Waterloo / Lost Island Waterpark KOA

4550 Hess Rd

Waterloo, IA 50701

Reserve: 800-562-2483

Info: 319-233-3485

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Aug 11, 2014
great place to stay, friendly staff, roomy, very relaxing campgrounds
Aug 10, 2014
Aug 09, 2014
Aug 09, 2014
The staff was very nice and helpful. Very convenient location. Bathrooms were clean and well taken care of. Beach had a lot of Geese droppings and with little children it was hard to try and keep them away from it. Overall though great place and will definitely be back.
Aug 09, 2014
Aug 08, 2014
nice. should be a 5 star when the trees mature and the grass fills in.
Aug 07, 2014
Campgrounds where clean and personal friendly. Only concern water pressure was on the low side.
Aug 07, 2014
This is a new KOA. The staff was super friendly and helpful. They have paddle, boats, kayaks, swimming beach, dog park and Frisbee golf. It is very close to the waterpark, go karts, mini golf and zip line park. They have very nice cabins however we did not stay in them we pulled a 5th wheel camper. We loved this KOA and would defiantly stay again. They were still working on the grassy areas.
Aug 07, 2014
We enjoy camping at this koa. The only thing that we would like to see is some swings! We have a 3yr old that loves to swing!
Aug 07, 2014
We only stopped for a few hours passing through to Ohio. The grounds were a little sparse but the lake looked inviting.
Aug 06, 2014
The campground was very wide open and appealing. The people were friendly. But if you want to be a "resort" you have to do a better job of cleaning up the area and in customer service. Our site had litter and the patio had goose poop on it. This should have hosed down. The beach had litter and goose poop all over it. The edge of the pond east of the swimming area was full of litter.
Aug 06, 2014
Large, level sites with bench and fire pit. Fuel station on premises with fair prices. Verizon voice and data excellent. Visual is nice and large. Should not advertise free wifi, as it is useless. Two dog parks that need grass (weed) cutting. Basically not useable for small dogs. Grass (weeds) need lots of work just to be able to walk on it. Very clumpy.
Aug 06, 2014
It is a Beautiful setting
Aug 06, 2014
The deluxe sites were great, the beach could be cleaned up a bit, a lot of goose droppings. Would get a 5 star if they had a pool and a shuttle to the water park.
Aug 05, 2014
Wish we could have stayed more than the one night on our itinerary. All the staff were friendly, professional and helpful. Store was well-stocked and had a great variety, but get there early for the best selection of donuts! We loved the on-site gas station - very convenient. Doggie park was large, fenced, and divided for different sized dogs. Will definitely return when back in the area.
Aug 05, 2014
Great place to stay!
Aug 05, 2014
We travel with our 2 med sized dogs and 3 kids. thanks for the dog park & allowing dogs to remain in our camper while we explored the local area. High 5 to you for a real handicap bathroom with a drop down shower head. one small complaint a path to the bathroom would be great ground very uneven with the new grass, but we already have plans to stay again. We give a big thumbs up. :)
Aug 05, 2014
My only complaint is the lack of internet access.
Aug 05, 2014
Really enjoyed our stay here. Clean campground and very friendly staff. We will be back and enjoy the campground again. We did have a good laugh at all the goose poop you had to dodge when walking by the lake, but no big deal!Beach was nice,also and being able to bring a floatie is something we will do next time because we didn't know you could have them in the beach. All-in-all nice stay.
Aug 04, 2014
We had a great time and wish we could have spent more than one night there.
Aug 04, 2014
We enjoyed our stay, The bathrooms/showers were extremely clean & the staff was very friendly & helpful. My only concern was the grounds - so very uneven. We really had to watch where we were stepping so as to not twist an ankle. The park could use a little work on that. The dog park is nice but had to stop running our dog due to the uneven hurtful ground.
Aug 04, 2014
Aug 04, 2014
Great service and incredible Kabins. Can't wait to stay again.
Aug 04, 2014
nice set up great staff
Aug 04, 2014
Aug 04, 2014
This was a first class resort. Our cabin was spotless and comfortable. The grounds had a lot to do. Our kids loved camping here. The only thing I would recommend is having a staff member clean up the goose droppings on the beach daily.
Aug 03, 2014
Aug 03, 2014
The staff at the campground were helpful and friendly. I appreciated the shop and the gas station on site. We all enjoyed kayaking and using the paddle boats. The beach was ruined by goose poop. It wasn't possible to swim or play on the beach.
Aug 02, 2014
Aug 02, 2014
Nice park. Lot of room between soaces
Aug 01, 2014
Clean campground and nice cabin. Every staff person was friendly and helpful. Very impressive. Lots to do on and near the grounds. Reasonable prices. Our family had a wonderful time and would consider staying here again.
Jul 30, 2014
Great staff. Working to keep place like new. Some lots have sewer connections that are hard to reach if your in the middle of the lot. They are too far away. over 15ft. most people do not carry that much hose. water an electric is fine. Voltage is good. Water is good. Easy access. Should ban ATV use in park. Staff if great, helpfull, and polite. Overall a very nice park.
Jul 30, 2014
Jul 29, 2014
Except for the mouse-it was wonderful!! The staff is the best; very professional. I will tell people to try it out!!
Jul 29, 2014
Loved it! It was the perfect getaway for our family...something for all ages!!! Cabins, beach, activities, & staff...all AAAA+++ Thanks !
Jul 29, 2014
Great newer campground with full hookups, clean facilities and lots of things to do for the kids and grandkids.
Jul 29, 2014
Good facilities and ammendities camp sites are a little close for my taste and very little shade available. Overall good experience. Could be very nice in the future
Jul 29, 2014
This is a pretty new KOA, I think as the grounds develop, it will be much better. The grass is not easy to walk over, as it is lumpy. Watch out, you could twist an ankle, fall. The lake is really nice with the path around it, but watch out for the goose droppings covering most of the path. The staff are very friendly. Just needs to be better developed. Especially the grass.
Jul 29, 2014
Jul 29, 2014
Very nice campground, some spots appear to be a bit difficult to sit around a fire since they are at a slant, but there were plenty flat site to choose from too! Was able to take our kayaks on the lake for a little float. Wasn't able to enjoy the beach since we went to the waterpark all day Saturday. A little more costly than the local state/county parks, but will still come back.
Jul 29, 2014
Great campground. It did seem strange that there was no dishwashing sink anywhere nearby (or it was not pointed out to us). Pretty inconvenient just to use the pump.
Jul 29, 2014
Jul 29, 2014
Jul 29, 2014
Love the place, going back again this weekend.
Jul 29, 2014
Personnel tres accueillant,douche tres propre.Beau terrain,tres propre
Jul 28, 2014
Enjoyed our stay. However, out of three cabins; one had a coffee pot; one had cups; one had no dishes nor sink. Cabins were clean.
Jul 26, 2014
Jul 26, 2014
Jul 26, 2014
The site is convenient to relatives but have some flaws especially the sewer connections which are too high and sometimes uphill. This makes for drainage problems.
Jul 25, 2014

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.