Waterloo / Lost Island Waterpark KOA

4550 Hess Rd

Waterloo, IA 50701

Reserve: 800-562-2483

Info: 319-233-3485

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Jun 14, 2014
Jun 12, 2014
Everyone was very nice
Jun 11, 2014
I realize that the campground is still a work in progress. Maybe you will consider the following: More trash receptacles with easier/closer access; post a sign at the playground,"NO FOOD OR DRINKS ON THE PLAYGROUND". We enjoyed our stay. Staff was terrific. Especially enjoyed Ben and Pam. We hope to see you next year.
Jun 11, 2014
Love the campground, very close to Lost World Waterpark and Casino. Nice kids playground. Very good resrooms, only thing was men's room not cleaned during my stay of 3 days. Need more trash containers so you don't have to walk so far. Need trash container on beach area.Lake is nice but the bottom is covered in weeds slimy to walk in.
Jun 10, 2014
Jun 08, 2014
We had fun at your koa. the cabin that we stayed in (18) needs some major cleaning. I spilled some water on the floor so when I wiped it up with the white towel the towel had black marks on it. Another thing that needs some cleaning are the blinds. The inside of the frig was dirty too...
Jun 07, 2014
Jun 06, 2014
The campground was very nice. We really like the walk around the lake. All staff was friendly. Thanks
Jun 05, 2014
Carl and his group make this place wonderful.
Jun 04, 2014
The kabins were nice but the 8 person unit was short on some kitchen gear which we thought should be automatic. There were only a few spoons and no knives or forks. Those who slept on the bunk-type beds would have liked to have top sheets. One small bottle of washing soap is not adequate for 2 people for one night.
Jun 04, 2014
New campground. Well laid out. Pleasant staff. Pretty open right now but once the trees grow, this will be a nice place to camp.
Jun 04, 2014
Expensive for a single overnight stay.
Jun 03, 2014
Everyone was so helpful in hosting our 24 GMC's for our spring rally. People from 7 states and everyone was so pleased. Thanks
Jun 03, 2014
Jun 03, 2014
Much better this year with the sealed roads. Now we just have to watch the trees grow.
Jun 02, 2014
Only I did not like was the shower head in showers. A really high pressure needle type spray was painful on your skin. No adjustment could be made to disperse it better.
Jun 02, 2014
Nice setup.nice of you to let us use the pavilion for morning coffee and visiting since there were so many of us wi the GMC club. Overall it was a good camping experience.thanks,
Jun 02, 2014
Great campground, awesome location!
May 30, 2014
Very nice new clean campground. Did not give it 5 full stars because with it being new I would expect that in the bathrooms they would not have the push button NO adjust water temp shower fixutres. That is what you get in State parks, not what I expect in KOAs, especially brand new KOA. I hate that I have to keep pushing that button every 30 seconds while trying to give kids showers.
May 29, 2014
May 29, 2014
The roads and camping sites are covered by a painfully thin layer of gravel over either tar or oil. In any case our child (over 5 but under 10) ended up with lots of the black stuff all over including their clothing. Despite the campground being less than 10% full, the public showers/toilets are still a concern
May 29, 2014
Nice campground, with plenty of things to do on site and nearby.
May 28, 2014
May 28, 2014
We loved the Campground!! The Staff Were all So friendly and Welcoming!! We also liked the Activies and hayride for the Kids. We will definitely be back!!
May 28, 2014
Our family had a wonderful weekend!! The staff was super friendly and accommodating with lots of free activities. We also enjoyed the amenities of fishing, kayaking, paddle boating, and swimming!! We will definetly be back!!!
May 28, 2014
There was little to complain about. 1) The restrooms were not cleaned daily from 12-1. (2) They ran out of firewood and the ice machine was on the fritz. It did not affect us much, but could have been a big problem at the height of vacation season. These were minor things and we would definitely stay there again and recommend it to others.
May 27, 2014
May 27, 2014
We rented the 6 person cabin and had a pull thru site. There was 10 of us(6 adults, 4 children). We had an awesome time!! The campground was extremely clean, staff very friendly. The weekend activities were great fun. We will be back!! There was not one negative. This camp will only get better with the maturing of the landscape. Thank you.
May 27, 2014
My family and I had a wonderful time. The amenities were awesome and the staff was great very friendly very clean!! I have a 13-year-old and an eight year old and both kids want to go back. We will be returning to this KOA
May 27, 2014
very clean, had activities for the weekend, grand kids loved it. Lost Island water park not open as yet, but very close to it, so we did go carts
May 27, 2014
Family liked it very much, plan on returning later this summer when water park is open
May 27, 2014
The showers were clean and well kept. The dog park was a plus. It was close to everything we needed. The view of the lake was very nice. We would definitely stay there again.
May 27, 2014
We were very happy with the property. Great amenities. Friends visited us and want to rent a place now as well. We would like to stay again but would request large garbage cans next to cabins, more then a bathroom sink, and the bugs were SOOOO bad at dusk, not sure what could be done about that?
May 27, 2014
Fresh tar. Lots of traffic in and out Sunday night and no protection from headlights to front camp sight. Loud music from cabin Sunday night. No mini golf. Frisbee golf and course not finished. No firewood.
May 27, 2014
May 22, 2014
This will be a great camp when the trees grow! The kids had a ball!
May 21, 2014
I have been here 2 times now and you literally have a gold mine here that is not being cared for. My hubby took a freezing cold shower before being told they forgot to put a sign on not to use. I used the other shower and it was cool. We rented a patio site and the area around the site was so washed out that we had to choose another site to level out the RV. Why no shuttle to Casino?
May 20, 2014
The park has huge potential - when it is completed
May 12, 2014
live in Waterloo Iowa, we LOVE the koa,Lost Island Waterpark, we stay there quite often,the cabins and the grounda are always clean, and this year there is table,chairs,and grills at the cabins so nice, we will be spending 4th of july there can't wait my grandkids that are twins 6yrs. old Love it out there too, great addition to Waterloo area.
May 12, 2014
We had a great time. My son caught 20 bluegills in 2 hours. For an 8 year old, that was an experience. Used the kayaks. We were surprised to learn the cabins had linens, microwave, fridge, bathroom. You can tell how much thought was put into designing those cabins. Everything had it's place.
May 12, 2014
One of the best KOA's we've been to and we've been to a lot. We also stay at KOA during our vacations and this one we will stay at whenever we visit our son in Waterloo.
May 12, 2014
May 12, 2014
The men's shower room was a bit dirty
May 12, 2014
This KOA needs to work on improving the grounds. The grass is growing in clumps, and if you don't pay attention you could trip. If the grounds were better maintained it would be a great campground. We love the fenced in dog area, and the lake is beautiful. Restrooms are clean.
May 12, 2014
It was a nice weekend. Showers could have warm water, Grass could be shorter for Frisbee golf, Dump stations run up hill so it is almost impossible to dump completely. Staff was great store seemed to be spot on with items you may have forgot. plenty to do, had a lot of fun.
May 10, 2014
This park will be amazing in a few years when the trees mature. The only thing that I did not like was the painful jet of water from the shower. Would not be able to take a small child into this shower. This needs to be changed. Also would like to be able to control the water temp.
May 06, 2014
need more trash receptacles
May 06, 2014
May 01, 2014
Apr 21, 2014
One of the best KOAs we've stayed at. It's new, but the grounds & staff are great

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.