Waterloo / Lost Island Waterpark KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 800-562-2483

Info: 319-233-3485

Email

4550 Hess Rd

Waterloo, IA 50701

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Jul 12, 2016
This is a beautiful KOA suffering from poor management. Although it is huge, this is the first KOA where someone in a golf cart didn't help us locate our site. It was a struggle. Once there, the site was too small for us so that we were barely able to fit our car behind our rig even though there were many empty bigger sites. We were crammed next to another rig there for a noisy family reunion.
Jul 12, 2016
Nice place
Jul 12, 2016
Great place.
Jul 12, 2016
Awesome..only complaint is it is our 3rd time to stay this year and was not offered the rewards until this last time. Therfore I lost money other 2 weekends
Jul 12, 2016
Jul 12, 2016
level site. good hookups. good location. great stay. needs cable tv.
Jul 11, 2016
So much to do for a very reasonable price. Stayed in the largest cabin and it was splendid! Fully stocked with dishes and all the comforts of home.
Jul 11, 2016
The campground was very clean. It was nice that there is a shuttle to the water park and casino. The only negative is how far the office was from our camp site.
Jul 11, 2016
Traveled to Iowa for funeral of a close family member. The peace and tranquility of your site what exactly what we needed. Beautiful location, clean and friendly staff. Thank You.
Jul 10, 2016
Jul 10, 2016
Jul 09, 2016
Great location, adore cabins, paddle boarding available.
Jul 09, 2016
Dirty shower rooms/ bathroom. Where is the staff ?? We only saw 2 on a cart..stopping to have a smoke.we had just come from Des Moines KOA a 5 plus !!staff visable and friendly.So rating is in comparison.
Jul 09, 2016
Great place. Very friendly atmosphere. Surprised that the laundry room only had two washers and two dryers for it being a bigger place but they were fast so no complaints there.
Jul 09, 2016
We love this campground!! Carl is the best! He takes care of the grounds so well it makes staying here so comfortable. They have everything you need and all the extras they do on holidays is unbelievable we stay here for several weeks in the summer and I wouldn't go anywhere else!
Jul 09, 2016
It was a great campground with all the amenities you could ever want.
Jul 08, 2016
Great place to stay! We come often and love it every time!!
Jul 08, 2016
Stayed the week of the 4th of July. Nice clean quiet place. The fireworks show was great. Had a very good time.
Jul 08, 2016
Everyone we dealt with was fantastic. I really feel safe at the KOA and truly enjoy our stays here!
Jul 08, 2016
Great campground, clean facilities, and friendly staff. Plenty of activities at the campground and also close by. We will be returning in the future!
Jul 08, 2016
The Waterloo Iowa koa is a great campground. The tent site we had was a good size and the staff was excellent! My fiancé and I will be returning to this koa next summer..
Jul 08, 2016
Jul 07, 2016
Myself and my grandkids stayed over the 4th of July weekend,we had a blast,a friend of mine came out for the day,we kayaked,fished and swam,her kids had never done any of that it was soooo much fun nice clean cabin and campground,and of corse all of the events Karl and his staff had was fun too,now to the evening the Fire Works were the best ever,hope they have fire works again next year,thanks.
Jul 07, 2016
Had a great time for the 4th. All the extras were enjoyed by the kids. Fireworks were great. Staff was friendly and helpful
Jul 07, 2016
Campsites nice and level. Bathrooms clean. Lake really dirty, WiFi and cable not the greatest.
Jul 07, 2016
Dirty: trash in fire pit, unflushed toilets, dirty showers, shower stall doors did not latch. Free wifi did not work.
Jul 06, 2016
Karl is an awesome Manager and his staff are all friendly and make sure everyone has a great experience. Thanks Karl! See you next year!!!
Jul 06, 2016
I love staying there and will continue to go back, but with that being said they need more staff on a busy holiday weekend. I stayed four nights and the same gross band aids and qtips were on the shower floor all weekend. The clump of hair in the shower drain just got larger. The dumpster was overflowing with garbage. It was starting to get pretty smelly.
Jul 06, 2016
Loved the amenities but did not care to be so close B6 to the playground since we don't have little ones anymore. They were screaming til 1030 Saturday night so we couldn't enjoy sitting outdoors.
Jul 06, 2016
Very nice park.....the manager is a very hard worker...Looked over the park several times an hour....Clean, and great for families. We Stay in a 44 coach, so it is big rig ready....Ever w/o kids we truly enjoyed our stay...Will return next year.
Jul 06, 2016
Was great but some customers were a little to loud at 11pm. I will be back!!
Jul 06, 2016
very good
Jul 06, 2016
Our stay here was wonderful!!! We really enjoyed all the activities. Fireworks were great!! Very family oriented!!!
Jul 06, 2016
Excellent 4th of July weekend! Clean grounds. Water a little green from algae and the activities set up were not perfected, but the fireworks were great!
Jul 06, 2016
Great amenities including beach, rentals for pond and land, playground area and fun activities! We loved this camp and our grandkids had a ball!
Jul 06, 2016
Friendly Staff. Campground is very nice. Young trees so no shade. Shower houses are extremely clean!
Jul 06, 2016
The only thing I would recommend is to add paper towels, a pitcher and marshmallow skewers to the cabins. WIFI was also AWFUL. Otherwise, we LOVED it! Very nice cabins, loved the pond and great location. We will be back for sure!
Jul 06, 2016
Enjoyed the friendly staff and the fireworks. Beautiful setting.
Jul 05, 2016
THE BEACH AND LAKE WERE ALGEA RIDDEN. WALKING INTO THE WATER WAS NOT A GOOD EXPERIENCE. HAVING TO KEEP PUSHING THE SHOWER WATER "BUTTON" IS NOT A GOOD IDEA. OTHERWISE ALL WAS VERY NICE
Jul 05, 2016
The cabin was perfect. Services from Karl was outstanding!
Jul 05, 2016
Very clean, lots of space between sites but some of the sewers are uphill from the sites so you may have trouble emptying.
Jul 05, 2016
This campground is huge. We were there 4th of July so it was very very busy and lots and lots of dogs. Very little wifi so don't count on that. People were nice. Don't know if we would stay again but nothing drastically wrong.
Jul 05, 2016
Karl and his staff are kind and willing to do everything in their power to make the stay as perfect as possible. Thbaks
Jul 05, 2016
The facilities were great, the only complaint we really have is adherence to the schedule. Events didn't necessarily start on time with one event 45 minutes or more late to start. We would go back, but would have been happier if they would have been on schedule as we planned around some events for the kids.
Jul 05, 2016
The KOA was nice/clean, but the waterpark entrance is much further than I would have guessed. The showers are push button so you are constantly re-pushing the button and have no control over the water temp. People partying on the beach then speeding through the camp to leave was very scary. Two different sites were yelling to slow down.
Jul 05, 2016
Initial spot assigned was very uneven and difficult to get into & out of rv. They changed us because of the issues & the second slot was very nice. When we return I will request that slot. Place is very clean and well taken care of. I greatly appreciated the dog park, too.
Jul 05, 2016
The kids loved it!
Jul 05, 2016
Jul 04, 2016
This is one of the best KOAs that we have ever stayed at. There is so much to do, everything is spotless, and the staff is first rate. We will be back!
Jul 04, 2016
We booked our site a couple weeks in advance and specified a particular row (south row flatter). We drove an hour and when we got there found out we were half way up the hill. Mentioned it to the check in and they didn't care. We have always been BIG fans of that place and recommend it to anyone we talked to. Very disappointed in this lasts stay. We even watched and always an open spot
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals