Waterloo / Lost Island Waterpark KOA

4550 Hess Rd

Waterloo, IA 50701

Reserve: 800-562-2483

Info: 319-233-3485

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Aug 27, 2015
Nice, clean place.
Aug 26, 2015
Our first KOA visit ever. This is a somewhat new park so no shade. Bathrooms are very nice as is the camp store. WiFi (free) was spotty; good, basic cable. Sites are generally level. Nice swim beach with trail around large lake (pond). Please continue to keep the geese away!
Aug 26, 2015
A great experience. We're from California and here four a family visit. Next year we will be here for at least a week. The kids had a fantastic time.
Aug 26, 2015
Very nice stay, was not noisy and the trailer rental was a nice option for us. Close to the water park and other areas of town.
Aug 25, 2015
Traveling 16 days, 12 states and 8 KOAs with 20 Girls Scouts. I can't say enough about the Waterloo KOA. The staff, the sites and the facilities were great. But mother nature cut our trip short. We were prepared for the rain but with the extreme wind conditions, we lost three tents and three canopies and they are beyond repair.
Aug 25, 2015
Very clean. Really liked it. Will be back.
Aug 25, 2015
Clean, Quiet and very well kept.
Aug 25, 2015
Aug 25, 2015
Great location, nice level sites, clean restrooms, great showers.
Aug 25, 2015
Nice facilities, well maintained. Off leash dog area was an unexpected and welcome bonus. Nice playground for the kids.
Aug 24, 2015
Nice campground and fun!
Aug 24, 2015
The kids had a blast swimming, playing volleyball, peddle boat, and then smores around the fire. The cabin was very comfortable with air and very clean restroom and kitchen. Made for a great birthday weekend for my teen. We plan to do it again!! Any calls we made for assistance from the office, were answered immediately.
Aug 24, 2015
Aug 23, 2015
well greeted and served
Aug 22, 2015
It was great. We had a level site view of lake plenty of room. The best so far on our journey West.
Aug 22, 2015
Awesome campground! The only thing I would change is to provide more access points for Wifi because we didn't get it in the travel trailer and with 3 teenagers and not great cell reception (and rain!), you can imagine wifi would have been nice!
Aug 22, 2015
Check in was easy & they provided a map of the campground so we found our cabin quickly. The scenery was pretty as our cabin faced the water & beach area. My only negative comments would be slow wifi (I was working part of my stay and had troubles viewing emails) & the cable didn't offer very many channels. Other than those minor things we enjoyed our stay and will be back.
Aug 22, 2015
Aug 22, 2015
Wide open park. Cute facilities. Clean and easy to drive our 45' RV around.
Aug 21, 2015
A nice new campground, but with all the sites available we were put right next to a garbage dump of a trailer that either housed the homeless or a group of careless contractors. If you stop there, ask to see the site first - there are a lot of trailers in this condition there...
Aug 20, 2015
Aug 20, 2015
This was the most beautiful KOA we have ever stayed at! We stayed in the big cabin and had plenty of room for the 6 of us. My kids loved the game room, the playground, and the pizza! The convenience store has everything and it's nice having a gas station at the KOA! We will be back with family! Can't wait to spend time on the beach, the paddleboats, the trails, and trying the water park next door!
Aug 20, 2015
Enjoyed our stay and our dog loved the dog park.
Aug 20, 2015
Only stayed one night, just passing through. Nice campground.
Aug 20, 2015
Nice campground. A lot of time and effort has been put into making this a premium campground. I agree with one of the posters that the sanitary on the lot I was on was too far away from the camper. I had to use three sanitary hoses to reach. (Luckly I had them)
Aug 20, 2015
It was great.
Aug 20, 2015
long trek to office/store and watercraft facilities no pool great showers etc
Aug 19, 2015
Everything was great except for the rat poison my 1 year old found underneath the cabin bunk bed. Luckily my wife saw him as he grabbed a handful... otherwise this would be a very different review.
Aug 19, 2015
Have stayed before and was happy but the geese have become an issue.
Aug 19, 2015
Very nice campground, with friendly staff. Lots of amenities, especially for kids.
Aug 18, 2015
The campground had very nice amenities and the staff was friendly.
Aug 18, 2015
Very friendly staff. Clean cabins. Diffinetly will be returning soon.
Aug 17, 2015
I had reserved a site and paid for it 2 months in advance for a reunion and was not given my site as someone else was there and refused to move. So I was moved down 10 spots away from the reunion. Other than that is was a very nice campground!
Aug 17, 2015
Very nice campground. Can't wait til the trees grow so there is some shade
Aug 17, 2015
Staff was very helpful!! The restrooms and showers are clean and very nice. The grounds are kept up and we had everything there that we needed.
Aug 17, 2015
Aug 17, 2015
Aug 17, 2015
We where very happy :) thanks.
Aug 17, 2015
Close to waterpark, nice beach area with volleyball. Kayaking rental was good. Lots are small and need more trees. A little too commercialized in camping area but would stay again.
Aug 17, 2015
Staff was nice. Place is huge with lots over people and very small trees. Sites were poorly marked from approaching side. Sewer connection on our site was higher up hill than our discharge sp totally unusable. If you like lots of people with a water park and casino close by then this is the place. Only stayed one night on our way out to Yellowstone.
Aug 17, 2015
Not enough shade. Tent sites were not flat enough.The beach was like a giant litter box and had to many weeds in the swiming area.
Aug 17, 2015
KOA at this site was fantastic! We will stay at this site every AUG for a week for our family reunions.
Aug 17, 2015
Lake/beach needs attention. Very nice staff at check-in. Store was nice.
Aug 17, 2015
awesome place, unfortunate that we were just passing thru for home.
Aug 16, 2015
It was neat clean only one thing we didn't like was the camp site we had was right on a hill not much room with out go down hill would take a different site when we come again not B8 thanks keep up the good work
Aug 16, 2015
Loved this park!!!
Aug 15, 2015
very nice great for kids
Aug 15, 2015
Great cabin, great value, and great location. Loved the firepit and kyaks! Need to watch the cleaning. We had to clean the cabin a bit ourselves when we first arrived. Overall it was a great stay.
Aug 15, 2015
Excellent RV park with friendly staff.
Aug 15, 2015
Beautiful campground!

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.