Waterloo / Lost Island Waterpark KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 800-562-2483

Info: 319-233-3485

Email

4550 Hess Rd

Waterloo, IA 50701

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Jul 10, 2017
Great place to stay. We really liked our spot (Site 9). Fishing was good, waterpark/gokarts/mini golf was a blast. Very clean place and the gas station/store was awesome. One thing I wasn't impressed with was the water in regards to swimming. Funky smell and lots of sea weed - but it's all good. We will be back next year.
Jul 10, 2017
Great place to stay. Lots of activities.
Jul 10, 2017
It was very nice with the cherry on top being the fireworks show we could watch from our porch. Lake is a bit mossy but sounds like you know that from reviews. Need to advertise this as everyone i talked to never heard of it.
Jul 10, 2017
The campground was great! Our family has a lot of fun camping for 4 nights. However, the bathrooms were NOT cleaned daily. There was human feces in one of the men's shower stalls that wasn't cleaned up for two days. It was still there when we left. Another downfall was the slimy seaweed in the swimming area. Other than that is was a great place to stay.
Jul 10, 2017
Jul 10, 2017
Very spacious and clean. Perfect for weekend trip to lost nation.
Jul 10, 2017
Very nice! Clean and nice big spaces. Easy check in. Beautiful setting. Glad we came.
Jul 10, 2017
This was a beautiful campground next to Lost Island water park. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Only thing we didn't care to much for was the swimming pond. Was kind of nasty. Otherwise a great place
Jul 10, 2017
great stay enjoyed the park and will be returning later this month. Especially liked the beach area
Jul 09, 2017
Park was very well kept and spacious sites.
Jul 09, 2017
Very nice KOA. Clean and well maintained. Store was brand new and modern. Lake was gorgeous.
Jul 09, 2017
We loved the lake and the closeness to Waterloo and Lost Island. I don't know if this was a fluke but the travel trailer that we rented from this KOA was very dirty. Garbage was left, food on the floor, shower and toilet were dirty, microwave had lots of food, trailer was very smelly. We told them about it and they agreed to take care of it. After they said they cleaned it, it was still dirty.
Jul 08, 2017
I would not recommend this KOA based on the overflowing garbage dumpster for 3 days and the poop in the middle men's shower stall that was there on the 5th and still there the night of the 6th, meaning the bathrooms were not cleaned daily as the sign suggested.
Jul 08, 2017
Need more shade on the beach. Water was green with yuck stuff and goose poop on the island. Kids wanted to play in water, but did not felt comfortable with Thant. Need more shade at camp sites. That will improve as trees grow, but could definitely use more. Will be back yet this year, but looking for a different site for next year. Thanks.
Jul 08, 2017
Jul 08, 2017
Awesome besides beds were not comfortable.
Jul 07, 2017
Great campground. Clean and well done. Fireworks were amazing in the rain!
Jul 06, 2017
The staff is great and KOA couldn't find a better Manager, Karl does an awesome job! The resort is always clean, the grass mowed, etc. The staff is always friendly and ready to help.
Jul 06, 2017
Great campground and great stay.
Jul 06, 2017
Jul 06, 2017
Very clean facility, good location.
Jul 06, 2017
The camping spot next to us had 2 tents, 4 vehicles, 2 dogs, & way more than 8 people. They were rude. They put their tents, etc. on our spot. They shot fireworks off. They event shot off a bottle rocket towards us that went into the tailpipe of our vehicle. We asked to move to another open spot. We were not allowed to move(even though there were multiple spots available.) Very disappointing.
Jul 06, 2017
Very nice KOA but the showers need help. Push a button every 10 seconds and warm water.
Jul 06, 2017
Jul 05, 2017
It was great. The park was clean, the store was convenient. The state were ALL very friendly! We are already planning on next year to come back
Jul 05, 2017
very good
Jul 05, 2017
Stayed in cabin #5. The whole place is amazing and the KOA staff goes out of there way for you. We have decided to make this an annual trip.
Jul 05, 2017
We reserved a site for a 41 foot 5th wheel with a note that we also have an 8 foot deck. When we arrived they first couldn't find our reservation and after a long period of time assigned us a site which when we tried 2 pull in discovered it was a 30 ft site. After 1 1/2 hours finally got a place to set up. Too much more 2 fit in a survey. Had to fight to finally get some credit for rewards points.
Jul 05, 2017
Great campground except swimming pond was full of algae, even with blue coloring and 1 office staff member was rude. Septic was uphill.
Jul 05, 2017
Loved it! Clean and well kept. Fun family activities!
Jul 05, 2017
Great clean campground! Full grounds but very quiet during a holiday weekend. Fun activities for the kids (loved the slip-n-slide). Owner/staff did a great job patrolling and silencing any fireworks since not allowed on the property! Will be back!
Jul 05, 2017
very nice place
Jul 05, 2017
Everything was great.
Jul 05, 2017
Nice clean campground. Friendly staff. Lots of activities and amenities. Across the road from Lost Island Water Park.
Jul 05, 2017
The campground was great! I did encounter a woman who answered the phone when I called to ask a question about a late arrival and she was very rude. The rest of the staff were great!
Jul 04, 2017
We had a great time! This campground was super clean and the staff was very nice and laid back. We are planning to come back next year!
Jul 04, 2017
Lake had funny(not haha) color. Also lake was dirty full of Algeae. Had lots of games and activities for kids. Great fireworks. Campsite not level. Some of staff during day was not real friendly staff in evening was good. Area was clean. Nice looking cabins, very colorful Store was well stocked and clean bathrooms were clean would not eat fish in lake if any there. Over all nice camp ground
Jul 04, 2017
Great stay, all the staff were very nice, had extra activities planned for the kids each day, good fishing, clean beach, thanks we will be back for sure!
Jul 03, 2017
We stayed at a cabin on the sand/beach and really enjoyed it. My entire family had a great time and we rented several water items to use on the pond. We really appreciated that each cabin has a fire pit and grill to use. Thank you for a fun experience!
Jul 03, 2017
It was great and many activities for the kids!
Jul 02, 2017
Very accommodating. Friendly and helpful staff. A lot for my kids to do. We will be back for sure.
Jul 02, 2017
We were only there overnight. The check-in was friendly and courteous. The sight was more than sufficient. My only complaint is that there needs to be another KOA between Waterloo and the Minnesota border Interstate 35.
Jul 01, 2017
Very nicely done. Great space between vehicles, informed and happy staff and the amenities are wonderful.
Jul 01, 2017
we are new to the camping world. But it was great. Lots of space and easily accessible.We will come back. Thank you..
Jul 01, 2017
Clean and nice. It's has a resort kind of feel with a nice beach. No trees and not at all a campy feel. We had a wicked storm our night there and rewarded with two full double rainbows. The people were very friendly and campers quiet. Over all nice.
Jun 30, 2017
Staff was very pleasant and accommodating. We arrived earlier than we expected to but our cabin was ready and they let us checkin early. Cabin and the whole campground was very nice. Clean and well maintained. Wonderful place to stay.
Jun 30, 2017
Men's bathroom was not cleaned the two days we were there. Other than that very nice campground.
Jun 30, 2017
Very well kept and nice amenities...the office staff was great! Excellent place to have people come visit.
Jun 29, 2017
We stayed for a week and during the week day we had to listen to grinding all afternoon which got very annoying. The so called beach was so full of algae that the kids didn't swim at all in it nor did the adults. If that is the case for a swimming area I would advise to get a swimming pool. The campground was not what we hoped for.
Jun 29, 2017
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals