Waterloo / Lost Island Waterpark KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 800-562-2483

Info: 319-233-3485

Email

4550 Hess Rd

Waterloo, IA 50701

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Jul 28, 2016
Nice staff. Well equipped store. Pretty path around lake. Campsite sewer system was awful! With our 25 ft travel trailer our black/grey water hose had to run up-hill into the plastic drain pipe. That was impossible. Gravity does not work that way ! This is a serious problem that should have been addressed by the campground owner a long time ago .
Jul 27, 2016
Only thing I would change is mossy water
Jul 27, 2016
Jul 26, 2016
Very nice people, clean & excellent cabins
Jul 26, 2016
Our cabin was clean and comfortable, and much more spacious than we thought it would be. The campground is very well laid out and the staff is warm and friendly, and couldn't be more helpful. We had a great $5 pancake breakfast on Sunday morning that can't be beat! We can't say enough about this place and will definitely stay again! Hoping to have future Jeys family reunions there again too.
Jul 26, 2016
We have stayed at the KOA - Waterloo for the past 4 years and it works great. We use both the cabins (when available) and the campground - both of which could not be nicer. Thank you to the KOA staff that are so wonderfully helpful and courteous.
Jul 26, 2016
Beautiful park. Nice roomy site.
Jul 26, 2016
Had a wonderful time with family. I definitely will be back.
Jul 26, 2016
What a great place to stay! !!. If the management could slow the growth of the algae in the beach area, it would be more inviting.
Jul 26, 2016
We found this campground one of the most all around best places to stay. Beautiful and well kept! Friendly staff!
Jul 25, 2016
Jul 25, 2016
What a great camp ground! We loved our stay! Bath houses were clean and very nice! Loved having a full hook up! My only negative comment would have to be with the over whelming amount of moss in the pond. It was difficult to use the paddle boat we rented. It was still a great time!
Jul 25, 2016
Something for everyone. Well maintained park.
Jul 25, 2016
The campground is soooo large that an escort could help get you to your site with less confusion.
Jul 25, 2016
We only had an overnight stay. We had reservations, but when we got there (we arrived late) there were no tags with our name on.
Jul 25, 2016
Very nice and clean,pool would be nice but lots to do
Jul 24, 2016
The campground is clean & they are improving each year we have stayed
Jul 24, 2016
We had a great time, staff was very friendly and helpful.
Jul 22, 2016
Great staff they were very helpful!!!
Jul 22, 2016
Greatstay one of our leveling jacks kept sinking in the pad and had to get a block to put under it. Staff was very helpful.
Jul 21, 2016
Had a great time. Camper we rented Was very nice. A great birthday Get away.
Jul 21, 2016
Please consider adding a pool and expand playground equipment. It gets very crowded and almost dangerous when there a lot of kids playing. Thanks
Jul 20, 2016
Everything was great. Very nice site other than shade would be nice. Staff very helpful and freiendly.
Jul 20, 2016
Great service and amenities!
Jul 20, 2016
Very nice place but in the morning the people working were unfriendly and rude. When we checked in the 2 young ladies were wonderful. They do not deliver your firewood....almost all other KOA'S DO!
Jul 20, 2016
We enjoyed the stay. It was quite and the kids had so much fun.
Jul 19, 2016
We enjoyed the roomy tent site, the walking path around the lake, and the movie that was projected on the side of a white building in the evening.
Jul 18, 2016
Great place, great staff. Little confusion with reserved sites but staff handled it very well. Stayed the last 3 years and recommend to everyone
Jul 18, 2016
very nice campground wish we could of stayed longer, great big sites and wonderful staff
Jul 18, 2016
Too expensive and wifi not working
Jul 18, 2016
Staff is excellent. Park is clean with exception of swimming area. They need to install pool. Owner also owns adjacent water park. I think its a ploy to get another 100 bucks by not having pool at campground. P.S. don't go to water park its filthy and they won't let you bring in food like every other waterpark in U.S. Gas stations have better food than water park did.
Jul 18, 2016
For a busy park, it was quiet! And as usual, very clean.
Jul 18, 2016
Jul 17, 2016
All the KOA we stayed in exceeded our expectations. We will definitely be coming back and will recommend to family and friends.
Jul 17, 2016
It was the perfect place to stay on our annual summer trip with our grand-daughter. She took a friend along and they had so much fun playing outside and making new friends at the campground. It was very clean and convenient since we were going to the water park, Lost Island located across the road from the KOA. My only complaint is there wasn't a coffee pot in our cabin.
Jul 16, 2016
Very clean cabins and facilities. Took our 5 kids and they had a blast! No electronics the whole stay. Just nature and family. Would highly recommend.
Jul 16, 2016
Very nice and very large campground. Cute camp cabins in bright colors. Lake, beach, camp store. Confusing interior roads. Our sewer connection was way in the back. But this is a very nice park that I would recommend.
Jul 16, 2016
This park is so large It would help if there was an escort to your site.
Jul 15, 2016
This is the absolutely best KOA! Not one thing I could find wrong with it!
Jul 14, 2016
After a slight hitch in the reservations, the KOA staff worked diligently to get the matter taken care of and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay! This is a very nice park with an awesome water park just across the street.
Jul 14, 2016
Jul 13, 2016
This is the second year we have taken our grand kids to this campground. The only negative comment I would have would be the algae in the lake. This is such a nice campground, waterpark, sandy beach, but just could not swim in the lake. I would give this a 5 Star if it wasn't for the lake. Everything else was super clean.
Jul 13, 2016
My family and I loved that the campers you have available for rent. We opted to use the shower house to clean up and the facilities were top notch.
Jul 12, 2016
once the trees are a little more established this may be a five star camp ground,,, still a new place I know, staff and employees were all nice and friendly and helpful
Jul 12, 2016
We stay at the Waterloo KOA cabins for our family summer vacations. Every year we have a great time together and the accommodations are clean and the staff is friendly.
Jul 12, 2016
the lake was full of algae and just kinda gross for swimming. The cabin we stayed in was clean and comfortable. Would have been nice to have paper towels,fly swatter and hangers.
Jul 12, 2016
Staff is friendly. Lots of fun activities for the July 4th holiday weekend.
Jul 12, 2016
Jul 12, 2016
Very friendly. Nice resort. Bathrooms/ showers were a little messy but it was 6 pm on a weekend
Jul 12, 2016
The ONLY thing is that the showers put out only hot water. Hot showers are great, but not when it is 100 degrees! It would be great if the temperature was adjustable. I understand the 30 second button for water conservation but still...
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals