Waterloo / Lost Island Waterpark KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 800-562-2483

Info: 319-233-3485

Email

4550 Hess Rd

Waterloo, IA 50701

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Jul 05, 2017
Great clean campground! Full grounds but very quiet during a holiday weekend. Fun activities for the kids (loved the slip-n-slide). Owner/staff did a great job patrolling and silencing any fireworks since not allowed on the property! Will be back!
Jul 05, 2017
very nice place
Jul 05, 2017
Everything was great.
Jul 05, 2017
Nice clean campground. Friendly staff. Lots of activities and amenities. Across the road from Lost Island Water Park.
Jul 05, 2017
The campground was great! I did encounter a woman who answered the phone when I called to ask a question about a late arrival and she was very rude. The rest of the staff were great!
Jul 04, 2017
We had a great time! This campground was super clean and the staff was very nice and laid back. We are planning to come back next year!
Jul 04, 2017
Lake had funny(not haha) color. Also lake was dirty full of Algeae. Had lots of games and activities for kids. Great fireworks. Campsite not level. Some of staff during day was not real friendly staff in evening was good. Area was clean. Nice looking cabins, very colorful Store was well stocked and clean bathrooms were clean would not eat fish in lake if any there. Over all nice camp ground
Jul 04, 2017
Great stay, all the staff were very nice, had extra activities planned for the kids each day, good fishing, clean beach, thanks we will be back for sure!
Jul 03, 2017
We stayed at a cabin on the sand/beach and really enjoyed it. My entire family had a great time and we rented several water items to use on the pond. We really appreciated that each cabin has a fire pit and grill to use. Thank you for a fun experience!
Jul 03, 2017
It was great and many activities for the kids!
Jul 02, 2017
Very accommodating. Friendly and helpful staff. A lot for my kids to do. We will be back for sure.
Jul 02, 2017
We were only there overnight. The check-in was friendly and courteous. The sight was more than sufficient. My only complaint is that there needs to be another KOA between Waterloo and the Minnesota border Interstate 35.
Jul 01, 2017
Very nicely done. Great space between vehicles, informed and happy staff and the amenities are wonderful.
Jul 01, 2017
we are new to the camping world. But it was great. Lots of space and easily accessible.We will come back. Thank you..
Jul 01, 2017
Clean and nice. It's has a resort kind of feel with a nice beach. No trees and not at all a campy feel. We had a wicked storm our night there and rewarded with two full double rainbows. The people were very friendly and campers quiet. Over all nice.
Jun 30, 2017
Staff was very pleasant and accommodating. We arrived earlier than we expected to but our cabin was ready and they let us checkin early. Cabin and the whole campground was very nice. Clean and well maintained. Wonderful place to stay.
Jun 30, 2017
Men's bathroom was not cleaned the two days we were there. Other than that very nice campground.
Jun 30, 2017
Very well kept and nice amenities...the office staff was great! Excellent place to have people come visit.
Jun 29, 2017
We stayed for a week and during the week day we had to listen to grinding all afternoon which got very annoying. The so called beach was so full of algae that the kids didn't swim at all in it nor did the adults. If that is the case for a swimming area I would advise to get a swimming pool. The campground was not what we hoped for.
Jun 29, 2017
Jun 28, 2017
The campground was very clean and we were really excited when we arrived. We ended up packing up the tent and going home for the night because it was really windy. At first we thought it was just bad luck, but other guests that had been there for several weeks said it is always windy because of its location on a hill with no trees to block the wind.
Jun 27, 2017
Fine but site 62 needs some work on sewer hookup.I had 3 hoses when parked at the patio spot and could not reach dump
Jun 27, 2017
Jun 27, 2017
Stay was great, nice facility and store. Was great having its own gas (diesel) station. Beautiful lake. Would have liked to be closer to dog park but was not a real issue as we just chose to walk perimeter of lake, really enjoyed.
Jun 27, 2017
greatest staff ever
Jun 27, 2017
Nice store, clean bathrooms, good time
Jun 27, 2017
It was my understanding that KOA had crafts and different events available for kids. There was nothing offered for kids the weekend of our stay. While the kids did enjoy rhe playground we could have spent less at another campground that had a playground.
Jun 27, 2017
I really like this campground, but the cost is prohibitive for me to stay there again.
Jun 26, 2017
Loved campsite 46 best views. Only complaint is long walk to water park with small kids, Shuttle service only on weekends. You should get a few golf carts to rent out. Will be back forsure.
Jun 26, 2017
Very nice and unique campground. Liked the tropical theme. Staff was pleasant and helpful. Campsite was spacious and nice. Store well stocked. Restrooms were clean. I would come again.
Jun 25, 2017
Friendly, helpful staff, clean RV park. A variety of things to do, only suggestion would be addition of basketball hoops.
Jun 25, 2017
This was our second stop on our first trip. It was an amazing campground with so much to do! Our kids will remember this for the rest of their lives
Jun 25, 2017
Jun 25, 2017
Very friendly staff. Nice facilities, clean laundry rooms and beautiful surroundings. Our only concern was the amount of trash piled around the dumpster and recycle bin. Other than that it was a great place and we look forward to staying with you again.
Jun 24, 2017
Overall is was good. The water smelled horrible and finally someone came and fixed it after we complained twice and offered to move. We wanted to rent the banana bikes but were told there wasn't enough staff. Great location for the waterpark
Jun 24, 2017
Thank you for allowing us to reserve a specific spot. We had several kids staying with us and it was great being located next to the playground and shower house!
Jun 21, 2017
Great place! Very clean!
Jun 21, 2017
Jun 21, 2017
We were coming back from a week of vacation in Wisconsin and decided to swing through Waterloo to see my dad. I had never been to the KOA campground before but it will not be the last time. I was impressed with the assistance we received checking in and the campground itself was amazing. We will be sure to camp here again.
Jun 20, 2017
great personal.great kid campground
Jun 20, 2017
Jun 20, 2017
The only thing missing was a swimming pool. We loved the fact that each spot was generous in size. It was nice to have the grass space.
Jun 20, 2017
I thought the campground was pretty nice. There was a lot of bugs and moss in the lake. Also some of the workers weren't the nicest. Overall it was alright. Not sure if I'll go again since I just didn't feel welcome during activities.
Jun 20, 2017
Campgrounds very nice as was the staff
Jun 20, 2017
Great place to go and visit. There were plenty of things for the kids to do with activities and swmimming/beach area that everyone had fun. Clean bathrooms and sites were good sizes. Only thing that was missing was big trees. All trees were small and didn't have much shade. Overall a good place to visit.
Jun 20, 2017
We found no road signs to lead us to this KOA.Also beautiful large KOA however you should have someone escort you to your site.
Jun 19, 2017
Jun 19, 2017
This was a wonderful experience. The cabins was great. I wish the boat rental was open on Wednesday though.
Jun 16, 2017
Beautiful KOA! Clean, cabins are beautiful, right on a little lake and across the street from a wonderful water park! Definitely a gem for those traveling through or who are looking for a relaxing getaway.
Jun 16, 2017
absolutely wonderful ...the cleaning ladies were above and beyond
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy