Washington DC / Capitol KOA

Open March 1 - November 25

Reserve: 800-562-0248

Info: 410-923-2771

Email

768 Cecil Avenue North - PO Box 9

Millersville, MD 21108

Get Directions

All Sites

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

RV Reviews

Jul 17, 2016
This is by far the worst KOA that I have stayed at.
Jul 16, 2016
Worst 30 amp service we ever had. Hard to back in space with numerous trees in the way and very hard to level RV.
Jul 16, 2016
Missed the shuttle to DC. Used Uber instead @ a cost of $130.00 round trip. Good for 2 Uber drivers 😊. Perhaps some flexibility on shuttles to DC.
Jul 15, 2016
Jul 14, 2016
Staff was great and great location with trolly
Jul 14, 2016
the only complaints is that Bus #2 needs some window tlc
Jul 14, 2016
Stony campsite made it uncomfortable underfoot
Jul 14, 2016
Very quiet, clean, peaceful atmosphere. Great staff. Will be back again!!!
Jul 13, 2016
Nice guarded pool. Good facility Friendly staff. Still a little expensive for what you get.
Jul 13, 2016
Jul 13, 2016
Jul 12, 2016
So So
Jul 12, 2016
Awesome location for visiting DC.
Jul 12, 2016
We loved the location and the friendliness of the staff of this campground! Clean bathrooms and laundry area, trails well marked and pet park well taken care of.
Jul 12, 2016
On Sunday while enjoying the pool, I noticed that the lifeguard was more interested in her phone than watching the children in the pool. I was told that she is a contracted employee of a lifeguard company and there wasn't anything that the office could do about her inattention. KOA pays the bill for her to be there?!?! Right?

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

The lifeguard mentioned in this survey was reported by Capitol KOA and was fired. It is a outside company that lifeguards the pool. It was handled promptly. Capitol KOA does care about pool safety.
Jul 12, 2016
We really enjoyed ourselves! We had a spot in the back where the trees gave great shade. The lifeguards were less than desirable but they would be the only compliant I have. First they wouldn't let my 12 year old swim without a parent but let another child smaller swim without a parent. They took a 10 min break every hour and even though I had to be there for my kid I couldn't take responsibility.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Lifeguards have our campers safety in mind. They follow Maryland law which does not allow 12 year olds to swim without a parent. The 10 minute break hourly mentioned is pool water testing. That is also a Maryland rule and lifeguards must abide by the rules. No child younger than 12 swims alone.
Jul 11, 2016
Sites are too small. Our next door neighbor was Ina rental and did not have the proper fittings to connect to the sewer leaving us with the stink. On the good side the staff was great, pool small but nice.
Jul 11, 2016
Great campground. VERY clean. We were VERY pleased with the things available for the kids to do. Wish the sites were a little bigger. Wish the shuttle had a few more times and "stop" options.
Jul 11, 2016
Very nice. A little pricey but it seems all KOA's have gotten expensive.
Jul 10, 2016
Our spot was reserved to be a shaded spot. upon arrival we were directly in front of the office without a tree at all! staff was friendly, park was clean & quiet. we were in md to visit family & wanted them to come to dinner & see our camper (they stayed 2 hrs) cost $15. didn't like that!
Jul 10, 2016
Took a few days break.
Jul 10, 2016
nice campground. I wish they had cable hookup since we had trouble getting much for TV stations via antennae.
Jul 10, 2016
Excellent service de navette Site très propre Gens acceuillants
Jul 10, 2016
Clean personnel helpful. Was not able to get a pull in like I had requested. Some pull in sites have patio areas which was very nice. The pillow bounce was great for children. All in all gear stay.
Jul 09, 2016
Jul 08, 2016
Very friendly staff, DC shuttle was great, excellent bathrooms/showers. Sites are a little small/close together, roads to sites a little too tight, sites have major level issues (both left tires were off the ground on the camper!)
Jul 08, 2016
Lovely stay.... Just a shame it's advertised as DC when it's clearly not.... I wish the distance has been advertised.... Stay was lovely though
Jul 07, 2016
Jul 07, 2016
Very nice and spacious camp sites. We had a concrete patio with a gas grill, table with 4 chairs and fire pit with 2 Adirondack chairs. The shuttle to Washington DC mall was great!
Jul 07, 2016
Campground was nice and clean. There were things that were not clean when scheduling our site. There was a misunderstanding on the days we were checking out which made the stay a little stressful. Also the fact that the shuttle was explained to be free and available when we needed it. But instead it cost money and only ran from 9-5.
Jul 07, 2016
Nice people. Wish campsites were more level and more rocks.
Jul 07, 2016
Nice and quiet!
Jul 06, 2016
Up sides: friendly staff, solid services and amenities. Down sides: right next to a highway (loud) and the sites were very narrow, with the fire pits at the tip of the site and the utilities were at the front of the camper so it was hard to reach lines. I would consider a stay again though based on the services and overall closeness to DC.
Jul 06, 2016
Peaceful, quiet, relaxing.
Jul 05, 2016
Great space for a short layover. Would like to have more time there.
Jul 05, 2016
Great central location. Friendly staff, very clean. Challenging getting into due to poor signage. Confusing convergence of several major roads.
Jul 04, 2016
Ok had to move2 time to many sites
Jul 03, 2016
clean restrooms and showers. We were very pleased.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for answering survey and yes our clean bathrooms are often mentioned. We are happy you were pleased. Come and see us again soon.
Jul 03, 2016
Successful test of our first trip in a motorhome. Location was clean, stuff to do for the kids and having a guide lead us to our spot was great.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Congrats on your new motorhome. Be sure to download our KOA app so when you travel you will find KOA easily. Glad you enjoyed camping with us. Be sure to look for our Deluxe patio sites next time you come. Happy Travels
Jul 03, 2016
nd did not know what the left hand was doing. They mixed up reservations. Front desk was not aware our group was coming and turned away one member, not aware that ten sites were reserved for our group. Not a great experience!!!!

