Washington DC / Capitol KOA

768 Cecil Avenue North - PO Box 9

Millersville, MD 21108

Reserve: 800-562-0248

Info: 410-923-2771

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Tent Reviews

May 18, 2014
May 12, 2014
Very clean and safe feeling place. Staff is extremely friendly. Could use some gravel on the wooded roads and walkways but other than that everything was great.
May 05, 2014
Apr 06, 2014
Friendly staff, clean facilities and the shuttle to DC was very convenient.
Nov 18, 2013
Very friendly staff, great accommodations. Scouts loved the big chess set and the inflatable in the playground.
Oct 30, 2013
The campground had everything I could expect and the staff were very friendly, but it is not near Washington, D.C.
Oct 29, 2013
It was convenient to Annapolis. Bathrooms were clean. Lots of stuff for kids to do.
Oct 29, 2013
Oct 29, 2013
The owners and campers were very friendly. The kids loved the Halloween sites and activities. Everything was super!
Oct 29, 2013
It was wonderful!!! We meet over ten other families there for the weekend. The Halloween activities were fantastic and ALL the staff were extremely helpful!! We will be making this an annual event!
Oct 25, 2013
Never really went camping before but this place gave the next place I go high standards.
Oct 23, 2013
Oct 21, 2013
Oct 21, 2013
Staff was very friendly and helpful. Site and all facilities were nice and clean. Halloween weekend was AMAZING for our Girl Scout troop thanks to KOA!
Oct 21, 2013
Oct 15, 2013
Oct 07, 2013
Great stay as always, Mary, Susan and Richard were so helpful and fun.
Sep 23, 2013
The bathrooms are clean, that is the only reason they got 1 star. They almost kicked us out the first night for being up late talking, which they told us we could do. The second night other people were setting off fireworks and yelling all night, we were sitting inside our tent giggling and they came over and told us to be quiet. The Double standards weren't fair. I'll never be back.
Sep 23, 2013
Sep 23, 2013
The staff was very informative, they helped with all my needs. I will definitely come again.
Sep 22, 2013
This camper comment has been removed by KOA due to profanity.
Sep 10, 2013
Very clean campground and restrooms(shower). The staff (except the life guard) were very nice and helpful. I would recommend this campground to all.
Sep 09, 2013
Best site we have gotten since coming there! My daughter loved it!
Sep 05, 2013
Très agréable !!!
Sep 04, 2013
Sep 02, 2013
Sep 01, 2013
Aug 29, 2013
Our scouts had a blast. They loved the jumping pillow and of course the pool. The ice cream social was a big hit and the evening movie topped off a perfect weekend. We will be back!
Aug 29, 2013
Very nice people. Very clean and nice facilities. Very happy with this KOA. A little close to the highways though. Camp store prices a little steep (cup of regular coffee $1.50, 24ft extension cord $30). Otherwise I will look for KOA again.
Aug 25, 2013
Staff was very friendly and helpful. Bathrooms and showers clean. Plenty of activities for the kids. My kids loved the giant chess board. We drove in to DC to use the metro because it offered us a little more flexibility as to when we can leave and come back. They do have a shuttle service that leaves at 9 and 11am but they won't pick you back up until 5 and 7 pm.
Aug 22, 2013
My nephew and I had a great time camping here. All the people were very friendly. He especially liked the bounce pillow!
Aug 19, 2013
This facility is close to home for us and was intended as a kind of trial camping trip we took with kids who had never camped in a tent. Our experience was wonderful. Staff was helpful and kind to the newbies, our tent site was close to all the activities we wanted for the kids but never noisy at night. We'd stay again in a heartbeat. One of the kids wants to return just to use the bounce pillow!
Aug 19, 2013
We arrived late on a Saturday afternoon and my 3 children took to the bouncy tramp thing immediately and then to the pool, to an ice cream social and then to a movie. The best part, however, is the staff and a big thanks to Doc Bob for helping us get the parts we needed to fix the bus. Above and beyond. Thanks to all and highly recommend this KOA-even if your ride doesn't break down! Will be back.
Aug 18, 2013
The people were very friendly. The facility had many extra things for our kids to do. The restrooms and laundry rooms were very clean. The overall appearance and woods offered a very nice setting. The pool was very clean. I would stay here again, and recommend it to others.
Aug 18, 2013
We traveled in from California to Washington D.C and we camped out at this KOA it was a wonderful experiance very beautiful everyone was very helpful and very clean. Make sure you take bug repelant so you can stay 100% comfortable
Aug 17, 2013
Very clean. Great facilities and friendly staff. The site we had was fantastic - with privacy and tree cover. We definitely enjoyed our stay.
Aug 16, 2013
This place was great! Really friendly people and very accomodating. Its location allowed us easy access to the Metro, gas stations, and grocery stores. The only small issue we had was the location of our tent spot. The ground was very sandy, and we kept getting a small sewage smell wafting through our campsite. I am sure that if we had another site, I could have rated them a 5.
Aug 16, 2013
Had a great time, friendly staff, clean washrooms, nice pool, appreciated the shuttle.
Aug 15, 2013
CLEAN, FRIENDLY, GREAT ACTIVITIESV FOR KIDS.
Aug 13, 2013
all the staff was great. Very helpful
Aug 11, 2013
Had a wonderful time. Very impressed with all of the amenities, activities, and shuttle service. All staff were helpful and very pleasant. What more can we ask for. Would return and definitely recommend!
Aug 11, 2013
Probably the best campground I have ever stayed. Clean, friendly, welcoming, above and beyond helpful staff. Bravo for such a positive atmosphere!
Aug 08, 2013
Your staff is excellent. We can tell they are enjoying what they do. We are aware that they are not there due to high compensation. They all have great work ethics.
Aug 07, 2013
Had a great stay and the kids really enjoyed the activities that was there.
Aug 04, 2013
This was our first stay at a KOA. we usually stay at state parks and this place was great. The kids enjoyed the ping pong and chess and swimming pool. if we can will we will visit another KOA in the future. hopefully the other will be just as great as this one.
Jul 31, 2013
We had a wonderful time. Very clean. Courteous staff. So many things to do for the kids even a great dog playground. One complaint: people used my site as a pass through to the bathrooms because there is no path for the back sites to get to it. I'm talking MANY people all through the night. Some talking loudly. There needs to be a path for the back sites to get to the bathrooms.
Jul 30, 2013
Jul 29, 2013
Our children really enjoyed the jumping pillows and the swimming pool. There were so many children for them to play with that they seldom complained of "not having anything to do." The campground was kept clean and was a very relaxing place to spend the weekend.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.