Waterloo / Lost Island Waterpark KOA

4550 Hess Rd

Waterloo, IA 50701

Reserve: 800-562-2483

Info: 319-233-3485

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5

Cabin Reviews

Aug 26, 2015
A great experience. We're from California and here four a family visit. Next year we will be here for at least a week. The kids had a fantastic time.
Aug 24, 2015
Nice campground and fun!
Aug 24, 2015
The kids had a blast swimming, playing volleyball, peddle boat, and then smores around the fire. The cabin was very comfortable with air and very clean restroom and kitchen. Made for a great birthday weekend for my teen. We plan to do it again!! Any calls we made for assistance from the office, were answered immediately.
Aug 24, 2015
Aug 22, 2015
Check in was easy & they provided a map of the campground so we found our cabin quickly. The scenery was pretty as our cabin faced the water & beach area. My only negative comments would be slow wifi (I was working part of my stay and had troubles viewing emails) & the cable didn't offer very many channels. Other than those minor things we enjoyed our stay and will be back.
Aug 20, 2015
Aug 20, 2015
This was the most beautiful KOA we have ever stayed at! We stayed in the big cabin and had plenty of room for the 6 of us. My kids loved the game room, the playground, and the pizza! The convenience store has everything and it's nice having a gas station at the KOA! We will be back with family! Can't wait to spend time on the beach, the paddleboats, the trails, and trying the water park next door!
Aug 20, 2015
It was great.
Aug 19, 2015
Everything was great except for the rat poison my 1 year old found underneath the cabin bunk bed. Luckily my wife saw him as he grabbed a handful... otherwise this would be a very different review.
Aug 19, 2015
Have stayed before and was happy but the geese have become an issue.
Aug 18, 2015
Very friendly staff. Clean cabins. Diffinetly will be returning soon.
Aug 15, 2015
Great cabin, great value, and great location. Loved the firepit and kyaks! Need to watch the cleaning. We had to clean the cabin a bit ourselves when we first arrived. Overall it was a great stay.
Aug 15, 2015
Excellent RV park with friendly staff.
Aug 14, 2015
Had some issues--microwave didn't work, fridge door handle was broken and sharp, and the playground structure had screws sticking out 1-2 inches (blunt top) where they could catch on kids clothing or skin, and at the height where kids could conceivably run into them. Otherwise everything seemed nice overall. But we weren't overly happy as those issues cast a shadow on the stay.
Aug 14, 2015
Check in/out was very easy. The cabin was clean as well as the campground area. There was a very nice pond with a beach. They had paddle bikes,paddle boats and canoes to rent. It is a nice alternative to a hotel. The only complaints would be not enough outlets throughout the cabin and the free wifi didn't work that good.
Aug 12, 2015
Great! cabin was spotless and great for our family wished you had a pool but overall loved the campground
Aug 11, 2015
This was the absolute best stay we have ever had! The cabin was very clean and had a feel of home. The staff was extremely accommodating and helpful. We loved staying at KOA!!
Aug 10, 2015
Will definitely be staying here again. Staff was very friendly and helpful.
Aug 09, 2015
Had a great time and everything was perfect! We'll be back for sure!
Aug 08, 2015
Awesome site! Wish the cabin layout hadn't given the perception of a stove top in the cabin but no big deal.
Aug 07, 2015
The cabin was very nice and clean. The staff members were very helpful and nice.
Aug 07, 2015
Wonderful, Friendly service. We enjoyed our stay.
Aug 06, 2015
Very nice facility. Our family of four stayed in a cabin which was very nice. The staff was very friendly and accommodated my request to defrost the cabin refrigerator... the function was much improved from last time! I was disappointed with the amount of trash spread around the place and filled a grocery sack in a one walk from the cabin to the pond/ beach area.
Aug 04, 2015
great koa but...beach was horrible. the beach chairs were disorganized with most in the lake and there was goose poop all over the sand. they really need someone to organize the beach chairs and clean up after the geese so people aren't constantly steeping on poop.
Aug 03, 2015
Fantastic!! Clean, was even better than I had thought it could be.
Aug 03, 2015
Friendly staff, clean cabins, fun!!
Aug 01, 2015
Very nice place. Only downfall, lots of geese which created a mess on the beach and walkways.
Jul 31, 2015
Always enjoy this campground. Staff is friendly and courteous.
Jul 31, 2015
It was a great Campground with helpful friendly staff! Need to make sure the cleaning staff is changing the sheets on the beds and bunk beds in the Cabins though!
Jul 28, 2015
Nice park. Lots of kid activities.
Jul 27, 2015
Jul 26, 2015
Nice clean new cabins with easy access to the beach and lake. Really enjoyed our stay.
Jul 23, 2015
Jul 22, 2015
The Kampground itself was fantastic. Lots to do and quiet. The pond was a bit yucky to swim in. However, we had a blast playing sand volleyball. The cabin we rented was very nice but not clean at all. I did let the lady know at checkout and she was very apologetic. I will stay again though. Just will bring my own cleaning supplies.
Jul 21, 2015
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We rented a cabin and found it to be a great option. A nice and relaxing getaway.
Jul 21, 2015
We had a great time visiting Lost Island Waterpark and then staying in the deluxe cabin. The kids loved the beach. The only downside to the beach is all the goose poop, especially on the island. We are definitely up for making this an annual stay.
Jul 19, 2015
We had so much fun. Right on the little beach. Cabins were really nice! It is a new campground so the trees are small, once they grow it will be even nicer. We plan on returning next year.
Jul 17, 2015
It was a very nice stay. I was hoping for a little bit bigger cabin for the five of us, but for the amount of time we were in there, it was nice.
Jul 16, 2015
everything was wonderful except the pullout bed, it was unfit for most anyone. Everything else was perfect!
Jul 11, 2015
This KOA was the nicest we have stayed in. All of the facilities were very well maintained and clean!
Jul 09, 2015
we checked in on the 3rd,of july and I had my grandkids with me till sun, night on the 5th, we had a great time by granddaughter who is 8 kayacked for the first time by herself we had fun,my grandson fished for the first time also he thought that was fun, Carl and staff had a carnival, for on the 4th that was fun for the kids, lots of swimming at the beach, all in all great staff lots of fun thank
Jul 06, 2015
Very busy weekend for Karl and crew. They did a great job. We will be scheduling another stay.
Jul 04, 2015
Staff very accommodating - grandkids had a ball!
Jul 01, 2015
Rain flooded us out. No bonfire 1 st night. Paddle boats had water in them next day when we came to use them.
Jun 30, 2015
Great facility and friendly attendants in the office.
Jun 28, 2015
Jun 27, 2015
Love this place! Cabins are so cute and very nice. Very clean, we had the 8 person one and everyone fit great. Staff is friendly. Location is great, close to everything. Will definitely stay here again! Kids loved it!
Jun 26, 2015
Awesome campground great fishing waterpark next door
Jun 23, 2015
Lots of fun and lots to do! We would definitely go back! The waterpark nearby is awesome as well!
Jun 23, 2015
Great stay and nice campground. Kids loved swimming in the lake!
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.