Waterloo / Lost Island Waterpark KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 800-562-2483

Info: 319-233-3485

Email

4550 Hess Rd

Waterloo, IA 50701

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Oct 07, 2016
Campground was well kept, but far too close to the freeways. We knew this before we showed up, but is the main reason we are downgrading this campground. Bathrooms were very clean, but we disliked the push button control for the showers.
Oct 06, 2016
We've camped at many KOA's across the US. This is one of the nicest, cleanest ones we've stayed at. It is a resort with many activities for kids to do.Playset is awesome. Bathrooms are spotless as well as office. Everyone very nice. Visited for Halloween activities with grandkids. They loved trick or treating and decorating camper. They loved the beach area. Hayride was run too. Cabins beautiful.
Oct 06, 2016
Great stay. Wish a better base is put down on pads so jackstands don't sink into the pads. Happens all through the summer.
Oct 06, 2016
This is the nicest KOA I have ever stayed at! Karl and staff are extremely helpful and friendly!
Oct 06, 2016
Poor reception, not escorted to site. Site not level. I am an exclusive KOA camper and will avoid this one in the future.
Oct 05, 2016
Fantastic campground
Oct 04, 2016
cabin and grounds were clean and nice. overall had a good time. wish the wifi was better. the lake has a ton of moss making fishing difficult. I dont think they need to charge 5$ for a small bundle of wood for paying guests. seems like gouging to me. kids had fun, we might go back.
Oct 03, 2016
VERY poor 'beds'. It says it has bunk beds and 2 twins in loft, but all 4 of those are JUST mattresses, no box springs so not really 'beds' VERY uncomfortable!!! Get real beds for real people!
Oct 03, 2016
Loved it and will definitely be back again and again!
Oct 01, 2016
Oct 01, 2016
This camper comment has been removed by KOA due to profanity.
Oct 01, 2016
Like the dog park. Nice and clean like the tier Camp sites
Sep 29, 2016
Nice park, full utilities, fuel station, cabins, swimimgand fishing pond.
Sep 27, 2016
Nice cabins, friendly people, would like to stay again!! Clean!
Sep 27, 2016
Very nice campground with small lake - walking trail and beach. Once the young trees grow it will be lovely. It is obvious the owners take pride in the campground!!
Sep 27, 2016
Sep 26, 2016
Sep 26, 2016
This is one of the best KOA's that I have stayed at, over the years that I have been a KOA member.
Sep 25, 2016
Awesome staff were great. Facilities were nice and very clean. Close to home and we e really enjoy going there.
Sep 25, 2016
We have stayed at the Waterloo KOA numerous times. As always it is always a FANTASTIC time. Great sites, great staff, great events for everyone, and it's just one fantastic park. The staff is doing it right. Keep it up.
Sep 24, 2016
Second time there in our travels. Great place and quiet at night. Really important to a traveler.
Sep 24, 2016
Very nice campground!
Sep 24, 2016
Very friendly and efficient staff.
Sep 23, 2016
Relatively new park, so trees just starting to grow. Probably rate higher in a couple years. Managers very helpful and courteous. Larger park than we expected.
Sep 21, 2016
Campground was very nice but extremely hard to find in the dark.
Sep 19, 2016
what a beautiful sept. weekend,we stayed in a deluxe cabin every thing was nice and clean,Karl and staff do a great job, thanks again for a wonderful weekend.
Sep 19, 2016
very accomodating and very pretty scenery overlooking lake area from cabin will definitely utilize this facility repeatedly
Sep 17, 2016
Nice campground
Sep 17, 2016
Planned on staying 2 nights but had to leave after one. Not too many in the park. Wifi worked very well. Very quite and clean. Thanks
Sep 16, 2016
0n our way from SC to the Mayo Clinic in Rochester, MN. Stopped for overnight stay. Everyone was very accommodating!
Sep 15, 2016
Sep 15, 2016
GREAT
Sep 14, 2016
The only things that we could find was the bathrooms could of been checked more times.No escort to camp site and was not informed about actives that weekend. It was a very nice campground.Liked way the cabins looked.It gave it a diffrent look.Mayby the KOAS should not always look the same.
Sep 13, 2016
Our weekend experience was wonderful. We just loved our awesome cabin! We will come back for sure.
Sep 13, 2016
Very happy will be back. Very nice place to stay.
Sep 13, 2016
Great accommodations, great view, friendly staff, I'll be back
Sep 13, 2016
Only concern was park was busy with lots of kids and pets. The campground employees who were in the gators were young and seemed to be driving too fast for as busy as the campgrounds were.
Sep 13, 2016
My daughter and I had an absolute blast during our stay, would recommend to any one!! Just a few complaints, the pillows in the cabin are terrible, wifi could use range extenders, and I suggest not selling day old donuts that are rock hard...
Sep 13, 2016
Very nice campground
Sep 13, 2016
Sep 11, 2016
Love this place!!!!
Sep 10, 2016
We had a great time! Campground was amazing, cabin was awesome. Couple things that would have made this a 5 start stay...1. the little swimming area water was disgusting. There was a lot of muck floating in the water that could have been removed. 2. There was apparently events the weekend we stayed and we never heard about then until last minute or they were over. Overall good time! Thanks
Sep 10, 2016
very good
Sep 09, 2016
They are an awesome campground the cardboard boat races were AWESOME!
Sep 09, 2016
Although the grassy areas of the sites were not al all level for sitting on, the sites were large and very well maintained. The staff that checked us in were very friendly and made us feel welcome.
Sep 09, 2016
Outstanding staff Carl does a great job! Love love this koa
Sep 08, 2016
Very large campground, lots to do. Only complaint is I did not see information about what to do with trash/recycle. There were only 2 dumpsters for the entire campground. Would be helpful to give instructions on what to do with trash when checking in.
Sep 08, 2016
Overall great place very clean we had a blast and will be back next year. only improvement would be to better stock the store and ice bags
Sep 08, 2016
We really like this campground a lot and the management really goes the extra mile to make you feel welcome.
Sep 08, 2016
Everything was great except the water was totally gross with algae that it was not safe to swim in. If they could take better care of it we would have been in it.
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals

Camp for $10 on May 13!

Book Now!

KOA Care Camps