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

This group leader messed up their own reservations. They didn't have 10 reservations upon checkin because 5 canceled. When group leaders are organized it goes very well. This group had to reimburse each other. Capitol KOA deals with hundreds of groups every year without incident.
Jul 02, 2016
Nice campground, but many of the sites are sort of short. Hard to get a 30 foot trailer and a vehicle in the site.
Jun 29, 2016
Clean bathrooms, friendly staff, lots for the kids to do. Only negative was garbage truck at 5am.
Jun 28, 2016
This is a beautiful park. Lots of shade and clean restrooms and showers. The shuttle to Washington DC is fantastic. The only reason I gave 4 stars instead of 5 is the customer service of the staff. It was not bad just not anything to brag about. We stayed nearly 2 weeks in the same space but most staff could not even say Good Morning without being prompted. Need to be friendlier!
Jun 27, 2016
Sites need a little bit of leveling roads can be a little tight
Jun 27, 2016
We would have liked cable hook up, but everything was totally wonderful.
Jun 27, 2016
We stayed here because of the shuttle to the Capital in DC. This made our trip very easy to get around. Also hooking us up with the Old Towne Trolley was also a great help. I am happy that we didn't have to deal with the driving and parking in DC. It gave us a little time to relax while someone else drove.
Jun 27, 2016
Campground was easy to find. Plenty of staff to answer questions. The campground was clean and the pull-thru sites were easy. Plenty of activities around the campground for kids.
Jun 26, 2016
We stayed while attending convention in Baltimore. Easy travel to city only bout 26 min. Staff friendly and helpful. Top pull through sites very open. Lower sites could be tight depending on size of uniit and tow vehicle. Clean baths and showers.
Jun 26, 2016
Perfect location for touring DC. Very clean park, plenty of activities for the kids and friendly staff. The only negative, I'm not a fan of the gender neutral shower stalls. Many young boys and girls were embarrassed walking in and out of the shower area. Not ideal. Other than that not a single complaint. Would stay here again for sure.
Jun 26, 2016
Very nice campground. It would have been nice if our RV (door side) faced East. Our awning was basically useless because our door faced to the west and we could not sit outside because it was hot and no shade in afternoon. Wish we had been in the other row where their awnings faced east and they had shade. Other than that very nice.
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy