Waterloo / Lost Island Waterpark KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 800-562-2483

Info: 319-233-3485

Email

4550 Hess Rd

Waterloo, IA 50701

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Cabin Reviews

Aug 24, 2016
Had a bumping the beginning but staff was great about everything and the rest of stay was great!!! Grandkids want to go back next year. Have already told lots of coworkers,family and friends about it. Will bring rake next year to put them to work cleaning out Moss at the edges.make earn their way.
Aug 23, 2016
This has become a yearly stay for our family. This year we rented 3 4-person cabins and a 6-person cabin. We were disappointed that the 6-person cabin didn't have a stove top as advertised online, and the only 4-person cabin that had dishes was the handicap accessible one. Next year we will make sure to book specific cabins with the stovetop, dishes, etc. Other than that it was great!
Aug 23, 2016
Only thing I would recommend is to let people know to bring their own charcoal and fire wood is at cost.
Aug 17, 2016
Had a very good time
Aug 15, 2016
Very Nice campground, we will be back next year. Thanks
Aug 15, 2016
Aug 15, 2016
Wonderful time! Cabin was clean! Staff very kind. We will be back!! So much to do there, swimming, fishing, boating, playground for the kids. Great dog park, you name it they have it. We had a wonderful campfire at the end of the night, nothing beats being with your family & friends at a great place.
Aug 14, 2016
Nearly everything was perfect. I felt for the price that we paid that we should not be expected to sweep, do dishes, gather and dispose of the garbage. I think if you want people to do all of that, you should lower your price. The cabin was clean and well maintained. The office staff were friendly. The pond was extremely icky and needed an aerator or something.I didn't even want the kids in it
Aug 12, 2016
Love this place! We come back once or twice a year!
Aug 11, 2016
Aug 11, 2016
The cabins were extremely clean and had just what we needed for a fun stay. Only thing I would recommend is that they have someone try to keep up on the moss/seaweed in the swim area. Otherwise a wonderful place!
Aug 11, 2016
This was our fourth annual stay at KOA Lost Island. The grounds have improvements each year, the staff is always friendly. There is a newly posted policy about "Right to eject", a welcome statement of authority as we have experienced unwanted rowdy, noisy groups who drank late into the night and disrespected the facility and other campers. This stay was families with lots of kids - wonderful!
Aug 09, 2016
It was clean, relaxing and a very unique experience. Everyone enjoyed it!
Aug 06, 2016
Was caught off guard about the deposit, not once was that mentioned to me. We had an awesome cabin, staff was helpful.
Aug 06, 2016
Most excellent place to stay! Clean cabin, well furnished and comfortable. Check in was a breeze and such friendly staff.
Aug 06, 2016
Wonderful property, friendly and accommodating staff. Clean cabin. Wi-Fi was disappointing as would lose signal frequently.
Aug 05, 2016
My entire family thoroughly enjoyed our stay, they loved the cabin with full size frig, AC and fans, grills and fire pits, deck, and feeding the wildlife that waddled its way up to our cabin. The waterpark and all activities were very fun, we had a blast!
Aug 04, 2016
Aug 04, 2016
Very quiet and well kept. Close to water park. Friendly personnel.
Aug 03, 2016
Have never stayed at a KOA before, but I plan to again in the future. Great experience.
Aug 02, 2016
Stay was great! Swimming beach was a little too green and mossy for my liking but it didn't bother my kids. Fire pit by cabin 9 may be too close to air conditioner intake. Made master bedroom smell like a campfire inside for a while. No huge complaints. We would definitely stay here again.
Jul 30, 2016
Jul 30, 2016
We had a great time. Our only complaint was the poor mossy conditions of the lake in the swimming area our last two days. Outside of that the staff was wonderful. We would prefer to stay here over any hotel. My 6 year old said these were the best 4 days of his life.
Jul 30, 2016
We love camping there with our grandkids. The pond/swimming area could use a little maintenance for moss. But the staff was extremely accommodating in helping make our stay great. We'll definitely camp there again!
Jul 30, 2016
Jul 26, 2016
Our cabin was clean and comfortable, and much more spacious than we thought it would be. The campground is very well laid out and the staff is warm and friendly, and couldn't be more helpful. We had a great $5 pancake breakfast on Sunday morning that can't be beat! We can't say enough about this place and will definitely stay again! Hoping to have future Jeys family reunions there again too.
Jul 24, 2016
The campground is clean & they are improving each year we have stayed
Jul 20, 2016
Everything was great. Very nice site other than shade would be nice. Staff very helpful and freiendly.
Jul 20, 2016
Great service and amenities!
Jul 20, 2016
We enjoyed the stay. It was quite and the kids had so much fun.
Jul 17, 2016
It was the perfect place to stay on our annual summer trip with our grand-daughter. She took a friend along and they had so much fun playing outside and making new friends at the campground. It was very clean and convenient since we were going to the water park, Lost Island located across the road from the KOA. My only complaint is there wasn't a coffee pot in our cabin.
Jul 16, 2016
Very clean cabins and facilities. Took our 5 kids and they had a blast! No electronics the whole stay. Just nature and family. Would highly recommend.
Jul 13, 2016
This is the second year we have taken our grand kids to this campground. The only negative comment I would have would be the algae in the lake. This is such a nice campground, waterpark, sandy beach, but just could not swim in the lake. I would give this a 5 Star if it wasn't for the lake. Everything else was super clean.
Jul 12, 2016
We stay at the Waterloo KOA cabins for our family summer vacations. Every year we have a great time together and the accommodations are clean and the staff is friendly.
Jul 12, 2016
the lake was full of algae and just kinda gross for swimming. The cabin we stayed in was clean and comfortable. Would have been nice to have paper towels,fly swatter and hangers.
Jul 11, 2016
So much to do for a very reasonable price. Stayed in the largest cabin and it was splendid! Fully stocked with dishes and all the comforts of home.
Jul 09, 2016
Great location, adore cabins, paddle boarding available.
Jul 07, 2016
Myself and my grandkids stayed over the 4th of July weekend,we had a blast,a friend of mine came out for the day,we kayaked,fished and swam,her kids had never done any of that it was soooo much fun nice clean cabin and campground,and of corse all of the events Karl and his staff had was fun too,now to the evening the Fire Works were the best ever,hope they have fire works again next year,thanks.
Jul 06, 2016
The only thing I would recommend is to add paper towels, a pitcher and marshmallow skewers to the cabins. WIFI was also AWFUL. Otherwise, we LOVED it! Very nice cabins, loved the pond and great location. We will be back for sure!
Jul 05, 2016
The cabin was perfect. Services from Karl was outstanding!
Jul 04, 2016
I will be back.
Jul 02, 2016
The cabin was very nice! My niece suggested it instead of staying at a hotel. Glad I did. Two kids, 1 1/2 and 4 year olds played on the playground area a couple of times. Other wise all we did was sleep there. Plan to stay again next year.
Jul 02, 2016
All the staff were freindly and helpful beyond what one would normally expect. The cabin was very nice, very clean and the kids loved being right o the "beach". My family looks forward to another visit at this site!
Jul 02, 2016
This was our second time staying here. We had 8 people it was so much cheaper than a hotel and we could all stay together not in separate rooms. It was very clean! It is just a great nice peaceful place to stay.
Jul 01, 2016
We stayed in a deluxe cabin, which was really new, did have some pluming issues, but they fixed. The beach was nice, a lot of geese around it though (worried about swimmers itch)&algae in the water. On Sunday evening, all the lifeguards from waterpark had a party on the beach, was really loud, but my kids enjoyed watching them. Overall a great stay, staff were great, and the waterpark was awesome
Jul 01, 2016
This stay was a little below average. We stayed in an 8 person cabin. The cabin was nice but NOT equipped for 8 people. Such as steak knives, bowls, plates, coffee cups and so on. Trying to get wash clothes for 8 people was a nightmare. One day we couldn't get any at all! The beach was nice but the lake was awful. WAY to much moss and so on. Rented paddle boats that were impossible to get through
Jun 29, 2016
We have stayed here before, but in a different cabin. We had a great experience last year. Although, this year, our cabin had a funny odor and was not maintained as well as the cabin we stayed in last year.
Jun 27, 2016
Great park with friendly and knowledgeable staff.
Jun 27, 2016
Very clean, very quiet. I liked the relaxed atmosphere, but there were still plenty of things to do and see!
Jun 27, 2016
Cabins are an amazing way to have the fun of a camping experience if you don't have a camper. Super clean, convenient and fun!
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals