Washington DC / Capitol KOA

768 Cecil Avenue North - PO Box 9

Millersville, MD 21108

Reserve: 800-562-0248

Info: 410-923-2771

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3

Tent Reviews

Aug 29, 2014
Aug 26, 2014
We had a fantastic time at this KOA! Clean, friendly, lots of extras for the kids. They even mailed my son's jacket across the country to us when he left it there. We could not have asked for a better place to vacation or for better customer service. Thank You!!
Aug 25, 2014
Great place. Friendly staff. Lots of activities. Had a good time overall.
Aug 23, 2014
Wonderful campground! They have outstanding customer service. It is my wife's favorite KOA!
Aug 22, 2014
We had a fantastic time chilling at capitol koa. The second night there we had quite a bit of rain that day, a record since 1933. Sam noticed the delema I and my family were in and spoke to the owner who gave us a cabin for night. Thank you again for your kindness. The koa was clean and the staff was freindly. This was our third time there.
Aug 19, 2014
Lots of staff and very helpful. Very convenient for our needs.
Aug 14, 2014
We really enjoyed the stay at the campground! The staff members were very friendly especially to our puppy! There is a gigantic bounce pillow that both kids and adults couldn't get enough of. Initially I thought it was a little crowded with other tents being so close to each other. But that didn't really bother us at all. I would definitely recommend this place especially if you have young kids!
Aug 13, 2014
We had a very relaxing time, well kept and well organized. Our grand kids never missed their parents. We'll be back.
Aug 12, 2014
Great stay, except that our tent site was on the path to the facilities. People kept coming through our site. Not very private...
Aug 11, 2014
A great family experience
Aug 07, 2014
Our stay was excellent. The person who escorted us to our site noticed our needs would be better served on a different site even with a discount. After I brought an issue with the bathroom to his attention, he seemed happy to address the problem. The problem was solved within about 2 minutes. The staff at Capitol KOA is top knotch!
Aug 02, 2014
We enjoyed this campground. The cicada's were very loud but that isn't something the campground could change. We had the last day of our visit a lifeguard who wasn't very alert. I would let him go if I were you. We took a picture of him 😁
Aug 01, 2014
Jul 29, 2014
We had a terrific shady loy and the staff were so personable. What a great first camping experience for my 11 year old son!
Jul 26, 2014
Jul 23, 2014
There needs to be more areas with electic n water on grassy areas for tents. When campers come in at nite after 10 pm don't put them next to other tent campers. There very noicy n it's rude. I had two that came in after mid night it was awful
Jul 14, 2014
Jul 14, 2014
Jul 14, 2014
Tons of fun! Lots to do. Will definitely go back! But a little expensive. Hope to get emails with discounts or coupons
Jul 14, 2014
Nice, clean facilities. Very nice and friendly people. Great entertainment for kids. Recommended to anyone, My kids had a very fun weekend.
Jul 13, 2014
The employees were kind and very helpful. It was nice to have an "ambassador" guide me to my site and offer to help set up my tent. Great people and great service!
Jul 11, 2014
Close to Washington and Baltimore so very convenient. Washrooms were untidy (overflowed toilets and messy floors) at times. Showers were decent though. Our site, as well as many around us were very uneven and made it difficult to set up our pop up camper. Staff were very friendly but did not seem very knowledgeable about local attractions. More organized activities for kids would have been great.
Jul 07, 2014
we had a great stay, thanks for all the help getting around the capital. every one there was very nice and helpful.
Jul 01, 2014
We were especially happy with the condition of the shower/bathrooms. No matter the time of day it seemed like they were always freshly cleaned. We stayed at a KOA in Virginia Beach last year and the restroom/shower rooms were terrible. Much better experience this time!
Jul 01, 2014
It was a nice camping facility except the bathrooms could have used more attention. There are some tent spots that people should not be put in even if there is a CHANCE of rain/heavy rain! We, unfortunately, were in one of those! Very helpful and informative staff though!
Jun 30, 2014
The camp has many amenities, which my kids really enjoyed. I would prefer a camp in which the campsites were more spread out.
Jun 30, 2014
Depends on what your goals are...this is not traditional camping. Having said this, if you don't mind being close to your fellow campers there are lots of ways to entertain your children while there. The staff was great! Some of the younger staff (high school/college aged workers) were not consistent in following the rules. Other kids were doing flips and were not told to stop.
Jun 23, 2014
Jun 23, 2014
The staff is amazing, friendly, and helpful. The only ONLY complaint I would have is that we got in the pool for about 1 minute before the lifeguard went on break. I wish she would have given us a heads up before we got wet only to be told to get out. We didn't know she took a break at the top of the hour. It was hard to explain that to a toddler that just got in the water.
Jun 23, 2014
My daughter's first camping trip and she had a blast! Thanks for being a part of some great memories.
Jun 17, 2014
Fun place! Super clean! So many fun things for the kids to do. The nicest staff, too!
Jun 17, 2014
We had a great time. The staff was awesome. Facilities were great. Fellow campers were pleasant and great to be around. We are already planning our next visit! Close to everything in case you want to cheat and hit a nice restaurant. :-) Recommend!
Jun 09, 2014
Jun 09, 2014
Jun 09, 2014
All good!! Very Family oriented!! No large play area for soccer, football etc. Kids tied to use a smaller area which sort of invaded camping sites when the ball went OB etc..
May 28, 2014
Clean, friendly, happy! Lots of trees, fun activities (ice cream social, outdoor movie), nice restroom facilities, great pool, nice gift store. Great staff. Exceptional in every way! Can't wait to return. Have told all my friends.
May 28, 2014
May 27, 2014
May 27, 2014
Very accomodating, wonderful staff and management! My son and I had a great weekend! Thank you!
May 27, 2014
May 27, 2014
my only complaint is that the privacy of campgrounds needs to be stressed more. it doesn't seem to be enough to print it on the map that no one looks at. people continuously passed through our site.
May 27, 2014
This place was awesome! Swimming, pedal go carts, b-ball, and great sites.
May 24, 2014
Friendly and helpful staff! Secure campsite, makes you feel welcome. Clean/safe facilities.
May 21, 2014
This KOA has great family-centered amenities and impeccably maintained facilities. The cabins are particularly charming. What makes this KOA special is the owners. They are wonderful and go out of their way to make you feel at home and to assist you if you need something!
May 18, 2014
May 12, 2014
Very clean and safe feeling place. Staff is extremely friendly. Could use some gravel on the wooded roads and walkways but other than that everything was great.
May 05, 2014
Apr 06, 2014
Friendly staff, clean facilities and the shuttle to DC was very convenient.
Nov 18, 2013
Very friendly staff, great accommodations. Scouts loved the big chess set and the inflatable in the playground.
Oct 30, 2013
The campground had everything I could expect and the staff were very friendly, but it is not near Washington, D.C.
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.