Waterloo / Lost Island Waterpark KOA

4550 Hess Rd

Waterloo, IA 50701

Reserve: 800-562-2483

Info: 319-233-3485

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Jul 02, 2014
Jul 02, 2014
We loved how much space we had from each campsite and how well cleaned the beach area was. The playground was great for little kids. Thanks for the discount coupons for the waterpark. We are planning on coming next year and possibly staying in a cabin.
Jul 02, 2014
Cabins were way awesome!! Staff was great!! Will do again!
Jul 02, 2014
Great campground! Lots of fun stuff for families, including those with dogs (they have a dog park with obstacle course - BONUS)
Jul 02, 2014
Other than the B52 bomber mosquitoes, the park and the stay was awesome. Would be perfect for a family; beach area, paddle boats, frisbie golf, and much more. Right across the road from water park for kids and casino for adults.
Jul 02, 2014
Jul 02, 2014
We booked our stay at the very last minute and there were no regrets! We had a wonderful and relaxing stay at this clean and respectful site. We look forward to many returns!
Jul 02, 2014
We had a great time, everyone was friendly and helpful, and everything was very clean--thanks again!!!
Jul 02, 2014
Very accommodating Very accommodating. Had some problems with our plumbing in our camper and staff were very helpful. Grounds super clean.
Jul 02, 2014
Best KOA I have ever stayed at. I have stayed at many across the country and this one shines.
Jul 02, 2014
Jul 01, 2014
Loved that there was diesel gas available there and the convenience store was open 6am to 10pm. Nice grounds and super friendly staff!
Jun 25, 2014
Jun 23, 2014
Jun 14, 2014
Jun 12, 2014
Everyone was very nice
Jun 11, 2014
I realize that the campground is still a work in progress. Maybe you will consider the following: More trash receptacles with easier/closer access; post a sign at the playground,"NO FOOD OR DRINKS ON THE PLAYGROUND". We enjoyed our stay. Staff was terrific. Especially enjoyed Ben and Pam. We hope to see you next year.
Jun 11, 2014
Love the campground, very close to Lost World Waterpark and Casino. Nice kids playground. Very good resrooms, only thing was men's room not cleaned during my stay of 3 days. Need more trash containers so you don't have to walk so far. Need trash container on beach area.Lake is nice but the bottom is covered in weeds slimy to walk in.
Jun 10, 2014
Jun 08, 2014
We had fun at your koa. the cabin that we stayed in (18) needs some major cleaning. I spilled some water on the floor so when I wiped it up with the white towel the towel had black marks on it. Another thing that needs some cleaning are the blinds. The inside of the frig was dirty too...
Jun 07, 2014
Jun 06, 2014
The campground was very nice. We really like the walk around the lake. All staff was friendly. Thanks
Jun 05, 2014
Carl and his group make this place wonderful.
Jun 04, 2014
The kabins were nice but the 8 person unit was short on some kitchen gear which we thought should be automatic. There were only a few spoons and no knives or forks. Those who slept on the bunk-type beds would have liked to have top sheets. One small bottle of washing soap is not adequate for 2 people for one night.
Jun 04, 2014
New campground. Well laid out. Pleasant staff. Pretty open right now but once the trees grow, this will be a nice place to camp.
Jun 04, 2014
Expensive for a single overnight stay.
Jun 03, 2014
Everyone was so helpful in hosting our 24 GMC's for our spring rally. People from 7 states and everyone was so pleased. Thanks
Jun 03, 2014
Jun 03, 2014
Much better this year with the sealed roads. Now we just have to watch the trees grow.
Jun 02, 2014
Only I did not like was the shower head in showers. A really high pressure needle type spray was painful on your skin. No adjustment could be made to disperse it better.
Jun 02, 2014
Nice setup.nice of you to let us use the pavilion for morning coffee and visiting since there were so many of us wi the GMC club. Overall it was a good camping experience.thanks,
Jun 02, 2014
Great campground, awesome location!
May 30, 2014
Very nice new clean campground. Did not give it 5 full stars because with it being new I would expect that in the bathrooms they would not have the push button NO adjust water temp shower fixutres. That is what you get in State parks, not what I expect in KOAs, especially brand new KOA. I hate that I have to keep pushing that button every 30 seconds while trying to give kids showers.
May 29, 2014
May 29, 2014
The roads and camping sites are covered by a painfully thin layer of gravel over either tar or oil. In any case our child (over 5 but under 10) ended up with lots of the black stuff all over including their clothing. Despite the campground being less than 10% full, the public showers/toilets are still a concern
May 29, 2014
Nice campground, with plenty of things to do on site and nearby.
May 28, 2014
May 28, 2014
We loved the Campground!! The Staff Were all So friendly and Welcoming!! We also liked the Activies and hayride for the Kids. We will definitely be back!!
May 28, 2014
Our family had a wonderful weekend!! The staff was super friendly and accommodating with lots of free activities. We also enjoyed the amenities of fishing, kayaking, paddle boating, and swimming!! We will definetly be back!!!
May 28, 2014
There was little to complain about. 1) The restrooms were not cleaned daily from 12-1. (2) They ran out of firewood and the ice machine was on the fritz. It did not affect us much, but could have been a big problem at the height of vacation season. These were minor things and we would definitely stay there again and recommend it to others.
May 27, 2014
May 27, 2014
We rented the 6 person cabin and had a pull thru site. There was 10 of us(6 adults, 4 children). We had an awesome time!! The campground was extremely clean, staff very friendly. The weekend activities were great fun. We will be back!! There was not one negative. This camp will only get better with the maturing of the landscape. Thank you.
May 27, 2014
My family and I had a wonderful time. The amenities were awesome and the staff was great very friendly very clean!! I have a 13-year-old and an eight year old and both kids want to go back. We will be returning to this KOA
May 27, 2014
very clean, had activities for the weekend, grand kids loved it. Lost Island water park not open as yet, but very close to it, so we did go carts
May 27, 2014
Family liked it very much, plan on returning later this summer when water park is open
May 27, 2014
The showers were clean and well kept. The dog park was a plus. It was close to everything we needed. The view of the lake was very nice. We would definitely stay there again.
May 27, 2014
We were very happy with the property. Great amenities. Friends visited us and want to rent a place now as well. We would like to stay again but would request large garbage cans next to cabins, more then a bathroom sink, and the bugs were SOOOO bad at dusk, not sure what could be done about that?
May 27, 2014
Fresh tar. Lots of traffic in and out Sunday night and no protection from headlights to front camp sight. Loud music from cabin Sunday night. No mini golf. Frisbee golf and course not finished. No firewood.
May 27, 2014
May 22, 2014
This will be a great camp when the trees grow! The kids had a ball!

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.