Waterloo / Lost Island Waterpark KOA

4550 Hess Rd

Waterloo, IA 50701

Reserve: 800-562-2483

Info: 319-233-3485

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Jul 29, 2013
This KOA is still a work in progress. The new grass and trees will need a year or two to take hold and get thick. Sites are well spaced and level and utilities are solid. WIFI worked well until mid-evening, when it just stopped. The owner has invested heavily in this park and it shows. This is a nice park that will soon be great.
Jul 29, 2013
Peaceful, clean, Family oriented, great beach, awsome bathrooms.
Jul 29, 2013
It is a perfect place for a large family vacation. something for every age. treated very well by the staff.
Jul 28, 2013
Very friendly and accommodating! Employees go above and beyond to make your stay enjoyable. We will return in the future. Cabins are nice but i would have liked it if they had a stove top and oven. Roxanne
Jul 28, 2013
The campground was very clean and well kept. The site was spacious and located near the necessary facilities. Thanks for a great stay!
Jul 27, 2013
We loved everything about our stay We ended up having a terrible storm and with 2 small childern decided it was best to leave went back up next day to pack up was shocked they refunded our money for the one night we were not staying, that sealed the deal for me for camping at KOA the only down side is the tent site we were at was hilly and very runty those sites really need to be more level
Jul 26, 2013
WOW! HUGE sites, plenty of room between sites in this giant campground. Only problem as others have mentioned is there is no shade whatsoever. Wish I could have stayed longer, we will be back to this KOA for a much longer stay!
Jul 26, 2013
For a start up, very good. Need better litter control, fry pans in smaller cabins would be a plus, firendly staff, Look forwqrd to continuous improvement in this place for next time I bring the grandkids here.
Jul 25, 2013
Lack of good grass resulted in a very dirty campsite. Dirt/gravel roads resulted in a "sandstorm" when the wind came up. Washouts among the campsite resulted in holes that could result in a twisted ankle. Sewer hook up was positioned too far back of the site making it unreachable with a standard sewer hose. Kids would not use the beach because fish were biting them.
Jul 24, 2013
We had a wonderful time - the perfect setting for a getaway with the grandchildren. The 8 person cabin was well equipped and comfortable.
Jul 24, 2013
Will definitely be 5 stars once the campground has developed! Only downside was that the trees have not matured yet. all the staff were fun, friendly and helpful!
Jul 23, 2013
Very friendly and helpful staff. Enjoyed our stay, the sites were level and clean.
Jul 23, 2013
great campground with lots to do for kids. would love to see some benches by the playground for parents to use. the beach was great for younger children. We had a great time!
Jul 23, 2013
Great new park. Will stay here again if in the area.
Jul 22, 2013
Jul 22, 2013
This was our first visit here. We were very pleased & had a wonderful time. DEFINATELY will be back! My only complaints are the miscommunication at the time I made my reservation. I wasn't told about a security deposit. I was told there were pots, pans, dishes, silverware, etc. & that all I had to bring was food & clothing. We had nothing to cook with in our cabin. Thank goodness for my grill!
Jul 22, 2013
Jul 22, 2013
This is a new campground & in the coming years it may turn out to be awesome. However, at this time our stay was less than stellar. The entire location is extremely dusty and dirty, with very little lush grassy areas. The camp store is a LONG way from most sites & even though we wanted to go shop there, we were not about to make the long hike there. Also, they do not escort you to your site.
Jul 22, 2013
The fish like to nibble during swimming..little to no shade..other than that it was great.
Jul 22, 2013
We stayed in numerous KOA's over the last 10-12 days and Waterloo's was BY FAR the BEST one - so many things right there for us - loved having fuel available!! And the help was so wonderful - Ben S was so pleasant - give him a slap on the back for being so accommodating!!!! We will be back for sure!!!
Jul 22, 2013
Will be a really nice place to stay when the trees grow, or there are more shade options. Very hot in Iowa in the summer. Seems to be a little high priced. Everyone was very nice and extremely helpful.
Jul 20, 2013
Jul 19, 2013
Everything was very nice and clean; however we are rating it lower because the shower facilities had no ventilation and was very hot (no air conditioning) so that you were hot & sweaty after your shower. :-(
Jul 19, 2013
The cabin was great! better than I ever expected:) The manager helped us build a fire to make smores the wood that was in the firepit was wet from the spinkler so he found some dry wood and made our fire for us:) Thankyou for the great time and winderful experience we will be back again foresure:)
Jul 19, 2013
This new KOA is impressive! I can't give it 5 stars due to lack of shade. In 20 years when the trees mature and offer shade, this place will be beautiful! Lots of amenities. Wish the bathhouse was air conditioned and the automatic temp in the showers almost gave me scalp burn...way too hot! The kids loved the beach and playground equipment!
Jul 18, 2013
If koa is part of the water park u should get better discounts. And watch who comes in the park just to swim withouthaving a place there! The one day iI was there the whole beach was taken over by dirt balls who were not staying there and my daughter wouldn't even go on the beach it sucked they thru trash on the ground in the sand etc!!!!!!!
