Waterloo / Lost Island Waterpark KOA

4550 Hess Rd

Waterloo, IA 50701

Reserve: 800-562-2483

Info: 319-233-3485

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Aug 14, 2015
Too big and too nice to be located here. Great place to stay. It is a little difficult to find; even using Magellan.
Aug 13, 2015
Aug 12, 2015
Great! cabin was spotless and great for our family wished you had a pool but overall loved the campground
Aug 12, 2015
Awesome
Aug 12, 2015
The facilities are clean, well maintained, and everything looks so new. I wish that we could have stayed longer to really enjoy all the things that the park had to offer (lake with island, disc-golf, and playground).
Aug 12, 2015
The most spreadout KOA we've visited.
Aug 11, 2015
We really enjoyed our stay at a truly unique destination. A few comments on our stay: We rented the onsite RV unit and it was not stocked with much of anything. We had no cooking pans or utensils so that negated the indoor/outdoor kitchens we had as part of our rental. We had to go find toilet paper and trash bags and had no paper towels. The toilet overflowed one night and the staff helped.
Aug 11, 2015
Wonderful place to stay, has a lot of nice amenities. Very clean bathrooms.
Aug 11, 2015
Nice facility, and I appreciated the full convenience store and later office hours. My ranking is based on the fact that we were tent camping. It's a facility really geared for RVs and campers, so tent camping wasn't as good for us here as at some KOAs. The tent sites were close to the highway and morning traffic was quite loud--a few yards down the slope would have been quieter.
Aug 11, 2015
Aug 11, 2015
This was the absolute best stay we have ever had! The cabin was very clean and had a feel of home. The staff was extremely accommodating and helpful. We loved staying at KOA!!
Aug 10, 2015
Will definitely be staying here again. Staff was very friendly and helpful.
Aug 10, 2015
well maintained and very clean,staff professional and courteous, they dont pick up tras and show you to your site. but will not think twice about visiting again
Aug 10, 2015
Aug 10, 2015
Excellent park!
Aug 10, 2015
Hard Working Staff with a friendly attitude. Our stay was relaxing and enjoyable. One of the better Campgrounds by far.
Aug 10, 2015
Aug 10, 2015
We loved the campground and all of the amenities. The shower facilites were excellent but wish you could control the water temperature. Other downsides is the tent site is small, the fire pit was 2 feet away from the electrical box and the lack of shade. We'd come again but we'd rent a cabin or an RV.
Aug 09, 2015
Aug 09, 2015
Had a great time and everything was perfect! We'll be back for sure!
Aug 09, 2015
Convenient to I-90, loved the theme decorating of the entranceway, the cabins, etc.;didn't like the water miser showers; nice that you offered fuel onsite, but your diesel was .08 more per gallon than a nearby station.
Aug 08, 2015
Beautiful campground, but bathrooms are full of hairballs and not all showers work.
Aug 08, 2015
The park is clean and staff is very friendly. Great access to the water park across the street. A couple if issues I have are 1) The toilet paper was out in the mens restroom for two days, never filled after cleaning and 2) all the sites are not level for the seating or picnic areas and the sewer outlets are all uphill.
Aug 08, 2015
This is a great KOA. Lots of room to pull in and out. Nice sites. Have stayed here before and will be back again. We stayed in a 40 foot 5th wheel
Aug 08, 2015
New campground, everything was very clean and nice. Check in was quick and easy. Campground is quite large so it spreads people out nicely.
Aug 08, 2015
I enjoyed the campground. The Wi-Fi is an excellent touch. The playground needs to be fixed. The vines had kids climbing and standing at heights that should not be at. They look cool but kids are going to get hurt.
Aug 08, 2015
Awesome site! Wish the cabin layout hadn't given the perception of a stove top in the cabin but no big deal.
Aug 07, 2015
The cabin was very nice and clean. The staff members were very helpful and nice.
Aug 07, 2015
Wonderful, Friendly service. We enjoyed our stay.
Aug 07, 2015
Very nice campground / resort.
Aug 07, 2015
very nice enjoyed it a lot.
Aug 06, 2015
Everything was great, thanks for a fantastic site, we loved it. The only suggestion I have is that the beach needs daily attention to take care of the goose droppings.....doesn't make it very appealing to sit on the beach, much less swim in the water. We will be back!
Aug 06, 2015
Very nice facility. Our family of four stayed in a cabin which was very nice. The staff was very friendly and accommodated my request to defrost the cabin refrigerator... the function was much improved from last time! I was disappointed with the amount of trash spread around the place and filled a grocery sack in a one walk from the cabin to the pond/ beach area.
Aug 06, 2015
Very nice campground. Tenting area could be flatter. Conveniently close to waterpark. Familyhad a great time camping. We will be back.
Aug 06, 2015
We had a great time!
Aug 06, 2015
Aug 05, 2015
this is by far the best KOA I've stayed at in years. Lastly, the staff was very professional
Aug 05, 2015
Wonderful Campground, Friendly Staff.
Aug 05, 2015
Very nice campground
Aug 05, 2015
Great location to water park
Aug 04, 2015
great koa but...beach was horrible. the beach chairs were disorganized with most in the lake and there was goose poop all over the sand. they really need someone to organize the beach chairs and clean up after the geese so people aren't constantly steeping on poop.
Aug 04, 2015
All good
Aug 04, 2015
The staff members were very nice and helpful. The campground, bath house, etc. were very clean. The entire resort is just that; a resort. Very, very nice! Thanks!
Aug 04, 2015
The facilities and staff were excellent! We had a GREAT weekend and we will be back! Thank you!
Aug 04, 2015
Fantastic camp site, friendly staff and extremely clean. Would definitely stay again !
Aug 04, 2015
Great stopover on the way west. Nice clean friendly place. Staff in office/store very nice.
Aug 04, 2015
Would prefer to have a level spot to set our 5th wheel on and a level site for chairs around the fire pit but overall a great place to take our grandkids.
Aug 04, 2015
The guy that runs this place is super nice! Campground is very nice and like the lake to kayak on. I just wish KOA campgrounds weren't so costly. We are just spoiled by out state/county park fees! :)
Aug 04, 2015
Aug 03, 2015
Kids loved it was great. Had fun caught a lot of fish.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.