw him as he grabbed a handful... otherwise this would be a very different review.
Aug 19, 2015
Have stayed before and was happy but the geese have become an issue.
Aug 18, 2015
Very friendly staff. Clean cabins. Diffinetly will be returning soon.
Aug 15, 2015
Great cabin, great value, and great location. Loved the firepit and kyaks! Need to watch the cleaning. We had to clean the cabin a bit ourselves when we first arrived. Overall it was a great stay.
Aug 15, 2015
Excellent RV park with friendly staff.
Aug 14, 2015
Had some issues--microwave didn't work, fridge door handle was broken and sharp, and the playground structure had screws sticking out 1-2 inches (blunt top) where they could catch on kids clothing or skin, and at the height where kids could conceivably run into them. Otherwise everything seemed nice overall. But we weren't overly happy as those issues cast a shadow on the stay.
Aug 14, 2015
Check in/out was very easy. The cabin was clean as well as the campground area. There was a very nice pond with a beach. They had paddle bikes,paddle boats and canoes to rent. It is a nice alternative to a hotel. The only complaints would be not enough outlets throughout the cabin and the free wifi didn't work that good.
Aug 12, 2015
Great! cabin was spotless and great for our family wished you had a pool but overall loved the campground
Aug 11, 2015
This was the absolute best stay we have ever had! The cabin was very clean and had a feel of home. The staff was extremely accommodating and helpful. We loved staying at KOA!!
Aug 10, 2015
Will definitely be staying here again. Staff was very friendly and helpful.
Aug 09, 2015
Had a great time and everything was perfect! We'll be back for sure!
Aug 08, 2015
Awesome site! Wish the cabin layout hadn't given the perception of a stove top in the cabin but no big deal.
Aug 07, 2015
The cabin was very nice and clean. The staff members were very helpful and nice.
Aug 07, 2015
Wonderful, Friendly service. We enjoyed our stay.
Aug 06, 2015
Very nice facility. Our family of four stayed in a cabin which was very nice. The staff was very friendly and accommodated my request to defrost the cabin refrigerator... the function was much improved from last time! I was disappointed with the amount of trash spread around the place and filled a grocery sack in a one walk from the cabin to the pond/ beach area.
Aug 04, 2015
great koa but...beach was horrible. the beach chairs were disorganized with most in the lake and there was goose poop all over the sand. they really need someone to organize the beach chairs and clean up after the geese so people aren't constantly steeping on poop.
Aug 03, 2015
Fantastic!! Clean, was even better than I had thought it could be.
Aug 03, 2015
Friendly staff, clean cabins, fun!!
Aug 01, 2015
Very nice place. Only downfall, lots of geese which created a mess on the beach and walkways.
Jul 31, 2015
Always enjoy this campground. Staff is friendly and courteous.
Jul 31, 2015
It was a great Campground with helpful friendly staff! Need to make sure the cleaning staff is changing the sheets on the beds and bunk beds in the Cabins though!
Jul 28, 2015
Nice park. Lots of kid activities.
Jul 27, 2015
Jul 26, 2015
Nice clean new cabins with easy access to the beach and lake. Really enjoyed our stay.
Jul 23, 2015
Jul 22, 2015
The Kampground itself was fantastic. Lots to do and quiet. The pond was a bit yucky to swim in. However, we had a blast playing sand volleyball. The cabin we rented was very nice but not clean at all. I did let the lady know at checkout and she was very apologetic. I will stay again though. Just will bring my own cleaning supplies.
Jul 21, 2015
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We rented a cabin and found it to be a great option. A nice and relaxing getaway.
Jul 21, 2015
We had a great time visiting Lost Island Waterpark and then staying in the deluxe cabin. The kids loved the beach. The only downside to the beach is all the goose poop, especially on the island. We are definitely up for making this an annual stay.
Jul 19, 2015
We had so much fun. Right on the little beach. Cabins were really nice! It is a new campground so the trees are small, once they grow it will be even nicer. We plan on returning next year.

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.

Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy