Waterloo / Lost Island Waterpark KOA

4550 Hess Rd

Waterloo, IA 50701

Reserve: 800-562-2483

Info: 319-233-3485

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Free Night May 10!

Book Now!

KOA Care Camps

Campground Reviews

Jul 04, 2013
The spot we had reserved had no grass and was just a patio surrounded by mud. Luckily we were able to move another site. The freebie golf course hadn't been mowed for several weeks so was unusable. The showers didn't allow you to adjust the temp. so we weren't able to shower our kids as the water was just too hot and too much pressure. Won't spend the money to stay again.
Jul 02, 2013
While the campground has some great qualities (playground, lake, bathrooms, laundry, close to waterpark & shopping)they are very new. There was some confusion when requested to be next to friends; other long-term campers who were assigned to another site took it upon themselves to move into our site and we were unable to be next to our friends.
Jul 02, 2013
Electric hook ups were in the front - our cord came out the back - the sewer connection was in the back - our sewer came out the front - the site was almost too small for our camper.. The convenience store was great!!
Jul 02, 2013
It's hard to get clean if the shore is not clean. I realize that you had a lot of rain, but there was dried mud on the men's room floor whe I cme in and there still was dirt on the floor when I left. While I was showering someone came in to mop up - with a dirty mop! Secondly, the showerhead really isn't a showerhead. It shoots out a solid stream quite like an inch and a half fire hose
Jul 01, 2013
Jul 01, 2013
The facilities and Staff are top notch. Even though I live here in Waterloo, staying for the weekend was still a great get a way with all the amenities available either inside or close to the Kampground.
Jul 01, 2013
We tent camped on site 3 and didnt like the lack of space to put our tent because it was hilly,rocky and rutted out from the rain. The bathrooms and rest of camp ground was in good condition though.
Jul 01, 2013
Store was out of staples like bread. Need to seed the grass extensively as many bare spots. Need to put change machines in laundry rooms. Need sign in laundry room advising time for wash and dryer cycles. Beach area was nice. Should also have a heated pool on site as well.
Jul 01, 2013
Only downfall was the noise of the highway in the middle of the night. Other wise it was great!
Jul 01, 2013
We had a magical weekend @ the Waterloo KOA and plan on staying there as often as possible. Staff was friendly and helpful. Facilities were all very clean and operating well. Great showers and restrooms... Ben took great care of us. My girlfriend and kids were all very happy, too. A great location, near water park and mall, and places to eat. Thank You & keep up the good work...
Jul 01, 2013
Jun 30, 2013
Jun 30, 2013
Jun 30, 2013
Jun 29, 2013
poor custmer service, no help finding a site, no picnic table,and felt prices in store wrer too hih eg.$8.15 for propane botlle
Jun 27, 2013
Sewage location on most lots is in rear corner. Most trailers, MH and 5th wheels can't park unless they have extra hose. Too new, rain turned soil to black mud. Will be nice next year.
Jun 26, 2013
Jun 25, 2013
Attending Grand Opening weekend in Waterloo, IA.
Jun 24, 2013
The beach and swimming area was large and very nice. The general store and gas station were also very convenient. The downside is that the grass is very thin and has not matured. There are very few trees, and the worse part is the sites turn to mud when it rains. They really could improve the camping by adding a couple of inches of gravel to the sites.
Jun 24, 2013
Jun 24, 2013
Feel like 4 out of 5 is a fair rating for this new location as the landscaping wasn't established yet...assuming they're planning on improving the landscaping.
Jun 24, 2013
Awesome staff, very polite. Wonderful facilities. Only disappointment was that we couldn't get the wireless Internet to work or even find the signal. Also wish the roads were paved in the campground.
Jun 24, 2013
It was a very fun and relaxing weekend. The help is so friendly and everything is very clean. Thank you!
Jun 23, 2013
This is going to be a great camp ground when they are finished, but it was very dusty, trucks were deliverying sand every 15 minutes all day. The staff was great and did everything they could. Thanks.
Jun 23, 2013
This a very nice KOA, clean, friendly. Nice having the gas station and store. I one complaint that is the price per night is way to high. If we did not have to be in Cedar Falls-Waterloo area we would not have stayed there.
Jun 23, 2013
This place needs a bit of work. It is very new and looks like it will be better in the future. I would stay here again.
Jun 23, 2013
New facility. Will be much better after some break-in time. My site, the sewer connection was not convienent for a standard hose. Roads were dry and very dusty on arrival and very muddy after rain. Time will make it better.
Jun 23, 2013
The campground was very clean and nice. The bathrooms and showers were cleaned daily. The beach was very child friendly with a large shallow area for children that can't swim to play in.The close proximity of the Lost Island Waterpark and stores was very convenient. The only bad thing was that the campground just opened so there wasn't any mature shade trees to get out of the sun.
Jun 20, 2013
very good time some people dont respect public rest rooms
Jun 20, 2013
First off there tent camping sites are horrible the first site we were assingned to was a little steep grassy hill smaller than my car the other sites better have an air mattress to sleep on cuz there is deep ridges in ground from heavy equipment tires. Our site did not have a picnic table or fire ring. Showerhouse the water blasts out freezing cold water then turns to scolding hot water.
Jun 20, 2013
This KOA, when finished, will be among the best, no doubt At this time it was still under construction and unbelievably dusty and then it rained, ... mud everywhere. They opened too soon. The store and staff were very nice and well above average.
Jun 20, 2013
Jun 19, 2013
We had a great time at the camp ground. The weekend we went it was opening weekend so they had a great fire works display. The only issue we had is that it wasn't fully completed yet so the grass was only half grown in, so when it rained it was a muddy mess. Also for the cost per night to stay there I feel all the extras you can do should be at no extra charge. Other then that the staff was great.
Jun 19, 2013
The staff is friendly, helpful, knowledgeable and just great. We took shelter in the store during a tornado warning and they were super even during that tense time. Spaces are super well arranged. Clean park. When in central Iowa we will always stay there!
Jun 19, 2013
I had a wonderful time at Bamboo Ridge. The staff were enthusiastic and very accomodating.
Jun 19, 2013
Grand opening weekend. Fireworks were awesome and the kids loved the beach. Recommend and will be back.
Jun 19, 2013
newly open ...grounds are VERY rough to really be a GREAT park u need to have Concrete or black top roads and/or pads
Jun 19, 2013
We enjoyed the nice new facility. Watched activities on pond. The location near shopping center makes it nice.
Jun 18, 2013
Campsites were not level, beach was not finished. Most of the ammenities advertised were not available. Staff at KOA was not able to answer questions about Lost Island. Constant truck and construction equipment traffic. Perhaps they should wait until the campground is complete to open.
Jun 18, 2013
Nice "starter" camPground in its infancy. Will be nice when some trees mature. Cute cabins. Roads need to be paved. (will be dusty when weather dries out). Friendly staff. I have already sung your praises to fellow employees!
Jun 18, 2013
Finish up construction, fix the rain run offs in some of the campsites and get some more grass growing and this will be a beautiful campground. The beach was our favorite part!
Jun 18, 2013
Jun 18, 2013
Will be much nicer when the grass gets established.
Jun 17, 2013
Jun 17, 2013
Great campground for opening year...grass/trees will fill in more over time leading to 5 stars in the future. Waterpark is excellent... many things done right/better than the Dells.
Jun 17, 2013
Jun 17, 2013
We enjoyed the campground a lot, ut we thought it wasn't cool that some spots did not have a picnic table or a firepit on them & they still had people on those sites. Some of the tent sites were not level either. But overall OUR stay was great! :)
Jun 16, 2013
This is a large site with some potential. The staff are very friendly and helpful. But we were not made aware when making the reservation that this was still a site under construction. There was construction going on from dawn to dusk, which raised a lot of dust. So, we were unable to enjoy the outdoor space and had to stay in with our windows closed to avoid the raised dust.
Jun 16, 2013
Me and group of guys stayed here for one month couldn't have had a nicer bunch of folks working there had a great time staying would highly recommend this place
Jun 15, 2013

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.