Waterloo / Lost Island Waterpark KOA

4550 Hess Rd

Waterloo, IA 50701

Reserve: 800-562-2483

Info: 319-233-3485

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Aug 05, 2013
Again - an awesome time - Mr. Ben S. knew us when we walked in the door - great time at Irishfest in downtown Waterloo. Oh, by the way Ben, we did go to the Isle for a short time and I won a little $$$$ - we will be back!!!
Aug 05, 2013
Great store with good selection. Decent sites. Clean bathrooms. Nice amenities. A bit on the "open" side... wish the sites were a bit more private.
Aug 05, 2013
Aug 04, 2013
We enjoyed our stay at the Waterloo KOA. The park is brand new and is still in development. With that in mind, there is not much shade yet as the trees are still young. The playground, shelter house, and other accommodations were nice and well planned out. The staff was very friendly and approachable. Part of our group stayed in the 4 person cabins which were very nice. We used our camper.
Aug 04, 2013
Aug 04, 2013
Aug 02, 2013
We took our grandson and stayed in a cabin. Very nice. Will do it again. The campground was very kid friendly.
Aug 02, 2013
We loved it the nicest cabins ever
Aug 01, 2013
We stayed in cabin 4 and absolutly loved our stay and view. The staff was very polite as well. Thank you so much!
Aug 01, 2013
Loved the cabins. Very friendly & helpful staff. Clean campground.
Aug 01, 2013
When you have shade it will be super. We also liked the fact my family members could visit us and enjoy the visit with no extra charges. If this remains the same, we will be back many more times
Aug 01, 2013
This campground has great potential. We understand this is it's first year open, so we will cut it some slack for this. The camp spaces are spacious. The bathrooms are very clean. We loved how close it was to town, the waterpark,and the casino. The only bad part was the construction machinery that started at 7-7:30 am each morning. We'll be back after it is construction is complete.
Jul 31, 2013
We had a wonderful time! Beautiful grounds and cabins, very clean!!! Will definitely stay again. Management was awesome to work with. Best campgrounds we have ever stayed at!!!
Jul 31, 2013
Jul 31, 2013
Jul 31, 2013
Jul 30, 2013
It clean but very small tent sights to close together could hear the other people next to us and flashlights shining input tent...I liked how close to the water park it was.
Jul 30, 2013
Nice campground.
Jul 30, 2013
Jul 30, 2013
Great people. Great Facilities. Always clean and well maintained. Love it there
Jul 29, 2013
Very pretty park. Younger staff have yet to learn that campers are their bread and butter, not seeing how fast they can drive around in ATVs. While pulling into spot (being lead by one staff) another kid crossed right in front because he wanted to talk with his friend. Got the ATV stuck between sewage cap and elec. box. Would return.
Jul 29, 2013
We had a great experience. The staff was very friendly and accommodated any need we had.
Jul 29, 2013
The asst. manager Ben was very friendly, he told me if I needed anything to call him, well I did, my battery went dead and he brought me the tools I needed to replace it and directed me to the auto parts store. Only took an hour of my morning to replace it. Thank you
Jul 29, 2013
Jul 29, 2013
This KOA is still a work in progress. The new grass and trees will need a year or two to take hold and get thick. Sites are well spaced and level and utilities are solid. WIFI worked well until mid-evening, when it just stopped. The owner has invested heavily in this park and it shows. This is a nice park that will soon be great.
Jul 29, 2013
Peaceful, clean, Family oriented, great beach, awsome bathrooms.
Jul 29, 2013
It is a perfect place for a large family vacation. something for every age. treated very well by the staff.
Jul 28, 2013
Very friendly and accommodating! Employees go above and beyond to make your stay enjoyable. We will return in the future. Cabins are nice but i would have liked it if they had a stove top and oven. Roxanne
Jul 28, 2013
The campground was very clean and well kept. The site was spacious and located near the necessary facilities. Thanks for a great stay!
Jul 27, 2013
We loved everything about our stay We ended up having a terrible storm and with 2 small childern decided it was best to leave went back up next day to pack up was shocked they refunded our money for the one night we were not staying, that sealed the deal for me for camping at KOA the only down side is the tent site we were at was hilly and very runty those sites really need to be more level
Jul 26, 2013
WOW! HUGE sites, plenty of room between sites in this giant campground. Only problem as others have mentioned is there is no shade whatsoever. Wish I could have stayed longer, we will be back to this KOA for a much longer stay!
Jul 26, 2013
For a start up, very good. Need better litter control, fry pans in smaller cabins would be a plus, firendly staff, Look forwqrd to continuous improvement in this place for next time I bring the grandkids here.
Jul 25, 2013
Lack of good grass resulted in a very dirty campsite. Dirt/gravel roads resulted in a "sandstorm" when the wind came up. Washouts among the campsite resulted in holes that could result in a twisted ankle. Sewer hook up was positioned too far back of the site making it unreachable with a standard sewer hose. Kids would not use the beach because fish were biting them.
Jul 24, 2013
We had a wonderful time - the perfect setting for a getaway with the grandchildren. The 8 person cabin was well equipped and comfortable.
Jul 24, 2013
Will definitely be 5 stars once the campground has developed! Only downside was that the trees have not matured yet. all the staff were fun, friendly and helpful!
Jul 23, 2013
Very friendly and helpful staff. Enjoyed our stay, the sites were level and clean.
Jul 23, 2013
great campground with lots to do for kids. would love to see some benches by the playground for parents to use. the beach was great for younger children. We had a great time!
Jul 23, 2013
Great new park. Will stay here again if in the area.
Jul 22, 2013
Jul 22, 2013
This was our first visit here. We were very pleased & had a wonderful time. DEFINATELY will be back! My only complaints are the miscommunication at the time I made my reservation. I wasn't told about a security deposit. I was told there were pots, pans, dishes, silverware, etc. & that all I had to bring was food & clothing. We had nothing to cook with in our cabin. Thank goodness for my grill!
Jul 22, 2013
Jul 22, 2013
This is a new campground & in the coming years it may turn out to be awesome. However, at this time our stay was less than stellar. The entire location is extremely dusty and dirty, with very little lush grassy areas. The camp store is a LONG way from most sites & even though we wanted to go shop there, we were not about to make the long hike there. Also, they do not escort you to your site.
Jul 22, 2013
The fish like to nibble during swimming..little to no shade..other than that it was great.
Jul 22, 2013
We stayed in numerous KOA's over the last 10-12 days and Waterloo's was BY FAR the BEST one - so many things right there for us - loved having fuel available!! And the help was so wonderful - Ben S was so pleasant - give him a slap on the back for being so accommodating!!!! We will be back for sure!!!
Jul 22, 2013
Will be a really nice place to stay when the trees grow, or there are more shade options. Very hot in Iowa in the summer. Seems to be a little high priced. Everyone was very nice and extremely helpful.
Jul 20, 2013
Jul 19, 2013
Everything was very nice and clean; however we are rating it lower because the shower facilities had no ventilation and was very hot (no air conditioning) so that you were hot & sweaty after your shower. :-(
Jul 19, 2013
The cabin was great! better than I ever expected:) The manager helped us build a fire to make smores the wood that was in the firepit was wet from the spinkler so he found some dry wood and made our fire for us:) Thankyou for the great time and winderful experience we will be back again foresure:)
Jul 19, 2013
This new KOA is impressive! I can't give it 5 stars due to lack of shade. In 20 years when the trees mature and offer shade, this place will be beautiful! Lots of amenities. Wish the bathhouse was air conditioned and the automatic temp in the showers almost gave me scalp burn...way too hot! The kids loved the beach and playground equipment!
Jul 18, 2013
If koa is part of the water park u should get better discounts. And watch who comes in the park just to swim withouthaving a place there! The one day iI was there the whole beach was taken over by dirt balls who were not staying there and my daughter wouldn't even go on the beach it sucked they thru trash on the ground in the sand etc!!!!!!!

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.