Washington DC / Capitol KOA

768 Cecil Avenue North - PO Box 9

Millersville, MD 21108

Reserve: 800-562-0248

Info: 410-923-2771

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Tent Reviews

Sep 22, 2013
You should probably not allow underage drinkers to party all night and ruin kids' first camping trip... You Suck!!!!!
Sep 10, 2013
Very clean campground and restrooms(shower). The staff (except the life guard) were very nice and helpful. I would recommend this campground to all.
Sep 09, 2013
Best site we have gotten since coming there! My daughter loved it!
Sep 05, 2013
Très agréable !!!
Sep 04, 2013
Sep 02, 2013
Sep 01, 2013
Aug 29, 2013
Our scouts had a blast. They loved the jumping pillow and of course the pool. The ice cream social was a big hit and the evening movie topped off a perfect weekend. We will be back!
Aug 29, 2013
Very nice people. Very clean and nice facilities. Very happy with this KOA. A little close to the highways though. Camp store prices a little steep (cup of regular coffee $1.50, 24ft extension cord $30). Otherwise I will look for KOA again.
Aug 25, 2013
Staff was very friendly and helpful. Bathrooms and showers clean. Plenty of activities for the kids. My kids loved the giant chess board. We drove in to DC to use the metro because it offered us a little more flexibility as to when we can leave and come back. They do have a shuttle service that leaves at 9 and 11am but they won't pick you back up until 5 and 7 pm.
Aug 22, 2013
My nephew and I had a great time camping here. All the people were very friendly. He especially liked the bounce pillow!
Aug 19, 2013
This facility is close to home for us and was intended as a kind of trial camping trip we took with kids who had never camped in a tent. Our experience was wonderful. Staff was helpful and kind to the newbies, our tent site was close to all the activities we wanted for the kids but never noisy at night. We'd stay again in a heartbeat. One of the kids wants to return just to use the bounce pillow!
Aug 19, 2013
We arrived late on a Saturday afternoon and my 3 children took to the bouncy tramp thing immediately and then to the pool, to an ice cream social and then to a movie. The best part, however, is the staff and a big thanks to Doc Bob for helping us get the parts we needed to fix the bus. Above and beyond. Thanks to all and highly recommend this KOA-even if your ride doesn't break down! Will be back.
Aug 18, 2013
The people were very friendly. The facility had many extra things for our kids to do. The restrooms and laundry rooms were very clean. The overall appearance and woods offered a very nice setting. The pool was very clean. I would stay here again, and recommend it to others.
Aug 18, 2013
We traveled in from California to Washington D.C and we camped out at this KOA it was a wonderful experiance very beautiful everyone was very helpful and very clean. Make sure you take bug repelant so you can stay 100% comfortable
Aug 17, 2013
Very clean. Great facilities and friendly staff. The site we had was fantastic - with privacy and tree cover. We definitely enjoyed our stay.
Aug 16, 2013
This place was great! Really friendly people and very accomodating. Its location allowed us easy access to the Metro, gas stations, and grocery stores. The only small issue we had was the location of our tent spot. The ground was very sandy, and we kept getting a small sewage smell wafting through our campsite. I am sure that if we had another site, I could have rated them a 5.
Aug 16, 2013
Had a great time, friendly staff, clean washrooms, nice pool, appreciated the shuttle.
Aug 15, 2013
CLEAN, FRIENDLY, GREAT ACTIVITIESV FOR KIDS.
Aug 13, 2013
all the staff was great. Very helpful
Aug 11, 2013
Had a wonderful time. Very impressed with all of the amenities, activities, and shuttle service. All staff were helpful and very pleasant. What more can we ask for. Would return and definitely recommend!
Aug 11, 2013
Probably the best campground I have ever stayed. Clean, friendly, welcoming, above and beyond helpful staff. Bravo for such a positive atmosphere!
Aug 08, 2013
Your staff is excellent. We can tell they are enjoying what they do. We are aware that they are not there due to high compensation. They all have great work ethics.
Aug 07, 2013
Had a great stay and the kids really enjoyed the activities that was there.
Aug 04, 2013
This was our first stay at a KOA. we usually stay at state parks and this place was great. The kids enjoyed the ping pong and chess and swimming pool. if we can will we will visit another KOA in the future. hopefully the other will be just as great as this one.
Jul 31, 2013
We had a wonderful time. Very clean. Courteous staff. So many things to do for the kids even a great dog playground. One complaint: people used my site as a pass through to the bathrooms because there is no path for the back sites to get to it. I'm talking MANY people all through the night. Some talking loudly. There needs to be a path for the back sites to get to the bathrooms.
Jul 30, 2013
Jul 29, 2013
Our children really enjoyed the jumping pillows and the swimming pool. There were so many children for them to play with that they seldom complained of "not having anything to do." The campground was kept clean and was a very relaxing place to spend the weekend.
Jul 28, 2013
only a one night getaway but worth it. Very friendly staff,clean bathrooms,comfortable area.
Jul 26, 2013
It was a a pleasant experience,beatifull location and lovely and professional staff make the perfect combination. Thank you
Jul 24, 2013
good place, clean, safe, friendly/service oriented staff, great pool after a long day of biking riding
Jul 24, 2013
The nicest staff :)
Jul 22, 2013
Jul 16, 2013
we had such a great time and cant wait to bring our kids with us on the next trip. You had everything needed and easy way out to local shops and restaurants.. top notch.
Jul 15, 2013
The accommodations were great. The bounce pad was a hit. I can't wait to come back next summer!
Jul 15, 2013
Jul 13, 2013
Really enjoyed our time there. Clean, staff friendly. Wish there was a lounge. Internet went out at one point.
Jul 08, 2013
Good, fun activities for the kids, very friendly staff. However, bathrooms were always dirty, with puddles of water on counters and floors. One toilet seemed to be leaking in women's washroom.
Jul 07, 2013
Very helpful employees esp at 10pm and the camper lights did not work. Very well kept and friendly employees. Great having movies at night!
Jul 06, 2013
Extremely friendly and helpful staff. Nice lots and quite big. Convenient shuttle to Washington.
Jul 01, 2013
Jun 30, 2013
Very accommodating and friendly. Even in the rain had a lovely stay!
Jun 28, 2013
Loved all the amenities and staff was friendly. Thank you for providing a fun place for families.
Jun 25, 2013
The store staff was great
Jun 24, 2013
Amazingly friendly staff, great amenities, clean showers/restroom, we had a great time!
Jun 24, 2013
Enjoyed the stay at the KOA
Jun 22, 2013
I think our only complaint was that the water heater broke in one of the bathrooms so that the whole camp had to share one bathroom. Mary, in the office was so wonderful and made our stay very enjoyable. We would really like to come back at some point. Thanks for a great stay!!
Jun 20, 2013
Great for kids new to camping.
Jun 17, 2013
We really enjoyed our stay at the Capital KOA. The staff was very friendly and the campground was neat and clean.
Jun 17, 2013
Place was clean and had some great activities and facilities. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. This is the second time in a row and we are looking to go back again or to another KOA Kampground.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.