Waterloo / Lost Island Waterpark KOA

4550 Hess Rd

Waterloo, IA 50701

Reserve: 800-562-2483

Info: 319-233-3485

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Jul 17, 2013
Site was easy in and out but because it was next to main entrance road it had a lot of traffic in and out at all hours.
Jul 17, 2013
New but a lot of potential. Workers very friendly and polite. Loved the beach and trail around the lake. Very young trees so little shade. Big hill covers most of the campground so biking for kids was interesting. One mediocre playground, another should be installed on top of the hill. Confusing layout with one-way and two-way roads. Some sites a little cramped.
Jul 16, 2013
Our kids LOVE this KOA! We want to meet our friends here next year and the year after to watch this new KOA grow.
Jul 16, 2013
It was wonderful. Very clean and friendly staff. Will definitely stay there again.
Jul 15, 2013
The beach was great for two small children. Tent campsites not the best quality, washed out and not flat. Beach had little trash here and there. New campground and I am sure it will be great in the future. I hope that the management keeps it clean and well kept. Clean shower house. Water temp was too hot at first, but cooled down.
Jul 15, 2013
I know this is a brand new KOA, but once the grass is fully established, and with the great staff you have, this could possibly be the best Kamp in the system. Thanks for a great weekend. The Carlsons
Jul 15, 2013
Cabins are wonderful! Very nice stay for family. Lake and beach were fantastic. Playground perfect for young children. Close to lots of shopping if you forget anything. Only issue was shower water temp was very difficult to manage. Minor issue so I have already recommended this campground to many people. Once trees grow with age it will be perfect.
Jul 15, 2013
Nice Place
Jul 15, 2013
We don't live near Iowa so we probably won't have a reason to return. We thought the campgrounds were clean and the store well equipped. Our biggest complaint is that there is not enough shade, but I understand this is a new KOA and future landscaping will probably be done. Also, more nearby direction signs would help. Thanks.
Jul 15, 2013
Staff was courteous and helpful. I think the camp was quite new. The campsite was quite barren. A lot of young trees the feel was not secluded.
Jul 15, 2013
Really enjoyed our stay... Even though we had rain in the afternoon of our arrival we enjoyed our stay at this new KOA. Great trail around the lake, and the $4 breakfast served by the staff was an unexpected treat. Issues due to being brand new were minor. We will be back.
Jul 15, 2013
We stayed in an 8-person cabin...had all the grandkids ranging in age from 3-14. Everyone had a blast. Beach was fantastic. Not yet fully equipped with kitchen utensils but we made due. Bath house was extremely clean. Playground equipment was awesome per the grandkids. Only suggestion would be to have a dvd player on one of the TV's. Kids wanted to stay up longer and watch a movie.
Jul 15, 2013
Jul 15, 2013
It will be great once trees mature for shade and grass really grows in.
Jul 14, 2013
This was our first time at a KOA and we had a wonderful time. The staff was very friendly and helpful!! The grounds and cabins were so clean and neat. We already told family/friends what a great experience it was. The kids want to come back next year!! Thank you for everything, we loved it!
Jul 13, 2013
The people at the campground were very helpful and very nice. There were problems with the site. The water pressure was very high. It was a pull-thru but the sewer was located way at the back of the space. I needed 3 sections of hose, plus it was hard to get a decent fall. Several of the sites had the utilities is strange locations.
Jul 13, 2013
Waterloo KOA overall was very good, we enjoyed the lake, beach, and trail. The sand volleyball and frisbee golf are very cool, our kids liked the free wi-fi. The campsite and restroom facilities were very clean. It is a beautiful and relaxing area. Our only complaint is that it is pricey, we can camp at state parks for $16.00 night. Would have stayed another night or two, if rates were lower.
Jul 12, 2013
This was a great place to stay. Everyone had a great time in and around the campground. We had friends staying in a hotel down the road who were all jealous when they saw where we were staying. Prices are reasonable.
Jul 12, 2013
I think the campground is great! Although I had a tent site that was absolutely horrible. There was great big holes and hardly any grass! I had to leave and buy air matresses because you couldn't just use a sleeping blanket as we planned. I also had my young children which my two year old fell constantly.
Jul 10, 2013
we stayed in a 4 person cabin, there was no kitchen sink to wash dishes in, also understand a very busy week end lots of campers the place was full for 4th of july would have been nice if there were some festivities, for that night,also not a big fan of dogs on the beach swimming in same area as people, the nicest beach ever for a camp ground, but had a lovely stay, all ready booking for next year
Jul 10, 2013
sites to close together in some areas. We were placed at the very back of the campgrounds when there were lots of open site closer to the front of the grounds
Jul 10, 2013
Nice, new campground. The staff was fantastic! No trees yet and the ground is really bumpy with crevices from groundwater runoff but we really enjoyed our stay there.
