Washington DC / Capitol KOA

Open March 1 - November 25

Reserve: 800-562-0248

Info: 410-923-2771

Email

768 Cecil Avenue North - PO Box 9

Millersville, MD 21108

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Tent Reviews

Jun 21, 2016
Jun 21, 2016
The restroom was a disaster in the evenings (soap all over the counters, crowded with families). Also, a lot of noise from vehicles driving through the campground well after midnight Friday evening (not to mention the nearby highway). But overall, it is a very nice family atmosphere with pleasant surroundings.
Jun 19, 2016
My son and I needed a quick place to stay in the DC area and you KOA was the perfect fit! My late reservation put me in site 68 which is a little small, but it worked well. The staff was great and very helpful. This is very nice place to stay. Now if I could only get my wife to enjoy camping!
Jun 16, 2016
Toilets need some work, very poor flush power. On busier days, this could be a real problem.
Jun 15, 2016
Clean bathrooms, nice facilities, sites were not very level, all road should be paved to reduce dust.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for taking time to do our survey. We are proud of our staff and our park. It has been very windy and dry so it can get dusty. We are in a sandy area. We suggest to our campers book early for favored sites! Ask about our site guarantee and pick your favorite site for your next stay.
Jun 13, 2016
Jenifer was an excellent customer service rep! Thank you for having us and for the awesome experience camping for a night!
Jun 12, 2016
KOA was recommended to me by a friend and I couldn't be any happier with my stay in KOA Washington. The facilities are clean and well maintained; the staff Helpful, Friendly and Hospitable. I'm looking forward to other future trips to KOA this summer~! And mostly likely for years to come. Thank you!! PS. Water pressure was fantastic!!!

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We are happy you enjoyed your stay. Thanks so much for taking time to complete our survey. Capitol KOA are proud to help our campers build lasting family memories. Our park is a favorite in the area and we have so many fun things to do in the park and also around the area. Come back again soon!
Jun 11, 2016
It was great.
Jun 05, 2016
Efficient check-in, nice tent-site, clean restrooms, friendly staff; can't ask for more.
Jun 04, 2016
We stayed in tent site 46 with a large tent (holds 5 adult Coleman cots). The bathrooms were easy to access as well as the pool and play area. We used the shuttle 2 days and that was really great. The staff is fabulous and my kids said it was the best KOA they've ever stayed in. We had a great time. Showers were hot and bathrooms were clean.
May 30, 2016
I wanted two particular camp sites and had put that in the notes on my online reservation. Someone was already on the two sites I had requested. Thankfully the campgrounds was able to finde two campsites next to each other.
May 30, 2016
We had a great time at this KOA. Pool was clean and well guarded. Loved the jumping-thing. Plenty of very helpful and polite staff.I gave 4 stars because it would have been nice to have a heads up that a huge motorcycle group would be in the campground. Mostly it was not an issue but when they started rolling out at 5am, it was hard to stay asleep :-)
May 30, 2016
I thought the campground was very nice. I love that it is pet friendly because I don't go anywhere without my pups.
May 22, 2016
I was charged a more expensive price than previously quoted

