Waterloo / Lost Island Waterpark KOA

4550 Hess Rd

Waterloo, IA 50701

Reserve: 800-562-2483

Info: 319-233-3485

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Jun 02, 2015
Perfect Facility...would love to return if it wasn't so far from Virginia. The children loved fishing in the pond. Very clean property. One problem- we didn't get to stay long. The sunset at our arrival was beautiful. Great job!
Jun 01, 2015
Our cabin was wonderful and the beach was just perfect! It was a nice weekend getaway! We will definitely be back.
Jun 01, 2015
We love KOA. the Waterloo facility was great, the weather not so much. Nice job, we'll be back.
May 30, 2015
May 28, 2015
great customer service
May 27, 2015
Great facilities and activities and the employees were very kind and helpful!
May 27, 2015
Why can't koa reservation system allow you to pick your site? Paid for a premium site and got stuck next to the main road listening to traffic all day and nite. Last two years this a great koa now new staff it's not so much. Disappointing all the way around.
May 27, 2015
May 27, 2015
May 27, 2015
Nice campground. Tons of activities for family. Only thing is the store is very far from some camp sites.
May 26, 2015
Had a great time loved the cabins. Better pullout beds and retractable awnings on cabins would be awesome
May 26, 2015
I am rating only one star this time because the patio site i rented had poor drainage. Two hours after it rained my site still had three inches of water sitting on the patio. All of the water runs downhill right through that site. I would at least expect a partial refund because i rented a premium site and it was anything but.
May 26, 2015
Campground was very nice, shower rooms were very clean. Lots of activities and things for kids to do. The only bad thing was we reserved a site, our friends called to get spots around us and when we arrived they had moved our site 5 rows away from our friends, so it was a big hassle to try and get our friends sites moved to be by us. be sure to confirm your sites several times.
May 26, 2015
very good
May 26, 2015
it was a good weekend even though it rained alot. one recommendation i would make is the signage at some of the sites. we stayed at B11 and you can't see the site numbers as you come down the road. they are on the wrong side of the electrical box. other than that its a very nice campground.
May 26, 2015
Nice place and great location, but why are the sewer drains up hill? You know what doesnt flow uphill.
May 26, 2015
great campground
May 26, 2015
May 26, 2015
We enjoyed our stay very much. The site was nearly level and required only a small adjustment. Noise level was very acceptable. This was our maiden outing in our new RV so it was a good place to try out all the accessories. The only drawback is that the wireless service is virtually useless so we used a smart phone as a hot spot which worked great. We intend to return again.
May 26, 2015
Great weekend. Fun activities. Staff made everyone so welcome and always feel safe.
May 26, 2015
Would like to see the campsites more easily identifiably. Hard to figure out which site is yours when the numbers are on the electric boxes in the middle of the site AND facing away from the direction of traffic.
May 26, 2015
Beautiful resort with large grass area between sites; plenty of activities for children; close to shopping and museums; on site fuel station. NEGATIVE: Cable was not working at our site; we reported; waited almost two days for correction; staff didn't seem to care about the inconvenience.
May 25, 2015
The staff was super nice and helpful.The entire facility was exceptional. Everything was well maintained and clean.
May 25, 2015
While it was cold and windy, we found the park to be very nice. The people that worked there were very helpful and very cordial. Located close to the Isle of Capri casino was also very convenient. We were only passing through and stayed overnite. We had a pull-thru with full hookup, site was good and all of the utilities were located for easy hook-up and unhooking.
May 25, 2015
The campground was awesome. Very clean and friendly. The only reason we did not rate it 5 stars is the distance you have to walk to get to a shower. Had Sr Citizens with us and unlike every other KOA that we stayed at, this one's shower was a long walk that at night was not lighted at all????
May 24, 2015
Arrived in rain. We were surprised and disappointed, with a park this large, there was no escort to our site. After a maze of turns, we found our site...with a huge, heavy picnic table sitting in the middle of the drive. We had to drag a 200 lb table out of our way in pouring rain!!!! All of the sites around us had tables in their drives. Someone's a real jerk!
May 24, 2015
Misleading in description for casino and water park . You can't really walk to either. No heat or air in restrooms/showers. I needed heat for this trip. Seemed more focused on convenience store/ gas station than K0A campground .
May 23, 2015
Always a nice place to stay and visit. Staff was very friendly and helpful in checking in and also buying some food items at the store.
May 21, 2015
Need ramp to restroom for disabled people- restrooms clean and campground nice!
May 19, 2015
May 19, 2015
Having a store and gas station right on the grounds was great. Beautiful facility, friendly staff who made us feel welcome and clean facilities. Should mention the easy access to major roads.
May 19, 2015
Large, spacious and new. No signage giving directions to campground. Most sewer sites at road rather than at mid-site so bring hose extensions. Wi-Fi was erratic to non-existent. Laundry was dirty and buggy and dryer lint screens were full.
May 17, 2015
Everything was awesome. The people who took care of my transactions were great. This is a great place!
May 15, 2015
We had a wonderful time my grand kids went fishing for the first time.The cabin that I stayed in did not have a coffee maker in it, Carl went and got a new one, not that is service,thanks can't wait for our next camping adventure in July.☺
May 14, 2015
great weekend hope to do again looking for another promotion
May 13, 2015
May 12, 2015
It was wonderful. We have been before and we will retune again. It is clean and quite. We will be back because both of our boys are attending UNI. Better then a hotel in my opinion. Thank you
May 12, 2015
Very friendly and clean.
May 11, 2015
Very friendly and welcoming. This is a very large campground and was very well maintained. Great activities for a family.
May 11, 2015
nice location but the showers were too hot and the area around the fire pits was very unlevel, hard to sit around.
May 11, 2015
May 11, 2015
wifi not usable,trees very young so little shade, shower backed up
May 11, 2015
Very clean park! Owner and staff are friendly and social, Bathroom/Shower house clean and had warm water can't ask for more! Will be back again! :-)
May 10, 2015
Very nice KOA,beautiful sitting,great people.Only thing I believe they should or advice anyone renting & using the 3 wheel bikes to wear a helmet,the bike flipped as I was going down a hill & I hit hard,several wounds & hit my head really hard,still have head & neck pain,not feeling well,I made them awear of it. happening
May 09, 2015
One of the best I've stayed at. Really nice place.
May 06, 2015
Very nice facility the only downside is not a lot of trees yet due to being new
May 04, 2015
Everything was great!
May 04, 2015
The only reason I didn't give 5 stars is because the wifi did not work really great.
May 02, 2015
Traveling back to Mn after wintering in Biloxi Ms. Friends told us about new KOA, perfect loaction for final stop b/4 home. We were so very impressed / great staff, great facility, never seen a KOA that offered so much, plus a gas/diesel station! We will be back!!!
Apr 30, 2015

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.