Waterloo / Lost Island Waterpark KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 800-562-2483

Info: 319-233-3485

Email

4550 Hess Rd

Waterloo, IA 50701

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Aug 24, 2016
Abby the worker whom I talked to on phone and who met us when we did arrive was very friendly and helpful she is a big plus for your KOA!
Aug 24, 2016
We had a very nice time, friendly staff, clean restrooms
Aug 24, 2016
Very relaxing stay. The staff was friendly and wanted to make our stay enjoyable.
Aug 23, 2016
This has become a yearly stay for our family. This year we rented 3 4-person cabins and a 6-person cabin. We were disappointed that the 6-person cabin didn't have a stove top as advertised online, and the only 4-person cabin that had dishes was the handicap accessible one. Next year we will make sure to book specific cabins with the stovetop, dishes, etc. Other than that it was great!
Aug 23, 2016
This park is off the charts cool! Best place we stayed all summer. Great beach and mini-lake, great staff and even a dock for fishing, plus the sites were super level and brand new!!! We are coming back!!!
Aug 23, 2016
Only thing I would recommend is to let people know to bring their own charcoal and fire wood is at cost.
Aug 21, 2016
Aug 20, 2016
Aug 19, 2016
My family and I enjoyed renting the KOA camper this year for the first time. My two year old grandchildren loved splashing in the pond and playing on the play ground. It made it even better that my daughters, grandchildren, and I got to go across the street to the waterpark and then end our night around the campfire!! our past experiences staying in the cabins were very fun too but I especially li
Aug 18, 2016
Very nice stay, buildings were very clean. Just two drawbacks, first the shower house needs more ventilation or AC. There was more humidity and heat in there than outside; outside temps were in the 90's. The second is the lake. Clean up of the algae in the swimming area would be a huge plus.
Aug 18, 2016
Campsite was as we've come to expect from a KOA. However, there was a strong sulfur or rotten egg smell to the water and there was lots of algae in the lake which made both swimming and fishing difficult. The discount vouchers for the nearby waterpark were appreciated.
Aug 17, 2016
Had a very good time
Aug 17, 2016
This is one of the best. Everything you need for a quiet vaca or family fun week. Beautiful setting, awesome staff, just exceptional. Highly recommend.
Aug 17, 2016
Very clean with a very friendly staff
Aug 17, 2016
Definitely not the greatest. Sewer hook-up was on the up-hill side of the camping unit; as were most at this campground as it is built into a hillside. This makes dumping holding tanks near impossible. Pond was scummy and full of algae. Probably will not stary hear again.
Aug 17, 2016
Very nice new koa. First KOA we've been to that had a gas station! Cabins are adorable! Nice family place!
Aug 17, 2016
Really nice. Wish we could have stayed a couple of days.
Aug 16, 2016
Friendly staff, plenty to do, clean restroom/bathhouse. Could use a little more landscape grooming.
Aug 16, 2016
Aug 16, 2016
I reserved site 99 and registered that site when I arrived. After arriving at the site we found it occupied. We drove back to the office and were given another site. I was disappointed the reservation system didn't catch it. Our 4 grand kids loved swimming at the beach but it was real dirty and full of moss. The water park was a big hit also but a bit pricey.
Aug 16, 2016
Was not very helpful or pleasant.
Aug 16, 2016
We absolutely loved it. It was a little pricey for a campsite. But we enjoyed it very much we go to lost island every year and look forward to coming back next year!! The campsite was clean and very well taken care of!
Aug 16, 2016
Great place. Roomy site, everything worked.
Aug 15, 2016
Very nice. Clean restrooms. It rained the first day, quite a bit, but there was grass and gravel.. So it was not muddy. We will visit again!
Aug 15, 2016
Very Nice campground, we will be back next year. Thanks
Aug 15, 2016
Aug 15, 2016
We stayed in a trailer owned by the KOA and it could be better maintained. The towel bars in the bathroom were lying on the floor and not connected to the wall or door. They had obviously not vacuumed in a very long time. The trees are all so small, there is very little shade.
Aug 15, 2016
Wonderful time! Cabin was clean! Staff very kind. We will be back!! So much to do there, swimming, fishing, boating, playground for the kids. Great dog park, you name it they have it. We had a wonderful campfire at the end of the night, nothing beats being with your family & friends at a great place.
Aug 15, 2016
Great for family gatherings. C-store very competitively priced. Clean and organized throughout the campground.
Aug 15, 2016
Great place just need more kids activities
Aug 15, 2016
Very nice clean campground. Staff was extremely nice and helpful.
Aug 15, 2016
Staff friendly. Store very nice. However, my site, #1, was uneven. Water stood in shower and sewage had to flow uphill.
Aug 15, 2016
Very nice campground, staff was extremely helpful! We came in after regular hours and someone was there to show us our site. He went above and beyond his duty. Thank you so much!
Aug 15, 2016
1ST TIME VISITORS TO THIS KOA. VERY NICE CAMPGROUND AND AMENITIES. SITES WERE SPACIOUS AND EASY TO GET INTO. THE ONLY NEGATIVES WERE THE WIFI WAS A JOKE AND WE WEREN'T ABLE TO STAY CONNECTED TO IT. WE KEPT GETTING KICKED OFF OF IT. THE PLAYGROUND WAS NOT VERY TODDLER FRIENDLY. WE HAD A 20 MONTH OLD AND I DIDN'T TRUST HIM PLAYING ON THE EQUIPMENT. WAS BUILT FOR MORE OF THE OLDER KIDS.
Aug 15, 2016
We o my staged over night we didn't get to use any of the extra things that was offered.
Aug 15, 2016
All campgrounds should be like this one. Friendly and clean. Lake was great. Beach area was great. Being able to have my dog with me at beach area and in water was fantastic. Definitely would recommend.
Aug 15, 2016
Nice campground
Aug 14, 2016
Nearly everything was perfect. I felt for the price that we paid that we should not be expected to sweep, do dishes, gather and dispose of the garbage. I think if you want people to do all of that, you should lower your price. The cabin was clean and well maintained. The office staff were friendly. The pond was extremely icky and needed an aerator or something.I didn't even want the kids in it
Aug 14, 2016
Great place to stay! When the trees they have planted mature, it will be even better.
Aug 12, 2016
Aug 12, 2016
Love this place! We come back once or twice a year!
Aug 12, 2016
It is very nice being located to the waterpark and not too far from stores. I can't wait to see what it looks like in a couple more years when the lake and landscaping develops.
Aug 12, 2016
Beautiful,very Peaceful,many things for kids to do.
Aug 11, 2016
So much going for it and always low water pressure (25 lbs with water running). Otherwise outstanding place.
Aug 11, 2016
Aug 11, 2016
The cabins were extremely clean and had just what we needed for a fun stay. Only thing I would recommend is that they have someone try to keep up on the moss/seaweed in the swim area. Otherwise a wonderful place!
Aug 11, 2016
This was our fourth annual stay at KOA Lost Island. The grounds have improvements each year, the staff is always friendly. There is a newly posted policy about "Right to eject", a welcome statement of authority as we have experienced unwanted rowdy, noisy groups who drank late into the night and disrespected the facility and other campers. This stay was families with lots of kids - wonderful!
Aug 11, 2016
We had a wonderful time! Everyone was so nice-and the chocolate weekend was a hit with our girls! Thank you!
Aug 11, 2016
Overall a nice place. 3 to 4 stars... how ever it could use improvement. Shower house was not clean in the evenings. Shower curtains were moldy as well. Alot of people were struggling with the sewer hook up sticking so far out of the ground. This made for difficult drainage. Alot of amenities and good location but could use some improvement.
Aug 11, 2016
very good
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals

Camp for $10 on May 13!

Book Now!

KOA Care Camps