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

I sorry you felt you were quoted a different price. Capitol KOA sends a confirmation email before arrival with the price you have been charged. You were on a tent site and it was the regular price. It is good advice to get a KOA Value card. You save 10 percent every night you are staying at KOA.
May 16, 2016
My least favorite KOA so far.
May 09, 2016
As a tent camper, I couldn't say it was my favorite spot to stay. BUT, the staff was just exceptional and went above and beyond. I've travelled all over the world and if every business had staff like this KOA, they would be successful. Even checked the tires on my van and added air when we thought one tire looked low. Showed a movie to our girls even though it was just for the three of them. Super
Apr 25, 2016
Loved all of the activities for the kids and the shuttle (and drivers) were great! Some site plumbing upgrades would be helpful.
Mar 28, 2016
The staff was very friendly and helpful. Looking forward to returning at a later date.
Mar 28, 2016
tent sites needs a little TLC. tree roots above ground and no even area to set up tent.
Dec 06, 2015
4 stars because we didnt get to use much as we where off site and just slept there have told many about place and would definately return
Nov 30, 2015
It's clean, activities for kids, friendly staff.
Nov 04, 2015
Very nice Campground, friendly staff, great Halloween-program and decorations, clean restrooms, nice shop.
Oct 27, 2015
Think of it as "Camp", not camping. Sure, we were in a tent and we camped, but Weeeeee the DC KOA was a blast and a half! What an awesome time we had! When we camp, we normally go the mountains, but this time we kept it close to home for a positive experience minus the hour & 1/2 drive. Our 4&1/2 year old had so much fun that she actually asked to go to bed!
Oct 27, 2015
Oct 26, 2015
Great site and great service. The one complaint I have is all the children running through our camp site while we were trying to relax. Other than that a fantastic experience. We will definitely be back.
Oct 26, 2015
This is a great KOA with only a few downsides. The noise from Rt97 and the sewage smell from the septic tanks around the playground (although infrequent). The staff is what makes this KOA great. They are always wonderful and go out of their way to ensure everyone enjoys their stay.
Oct 26, 2015
The staff members are very friendly and helpful. The grounds are kept really clean. This place is the best! We had a wonderful weekend! Stay here!!
Oct 22, 2015
Awesome... Had a blast great weather... Campground staff here is the best!!! Especially the young lady's that helped my 3year old with arts and crafts... Super super nice folks here!!!!
Oct 20, 2015
It was our first time staying so despite the cold weather overnight it was a great weekend.
Oct 19, 2015
Out of all the places we've stayed in the last 6 months this was the most value for our dollar. In general we like to stay at places that cost even less and don't mind having few to no amenities. This KOA had a nature trail, easy access to highways to Baltimore and DC, very clean nice showers, and a really fun giant "jumping pillow" (kind of like a trampoline).
Oct 19, 2015
Oct 14, 2015
Park was very clean. Playground was nice. However, how it really shone... customer service was SUPERB! The only reason I might not recommend to some of my friends is some of the older kids there were unsupervised and pushed around the younger kids. (obviously through no fault of the KOA)
Oct 12, 2015
We love the staff, location & amenities. We've stayed twice this fall and will def be back in the spring!
Sep 28, 2015
Nice facility, friendly people. My only complaint is the Water/Electric sites. Tree roots are everywhere, you need to squeeze your camper in-between trees. It served the purpose for me but I would not pay $66 a night for these sites.
Sep 27, 2015
Stayed with a Girl Scout troop of 13 year olds. Girls absolutely loved the jumping pillow, as did us moms. ;) Bathrooms were extremely clean. Campground itself is small, but had lots of amenities. Hope to go back again. :)
Sep 26, 2015
All was great as MOST KOA are, this particular one was great from the area to the people running it. A++++ and the extra added shuttle into DC was great, can't beat it, Tom the driver is great.
Sep 21, 2015
Bathrooms were pretty hot & stinky & I was a little disappointed using my VIP membership for a BOGO weekend & we got a crappy site in the grass when there were all kinds of other cool sites in the woods that weren't even an option when booking, yet there were tents set up there??
Sep 14, 2015
My kids love camping. KOA makes it easy to have a good time. The staff is friendly and the parks are well kept. Thank you
Sep 08, 2015
A very nice Campground with lots of things to do especially for the kids. The bus driver on Saturday was great as well! A very nice man!
Sep 08, 2015
The quality of the campground was just fine. Unfortunately our neighbors were noisy around their campfire until I finally got out of my tent at 1am and asked them to please be quiet. Campground quiet hours are posted 10pm - 8am. Also, the interstate noise is fairly loud. Other than not sleeping very well, my kids had fun at the playground area. Staff was friendly.
Sep 08, 2015
I was very satisfied with our family's camping experience as the KOA in Millersville, MD. It was conveniently located, well maintained, and provided several recreational activities, including a bounce pillow, playground, swimming pool, pedal carts, and outdoor movie. The staff was also friendly and professional.
Sep 03, 2015
Every morning when we went to the office to ask about our day trip, not only did they give us maps but also advise on how to get there. Eg: Instead of just sending us to the closest metro stop, we were directed to and end of a line so there was no confusion. If we're ever out that way again, we shall stay at the koa happily.
Aug 31, 2015
Amazing location. The facilities were very clean and the staff was extremely helpful and knowledgeable.
Aug 31, 2015
We enjoyed our time at KOA in Millersville. Friendly staff, clean and tons of activities for our little ones. The only negative, and its a big one is that the tent sites are WAY to close together. You are pretty much on top of the site next to you. You better enjoy your neighbors (which we didn't, a group of about 15 twenty year olds who were up partying until 4 in the morning).
Aug 31, 2015
Aug 29, 2015
We were there for concerts and Merriweather Post Pavilion and we definitely plan to come back next time with the family and go to DC.
Aug 25, 2015
Aug 25, 2015
Aug 22, 2015
OK, but a few things could be improved. Our site was at the bottom of a slope, so some shaping (berm?) would have helped when it rained. I asked back in May about the shuttle service filling up, but was told not to worry, as there are 3 shuttles. When we got there, we missed out, because only one ran. We were told we could have something mailed there, but you returned it before we got there.
Aug 19, 2015
Did not like that the shared water spigot faced our tent spot. Our tent got sprayed by water b/c we picked the flattest area in the dark to set it up not realizing the spigot was there. That being said the staff was wonderful and helpful. Had to have my car jump started in the morning and received quick and friendly assistance with it. Wish we had more time to enjoy the campsite!
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals