Waterloo / Lost Island Waterpark KOA

4550 Hess Rd

Waterloo, IA 50701

Reserve: 800-562-2483

Info: 319-233-3485

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Jul 08, 2013
Great new campground only issue is all the dirt from the dirt roads.
Jul 08, 2013
Jul 07, 2013
We had a great time w/friends on the 4th of July week. The bathrooms were clean, store was nice & weather was great. Changes I'd make are cabin check-in @ 12 & checkout @ 10, garbage cans on beach, park, island so people don't throw trash all over. Our site was pretty messy when we showed up & definately more beach chairs on beach because we ended up hauling our own down there which was a pain.
Jul 07, 2013
great had a fun time very clean and new Its like a job to take a shower though.
Jul 07, 2013
Jul 07, 2013
Extremely friendly staff. Great stay!
Jul 07, 2013
Love the cabins; new campground, so missed mature trees. We will be back next year.
Jul 07, 2013
Maybe need to offer discount tickets to the water park or mention in your ad that KOA is separate from the park or at least the hours of the park. We arrived at 3 and the park closes at 5.
Jul 06, 2013
Jul 05, 2013
Very unique and new site! We really liked the track around the pond - good idea! Problems we encountered were it is not easily seen to find, thin TP, we didn't know why picnic tables are placed in the site's driveways?, shower door doesn't close with wall-seat down. Good luck with new site, it's good to see KOA expanding!
Jul 05, 2013
everything about this KOA was great - very disappointed that you could not supply bath soap. Luckily I had some. Also, no dish soap, and you wanted us to wash dishes? How sanitary was that? Stripping my bed seemed a bit over the top, we paid a nice amount to stay. Housekeeping could do their job.
Jul 04, 2013
Nokids activities, nightly stuff, pancake b'fast on Sun or other events. Cabin very nice but no place to wash dishes unless the large hall with sink???? Other KOA's set up much better.
Jul 04, 2013
The spot we had reserved had no grass and was just a patio surrounded by mud. Luckily we were able to move another site. The freebie golf course hadn't been mowed for several weeks so was unusable. The showers didn't allow you to adjust the temp. so we weren't able to shower our kids as the water was just too hot and too much pressure. Won't spend the money to stay again.
Jul 02, 2013
While the campground has some great qualities (playground, lake, bathrooms, laundry, close to waterpark & shopping)they are very new. There was some confusion when requested to be next to friends; other long-term campers who were assigned to another site took it upon themselves to move into our site and we were unable to be next to our friends.
Jul 02, 2013
Electric hook ups were in the front - our cord came out the back - the sewer connection was in the back - our sewer came out the front - the site was almost too small for our camper.. The convenience store was great!!
Jul 02, 2013
It's hard to get clean if the shore is not clean. I realize that you had a lot of rain, but there was dried mud on the men's room floor whe I cme in and there still was dirt on the floor when I left. While I was showering someone came in to mop up - with a dirty mop! Secondly, the showerhead really isn't a showerhead. It shoots out a solid stream quite like an inch and a half fire hose
Jul 01, 2013
Jul 01, 2013
The facilities and Staff are top notch. Even though I live here in Waterloo, staying for the weekend was still a great get a way with all the amenities available either inside or close to the Kampground.
Jul 01, 2013
We tent camped on site 3 and didnt like the lack of space to put our tent because it was hilly,rocky and rutted out from the rain. The bathrooms and rest of camp ground was in good condition though.
Jul 01, 2013
Store was out of staples like bread. Need to seed the grass extensively as many bare spots. Need to put change machines in laundry rooms. Need sign in laundry room advising time for wash and dryer cycles. Beach area was nice. Should also have a heated pool on site as well.
Jul 01, 2013
Only downfall was the noise of the highway in the middle of the night. Other wise it was great!
Jul 01, 2013
We had a magical weekend @ the Waterloo KOA and plan on staying there as often as possible. Staff was friendly and helpful. Facilities were all very clean and operating well. Great showers and restrooms... Ben took great care of us. My girlfriend and kids were all very happy, too. A great location, near water park and mall, and places to eat. Thank You & keep up the good work...
Jul 01, 2013
Jun 30, 2013
Jun 30, 2013
Jun 30, 2013
Jun 29, 2013
poor custmer service, no help finding a site, no picnic table,and felt prices in store wrer too hih eg.$8.15 for propane botlle
Jun 27, 2013
Sewage location on most lots is in rear corner. Most trailers, MH and 5th wheels can't park unless they have extra hose. Too new, rain turned soil to black mud. Will be nice next year.
Jun 26, 2013
Jun 25, 2013
Attending Grand Opening weekend in Waterloo, IA.
Jun 24, 2013
The beach and swimming area was large and very nice. The general store and gas station were also very convenient. The downside is that the grass is very thin and has not matured. There are very few trees, and the worse part is the sites turn to mud when it rains. They really could improve the camping by adding a couple of inches of gravel to the sites.
Jun 24, 2013
Jun 24, 2013
Feel like 4 out of 5 is a fair rating for this new location as the landscaping wasn't established yet...assuming they're planning on improving the landscaping.
Jun 24, 2013
Awesome staff, very polite. Wonderful facilities. Only disappointment was that we couldn't get the wireless Internet to work or even find the signal. Also wish the roads were paved in the campground.
Jun 24, 2013
It was a very fun and relaxing weekend. The help is so friendly and everything is very clean. Thank you!
Jun 23, 2013
This is going to be a great camp ground when they are finished, but it was very dusty, trucks were deliverying sand every 15 minutes all day. The staff was great and did everything they could. Thanks.
Jun 23, 2013
This a very nice KOA, clean, friendly. Nice having the gas station and store. I one complaint that is the price per night is way to high. If we did not have to be in Cedar Falls-Waterloo area we would not have stayed there.
Jun 23, 2013
This place needs a bit of work. It is very new and looks like it will be better in the future. I would stay here again.
Jun 23, 2013
New facility. Will be much better after some break-in time. My site, the sewer connection was not convienent for a standard hose. Roads were dry and very dusty on arrival and very muddy after rain. Time will make it better.
Jun 23, 2013
The campground was very clean and nice. The bathrooms and showers were cleaned daily. The beach was very child friendly with a large shallow area for children that can't swim to play in.The close proximity of the Lost Island Waterpark and stores was very convenient. The only bad thing was that the campground just opened so there wasn't any mature shade trees to get out of the sun.
Jun 20, 2013
very good time some people dont respect public rest rooms
Jun 20, 2013
First off there tent camping sites are horrible the first site we were assingned to was a little steep grassy hill smaller than my car the other sites better have an air mattress to sleep on cuz there is deep ridges in ground from heavy equipment tires. Our site did not have a picnic table or fire ring. Showerhouse the water blasts out freezing cold water then turns to scolding hot water.
Jun 20, 2013
This KOA, when finished, will be among the best, no doubt At this time it was still under construction and unbelievably dusty and then it rained, ... mud everywhere. They opened too soon. The store and staff were very nice and well above average.
Jun 20, 2013
Jun 19, 2013
We had a great time at the camp ground. The weekend we went it was opening weekend so they had a great fire works display. The only issue we had is that it wasn't fully completed yet so the grass was only half grown in, so when it rained it was a muddy mess. Also for the cost per night to stay there I feel all the extras you can do should be at no extra charge. Other then that the staff was great.
Jun 19, 2013
The staff is friendly, helpful, knowledgeable and just great. We took shelter in the store during a tornado warning and they were super even during that tense time. Spaces are super well arranged. Clean park. When in central Iowa we will always stay there!
Jun 19, 2013
I had a wonderful time at Bamboo Ridge. The staff were enthusiastic and very accomodating.
Jun 19, 2013
Grand opening weekend. Fireworks were awesome and the kids loved the beach. Recommend and will be back.
Jun 19, 2013
newly open ...grounds are VERY rough to really be a GREAT park u need to have Concrete or black top roads and/or pads
Jun 19, 2013
We enjoyed the nice new facility. Watched activities on pond. The location near shopping center makes it nice.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.