Washington DC / Capitol KOA

Open March 1 - November 25

Reserve: 800-562-0248

Info: 410-923-2771

Email

768 Cecil Avenue North - PO Box 9

Millersville, MD 21108

Get Directions

All Sites

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

RV Reviews

Jun 04, 2016
Very friendly and convenient!
Jun 03, 2016
The bathrooms were very clean. I liked that the Barking Lot was fenced in so that we could let our labs run off leash. There was also a spigot to fill a dog bowl in the Barking Lot.
Jun 03, 2016
Very nice. Close to many things to do. Shuttle is a nice feature. Campsite We had was super, patio,grill,fire pit and a table with chairs and chairs for the fire. Bathroom and showers real nice. Store had basic supplies. Close to RV dealer if needed specialty things. Also close all other shopping if needed. Stayed six nights could have stayed more. Great KOA.
Jun 03, 2016
We especially loved the DC shuttle
Jun 03, 2016
Have stayed before, but truly got to see the heart of the staff in play in the wake of a tragedy that happened right in the campground with one of Rolling Thunders own there for the Memorial Day Celebration. Instead it turned into a moving Blessing of the Bikes Ceremony/Memorial Service for the life that was tragically lost that weekend. The staff although very upset handled it professionally.
Jun 02, 2016
This campground is clean, pretty, and most convenient to DC, Balt, and Annapolis. The staff is so friendly! Trevor stopped by to chat when he saw on our tags that we were fellow South Dakota residents! See you guys next spring!!!
Jun 02, 2016
Jun 02, 2016
The campground is in a great location to visit Annapolis, Baltimore, or DC. The staff was extremely friendly however there wasn't any camping etiquette among them. Not only did other campers constantly walk through the sites but so did the employees. How can you expect campers to follow the rules if the employees dont? The speed limit was also not enforced.
Jun 02, 2016
Sites extremely unlevel, sand & dirt --No grassy area. showers were good
Jun 01, 2016
What a great place to stay. Have stayed at Capitol KOA for years for the Rolling Thunder Rally. Will not stay anywhere else. Staff were polite and courteous (especially Dr. Bob) and the new Manager and his wife are awesome. We love it there!!!
Jun 01, 2016
The past family warmth feeling was gone and things like ice cream are priced way to expensive. Was discouraged with our site that had been moved.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

The ice cream social is 1.00 per scoop and 100 percent proceeds go to Care Camps for children with cancer. Reading the reviews above and below this survey Great staff is constantly mentioned. We are very proud of our awesome staff. This camper's site was not moved.
Jun 01, 2016
Very friendly staff, clean ground and nice environment.
Jun 01, 2016
Great location, nice people, clean facilities. One complaint (but it's big): the band Friday night was obscenely loud. Unable to hear our television set, unable to not have the baseline pulsing in your head. 10-12 police cars pulled in at 9 and thankfully ended it. Did not repeat Sat or Sun. At that point would have rated the park well below poor. Noise level hideously unfair to most guests. Dumb
Jun 01, 2016
Camp did a good job with shuttle to DC. Seems to be a popular park. Good staff.
May 31, 2016
For 81 per night and no hard surface roads rocks instead of black top or concrete. Very narrow turnaround for big rigs with rocks at the end of the aisle to damage her motorhome big deal in my motorhome now! For a K O A very poor.
May 31, 2016
Great place to stay. GREAT staff and awesome events
May 31, 2016
Campground staff was very friendly and accomadating. Campground was very clean. Bathrooms very clean.
May 31, 2016
The accident on Friday night put a real damper on the weekend. We stay at your KOA 2-3 times a year.
May 31, 2016
Great friendly staff, but back in sites very bad grade took a lot of blocks to get level. Trees were in the way of opening the canopy and hook up to camper. Also no good place to park car or truck.
May 31, 2016
Good location for DC. Great people running the KOA. Very helpful and knowledgeable about the area.
May 31, 2016
Dr Bob was a big help. The site I was given was extremely un-level. It was at the head of a drainage ditch and was recently washed out. I asked for a different site but was denied. For $65.00 a night I was very disappointed.
May 31, 2016
Overall this is the worst campground we have been to yet, including the one who damaged out RV and still hasn't paid for repairs. There is not enough characters to voice our displeasure.
May 31, 2016
We had a wonderful time camping here for Memorial Day weekend. I wasn't sure what to expect with a bike rally the same weekend but everyone was very friendly and we had a great time, even in the rain!

