Waterloo / Lost Island Waterpark KOA

4550 Hess Rd

Waterloo, IA 50701

Reserve: 800-562-2483

Info: 319-233-3485

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Free Night May 10!

Book Now!

KOA Care Camps

Campground Reviews

Jun 13, 2013
Staying here is like being in a construction zone! The only reason that anyone would pay this much for these sites is because there are virtually no RV parks except for city parks in this part of Iowa. Dusty! Very badly manicured sites. Insufficient laundry facilities. Really pleasant, helpful staff was only good part!! Not up to KOA standards!!!!
Jun 13, 2013
Internet was the slowest of any KOA's that we stayed at this trip, it is a new place, showers just ok, can not adj hot water in shower all that way. RV Parking spot unlevel. Everything was clean it was new no one to guide you to parking spot and the lot was very confusing.
Jun 10, 2013
Staff at the check-in ROCK. Helpful and courteous. Great time had by all.
Jun 09, 2013
Jun 08, 2013
Even though its not finished yet, we had a wonderful stay!
Jun 08, 2013
Unfortunately, there had been several days of rain, and the campground is new. The sites were very wet and muddy...not the fault of the campground, but they will need some more gravel. Other than that, I think they have a bright future ahead of them.
Jun 06, 2013
Jun 05, 2013
As soon as they get trees and road improvement will be better. Know it had been raining alot. Better signs and map. But friendly staff and clean facilities!
Jun 04, 2013
patios are not where door opens unless you have a long sewer hook up hose. For a new campground that was not finished yet it was nice Rained the entire time and had trenches because grass was not established enough and we were at the bottom turned into a mud pit. Lake was not finished but think it will be nice. Convenient location by shopping, food and casino
Jun 03, 2013
Jun 02, 2013
This Campground was a great idea, seems real nice. My dog and I walked the entire campground and I was really impressed by the beach theme behind this park, the cottages, the beach area, etc. The only problem was the mud. I realized it has rained a lot but we stayed at other campgrounds across the Midwest the same week. Parts were muddy but at least we could walk in the grass and not get muddy
May 31, 2013
nice campground. the layout is good and its a little hilly which makes the landscape look nice.the cabins are very nice and cute. the lake is very big. has a great swimming beach and play ground. the assistant manager is very friendly and has great customer service skills. we will definately be back!!
May 29, 2013
Our stay would of been good but it rained the whole weekend and all the water ran through our campsite so we left on sunday instead of staying till mon.
May 29, 2013
This KOA has a huge amount of potential and has a great start as a young KOA. Lots of things need to be established, but the owners have done a great job at moving quickly. The cabins are wonderful and fully-featured, the staff is warm, friendly, and helpful, and you can just see all the things that are being done.
May 29, 2013
Being a new KOA my only comment is better roads that can withstand rain, otherwise the kampground and cabins are great, and the staff are more than accomodating to make sure your stay was the best it possibly could be. So I would rate this KOA GREAT.
May 28, 2013
New KOA. Never saw the staff driving around the area to see how things were going. No were to deposit dog poop in the pet area. The main drive way was full of pot holes and no attempt was made to put any gravel in them. Yes it was rainy but I felt that they were not interestee in the campers only staying in their wasrm office. They have a long way to go before this will be an enjoyable camp ground
May 28, 2013
May 28, 2013
Really not ready for operation as a typical KOA. In a couple of years it will be a great resort. Too expensive for overnight campers
May 28, 2013
I was put off by the fact that the pond was empty and pictures online showed a full pond and it is brand new?? Well anyway it rained all weekend so wasn't that enjoyable but not the campgrounds fault.
May 28, 2013
May 27, 2013
MUD. How can you not have a paved path to the showers and bathrooms??? Sure it rained, but, the place was opened too soon and there was construction happening before 8AM. What a mess. I can't believe that we were charged full price for something that was half done. BAD JOB OUT OF YOU.
May 26, 2013
the park needs to be far closer to completion to serve vistors, If it wasnt for the construction co help our outcome would have been far worst we were buried in mud they quickly had a buldozer pull us out we almost took out a tree but only had minor scratchs Harry Dowling
May 25, 2013
Not the same KOA hospitality we are used to and a big mud pit. Take plently of sewage hose with you and it runs up hill so be preapred to help your tanks drain. The staff was not interested in providing us escort to our site, nor did they seem to know which sites would acommodate our size rig. We had to figure it out. Not worth the premuim we paid to stay there
May 23, 2013
I was grateful that this KOA was open, at the end of a long day driving. It looks like it will be a great KOA when done. Friendly staff and construction personnel. Even tho not really ready for guests it was a welcome oasis.
May 21, 2013
They are adding many lovely cabins and improving the man-made lake and facilities so there is lots of construction right now, but the owners were wonderful at coming around to prepare everyone during the storms and tornado warning.
May 19, 2013
I always ask if the KOA I'm at was the 1st one I ever stayed at, would I try another. Not based on this one. As a new KOA why would you build stall showers? No one asks for that. No paper towels? No walkways to bathrms? Poorly aimed, single shot showers w/short shower curtains made for water everywhere in the dressing area. Construction? a longer complaint.
May 15, 2013
we had a wonderful mothers day weekend, the only bad thing was that there was no water, lake, it was being repaired and mother nature was not very nice that week-end it was sooo coild and windy but we had fun I've tried to book 2 more times but all full need more 6-8 ppl. cabins, thanks had a great time and the staff that week-end were great, fun, fun, fun,
May 15, 2013
What hoot to find the perfect stay, just when and where we needed it!
May 12, 2013
campground in terrible condition. Mud all over my RV. Pls refund my money.
May 08, 2013
New campground, needs to be finished, will be really nice when done.
May 06, 2013
May 04, 2013
Still a ways from being up to full speed.
May 01, 2013
This campground is NOT ready to be open for business: No open restroom or shower room, the entire lace is one big dirt/mud bog. It may be a great campground in the future, but not yet.
Apr 30, 2013
Nice, friendly staff at check-in. Only had nine positions available, but will be opening more after May 1st. Very nice facilities with frisbee golf (my kids loved that!). Once they fill the lake, I think it will be even more enjoyable! Overall very nice - will be back again!
Apr 20, 2013
The hosts were so friendly and helpful. It was a great place to stay on our way south and on our way north again.
Apr 10, 2013
The new cabins are really cute. I like the supplied linen and towels. My cabin had issues with front door lock and the toilet running after flush. Sadly the big pond has a nasty smell. I know you will fix-it. Kindest regards
Apr 07, 2013
Can't wait to see the completion of the new park. Appreciate the year round facility
Apr 03, 2013
Outstanding guest service.
Apr 02, 2013
Mar 25, 2013
This brand new KOA is a mud hole . The roads were muddy, water didn't work, so we didn't stay. Management need a lot of help to get it improved to where it is ready for campers.
Mar 20, 2013
Cabin was great. Road was terrible. Soft and muddy- almost got stuck.
Mar 03, 2013
Note we were here right after foot of new snow during the first of March. The staff was very friendly and it looks like it might be a nice place, but could not tell because of the snow. There were no restroom other than the store which closed at 10.
Feb 19, 2013
The staff is friendly and very responsive to all requests! Cabins are clean & mostly comfortable. The beds are a little uncomfortable especially when staying multiple nights, but tolerable.
Jan 01, 2013
Dec 13, 2012
Everyone was nice and help with all of needs
Nov 21, 2012
Wonderful site with a lake and free coffee mugs with free refills in the morning. The nicest and most helpful guys who just opened this brand new KOA! We can't wait to return!
Nov 08, 2012
Wonderful place. Very clean and easy to get in and out of with big rig.
Nov 04, 2012
During our stay at this KOA Kampgrounds, My 91 year old mother passed away, and we had to extend our stay to bury her in her home town, Wateroo, Iowa, The staff we very nice at this very difficult time in our lives. Thank You, Bob & Cathi Schatz
Nov 04, 2012
We loved this campgrounds. full hookup, great people, things to do, can't wait till next summer and return.
Oct 18, 2012

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.