Jul 17, 2013
Site was easy in and out but because it was next to main entrance road it had a lot of traffic in and out at all hours.
Jul 17, 2013
New but a lot of potential. Workers very friendly and polite. Loved the beach and trail around the lake. Very young trees so little shade. Big hill covers most of the campground so biking for kids was interesting. One mediocre playground, another should be installed on top of the hill. Confusing layout with one-way and two-way roads. Some sites a little cramped.
Jul 16, 2013
Our kids LOVE this KOA! We want to meet our friends here next year and the year after to watch this new KOA grow.
Jul 16, 2013
It was wonderful. Very clean and friendly staff. Will definitely stay there again.
Jul 15, 2013
The beach was great for two small children. Tent campsites not the best quality, washed out and not flat. Beach had little trash here and there. New campground and I am sure it will be great in the future. I hope that the management keeps it clean and well kept. Clean shower house. Water temp was too hot at first, but cooled down.
Jul 15, 2013
I know this is a brand new KOA, but once the grass is fully established, and with the great staff you have, this could possibly be the best Kamp in the system. Thanks for a great weekend. The Carlsons
Jul 15, 2013
Cabins are wonderful! Very nice stay for family. Lake and beach were fantastic. Playground perfect for young children. Close to lots of shopping if you forget anything. Only issue was shower water temp was very difficult to manage. Minor issue so I have already recommended this campground to many people. Once trees grow with age it will be perfect.
Jul 15, 2013
Nice Place
Jul 15, 2013
We don't live near Iowa so we probably won't have a reason to return. We thought the campgrounds were clean and the store well equipped. Our biggest complaint is that there is not enough shade, but I understand this is a new KOA and future landscaping will probably be done. Also, more nearby direction signs would help. Thanks.
Jul 15, 2013
Staff was courteous and helpful. I think the camp was quite new. The campsite was quite barren. A lot of young trees the feel was not secluded.
Jul 15, 2013
Really enjoyed our stay... Even though we had rain in the afternoon of our arrival we enjoyed our stay at this new KOA. Great trail around the lake, and the $4 breakfast served by the staff was an unexpected treat. Issues due to being brand new were minor. We will be back.
Jul 15, 2013
We stayed in an 8-person cabin...had all the grandkids ranging in age from 3-14. Everyone had a blast. Beach was fantastic. Not yet fully equipped with kitchen utensils but we made due. Bath house was extremely clean. Playground equipment was awesome per the grandkids. Only suggestion would be to have a dvd player on one of the TV's. Kids wanted to stay up longer and watch a movie.
Jul 15, 2013
Jul 15, 2013
It will be great once trees mature for shade and grass really grows in.
Jul 14, 2013
This was our first time at a KOA and we had a wonderful time. The staff was very friendly and helpful!! The grounds and cabins were so clean and neat. We already told family/friends what a great experience it was. The kids want to come back next year!! Thank you for everything, we loved it!
Jul 13, 2013
The people at the campground were very helpful and very nice. There were problems with the site. The water pressure was very high. It was a pull-thru but the sewer was located way at the back of the space. I needed 3 sections of hose, plus it was hard to get a decent fall. Several of the sites had the utilities is strange locations.
Jul 13, 2013
Waterloo KOA overall was very good, we enjoyed the lake, beach, and trail. The sand volleyball and frisbee golf are very cool, our kids liked the free wi-fi. The campsite and restroom facilities were very clean. It is a beautiful and relaxing area. Our only complaint is that it is pricey, we can camp at state parks for $16.00 night. Would have stayed another night or two, if rates were lower.
Jul 12, 2013
This was a great place to stay. Everyone had a great time in and around the campground. We had friends staying in a hotel down the road who were all jealous when they saw where we were staying. Prices are reasonable.
Jul 12, 2013
I think the campground is great! Although I had a tent site that was absolutely horrible. There was great big holes and hardly any grass! I had to leave and buy air matresses because you couldn't just use a sleeping blanket as we planned. I also had my young children which my two year old fell constantly.
Jul 10, 2013
we stayed in a 4 person cabin, there was no kitchen sink to wash dishes in, also understand a very busy week end lots of campers the place was full for 4th of july would have been nice if there were some festivities, for that night,also not a big fan of dogs on the beach swimming in same area as people, the nicest beach ever for a camp ground, but had a lovely stay, all ready booking for next year
Jul 10, 2013
sites to close together in some areas. We were placed at the very back of the campgrounds when there were lots of open site closer to the front of the grounds
Jul 10, 2013
Nice, new campground. The staff was fantastic! No trees yet and the ground is really bumpy with crevices from groundwater runoff but we really enjoyed our stay there.
Jul 10, 2013
Very nice place...relaxing....some gold carts for local mobility will help...
Jul 09, 2013
Nice locations. Convenient to everything. Grass needs lots of work, especially in the dog run where it is mostly mowed weeds and very hard walking.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.