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Yes Rolling Thunder has come here every year since 1994. We are honored to have them. They ride in honor of all of veterans that gave the ultimate sacrifice for us to enjoy our freedom. We hope to continue to honor our past, present, future military.
May 30, 2016
Clean, we'll maintained campground!
May 29, 2016
.Friendly people showed us to the site. Clean campground, sites big enough for RV snd car
May 29, 2016
Dr Bob and staff very helpful.
May 27, 2016
This was a great campground! All facilities you would need. Awesome play area for kids! Two disappointments were the time it took to get to and from DC from there. I believe the website said a 30 minute shuttle ride but it was 50 minutes at least with some days taking an hour and 20 minutes!! Also the website said shuttle takes you in at 9am and picks you up at 6pm, but it was actually 5pm.
May 26, 2016
Nice place, friendly staff. shuttle was wonderful as we don't tow a car. Thanks!
May 26, 2016
Very nice KOA. Friendly staff, pizza close by delivered to site, very well maintained, and great showers. Love the shuttle to DC! On our favorites list!
May 25, 2016
May 25, 2016
An important part of the stay is a hot shower. I waited in the 4th stall for over 10 minutes and the hot water never came. I went without. 👎
May 24, 2016
Unhelpful office receptionist, bordering on rude. Assigned to unacceptable site, on a steep incline, falloff on two sides, too short, with a high curb on one end that prevented safe hitching. Sites too close to each other. And entirely misnamed...is very far, over an hour's drive, from DC. Should be called Annapolis KOA. Very disappointed.
May 24, 2016
We thoroughly enjoyed our time at Capitol KOA!

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for filling out our survey and we are glad you enjoyed your stay! We strive to provide a beautiful park for campers to come relax and enjoy camping. We continue to improve our park and exciting changes are coming.
May 24, 2016
It was a very nice park and the people where very helpful.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you we pride ourselves on being very helpful. It is important to all of the staff here at Capitol KOA and we will pass on the kind comments. We look for ways to Make it Great everyday.
May 23, 2016
Campground was very nice. People at desk were very confused when we checked in. 2 family's, 2 sites. One person made and paid for both sites. 2nd name just totally confused her.
May 22, 2016
Very short pull-thrus, there were water issues and for a day and a half we had no water. The dog park is nice and the chipmunks are cute!

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We are sorry you were inconvenienced while you were here. The water was down for 4 hours and we had notified everyone the day before. So it gave people a chance to fill their tanks. The bathroom and dish washing station had water the whole time. Only sections of the park were shut off during repair.
May 21, 2016
Very nice RV Park. But the cost is higher then it should be.
May 20, 2016
We love this KOA! It is amazing they can be this close to the Capitol and still have the woods and the peace & quiet. Friendly staff. Well maintained although most of the sites are not level. This is something they are working to improve. Loved having the shuttle into the Capitol each day. Thanks for a great visit!
May 20, 2016
May 19, 2016
best campground in the whole Koa book. Facilities are great clean and always available. The staff are the most helpful in the 48 states I have visited. Can't recommend them enough.
May 19, 2016
May 19, 2016
Wonderful park. They had outdoor ping pong and an outdoor pool table. Huge plus. We had a blast
May 18, 2016
My stay was clouded by the fact that there was little to no supervision at the campground when the campers in the camping cabins across the road from us were still loudly partying at midnight and the staff pretty much said what do you expect on a weekend with get Saturday night for $10.00.
May 18, 2016
The grounds and facilities were in great shape. Did not think the bathrooms should be closed for 1 1/2 hours for cleaning. Still think it was pricy for $66 per day for a campsite.
May 18, 2016
Nice surrounding, peaceful and good location. The shuttle to DC was the main reason we picked this spot. The staff members were very helpful, hospitable and most of all warm and friendly. Only complaint was the showers, first time it took quite a while for the water to get hot, next time after waiting 7 minutes for hot water, I gave up.
May 18, 2016
This has to be the best campground in the whole Koa book. Great facilities Schuttle buses to Dc and Baltimore, staff that really can't do enough to help.
May 18, 2016
It was fantastic!! The kids loved the bounce pillow and the scavenger hunt the staff arranged. I bought 2bundles of firewood and Bob carried them to my camper and talked to my husband about the local site seeing with their shuttle. Found out Bob was the manager. Really great guy!!! A lot of improvements to campground were seen too. We are definitely coming back!!!!!!!
May 17, 2016
Staff was awesome and very willing to with an issue I had with my camper. I just wish I didn't have to leave a family member behind because of his breed!:( That is the only reason I didn't give 5 stars.
May 17, 2016
Pricey and no cable
May 17, 2016
Overpriced because it is a tourist destination.
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy