Waterloo / Lost Island Waterpark KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 800-562-2483

Info: 319-233-3485

Email

4550 Hess Rd

Waterloo, IA 50701

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Jul 08, 2016
Great place to stay! We come often and love it every time!!
Jul 08, 2016
Stayed the week of the 4th of July. Nice clean quiet place. The fireworks show was great. Had a very good time.
Jul 08, 2016
Everyone we dealt with was fantastic. I really feel safe at the KOA and truly enjoy our stays here!
Jul 08, 2016
Great campground, clean facilities, and friendly staff. Plenty of activities at the campground and also close by. We will be returning in the future!
Jul 08, 2016
The Waterloo Iowa koa is a great campground. The tent site we had was a good size and the staff was excellent! My fiancé and I will be returning to this koa next summer..
Jul 08, 2016
Jul 07, 2016
Myself and my grandkids stayed over the 4th of July weekend,we had a blast,a friend of mine came out for the day,we kayaked,fished and swam,her kids had never done any of that it was soooo much fun nice clean cabin and campground,and of corse all of the events Karl and his staff had was fun too,now to the evening the Fire Works were the best ever,hope they have fire works again next year,thanks.
Jul 07, 2016
Had a great time for the 4th. All the extras were enjoyed by the kids. Fireworks were great. Staff was friendly and helpful
Jul 07, 2016
Campsites nice and level. Bathrooms clean. Lake really dirty, WiFi and cable not the greatest.
Jul 07, 2016
Dirty: trash in fire pit, unflushed toilets, dirty showers, shower stall doors did not latch. Free wifi did not work.
Jul 06, 2016
Karl is an awesome Manager and his staff are all friendly and make sure everyone has a great experience. Thanks Karl! See you next year!!!
Jul 06, 2016
I love staying there and will continue to go back, but with that being said they need more staff on a busy holiday weekend. I stayed four nights and the same gross band aids and qtips were on the shower floor all weekend. The clump of hair in the shower drain just got larger. The dumpster was overflowing with garbage. It was starting to get pretty smelly.
Jul 06, 2016
Loved the amenities but did not care to be so close B6 to the playground since we don't have little ones anymore. They were screaming til 1030 Saturday night so we couldn't enjoy sitting outdoors.
Jul 06, 2016
Very nice park.....the manager is a very hard worker...Looked over the park several times an hour....Clean, and great for families. We Stay in a 44 coach, so it is big rig ready....Ever w/o kids we truly enjoyed our stay...Will return next year.
Jul 06, 2016
Was great but some customers were a little to loud at 11pm. I will be back!!
Jul 06, 2016
very good
Jul 06, 2016
Our stay here was wonderful!!! We really enjoyed all the activities. Fireworks were great!! Very family oriented!!!
Jul 06, 2016
Excellent 4th of July weekend! Clean grounds. Water a little green from algae and the activities set up were not perfected, but the fireworks were great!
Jul 06, 2016
Great amenities including beach, rentals for pond and land, playground area and fun activities! We loved this camp and our grandkids had a ball!
Jul 06, 2016
Friendly Staff. Campground is very nice. Young trees so no shade. Shower houses are extremely clean!
Jul 06, 2016
The only thing I would recommend is to add paper towels, a pitcher and marshmallow skewers to the cabins. WIFI was also AWFUL. Otherwise, we LOVED it! Very nice cabins, loved the pond and great location. We will be back for sure!
Jul 06, 2016
Enjoyed the friendly staff and the fireworks. Beautiful setting.
Jul 05, 2016
THE BEACH AND LAKE WERE ALGEA RIDDEN. WALKING INTO THE WATER WAS NOT A GOOD EXPERIENCE. HAVING TO KEEP PUSHING THE SHOWER WATER "BUTTON" IS NOT A GOOD IDEA. OTHERWISE ALL WAS VERY NICE
Jul 05, 2016
The cabin was perfect. Services from Karl was outstanding!
Jul 05, 2016
Very clean, lots of space between sites but some of the sewers are uphill from the sites so you may have trouble emptying.
Jul 05, 2016
This campground is huge. We were there 4th of July so it was very very busy and lots and lots of dogs. Very little wifi so don't count on that. People were nice. Don't know if we would stay again but nothing drastically wrong.
Jul 05, 2016
Karl and his staff are kind and willing to do everything in their power to make the stay as perfect as possible. Thbaks
Jul 05, 2016
The facilities were great, the only complaint we really have is adherence to the schedule. Events didn't necessarily start on time with one event 45 minutes or more late to start. We would go back, but would have been happier if they would have been on schedule as we planned around some events for the kids.
Jul 05, 2016
The KOA was nice/clean, but the waterpark entrance is much further than I would have guessed. The showers are push button so you are constantly re-pushing the button and have no control over the water temp. People partying on the beach then speeding through the camp to leave was very scary. Two different sites were yelling to slow down.
Jul 05, 2016
Initial spot assigned was very uneven and difficult to get into & out of rv. They changed us because of the issues & the second slot was very nice. When we return I will request that slot. Place is very clean and well taken care of. I greatly appreciated the dog park, too.
Jul 05, 2016
The kids loved it!
Jul 05, 2016
Jul 04, 2016
This is one of the best KOAs that we have ever stayed at. There is so much to do, everything is spotless, and the staff is first rate. We will be back!
Jul 04, 2016
We booked our site a couple weeks in advance and specified a particular row (south row flatter). We drove an hour and when we got there found out we were half way up the hill. Mentioned it to the check in and they didn't care. We have always been BIG fans of that place and recommend it to anyone we talked to. Very disappointed in this lasts stay. We even watched and always an open spot
Jul 04, 2016
Kids loved it, nice that it was close to water park. The wifi was poor to not working at all.
Jul 04, 2016
I will be back.
Jul 04, 2016
Too expensive. Campsite had small spots. Wewere unable to stay close to another family even tho there were open spots. Were told there was going to be a dunk tank and there was none.
Jul 04, 2016
Jul 03, 2016
Beautiful campground, staff very friendly and helpful, enjoyed our stay.
Jul 02, 2016
First time reserving a koa camper. Some miscommunication as far as what was inside the camper, had to purchase dishes after we got there. Shower leaked water into kitchen after one shower, so used shower house-which was a nice feature to be close to & clean, other than locks on shower doors did not work. Outdoor kitchen pull-out not connected & outdoor fridge & awning moldy. Liked lake rentals.
Jul 02, 2016
The cabin was very nice! My niece suggested it instead of staying at a hotel. Glad I did. Two kids, 1 1/2 and 4 year olds played on the playground area a couple of times. Other wise all we did was sleep there. Plan to stay again next year.
Jul 02, 2016
All the staff were freindly and helpful beyond what one would normally expect. The cabin was very nice, very clean and the kids loved being right o the "beach". My family looks forward to another visit at this site!
Jul 02, 2016
Had a great time, my boy's had a great time fishing!!
Jul 02, 2016
This was our second time staying here. We had 8 people it was so much cheaper than a hotel and we could all stay together not in separate rooms. It was very clean! It is just a great nice peaceful place to stay.
Jul 02, 2016
Weather was bad, but staff helped us find dry site. Thanks!!!
Jul 01, 2016
We stayed in a deluxe cabin, which was really new, did have some pluming issues, but they fixed. The beach was nice, a lot of geese around it though (worried about swimmers itch)&algae in the water. On Sunday evening, all the lifeguards from waterpark had a party on the beach, was really loud, but my kids enjoyed watching them. Overall a great stay, staff were great, and the waterpark was awesome
Jul 01, 2016
This stay was a little below average. We stayed in an 8 person cabin. The cabin was nice but NOT equipped for 8 people. Such as steak knives, bowls, plates, coffee cups and so on. Trying to get wash clothes for 8 people was a nightmare. One day we couldn't get any at all! The beach was nice but the lake was awful. WAY to much moss and so on. Rented paddle boats that were impossible to get through
Jul 01, 2016
The rental camper we stayed in was extremely nice. The beach was large with nice sand but the "swim area" was solid seaweed. The paddle boats were nasty and one was sinking at the dock. We rented a water trike unknowingly with one wheel 1/4 full of water. Used it for 10 min and was charged the full 30 min even after I told them about the problem it had. But hey we saved $4/person at the water park
Jul 01, 2016
Wonderful campground! Too bad we couldn't stay longer!!
Jun 29, 2016
We have stayed here before, but in a different cabin. We had a great experience last year. Although, this year, our cabin had a funny odor and was not maintained as well as the cabin we stayed in last year.
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals