Waterloo / Lost Island Waterpark KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 800-562-2483

Info: 319-233-3485

Email

4550 Hess Rd

Waterloo, IA 50701

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Jul 04, 2016
I will be back.
Jul 04, 2016
Too expensive. Campsite had small spots. Wewere unable to stay close to another family even tho there were open spots. Were told there was going to be a dunk tank and there was none.
Jul 04, 2016
Jul 03, 2016
Beautiful campground, staff very friendly and helpful, enjoyed our stay.
Jul 02, 2016
First time reserving a koa camper. Some miscommunication as far as what was inside the camper, had to purchase dishes after we got there. Shower leaked water into kitchen after one shower, so used shower house-which was a nice feature to be close to & clean, other than locks on shower doors did not work. Outdoor kitchen pull-out not connected & outdoor fridge & awning moldy. Liked lake rentals.
Jul 02, 2016
The cabin was very nice! My niece suggested it instead of staying at a hotel. Glad I did. Two kids, 1 1/2 and 4 year olds played on the playground area a couple of times. Other wise all we did was sleep there. Plan to stay again next year.
Jul 02, 2016
All the staff were freindly and helpful beyond what one would normally expect. The cabin was very nice, very clean and the kids loved being right o the "beach". My family looks forward to another visit at this site!
Jul 02, 2016
Had a great time, my boy's had a great time fishing!!
Jul 02, 2016
This was our second time staying here. We had 8 people it was so much cheaper than a hotel and we could all stay together not in separate rooms. It was very clean! It is just a great nice peaceful place to stay.
Jul 02, 2016
Weather was bad, but staff helped us find dry site. Thanks!!!
Jul 01, 2016
We stayed in a deluxe cabin, which was really new, did have some pluming issues, but they fixed. The beach was nice, a lot of geese around it though (worried about swimmers itch)&algae in the water. On Sunday evening, all the lifeguards from waterpark had a party on the beach, was really loud, but my kids enjoyed watching them. Overall a great stay, staff were great, and the waterpark was awesome
Jul 01, 2016
This stay was a little below average. We stayed in an 8 person cabin. The cabin was nice but NOT equipped for 8 people. Such as steak knives, bowls, plates, coffee cups and so on. Trying to get wash clothes for 8 people was a nightmare. One day we couldn't get any at all! The beach was nice but the lake was awful. WAY to much moss and so on. Rented paddle boats that were impossible to get through
Jul 01, 2016
The rental camper we stayed in was extremely nice. The beach was large with nice sand but the "swim area" was solid seaweed. The paddle boats were nasty and one was sinking at the dock. We rented a water trike unknowingly with one wheel 1/4 full of water. Used it for 10 min and was charged the full 30 min even after I told them about the problem it had. But hey we saved $4/person at the water park
Jul 01, 2016
Wonderful campground! Too bad we couldn't stay longer!!
Jun 29, 2016
We have stayed here before, but in a different cabin. We had a great experience last year. Although, this year, our cabin had a funny odor and was not maintained as well as the cabin we stayed in last year.
Jun 29, 2016
Great experience. Large, mostly level spaces, good utilities. Would rate a 5 if it weren't for the dog poo along the path around the lake. Shame on KOA Waterloo for not having disposal containers along the path and shame on my fellow campers for not picking up after their pets.
Jun 28, 2016
Jun 28, 2016
Very nice campground. Could use more attention to the grounds keeping.
Jun 28, 2016
It would be helpful if check out time for campers was a little later than 12:00pm.
Jun 28, 2016
Conveniently located to attractions we are interested in. Activities located on site for entertaining the Grandkids! Local selection of eateries etc... covered a wide variety of choices from kid to Adult evening.
Jun 27, 2016
Great park with friendly and knowledgeable staff.
Jun 27, 2016
Very clean, very quiet. I liked the relaxed atmosphere, but there were still plenty of things to do and see!
Jun 27, 2016
Really enjoyed our stay. Staff were friendly and helpful.
Jun 27, 2016
Check-in is efficient. Staff was very friendly and accommodating when we requested a late check-out. Campground facilities are clean.
Jun 27, 2016
Cabins are an amazing way to have the fun of a camping experience if you don't have a camper. Super clean, convenient and fun!
Jun 27, 2016
We really enjoyed our stay at the Waterloo/Lost Island Waterpark KOA. It was VERY clean & quiet. They have some nice trees that will be really nice in a few years. We got a little turned around a few times looking for our campsite, but I think we are just a wee bit directionally challenged. Lol - we truly enjoyed it here and would recommend it to anyone!!
Jun 27, 2016
Great people at front desk kind courteous thank you
Jun 27, 2016
Very nice newer campground, plenty of room at each campsite. Only negative was kids fishing in the swimming area and some broken chairs in from the beach in the water but otherwise very clean park.
Jun 27, 2016
We were impressed with the layout and the things available=Family fun. It is new and nice..Would be nice to revisit in 5 yrs!! Very nice people manager esp.
Jun 26, 2016
Stayed in a cabin with my bowling team. We had a great time!
Jun 25, 2016
We rented a little cabin which was really fun my kids aged 6 and 3 and loved the bunk beds. However it was a little upsetting that they said there was free wifi and even when connected would either quickly disconnect or not work at all. Also bring your own pillows because they only provide one small terrible pillow per person. All in all we had a great time however it's misleading saying free wifi
Jun 24, 2016
I really like this park BUT please start cleaning out your fire pits. Nice Camp K9. Nice swimming area. Would definitely stay here again.
Jun 24, 2016
The campground has made quite a few great improvements since we stayed 3 years ago. The one area that needs improvement is they need to provide a guide to your campsite. It is a very large campground and the roads are very confusing. We would see people circle 3-4 times before they could find their site. Otherwise, overall it is a nice campground.
Jun 24, 2016
very nice campground, except no shade,
Jun 24, 2016
I would recommend this KOA to others for sure, very nice campground and staff members.
Jun 24, 2016
Jun 22, 2016
Wonderful place to stay! Visit this campground often!!
Jun 21, 2016
They need trash cans near the RVs and there was no wifi that I paid Dora!
Jun 20, 2016
Easy check in clean, well kept cabins. We had a reunion with family traveling from DC, S Carolina, Texas, and many closer area places. Everyone commented on the facilities, even those that didn't stay here. We'll be back!
Jun 20, 2016
Nice helpful staff, clean park, easy pull thru sites with full hook up. Needs sand out in swim area, not just beach. Can't wait for trees to get bigger.
Jun 20, 2016
Love love love this place! Kids love the beach. Cabins are awesome ☺️ Love the tropical feel! Great water park across street! Made return reservations before we left!
Jun 20, 2016
Great experience as always. Staff was also very helpful with a large future reservation for us. My only disappointment/negative remark is the sewer dump was not located at a good height and I had a lot of difficulty getting my tanks to dump. I just believe that paying for full hook ups it should be easier. Other than that, we love the campground and are back multiple times this summer.
Jun 20, 2016
Great campground. Very helpful and accommodating!!! Clean restrooms and showers.
Jun 20, 2016
We had a great weekend at the KOA camp ground. We stayed in cabin K9 with 6 kids and 2 adults. The cabin sleeps 8 and was spacious enough for all of us. The only negative for us was the small stove with only 2 small burners but we made it work with the grill close by to our deck. The pond does have a lot of moss and for a teenage girl with long hair its "annoying" We will be back!
Jun 19, 2016
Jun 19, 2016
nice campground
Jun 19, 2016
this place is rated a 11. the best one I ever stayed in
Jun 18, 2016
Nice neat park with friendly staff.
Jun 18, 2016
The staff were very nice. It was a nice and clean campground.we will definitely come back.
Jun 18, 2016
Wonderful!
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals

Camp for $10 on May 13!

Book Now!

KOA Care Camps