Jul 10, 2013
Very nice place...relaxing....some gold carts for local mobility will help...
Jul 09, 2013
Nice locations. Convenient to everything. Grass needs lots of work, especially in the dog run where it is mostly mowed weeds and very hard walking.
Jul 09, 2013
It was easy to get to and close to the water park. The staff was excellent, they were very friendly and helped us with anything we needed. I can't say enough about the staff and campground. Very, very happy and we will stay there again when we are in the area.
Jul 09, 2013
We realy liked it, the only thing that we did'nt like is the shower water was too hot. Besides that everything was pretty good.
Jul 09, 2013
New campground. VERY dusty. This will be a fantastic place in about 10 years. Need to water grass and trees. Was very disappointed with no escort to our camping location as this is a very large campground.
Jul 09, 2013
Very dissapointed in the showers. For the price of a cheap hotel I would expect a real shower head. I also think it may be beneficial to have the gravel sprayed when it is so dry. Otherwise, we had a great time.
Jul 09, 2013
We really enjoyed our stay at Waterloo. This was our first time camping at a KOA and were impressed. I understand this is a new facility but if we could recommend anything it would be that something needs to be done about the traffic near the tent sites...always too fast and causing terrible dust clouds that covered everything and everyone. Also, more LEVEL tent sites would be nice.
Jul 08, 2013
A new campground still under construction. Great personnel. Enjoyed the beach and paddle boats. A great location close to many activities in the Cedar Valley and easy to get to just off the interstate.
Jul 08, 2013
Loved the campground, did not like being right in front of the playground.
Jul 08, 2013
Great new campground only issue is all the dirt from the dirt roads.
Jul 08, 2013
Jul 07, 2013
We had a great time w/friends on the 4th of July week. The bathrooms were clean, store was nice & weather was great. Changes I'd make are cabin check-in @ 12 & checkout @ 10, garbage cans on beach, park, island so people don't throw trash all over. Our site was pretty messy when we showed up & definately more beach chairs on beach because we ended up hauling our own down there which was a pain.
Jul 07, 2013
great had a fun time very clean and new Its like a job to take a shower though.
Jul 07, 2013
Jul 07, 2013
Extremely friendly staff. Great stay!
Jul 07, 2013
Love the cabins; new campground, so missed mature trees. We will be back next year.
Jul 07, 2013
Maybe need to offer discount tickets to the water park or mention in your ad that KOA is separate from the park or at least the hours of the park. We arrived at 3 and the park closes at 5.
Jul 06, 2013
Jul 05, 2013
Very unique and new site! We really liked the track around the pond - good idea! Problems we encountered were it is not easily seen to find, thin TP, we didn't know why picnic tables are placed in the site's driveways?, shower door doesn't close with wall-seat down. Good luck with new site, it's good to see KOA expanding!
Jul 05, 2013
everything about this KOA was great - very disappointed that you could not supply bath soap. Luckily I had some. Also, no dish soap, and you wanted us to wash dishes? How sanitary was that? Stripping my bed seemed a bit over the top, we paid a nice amount to stay. Housekeeping could do their job.
Jul 04, 2013
Nokids activities, nightly stuff, pancake b'fast on Sun or other events. Cabin very nice but no place to wash dishes unless the large hall with sink???? Other KOA's set up much better.
Jul 04, 2013
The spot we had reserved had no grass and was just a patio surrounded by mud. Luckily we were able to move another site. The freebie golf course hadn't been mowed for several weeks so was unusable. The showers didn't allow you to adjust the temp. so we weren't able to shower our kids as the water was just too hot and too much pressure. Won't spend the money to stay again.
Jul 02, 2013
While the campground has some great qualities (playground, lake, bathrooms, laundry, close to waterpark & shopping)they are very new. There was some confusion when requested to be next to friends; other long-term campers who were assigned to another site took it upon themselves to move into our site and we were unable to be next to our friends.
Jul 02, 2013
Electric hook ups were in the front - our cord came out the back - the sewer connection was in the back - our sewer came out the front - the site was almost too small for our camper.. The convenience store was great!!
Jul 02, 2013
It's hard to get clean if the shore is not clean. I realize that you had a lot of rain, but there was dried mud on the men's room floor whe I cme in and there still was dirt on the floor when I left. While I was showering someone came in to mop up - with a dirty mop! Secondly, the showerhead really isn't a showerhead. It shoots out a solid stream quite like an inch and a half fire hose
Jul 01, 2013
Jul 01, 2013
The facilities and Staff are top notch. Even though I live here in Waterloo, staying for the weekend was still a great get a way with all the amenities available either inside or close to the Kampground.
Jul 01, 2013
We tent camped on site 3 and didnt like the lack of space to put our tent because it was hilly,rocky and rutted out from the rain. The bathrooms and rest of camp ground was in good condition though.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.